Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

UltraConductor_41
post Aug 30 2009, 02:11 PM

428 posts

Alisan at least need 1-2 year just able to recover back.

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Aug 30 2009, 02:31 PM
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 4 2009, 12:20 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Sep 3 2009, 10:18 PM)
which areas are affected by the hurricane?
I was thinking of tai zhong -> sunmoonlake (nantou) -> hualian.
kaoshiung and tainan are no-go right?
taizhong, sunmoonlake no affected. But wondering, y u don change taizhong to taipei... hmm.gif

UltraConductor_41
post Sep 4 2009, 07:29 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Sep 4 2009, 11:35 AM)
I'll be visiting taipei too. Just that gf want to go taizhong to see friends.
if u go taizhong, maybe u could try out 清境農場~~many good feedback for that place~ tongue.gif
i will be travel this place maybe next week~ cos i heard got new hurricane coming again @@
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 5 2009, 11:41 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 4 2009, 08:52 PM)
清境農場 in TaiChung ?  Could seem to find it when I was there.
Is that outside the city?
erm...not in taichung, but u go can reach there from taichung train station. 1st take nantou bus, den go puli interchange to qingjing. take only 2 hour++~ cos if from taipei, need about 5 hour++~so not recommend if you only travel taipei biggrin.gif

Added on September 5, 2009, 11:42 am
QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 5 2009, 09:19 AM)
the only place thats worth visiting is 基隆市 located off the coast. taipei is sheer disappointment. the food sucks. the oh-so-famous market Shihlin Night market has only 4 things : smelly beancurd, chicken fillet(didnt even bother trying as the queue was horrendously long), oyster egg which was GOOEY(they add some local yam gel...yuck) and skewered chicken butt o.0

bad experience. never going there again.
taipei's girl is nice~~eye candy~ drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Sep 5 2009, 11:42 AM
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 5 2009, 10:44 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(allegretto87 @ Sep 5 2009, 09:22 PM)
May I know if go Taiwan more than 14 days, do I need to do VISA? I heard that we need? Just want to confirm and does Anyone knows where to make the VISA?
nope...no nid for 14 days..u will be granted a 30 days stay without visa.

visa is apply at taiwan embassy:

Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Malaysia
Level 7, Menara Yayasan Tun Razak, 200 Jalan Bukit
Bintang, 55100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Tel:60-3-21614439
Fax:60-3-21617478

UltraConductor_41
post Sep 14 2009, 04:18 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Sep 14 2009, 02:33 PM)
12 days trips..

any suggestions for my trip for this 12 days?

because at first plan to go with my gf and my friends but then they last minutes back off because of the typhoon, they rather fined for penalty and change the schedule till next year than rather go end of November.

Now only left me and my gf going only....so any good suggestion for these 12 days trip?
LOL...end of november dont have typhoon in taiwan.... whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

Added on September 14, 2009, 4:27 pm
QUOTE(princess-22 @ Sep 14 2009, 03:15 AM)
Hi, everyone

Can anyone pls share with me, in Taipei, where are the interesting places that I must go and visit or shop or eat or ..???

Am going this Tues, last min rush... pls help!!
google can do the job for u....but there is few place maybe you could pay a visit:

shilin night market
(饒河) rao he night market
jiu fen
dan shui dock
野柳地质国家公园
xi men ding

if you want happening, can go to 東區 which is 信義區 or 忠孝敦化 there~~

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Sep 14 2009, 04:27 PM
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 14 2009, 11:33 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Sep 14 2009, 11:12 PM)
ok thanks. will there be difference if i look across the causeway (i.e S'pore)?
got to find the rates there.
u can try your luck thr....but for sure not in taiwan here. last time i saw in airport... rm 1 = nt 7.xx only...tats suck~
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 15 2009, 02:34 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Sep 14 2009, 11:42 PM)
yeah...i know no typhoon that time but the typhoon aftermath causing them no mood to go...now left me and my gf going only

so any good suggestions for 12 days trips?
haha...ok~~ actually only some place is affected, so dont worry so much as it wont really affect your journey.

