Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

Calistra
post Apr 24 2017, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(wengherng @ Mar 10 2017, 11:20 PM)
What would you recommend as a decent, secure online wallet for ETH, assuming that I do not want to buy a hardware wallet at the moment?
Mine does not support ETH.
Ledger Nano S

Soon on sale at ledger.com.my

Calistra
post Apr 29 2017, 07:38 PM

QUOTE(sirxl @ Apr 25 2017, 07:07 AM)
Calistra - are you the owner of ledger.com.my?
Nope - but I know the person who is. They are a bit tied up at the moment so plans to launch are taking longer than expected.
Calistra
post Apr 29 2017, 07:47 PM

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 29 2017, 04:05 PM)
I asked Remitano and they say they are not sure.  smile.gif

Gosh, ETH is becoming like BTC. Spend so much to get so few coins......... painful sad.gif

I'm thinking that I have accumulate enough eth and should pump money into other potential coins. Of course, the problem is which one??!!?
It is mistaken thinking to say ETH price is "so high" just as it is meaningless to say that 1 BTC has reached the price of 1 ounce of gold.

These are only pegged to the arbitrarily decided units of 1 ETH and 1 BTC.

You get the same percentage return on 1 Wei as you do 1 ETH! The only thing is we, occasionally have psychological barriers caused by those arbitrary units.
Calistra
post Apr 29 2017, 10:07 PM

[quote=kmarc,Apr 29 2017, 09:11 PM]
I understand that. That's the reason my strategy hard-forked, soft-forked and segwitted so many times! biggrin.gif My initial aim was BTC but after evaluating other coins, it appeared that the percentage gain would be much better for altcoins rather than BTC. Hence the reason crazy me have more than 40 types of coins with only 0.5 bitcoin in my hardware wallet! biggrin.gif I guess the main issue is which coin do we think have the potential to rise significantly. ETH looks like a no-brainer choice hence a significant percentage of my funds are in ETH. Other than that, besides some other potential coins, I have no clue which one will shoot to the moon next time.

Which coins do you keep? smile.gif

I have a few of each of these
ETH - a friend paid me in them for something he owed me. I write smart contracts so I kept them
BTC - there was a bounty program for testing something I needed anyway - so I tested it hard and got some rewards
XMR - A couple of years ago we started looking at Monero to fork for a project we were working on. I turned on mining by accident and got a block!
XLM - We finally forked Stellar and I was given them.

Since I am always broke I don't invest. blush.gif

Calistra
post May 2 2017, 04:02 AM

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 29 2017, 10:16 PM)
Cool. You do crypto programming? Nice. It's definitely better to be paid in BTC/altcoins as they grow in value over time!  thumbup.gif

Oh you have experience with Stellar? Any info on it? I'm thinking it is still a relatively "cheap" coin. Don't dare put in more though.
I am insanely conservative with regards to things that I will work with. I have absolutely no idea how these things will go. My only hunches are that Ether and BTC have long term reliability.

In terms of implementing things, Stellar has a few nice features (just like ripple) but has probably been eclipsed by ethereum.

The nice thing about stellar is the ability to become a gateway for a new asset and allow others to trade your asset, however I feel that with Ethereum you can create ERC20 coins with a load more customisation if required.

0.1897sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:23 PM