BWC

TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 11:59 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Mar 20 2017, 11:06 AM)
if you have to ask this question that means...

anyway, here you go:

parents, siblings, mentors, personal coach, internet/youtube/google, books, Cd, TV, radio, seminars, blogs, employers, colleague, social events, conference, roadshow, clients, and forum here, etc......

school IS over-rated.
Ya. Some do find school is over rated.
No doubt.

But why l Iimit the learning process to just schools?
Why so narrow minded?
Cannot broaden our mindset by learning from every available resources?

Look for fake trading...
When you lose, you lose no money.
You learn and hopefully you learn from whatever mistakes you make.

Real trading?
There's really no limit to how much you can lose.
Lose too much, it's game over.

Ya. Different strokes.
Your choice.

TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 01:17 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 20 2017, 12:50 PM)
She learned from the school of hard knocks. She did well in the end. Everyone can look back and say if only they did this or that differently. That is how life is. Sometimes you don't know what works until it is over and done and then you look at the results. You can paper trade for a year, and make a million dollars on paper. Then you can say at the end, if only I did real trading during that time and made a real million, I don't have to trade anymore forever.

I am not saying paper trading is no good. I am saying it depends on the person and their character and how they learn best. You can paper trade and make paper profits. But it can go wrong when you get to real trading. It is not a fool-proof way. It may help, but it is no guarantee. Just like there is no guarantee that if you do real trading and you profit the first few times, you will forever profit.

Its not only about how you do on paper. The stock market is dynamic. What works on paper for the past months may not work for the next months. Its about opportunity, timing, sentiment, news, rumours, and luck etc. These don't stay the same.

Based on your paper trades, you can go into a real trade which under normal circumstances would make you a 100% profit. But a couple of days later, some unexpected world events make the market go down a lot. That is beyond your control and experience.

Trading in the stock market is sort of a gamble like going to the casino or playing 4D. There is no certainty to the outcome. People don't like to say its a gamble. So they use words like managing risks etc. Life itself is a gamble as its full of risks and your taking a chance all the time, even when crossing the road. You mitigate or manage the risks by looking left, right, left again before crossing. That does not mean a helicopter won't fall on your head, or a stray bullet won't hit you while you're crossing after taking precautions.

I think one of the things lowya is pointing out is that if this year is a bull market, you learn paper trading and do well. Next year you start real trading, but its a bear market. You have lost out an opportunity due to the timing.

It seems paper trade works for you. You seem to have found a magic  formula which we are not aware of. Good for you. Point is, it may not work for everyone the same as characters are different. From gark's posting, it seems that he does well in his trading / investments. I don't remember him saying that he paper traded for years before starting. I am guessing he studied and did research on stocks before buying  them. Good for him too.

There must be some who have lost money when they started, but then made much more later on. Like the girl you mentioned. Good for her.   For some people, no pain no gain...

Also, there is lots of discipline and patience factors involved in trading. You must also be mindful of not everyone has the same amount of capital to trade / invest. You may be having lots of money in the 6 figure range and want to earn more from it. You have all the time in the world to wait for the big returns. But there will be some who only have say 4 figures as capital and are looking for some returns to help ease living expenses etc. They cannot wait years before starting to try to get some returns.

Ok, session over... lunch break...
Dude..

Thanks for the rather long reply but I am afraid there's so many stuff i don't agree.

Should i go long or short reply?

Hmmmm.......

First para...

1. She survived cos she had her sugar daddy backing. She acknowledges this too. Without this unlimited oney backing, she was a dead duck. No way she could have made her comeback. She wished she found out that trading was not for her via paper trading.

Well, how does one know what works and what doesn't?

You can do the try method and get ready to lose money while trading or you can do the paper trading.

When I paper trade, this is my discovery process.

I find out what method works and what method doesn't.

I discover my skill set.

It's nothing like what you say in the first paragraph.

