EasyParcel Credit is not an E-money?, Is it an e-money?

TSveron4best
post Mar 9 2017, 08:53 PM, updated 7y ago

1,146 posts

I am user of EasyParcel for past 1 year. I'm not a business owner and I'm only use it for my own convenient to send up some stuffs to my relatives or friends throughout the Malaysia. However, I have been not satisfied with their minimal reload of RM100. Complaint to them that their business model only serve the business owner (commercial) and not really suitable for community like me. They didn't really look into this matters. Ok fine.

And then another issue that I'm not satisfied is they impose "1 year expiry" to our reload credit (plz do note their reload credit is in RM, important for my later what I gonna explain). I found out if company like this they can earn a lot just by luring citizen like me reload RM100 credit every year and left out expired RM50 credit.

And then, I found this "Guideline on Electronic Money" provided by Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM/RH/GL 016-3) and there is this regulation to avoid "money laundering" for this kind of "e-money". Since the EasyParcel Credit is quoted in "RM", so as a layman like me, when I see "RM", that's mean is Ringgit Malaysia. Therefore, I believe this EasyParcel Credit is consider as "e-money" since it is quoted in RM.

Therefore, if we follow the "Guideline on Electronic Money" and I quote the following:-

So, if I decide to close my account. I will get a refund of what ever credit I left in EasyParcel right?

I emailed again and I quote this guideline.

But I gotten the following reply.

I'm not so familiar with this kind of law terms used by their legal team.

I would like to seek advice whether can I complaint this to Bank Negara?

From each every part of their website, they quoted using "RM" and not their own "term for credit". So how can they say it is NOT an "e-money" when it is RM.

Also, for TouchNGo we reload into TouchNGo company and TouchNGo Company pay the money to KTM/LRT/LDPtol when we use them. It sound the same way right?

jack2
post Mar 10 2017, 02:56 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Don't think it is e money as it deem to be like prepaid system like our mobile operators.

Btw, easy parcel is a courier service company??
TSveron4best
post Mar 10 2017, 08:49 AM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 10 2017, 02:56 AM)
Don't think it is e money as it deem to be like prepaid system like our mobile operators.

Btw, easy parcel is a courier service company??
It is a prepaid system. They deemed as a courier service middle man. Just like what Touch N Go do. U order ur PosLaju, then u pay using RM inside ur account. (How frequent a normal citizen like uses RM100 courier service annually? I can start up a new company impose a minimum reload of RM1000 to use my service and impose an expiry of 1 year)

U reload into RM currency.

If u compared with MolPoint, u reload become MolPoint Credit which is not in RM currency. And thus MolPoint is not a consider as prepaid system.
greenpips
post Mar 10 2017, 03:02 PM

84 posts

E-credit VS E-Money

What are the differences?
TSveron4best
post Mar 10 2017, 04:07 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(greenpips @ Mar 10 2017, 03:02 PM)
E-credit VS E-Money

What are the differences?
E-credit means like MOL where your reload become MOLPoint credit not in symbol of RM.

E-money means like the credit is still denoted as "RM"

EasyParcel reload is denoted in RM

This post has been edited by veron4best: Mar 10 2017, 04:08 PM
greenpips
post Mar 11 2017, 09:03 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 10 2017, 04:07 PM)
E-credit means like MOL where your reload become MOLPoint credit not in symbol of RM.

E-money means like the credit is still denoted as "RM"

EasyParcel reload is denoted in RM

No matter it is e-money or e-credit, it is still money regardless its RM/currency denominations.

Substance over form. To me, e-money is something stored in the account and it can be transferred/paid someone freely and e-credit is something that you cannot and is used to offset future transactions.

TSveron4best
post Mar 11 2017, 10:21 AM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(greenpips @ Mar 11 2017, 09:03 AM)
No matter it is e-money or e-credit, it is still money regardless its RM/currency denominations.

Substance over form. To me, e-money is something stored in the account and it can be transferred/paid someone freely and e-credit is something that you cannot and is used to offset future transactions.
Means, i should get a refund if i decided to close my account with them? and how can they impose expiry on a money!

Yesterday, I called BNMTelelink, I explained to them on my issue. They asked me email to them the details.

From the telephone conversation, the BNMTelelink mentioned it should be regulated as "e-money".