if money is not a problem, you may refer to this post, and just follow his plan:
http://cforum6.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?...&extra=page%3D3

if you dont wish to spend time in planning, may try to google some trip that edi went by some1 else, and just copy their schedule. biggrin.gif
and remember bring a laptop if you have 1....its useful if there is unexpected changes~ smile.gif

for accommodation and some travel info, you can get some reference price here:

http://travel.network.com.tw/

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Sep 25 2009, 12:26 AM
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 25 2009, 12:13 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(ezalownage @ Sep 23 2009, 02:18 PM)
Hi all,

Anyone here been to Taiwan before ?
Me and my friends are planning a trip there, and are trying to fix the itinerary.
We have a question :

We plan to go to 2 places outside Taipei :
Sun Moon Lake (Nantou) http://wikitravel.org/en/Sun_Moon_Lake
and
Flying Cow ranch (Miaoli) http://www.flyingcow.com.tw/en/p1-4.php

Is it feasible to :

Leave Taipei,
Go to Sun Moon Lake, stay overnight,
Next day go straight to Flying cow ranch, stay overnight,
Next day go back to Taipei

It looks feasible just by looking at the general area of where they are situated.

Thanks in advance,
sun moon lake, i think u just have a look den ok edi. and you may take notice of the sun moon lake - 9 clan cultural village's skyway. last time i heard its start to working at 1st sept. but i not sure hows now. 9 clan cultural + sun moon lake is worth to go 2gether. if u only go either 1, not so nice.

and here i recommend qing jing rather than flying cow ranch. 清境. this 3 place you can go 2gether for a 3 days 2 night trip as its just near to each other.

Some photo of qing jing, sorry for the quality as i taken down form my fb only, too lazy to resize:

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Sep 25 2009, 12:32 AM
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 29 2009, 02:15 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 25 2009, 09:18 PM)
haha, the way you covering your face is cute
lol...cos too lazy to open photoshop. and with my slow mini 12, its pain in the ass to open those software.. doh.gif

Added on September 29, 2009, 2:18 pm
QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Sep 29 2009, 01:12 PM)
Can anyone recommend hotel near to Taipei city area ?
Preferably near to night market, shopping, MRT
Midrange budget hotel
give me a budget per night, i give you recommendation. the price range i know is from nt 300 - nt 1600 per night~

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Sep 29 2009, 02:18 PM
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 30 2009, 04:21 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Sep 30 2009, 08:43 AM)
I'm planning to go to taiwan end of this year .. 8 Dec - 14 Dec ....6 day trip to Taipei only
At the moment i haven't book my air ticket yet as i am still looking for an accommodation to stay ...preferable located in the city
My budget will be around rm 200 per night - doesn't care whether it is small room but it must be clean.

As for the places to visit during my trip im still doing researching.
Other than that, i am planning to try hot springs in Taiwan. Any recommendation  ?
wow...rm 200 per night...i think most of the hotel in taipei is under ur budget except some 5 star 1 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ~~ there is many around the taipei train station, it will be convenient for you. single room normally from nt 600 - nt 1500 per night.

from your budget, i recommend you this:

http://www.gocityinn.com/

there is 2 branch near to taipei train station. just different room type. you can have a check on them. and both of them have a Apple mac in their lobby~biggrin.gif
UltraConductor_41
post Sep 30 2009, 04:47 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Sep 30 2009, 04:25 PM)
My budget is < RM150 nite. Nice, clean, cheap and convenient to get public transport location.
Please recommend.  icon_rolleyes.gif
do you sleep late? because the mrt stop at 12am, so if you sleep be4 this time, you can stay near taipei train station and travel whole taipei by mrt. Even you go clubbing till late night, you can back there with teksi at around nt 150.

This 2 is nice enuf.
http://silvervill-hotel.emmm.tw/?ptype=info
http://www.gocityinn.com/

And this 1 i went to its lobby before, its abit dark and the building is old. but the price is still ok. single room nt 1200++
http://100hopehotel.emmm.tw/

But if you dont satisfied, you may go for other option and maybe higher pricing and not near to taipei train station

http://taipei.network.com.tw/hotel.asp

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Sep 30 2009, 05:08 PM
UltraConductor_41
post Oct 1 2009, 02:25 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 1 2009, 11:49 AM)
Hmm..i think it is cheaper compare to malaysia

Added on October 1, 2009, 12:04 pm
All fully booked ....that was fast ...
lol~~impossible~~ i book oct's room for my friend last week. i take 3 room, all still available. Yours december, confirm available~ but for single room, i dont see any online booking selection. you may email them and ask for it~ smile.gif