If do like you wrote there....sure die lor...

2nd paragraph.......errr....

This post has been edited by Boon3: Mar 20 2017, 01:18 PM
TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 02:24 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 20 2017, 02:12 PM)
Exactly. Everyone got their own opinions and methods. Everyone does not need to agree with everyone else. No harm discussing, no harm disagreeing. Everyone ultimately decides what they want to do on their own. No one person is right. Do whats right for you. No need to force everyone to follow one method. As I've said, something works for you, good for you. That is not the only method.
I still don't agree.

tongue.gif

This paper trading is not as simple as different view points.

Let me use my old sayings...

The stock market is like fighting a war.
Paper trading is like preparing yourself to fight the war.

Can you fight the war without preparing yourself?
Can you fight the war without knowing what's your fighting skill?

2nd para
No where have said that paper trading means you will sure win once you trade.
That's BS.
I agree.

3rd para........
TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 02:26 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 20 2017, 02:15 PM)
So Smurfs , how long did you do paper trading before you did your first real trade?
How come you no ask me this?

whistling.gif

I did more than 8 years.

smurfs

Excellent. You sure you know trader? tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 02:29 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Mar 20 2017, 02:20 PM)
Paper trading. Usually u win more then lose. Cause you can look at things objectively, its not real money.

Real trading... emotion comes into play... always holding back for more profit, always holding back to cut loss, cause its REAL money.

So... if u can make 20% from paper trading... dont expect anything more then 10% in real trading...

Experience from Commodities trading.. not stock.. so it moves much faster..
How exactly did you paper trade?

Care to share?
TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 03:59 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 20 2017, 03:18 PM)
I think (or at least in my mind) you got say before. At least you mentioned years. I thought it was 3 or 5, but I wrong since you said 8. I should have written your post down on paper...

Not sure if you want to answer, never mind if you don't....

In the 8 years of your paper trading, do you have a rough percentage of wins vs loss? Like 50-50 or 70-30 etc?

How does that compare with your real trading after that? Is it about the same percentage? Or much better?

You see, I ask not because I want to know how much profit you make....

I can see how you are trying to guide newbies on to a track so that they don't lose money right at the start. I can appreciate that, believe  it or not...

However, IMO, it is not much point just chanting a mantra unless you show the benefits. Or else newbies will not take it seriously. Your story about the girl who lost money initially is a good one that newbies can probably  relate to or be aware of or be afraid of.

Why some people read books of other successful people is because they want to see if they can follow or emulate to also achieve success. But the book must have explanations of why and how in order for one to learn from it, or else it is just like another story book.

There is a difference between preaching and teaching...

Trading becoming philosophical...
Once you start talking stuff like 50-50 or 70-30 I know you have the concept of paper trading wrong, which is why I can understand your bias against it.

Look I am NOT talking about stocks like JAKS or the PUCs and DATAPREPs of todays.
Continuous paper trading such stocks for many years has zero value in my opinion.

For a trader..
Paper trading is used to discover ourselves.
To find out what kind of trading fits me best...
or perhaps I suck in all form of trading.

Take a double bottom or the \/\/
The proper method to trade it is to buy AFTER the second bottom is formed, right at the top of the right side of the W.

I then ask myself, is double bottom trading the best for me?

First thing first.
Like many, I always ask, why not right where the second bottom is formed?
If not, how about 2 or 3 bids above the 2nd bottom?
Why ask this?
Cos usually, there is quite a bit of meat between the bottom and the top.
For example, say... if the bottom is at 1.20 and the top is 1.35, me like many others, will surely ask why 1.35? Why not 1.20.

So best way to find out?
Real practice.
Find a real existing stock, paper trade it.
Test it out.
Try playing the 1.20 or the 1.24.
Then compare it versus 1.35.
And I do NOT test it on one SINGLE stock.
I test on many.
And I also make sure I mark it down if the market condition is bullish or bearish.