If u notice on EasyParcel website, even from their reload page, everything is denoted as "RM"! Even mentioned free RM200 credit when u reload RM2000.

Their FAQ website is as following.

jack2
post Mar 11 2017, 10:41 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 11 2017, 10:21 AM)
Means, i should get a refund if i decided to close my account with them? and how can they impose expiry on a money!

Yesterday, I called BNMTelelink, I explained to them on my issue. They asked me email to them the details.

From the telephone conversation, the BNMTelelink mentioned it should be regulated as "e-money".

If u notice on EasyParcel website, even from their reload page, everything is denoted as "RM"! Even mentioned free RM200 credit when u reload RM2000.

Their FAQ website is as following.

Don't try to argue again either it is emoney or ecredit.

It has no differences if such substance is used like prepaid system.

To me, it is emoney or ecredit.

If it is emoney, such money is used to prepaid in advance for future services. You can term it as ecredit as well but the substance is not to pay someone or transfer someone to use somewhere.

You will lose the case.

Don't defence again whether it HAS RM or without RM.

If this service is regarded AS EMONEY and regulated under BNM, then all mobile prepaid credits are emoney as well.

LOL funny U.

Another example, emoney has no expiration while ecredit has.
TSveron4best
post Mar 11 2017, 10:51 AM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 11 2017, 10:41 AM)
Don't try to argue again either it is emoney or ecredit.

It has no differences if such substance is used like prepaid system.

To me, it is emoney or ecredit.

If it is emoney, such money is used to prepaid in advance for future services. You can term it as ecredit as well but the substance is not to pay someone or transfer someone to use somewhere.

You will lose the case.

Don't defence again whether it HAS RM or without RM.

If this service is regarded AS EMONEY and regulated under BNM, then all mobile prepaid credits are emoney as well.

LOL funny U.

Another example, emoney has no expiration while ecredit has.
Mobile prepaid might differ as u pay digi to use digi service and not u pay digi to use maxis service.
(TnG u pay to TnG so that u can pay car-park, LDP tol, bus, LRT, MRT)

Also u reload mobile prepaid in order to secure your "phone line" to be active, so that anyone would be able to contact u anytime. (in other sense, u paid for the line-active fees)

May I know where can I find BNM guideline on e-credit?

This post has been edited by veron4best: Mar 11 2017, 10:53 AM
TSveron4best
post Mar 11 2017, 10:57 AM

1,146 posts

In another saying, I can open up a new company impose a minimum RM1,000 reload so that you can use PosLaju services cheaper than u go to Pos Office and I provide pickup services for u.

But T&C is expiry is 1 month.

I believe just by running in this way. I can earn big flocks of money just by playing with T&C!

I can earn even faster than JJPTR!

This post has been edited by veron4best: Mar 11 2017, 11:00 AM
jack2
post Mar 11 2017, 11:19 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 11 2017, 10:51 AM)
Mobile prepaid might differ as u pay digi to use digi service and not u pay digi to use maxis service.
(TnG u pay to TnG so that u can pay car-park, LDP tol, bus, LRT, MRT)

Also u reload mobile prepaid in order to secure your "phone line" to be active, so that anyone would be able to contact u anytime. (in other sense, u paid for the line-active fees)

May I know where can I find BNM guideline on e-credit?
This credit also only used to pay their courier service and no other else right?

I hope you calm down yourself and you logic to think again.

I believe you must have something that you did not satisfy about them and such dissatisfition has lead you to bias mind.

Mobile credit is to secure your line and they have expired as well and you must top up within certain. Period.

Again, this is their term and condition. You can use cash to pay if you think you can't utilise the credit within a year

Tak suka, Don't use LA.
jack2
post Mar 11 2017, 11:22 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 11 2017, 10:57 AM)
In another saying, I can open up a new company impose a minimum RM1,000 reload so that you can use PosLaju services cheaper than u go to Pos Office and I provide pickup services for u.

But T&C is expiry is 1 month.

I believe just by running in this way. I can earn big flocks of money just by playing with T&C!

I can earn even faster than JJPTR!
Go ahead and open it. You will bankrupt soon as no one is going to use it to commit it if they know their commitment is not that high.

You are still immuture and don't playing the TC. No people will commit it if they can't agree with the TC. If you use it, it means you have read and accept able to u.

So, if you think you can't utilise the 100, don't use la.....