Added on October 1, 2009, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 1 2009, 11:49 AM)
Hmm..i think it is cheaper compare to malaysia

Added on October 1, 2009, 12:04 pm
All fully booked ....that was fast ...
remember to choose "december"... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Oct 1 2009, 02:34 PM
UltraConductor_41
post Oct 1 2009, 03:29 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Oct 1 2009, 03:16 PM)
Try to book Gocity Inn on Jan next year but all the date mark 'X'. Izit fully booked o wat?
i think its better to contact their customer service~ its their system setting problem. there is 2 branch, 1 have online customer service and email, another 1 have only email. both locate at lower left hand side of the page.
UltraConductor_41
post Oct 7 2009, 03:13 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 6 2009, 07:04 AM)
Bro,

do u have their phone number ?
Is better to request my friend to give him a call as i have some communication problem barrier in mandarin

Added on October 6, 2009, 11:25 amHmm..call them
as i am going on the 9th till 14th ..told me that 9 and 11 room is not available..

Added on October 6, 2009, 11:48 amany recommendation hotels that located near their train station/subway station?
which 1 u called? the front branch or the rear branch? there is 2 branch actually. biggrin.gif and u may just stay another hotel during that 2 days, or go for a 1 night hot spring trip.
and there is many more around that place. just hamtam 1 of it as any starred hotel will not be that bad.

http://www.asiahotels.com/hl/taipei-taiwan.asp

(now i know cityinn is a 3 star hotel tongue.gif )

Added on October 7, 2009, 3:17 am
QUOTE(sweetmink @ Oct 6 2009, 05:02 PM)
i'm going to taipei on 26th oct til 2nd nov.... hopefully enough time to cover most places.... also planning to take the HSR to Kaohsiung on one of the days... is RM3k enough for 2 person minus accomodation n flt ticket? rclxub.gif
HSR damn expensive~ biggrin.gif but there is some discount for certain period. maximum discount is 35%. smile.gif check their web site~

just get a debit card that link to your saving account, and activate the PLUS/CIRRUS function. you can withdraw money everywhere whenever you out of money~ Maybank Visa Debit and public visa electron serve me well~ biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Oct 7 2009, 03:17 AM
UltraConductor_41
post Oct 7 2009, 02:10 PM

428 posts

[quote=Frenly,Oct 7 2009, 08:51 AM]
[quote=UltraConductor_41,Oct 7 2009, 03:13 AM]
which 1 u called? the front branch or the rear branch? there is 2 branch actually. biggrin.gif and u may just stay another hotel during that 2 days, or go for a 1 night hot spring trip.
and there is many more around that place. just hamtam 1 of it as any starred hotel will not be that bad.

Bro,
i call both ...the one nearer to the train station - fully booked as another one is far away from subway ...
i went to google map and search for both hotel ...

yeah, i am planning for 1 night hot spring trip ? any recommendation?

[/quote]

ic...erm..just an information for you. actually i went to both cityinn before myself. both is actually not far~~both can be reach in 10 min walking distance. just 1 at train station south gate, 1 at north gate~~ biggrin.gif

the nearer 1 is beitou hotspring~ u can google "beitou" and info will come out.. smile.gif
UltraConductor_41
post Nov 26 2009, 05:23 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Nov 25 2009, 01:18 PM)
How to dial Taiwan tel no frm Msia ?
use phone.
if you wan to dial a taiwan number 09-12345678, jus dial +886-912345678

Added on November 26, 2009, 5:30 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2009, 12:49 PM)
Thanks Civic for the tips..Probably I will rent a car from Taipei..somwewan in MFM forum managed to rent a gps ready colt for T$2000. I think this is much cheaper than taking train & renting driver..(for 4)..The only problem is to avoid kena caugfht by the authorities there for driving without int license!
actually taiwan not allow malaysia driving license to be use there. you need to have resident visa and re-exam at their country in order to drive there. So there is no guarantee you will able to rent a car with malaysia driving license.
Its better to get urself an international license in jpj at Rm 150. at least able to convince some of the shop to rent you car because some local ppl don know about this.

This post has been edited by UltraConductor_41: Nov 26 2009, 05:30 PM

0.0246sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:07 PM