Result?
The 1.35 is always the better entry.

And in fact, I also test the difference of where the double bottom occurs.
Oh yeah, I am sure you are aware that double bottoms can happen in different trends.
ie. you can have a double bottom on a down trending stock and you can also have a double bottom in an uptrend.

The paper trading objective is to find out how best I can trade this.

Of course, the early days, my paper trading was simple...
RSI la...
change the time period la...
etc etc etc....

Hey, I can go on and on....

but I gotta ask you this....

is this your TYPE of paper trading?

or is your paper trading just paper trading on stocks like PUC and then once you hit a certain win percentage, you consider yourself a success and then you move on to real trading?

TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 04:01 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 20 2017, 03:18 PM)

You see, I ask not because I want to know how much profit you make....
LOL!

You saying I got to show you my actual record before I start posting? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 04:05 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Mar 20 2017, 02:47 PM)

I don't know  biggrin.gif
Hahahaha!!!!

I believe you know that I was trying so hard to pull your 'left one' longer...............

tongue.gif

Seriously...
From your older posts...
I am pretty confident you are an above average investor.

TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 05:05 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 20 2017, 05:01 PM)
In my previous posts, I have already said that I am not saying paper trading is no good.

My point was to ask after doing 8 years of paper trading, you should be having close to 100% wins with real trading after that. Except that one time, if I remember correctly, you said you lost some 3K or something on a trade - can't quite remember exactly. Such stats would thus help a newbie understand the value of it all.

Do you think if you tell a newbie to paper trade first for 5 or 8 years before doing a real trade, they are going to follow?
No, I wasn't asking for you actual trading profits etc.

Anyway, if anyone is interested here is an article about paper trading. As I say, there are normally two side to everything. Make sure you read the user comments at the bottom to get a wider view. One of the comments say what MeToo said in an earlier post here. People generally write articles to push their own viewpoint only. Does not mean there are no other correct viewpoints.

https://tinyurl.com/kgo8bp7
This is chat is not going anywhere real soon.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 06:23 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 20 2017, 05:01 PM)
In my previous posts, I have already said that I am not saying paper trading is no good.

My point was to ask after doing 8 years of paper trading, you should be having close to 100% wins with real trading after that. Except that one time, if I remember correctly, you said you lost some 3K or something on a trade - can't quite remember exactly. Such stats would thus help a newbie understand the value of it all.

Do you think if you tell a newbie to paper trade first for 5 or 8 years before doing a real trade, they are going to follow?
No, I wasn't asking for you actual trading profits etc.

Anyway, if anyone is interested here is an article about paper trading. As I say, there are normally two side to everything. Make sure you read the user comments at the bottom to get a wider view. One of the comments say what MeToo said in an earlier post here. People generally write articles to push their own viewpoint only. Does not mean there are no other correct viewpoints.

https://tinyurl.com/kgo8bp7
OK.

Got my WSS done.

All fresh now. laugh.gif

So where were we?

Ah... paper trading.

Look. Let's get it straight.

I have encouraged paper trading for a long time.

That's all.

It's not that I am forcing you or anyone to take this as my gospel.
Yes, everyone has different viewpoints.
That's needless to say and I find rather irritating that folks constantly throws that out the minute they see a conversation going on.
However, I am very strongly opinionated on paper trading.
And many times, I wonder, if the folks that are against paper trading, know what exactly paper trading is?
Paper trading is NOT buying any stock and continue buying any stock, and then hope to get a result.
These people, know nothing what paper trading is all about.

How many variations are there to trading?
Bottom up trading, Breakout trading, Trend trading, scalping, day trading, wave trading blah blah blah...
So many variations.
Are you gonna tell me that one can read a book or go to a forum and understand how to trade a breakout?
Where's the buy in point? What's the cut loss? etc etc....
Just go in trade and learn from whatever mistake you make?
That's ludicrous.
Downright.