Use cash to pay or just use your profit earned from JJ to pay other courier company la. Kamu bukan tarak duit.

This post has been edited by jack2: Mar 11 2017, 11:24 AM
TSveron4best
post Mar 11 2017, 11:35 AM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 11 2017, 11:19 AM)
This credit also only used to pay their courier service and no other else right?

I hope you calm down yourself and you logic to think again.

I believe you must have something that you did not satisfy about them and such dissatisfition has lead you to bias mind.

Mobile credit is to secure your line and they have expired as well and you must top up within certain. Period.

Again, this is their term and condition. You can use cash to pay if you think you can't utilise the credit within a year
Tak suka, Don't use LA.
They didn't provide courier service, they are just a platform of gathering several company and give me quotation with pick up services.

Means when I want to send items, they will show me what are the prices charges by PosLaju, GDEX, Nationwide etc. Poslaju ppl (wearing poslaju uniform) will go over ur place to pickup, EasyParcel doesn't showup from beginning to the end on Poslaju part.

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 11 2017, 11:22 AM)
Go ahead and open it. You will bankrupt soon as no one is going to use it to commit it if they know their commitment is not that high.

You are still immuture and don't playing the TC. No people will commit it if they can't agree with the TC. If you use it, it means you have read and accept able to u.

So, if you think you can't utilise the 100, don't use la.....

Use cash to pay or just use your profit earned from JJ to pay other courier company la.  Kamu bukan tarak duit.
Haha. Is just a scenario.

At the end, end-user mmg kena big company makan becz of this kind T&C playing.

This post has been edited by veron4best: Mar 11 2017, 11:36 AM
jack2
post Mar 11 2017, 11:42 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 11 2017, 11:35 AM)
They didn't provide courier service, they are just a platform of gathering several company and give me quotation with pick up services. 

Means when I want to send items, they will show me what are the prices charges by PosLaju, GDEX, Nationwide etc. Poslaju ppl (wearing poslaju uniform) will go over ur place to pickup, EasyParcel doesn't showup from beginning to the end on Poslaju part.
Haha. Is just a scenario.

At the end, end-user mmg kena big company makan becz of this kind T&C playing.
Oh... It means at the end, either is poslaju or GDEX it anyone else comes to pickup and you are paying to easyparcel and they have deal with courier companies la?

In such case, it is still not meant to be payment system to transfer to third parties for other purposes.
TSveron4best
post Mar 11 2017, 12:11 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 11 2017, 11:42 AM)
Oh... It means at the end, either is poslaju or GDEX it anyone else comes to pickup and you are paying to easyparcel and they have deal with courier companies la?
In such case, it is still not meant to be payment system to transfer to third parties for other purposes.
They mentioned pay using "EasyParcel Credit". Still can't be meant as a "payment system" uh?

As I pay to Poslaju/Skynet/NationwideExpress on the spot.

Walao Eh. How can something similar to Touch N Go / Mobile Reload but it doesn't act similar to them.
jack2
post Mar 11 2017, 12:15 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 11 2017, 12:11 PM)
They mentioned pay using "EasyParcel Credit". Still can't be meant as a "payment system" uh?

As I pay to Poslaju/Skynet/NationwideExpress on the spot.

Walao Eh. How can something similar to Touch N Go / Mobile Reload but it doesn't act similar to them.
payment system is something like PayPal whereby you can pay to someone.

This one is used for their own service and it is not payment system. It is just like prepaid or payment in advanced and they create it with credit way so they can trace your transactions.
ericyp
post Oct 10 2017, 04:36 PM

19 posts

Hi, any conclusion on this? Are you able to get refund back?
soules83
post Jun 25 2018, 11:32 PM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

Any conclusion? Did you able to get the refund back? I also looking for ways to get a refund too.

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 9 2017, 08:53 PM)
I am user of EasyParcel for past 1 year. I'm not a business owner and I'm only use it for my own convenient to send up some stuffs to my relatives or friends throughout the Malaysia. However, I have been not satisfied with their minimal reload of RM100. Complaint to them that their business model only serve the business owner (commercial) and not really suitable for community like me. They didn't really look into this matters. Ok fine.

And then another issue that I'm not satisfied is they impose "1 year expiry" to our reload credit (plz do note their reload credit is in RM, important for my later what I gonna explain). I found out if company like this they can earn a lot just by luring citizen like me reload RM100 credit every year and left out expired RM50 credit.

