Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

@lice~~
post May 3 2011, 03:43 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(happyday @ May 3 2011, 01:28 PM)
Hey guys, I'm bringing my grandmother and family (not youngster trip, or shopping trip) so I saw this webpage http://www.asiatravel.com/package.html# recommended at the front few page, was wondering is this site reliable??? I saw the 7D6N is the itinerary is very perfect especially since I'm bringing my grandmother, the trip consist of sceneries and temples and historic places, so I think this itinerary is nice? Have anyone of you tried this site before? I wanna know the main thing is it reliable? If yes, will book it right away since I am going on the mid of June
I think June is not a good month to go Taiwan.. it's hot.. maybe u can consider during month Sept onward..

Btw better go for reliable and popular traveler.. U can try Eva airline or China airline.. they got tour too.. last time got a member here joined their tour too

@lice~~
post May 12 2011, 09:51 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(uncontrolled @ May 12 2011, 08:33 AM)
Depart: Boeing 777-200
Return: Boeing 737-800

How bad it is?! worse than AA? any entertainment?

Btw, Luckily i book the ticket early, cause 1 hour later, i checked back the price, it increases like hell. I guess the reason is ticket almost sold off. (*best deal price RM442 air ticket only w/o taxes)

At first, we plan to go for 8D7N, we checked the price, it was RM1100+(include taxes) on MAS website. But when i trying to book ytd, the price increased, so we choose 6D5N which the price is also RM1100+. This morning, i checked the site again, the 8D7N price back to RM1100 again. Whats wrong with MAS?! increase price just for few hours then go back to low price?! shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
Where you get this price? I saw in MAS website all is more than RM2k..

@lice~~
post May 12 2011, 02:09 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(Marvin_86 @ May 12 2011, 01:54 PM)
i a bit confuse with the weather. my friend told me sep is the hottest weather,but i look at the chart it seem not that hot. March is the best weather to go hot spring? Thanks.
July is the hottest month.. best month is Oct/Nov n Mar/Apr

Added on May 12, 2011, 3:40 pm
QUOTE(aiyume @ May 12 2011, 11:56 AM)
hi, i'm looking for a cheap budget place to stay in taipei for 8D7N this coming end sept. wondering if anyone has stayed in Taipei Chen's Guesthouse?

http://www.wretch.cc/blog/up0109tw

or anyone can recommend a place below TWD1000, preferred with bathroom, safe and clean. thanks!
Maybe u can consider Fun Taipei Backpackers at Shilin..

http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.p...rs/Taipei/39211

U can direct email the manager (Kevin) he will provide a bit of discount on weekday stays around TWD1000.

This post has been edited by @lice~~: May 12 2011, 03:40 PM
@lice~~
post May 13 2011, 10:53 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ May 13 2011, 02:01 AM)
thanks jlgoh, nice coverage smile.gif sorry i got the wrong fun taipei backpackers. the bad review was another place with the same name in shida. told my friend about the one u stayed and she likes it too. gonna put it on the 'things to consider' list smile.gif

btw, i saw that you went to yeh liu and jiu fen. if i wanna go to shi fen on the same day izit possible?
hehe.. i getting info from jlgoh abt tis hostel too.. so far, tis hostel received many good comments.. n dun get wrong for the same name hostel.. tat's y i mentioned in shilin.. when r u going to taipei?

if money n time allowed, try staying 1 nite at Jiu Fen.. there is a nice minsu but a bit costly.. then u possible to go for shi fen o other area.. i hope i can do so but money n time restricted sad.gif

This post has been edited by @lice~~: May 13 2011, 10:59 AM
@lice~~
post May 13 2011, 11:38 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ May 13 2011, 11:09 AM)
going in end sept. 7D7N. i think we're planning to just do 1 day trip to yeh liu + jiu fen + shi fen, 1 day trip to beitou + danshui, 1 day trip to wulai + mao kong, 1 day trip to miaoli, the rest go around taipei city.
U can add in Yangmingshan in ur beitou + danshui trip

Wat interesting at shi fen?

@lice~~
post May 13 2011, 02:42 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ May 13 2011, 12:02 PM)
u can make and light paper lantern at shifen on top of their railway line smile.gif

Only that? tongue.gif i wanna spend more time on JiuFen.. so i might drop ShiFen instead.. hehe

QUOTE(smalling @ May 13 2011, 01:19 PM)
how many of you guys traveling?
i got nice cab driver contact with reasonable price,cause april i take his service,very good.. smile.gif
if u need the information let me know..

Does the cab go around Tarako?

QUOTE(aiyume @ May 13 2011, 02:31 PM)
2 persons only. so taking cab might not be cheap.
Agree.. but some area worth to taking cab if really too far away.. imagine walk for 30min o more.. i will pengsan tongue.gif

@lice~~
post May 13 2011, 03:33 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 13 2011, 02:57 PM)
Yes. I was using them. Just walk out of the station and you will see lotsa Yellow cabs. Just wait & hire them on a day basis. They even having a nice itineraries. Rack rate for seda start from NT2200 way back in Dec 2008 but after negotiation, you probably get ~ NT$1800  smile.gif
Ya, looking for cheaper cab tongue.gif

QUOTE(aiyume @ May 13 2011, 03:28 PM)
i can walk very long on flat land but not uphill. i walk the most when i travel. 1 day of travelling = 1 week of walking during normal days XD

izit possible to do taroko tour in 1 day from taipei? i know from taipei to hualien train takes about 2hrs +. or izit advisable to stay a nite in hualien instead?

i found this hostel provide tour+ accommodation but not sure if the price is reasonable.