And no I am not giving you any stats.
Yes, I made mistakes and made losses.
It's normal.
But I am not gonna to boast that I got something like a 600% gain on my portfolio since the last 5 years or something like that.
NO.
What?
You want this to be another toxic forum like i3?
Hey, my game stats shows I win xx% in a year.
I am top 10. blah blah blah...
and because MY track record is so good, whatever bullshit blog I write, that's the gospel truth.
NO.
That's not me.
If I disappoint you, I am not gonna apologize.

AND I am not selling any stat. either.
Paper trading is a suggestion for newbie.
You think the comments make sense, do paper trade.
And yes, I still do paper trade.

And just in case your forget...
Yes I shall NOT give anymore stock tip.

BTW do read that Livermore book.

AND please I have not in any 1 post suggest that paper trading would ensure you 100% win record.
That's utter crab.
I am not selling any snake oil.
Where and when did you see make such suggestion?

And btw...
Yes, I paper traded a long time.
I told Gark that before.
He knows.

That's me.

I ain't gonna to hide that fact.

Emotions.
LOL! I shall be polite and not reply on that. smile.gif

Last and not least again....

YES ... everyone has different opinions. laugh.gif

It's just my opinion on paper trading is way toooooo strong.

Ok bo?

come.... console.gif

your opinion I respect but you gotta respect mine too.

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: Mar 20 2017, 06:25 PM
TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 09:58 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 20 2017, 07:54 PM)
Agree with both thumbs up smile.gif
Your two big toes not in agreement?

Too bad then....

tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 10:01 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 20 2017, 08:37 PM)
Yes, everyone should respect each other's opinions.

So tell me why one should not paper trade ?

Let me hear your own opinions. smile.gif
TSBoon3
post Mar 20 2017, 10:50 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Mar 20 2017, 10:43 PM)
Just my 0.005, from my point view, paper trading should only be used to how one is familiar with entering orders, the filling of orders and how the market works. Paper trading for too long could result in overconfidence and just delude one to think the stock market is perfect.

If we observed in the US markets, you will know what I meant. The bid and ask spread is way bigger than our Bursa and the market makers may play or give leniency to a trader when matching orders. I am not saying it is bad or stay away from paper trades but that is how I see it.
Any other reason?

TSBoon3
post Mar 21 2017, 09:48 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Mar 20 2017, 10:43 PM)
Just my 0.005, from my point view, paper trading should only be used to how one is familiar with entering orders, the filling of orders and how the market works. Paper trading for too long could result in overconfidence and just delude one to think the stock market is perfect.

If we observed in the US markets, you will know what I meant. The bid and ask spread is way bigger than our Bursa and the market makers may play or give leniency to a trader when matching orders. I am not saying it is bad or stay away from paper trades but that is how I see it.

Getting familiar with the trading platform, ie entering orders etc etc...

Sorry but that's handbags in my opinion. wink.gif

Paper trading for too long could result in overconfidence and just delude one to think the stock market is perfect.

I don't agree because I now believe that many have a misconception what paper trading is.

Paper trading is not about randomly paper trading the hot stocks.
Paper trading is for us to discover our strength and weakness in the stock market.
There are so many trading methods/ways.
For example: Wave trading, Breakout trading, Bottom up trading, Day trading, Scalping, Trend trading, Pattern tradings, momentum trading etc etc...
Out of so many methods, how do we know what's our best trading skill?
For example after paper trading for a period of time, we DISCOVER that our favorite day trading yields a 50% result and breakout trading yields a 65% result for us.
With that paper trading result, we can conclude that breakout trading is our best skill set...
so we formulate our market trading strategy based on our paper trading result.
Make sense so far?
It would be illogical if we do real trading as a day trader just because it's our favorite trading method, yes?
Instead should stick to breakout trading, yes?
That's our best skill set, so we use it.
Make sense again?

Now the question now is, how do we make this discovery that breakout trading is our best?