And then, I found this "Guideline on Electronic Money" provided by Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM/RH/GL 016-3) and there is this regulation to avoid "money laundering" for this kind of "e-money". Since the EasyParcel Credit is quoted in "RM", so as a layman like me, when I see "RM", that's mean is Ringgit Malaysia. Therefore, I believe this EasyParcel Credit is consider as "e-money" since it is quoted in RM.

Therefore, if we follow the "Guideline on Electronic Money" and I quote the following:-

So, if I decide to close my account. I will get a refund of what ever credit I left in EasyParcel right?

I emailed again and I quote this guideline.

But I gotten the following reply.

I'm not so familiar with this kind of law terms used by their legal team.

I would like to seek advice whether can I complaint this to Bank Negara?

From each every part of their website, they quoted using "RM" and not their own "term for credit". So how can they say it is NOT an "e-money" when it is RM.

Also, for TouchNGo we reload into TouchNGo company and TouchNGo Company pay the money to KTM/LRT/LDPtol when we use them. It sound the same way right?
TSveron4best
post Jun 28 2018, 12:41 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Jun 25 2018, 11:32 PM)
Any conclusion? Did you able to get the refund back? I also looking for ways to get a refund too.
no. cannot refund. i ask BNM, the payment u pay is for their services rather than a payment method.

BNM say E-Money must be registered with them. Easyparcel cannot consider as E-Money.

I would say this the loophole of law. where someone else can issue out a balance for a service that look like a e-wallet but is not an e-wallet.

They say easy parcel is just an agent. and they pay PosLaju etc at their backend (not thru customer). is not like u buy poslaju parcel directly, u just appoint Easyparcel as an agent for PosLaju (how smart it is!).

not like touch n go, u go buy something at 7eleven, u pay using touch n go is on the spot (not thru TnG backend). thus Easyparcel is not consider as e-wallet.

This post has been edited by veron4best: Jun 28 2018, 12:44 PM
Entery0urUsername
post Jun 28 2018, 12:45 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Jun 28 2018, 12:41 PM)
no. cannot refund. i ask BNM, the payment u pay is for their services rather than a payment method.

BNM say E-Money must be registered with them. Easyparcel cannot consider as E-Money.

I would say this the loophole of law. where someone else can issue out a balance for a service that look like a e-wallet but is not an e-wallet.

They say easy parcel is just an agent. and they pay PosLaju etc at their backend (not thru customer). is not like u buy poslaju parcel directly, u just appoint Easyparcel as an agent for PosLaju (how smart it is!).

not like touch n go, u go buy something at 7eleven, u pay using touch n go is on the spot (not thru TnG backend). thus Easyparcel is not consider as e-wallet.
You could have sell off your credit to other ppl that uses the service.
soules83
post Jun 28 2018, 01:03 PM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Jun 28 2018, 12:41 PM)

Omg lol.
TSveron4best
post Jun 29 2018, 10:06 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(Entery0urUsername @ Jun 28 2018, 12:45 PM)
You could have sell off your credit to other ppl that uses the service.
left few ringgit nia. just forget about it.

If frequently use, it worth. otherwise for ppl like me, maybe one PosLaju every 6 months, not worth.
alexislim
post Oct 1 2019, 02:05 PM

67 posts

Has any one tried lodge report in consumer tribunal yet?
TSveron4best
post Oct 1 2019, 05:28 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(alexislim @ Oct 1 2019, 02:05 PM)
Has any one tried lodge report in consumer tribunal yet?
cant lodge. as they using grey area to work around.

it is like a membership for Easyparcel.

only can say Easyparcel are not for small user or unfrequent user like us.

i already been not using their service for sometimes.

using collectco more often nowadays to send parcel to my relatives and so on.
emilieisme
post Jul 21 2020, 05:46 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Oct 1 2019, 05:28 PM)
cant lodge. as they using grey area to work around.

it is like a membership for Easyparcel.

only can say Easyparcel are not for small user or unfrequent user like us.

i already been not using their service for sometimes.

using collectco more often nowadays to send parcel to my relatives and so on.
I'm also facing the same matter rite now. Think of want to claim back my prepaid money.
Really useless middleman.
This is the 2nd times caused me cancelled their parcel service.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

0.0210sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:19 PM