平日:每人 1,250起 元       假日:加收 0 元
行程:9:00→慈濟精舍→太魯閣遊客中心→布洛灣台地→燕子口→慈母橋 →九曲洞→天祥→長春祠→七星潭→返回市區 (此專案價格為四人之價格,人數較多另有優惠,歡迎請來電洽詢歐)
專案中包含:住宿、專業導遊司機、平安險、來回接送, 全程約八小時
Yup, possible for 1 day trip.. refer to first page of this thread n refer to stimix's itinerary.. i planning for 1 day trip to toroko too.. praying hard during my trip there Hualien/toroko is safety to visit

This post has been edited by @lice~~: May 13 2011, 03:35 PM
@lice~~
post May 14 2011, 01:53 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(smalling @ May 13 2011, 09:10 PM)
yup, he do..he even travel whole taiwan trip...

and for those who wanna go to taroko by train, better book the ticket online early, no harm to book early especially for express train...
i experience the it before,when i wanna take train from other place to hualien (not taipei), book early you no need to worry, can book 7am train,den you may arrive there around 9 or 10am.Then start the journey!

What u mean by "can book 7am train,den you may arrive there around 9 or 10am"? izzit meaning i can book anytime of the train n depart with anytime of train?

@lice~~
post May 16 2011, 10:35 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(smalling @ May 15 2011, 02:34 AM)
erm...i think so..
every train that you take, they have their own train no. , if you want take from taipei to hualien,i will suggest you to take early morning train, which is express(you may check at the website), if you miss out the express train,u travel time will more than 3-4 hours reach hualien..
you can choose from their website, and pay online the ticket by visa, after you arrive taipei, go and collect that ticket first or you reach 30min early to take you ticket..
and *if you plan to take their bullet train, you may book early(10-15days of your travel date and get 30% discount i think so)

Last, of cuz, u need to plan ur iternary betul betul confirm first..

hope you understand what i write... nod.gif
alright, thanks.. bullet train only going to Kaohsiung rite?

QUOTE(aiyume @ May 15 2011, 09:39 PM)
i'm quite concern with the weather actually. if i pre-book my trip to hualien, what if typhoon hit? ph34r.gif
Me too, bcoz going to hualien need to prebook the ticket earlier.. so "touch wood" the weather not allowed then how? got refund tongue.gif

some more got 1 more day free, dunno go where ady

@lice~~
post May 18 2011, 12:42 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ May 18 2011, 11:52 AM)
IMHO round island tour with travel agency will be tiring and rushing because almost everyday you have to travel and change hotels, and the places to visit/stay are already fixed. although you don't have to worry about which hotel to stay or which bus to take but in the end you'll pay alot more extra because the hotels might be expensive when you can choose a cheaper accommodation. and you might only allowed to visit a place for a short time only. Reliance was charging about 3k+ for round island trip during the last matta fair i enquired.
True, even i enquiry 1 person in travel agent which we known.. he frankly speak tat we can save at least RM1k per person if we DIY ourselves.. of coz the accommodation is those budget one..
@lice~~
post May 19 2011, 03:02 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(chingz @ May 19 2011, 01:00 PM)
no problem if i go there mainly for shopping purpose rite? hehe
if u mainly go there for shopping then it might not so suitable.. during winter, most of the clothes they r selling is for winter only..

@lice~~
post May 23 2011, 10:27 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 22 2011, 11:58 PM)
book tmr? tongue.gif

i was aiming may-june but seems like its their raining season, will be aiming end feb which is end of winter.

april should be spring?
U sure June is raining season? June not summer ady meh?

I know my housemate last month (April) went to Taiwan n it's raining almost everyday.

Well, March n April is good month to go.. not too hot n too cold..

Added on May 23, 2011, 10:33 am
QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ May 23 2011, 02:12 AM)
Air Asia has promotion today (23rd May 2011) starting at 12pm for flights next year..

To taipei will be about Rm200 if u can get it...
nod.gif i got the email from AA too n stated RM200 for taipei..

This post has been edited by @lice~~: May 23 2011, 10:33 AM
@lice~~
post May 26 2011, 12:57 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ May 26 2011, 11:01 AM)
haha. i don't think it'll be a big problem for me coz only 2 of us are travelling. and if we really couldn't sit together it's fine with me also. flight only takes 3hours and we're gonna see each other for the next 7 days until jelak laugh.gif

so anyone has any suggestion for wulai and maokong? google map suggested that the journey from wulai to maokong takes about 2 hours with combinations of MRT and bus.
Found this regarding Wulai : http://jy-s.com/2009/03/18/ulay-hot-spring...80%91%E5%B8%83/

Where is Maokong? anything interesting there?

@lice~~
post May 26 2011, 06:44 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(MandyG @ May 26 2011, 01:45 PM)
maokong is near taipei zoo.... just like side by side..... i not very sure... that time i lack of time to went to maokong lolz.... so i choose to sky lantern.....
QUOTE(aiyume @ May 26 2011, 06:41 PM)
maokong is famous for tea plantation and tea cafe, nice scenery also. can see taipei from up there. from taipei zoo take the cable car to go up.

http://www.twmaokong.net/

i think i'll either split both places to 2 days and add on to others, or skip 1 of the place.
Thanks.. 1 more place to visit thumbup.gif

@lice~~
post May 27 2011, 02:08 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ May 27 2011, 01:59 PM)
cant  think, need confirm bro  icon_question.gif
Confirm.. later when u get ur passport jz key in to the system

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0515sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:24 AM