We have to TEST OUT our trading skills yes?

How are we going to test it out?

Test it out by trading with real money?
or test it out with fake trading?

This is how I would use paper trading.

And I really do not see how paper trading can be the source of over confidence.
There's nothing as 100% win record in paper trading.
I cannot achieve it.

Back to over confidence.
YES!
It's DEADLY and it's a source of where mistakes are make.
Sometimes BIG BIG mistakes for many.

There will be days when one wins BIG in the market.
After selling out the stock, trust me, the feeling is damn shiok-ka-lingam....
And one of the favorite songs to be heard ringing our ears is usually 'Believe it or not' ...
Unfortunately what happens next is impulse trading ( which basically trading on HOPE )...
and one would just buy the next stock due to over confidence...
ie. trading on HOPE...
and that's when one makes most mistakes.
It's a common mistake.
Those stock switching investors make it all the time.
They buy the next so-called available stock just because they have the 'extra' money in their portfolio (after selling out a winner)....
and these next-so-called available stock, if they look back in the future, they would realize, it's only a really average stock only.
I used invest cause perhaps it's best understandable (i think)...
Traders being overconfidence takes on the next trading just because it's an option (unfortunately it's never the best option)....

in short...

yeah... many have misconception what paper trading is all about.

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: Mar 21 2017, 09:50 AM
TSBoon3
post Mar 21 2017, 10:56 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Mar 21 2017, 10:22 AM)
Fuyoh, that is some very long explanation, opinion here.  sweat.gif

Very well written indeed. So okay, let us explain on the negatives of paper trading first, because sometimes we get out from the stock market or have yet to open the trading account with the brokerage house , can nevertheless attempt to do paper trading. From my standpoint, when conducting paper trading on the day itself, maybe a stock favoured by a trader is doing so well. And it comes back to various reasons such as, good corporate earnings, speculation to news, good progress on the development of companies etc. But when we enter with real money, problems begin to surface.

For this, let us to last Friday on OLYMPIA as an example. I paper traded around 13.5 within my imaginary mind. Not real money, fake. So the stock did very well right, on Monday, gilanya, it rose to 17.5, I entered another few thousand lots, once again, fake, flimsy, paper money. Wow, won a ton of fortune. Having amassed with delusion, being very high and greedy on the stock, I entered 19.5 today as at this posting, this time, real, hard, cash. I think it will hit 22 today, well, let us take a bet. As of this writing, 17.5. So, somewhere is wrong right? Stock or greed problem.

While I agree, to the above as you mentioned that we can test new methods out and pattern day trading (yes, in fact I am practicing NYSE/CBOE options before playing for real as a starter.), as traders, we need to test waters first before just jumping in. But what above that instinct one has, the willingness to jump in if one has "hope". Yes, the "hope" is really a dangerous word in the stock market world. It is akin to saying, "gambling ones wealth". This discussion would seem very fitting as Bursa continues to sky-rocket new records on trading volumes and gives similar flashbacks to 2014. It is something that everyone as to be wary of.

For ones information, I got scared of entering some of Bursa's currently mouthwatering shares that one's share would melt into one's mouth. Examples include DATAPREP, IWCITY and as mentioned OLYMPIA. Made a fortune, in a paper trading world but of course, if I gamble all now, real money, I will be a huge loser. So I do not know where it goes. But as mentioned before, paper trading is good for testing out strategies but not for a source of delusion and when one becomes delusional, that person's mind disappears into oblivion.

Whew, that is some one long post I have done in a long time. rclxm9.gif

Good fingering exercise eh? tongue.gif

I do actually understand your point.

The thing about it or Olympia is, this is a straight punting like exercise done via paper/fake/imaginary trading.

When we trade, what we want to achieve, or rather what I want to achieve basically is REPETITION.
Yes, trading on hot penny stocks is one method which should be explored extensively on paper trading.
Who knows, this might be our skill set.
I know this uncle...
He trades every year just around the CNY period.
Sometimes a month before...
Sometimes during...
Sometimes before and after...
All depending on the market...
and he just punts...
the amazing thing is he can replicate his success each year.
Plain luck? or is there some skills involved with it.

He told me, he used to be a long term investor. laugh.gif
Did it many years but judging from the stocks he mentioned (like Sime la, DRB la etc, etc) I can understand why he did not have much success on it.
He has developed a good system on punting but he will never disclose his method. LOL.

Anyway, back to paper trading and punting ...

How do we know we are a good punter or not?
Should we take out real money and try?
If we make it... good.
If we fail... errr.... how much tuition fees can we afford to lose in punting?

Or should we maybe test it out extensively via paper trading?
Discover and develop our method...
How are we going to punt the stock?
Follow tips?
Follow spike in volumes in penny stocks?
Follow the chart?
etc etc....
there's just so many ways to punt...
If we fail... it's just time and effort (hey, make money also need to put in time and effort ma) ....we move on.

Back to Olympia example.
Won 2 days... with fake punting/day trade style...
and the 3rd day dived in with real money? WOW!

LOL! Yes I can imagine things like this would happen.
But I would blame the user. tongue.gif
That's reckless already lor.
From 13.5 sen... to 19.5 sen.... ?
Real money or not....
If it was me...
if I was paper trading to discover IF day trading on punting stocks is a method for me or not...
I would put the following remark on my 555 paper trading book...

'How many continuous days can I day trade on a same stock?'

That needs to be tested before diving in with real money.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSBoon3
post Mar 21 2017, 12:16 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 21 2017, 11:30 AM)
I've said before, I'm not saying paper trade is not good. If it helps you succeed, good for you.
You obviously believe it is the best way to go, as can be seen from how strongly you feel and defend it.
Your advice to newbies to do it is welcome. I don't think many will do it like you have for years and years before they get into the real trading though.
Lol!

It's not how strong i defend it but what makes logical sense.

So you got any good reason why one should not paper trade?

Share la....

I got much free time these few days.

TSBoon3
post Mar 21 2017, 12:20 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Mar 21 2017, 12:16 PM)
Some of my trades are real money. Just that in this time of time, I became so "rambang mata", do not know which stock to go or not to go. On Friday's Trading At Last session, I had to pick between Foundpac or Dataprep, I went to Foundpac instead. See what happen after that Friday. Susah like that to pick which is what.

And since we are in our fantasy, perfect world, hence paper trading. But nothing wrong discussing about that, some of us had to go back to the drawing board by paper trading.
Lol. He was just trolling and yes, I fed the troll. laugh.gif

And for your info....
I still paper trade.
This is what I use to keep on improving. smile.gif

TSBoon3
post Mar 21 2017, 01:20 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Mar 21 2017, 01:02 PM)
I think we all fed the troll. brows.gif

But no matter, healthy discussions are always welcome around so all of us can improve.

Fingering exercises. tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Mar 21 2017, 02:44 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Mar 21 2017, 01:57 PM)
Not sure how many more times I must say, I did not say you must not paper trade. Please understand that.

I posted a link to an article in an earlier post about paper trading. Go read that. Got some comments at the bottom by users. As I always say, there is good and bad to everything. Pros and cons.

You have made it clear you don't think people should pay tuition fees, which can be avoided by paper trading first. Yes, good advice. If people want to take it, let them. If people don't want to listen, and they want to pay tuition fees, let them. It is not your responsibility. Unless they are your kids or something.
Hahaha.... ok la ....i sitop here la.

TSBoon3
post Mar 21 2017, 03:06 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 21 2017, 02:58 PM)
That is one long explanation.
Btw, seeing these current warrants such as AMMEDIA WA shooting up by 100% makes me feel deeply disadvantaged that i dont have a crystal ball to be able to predict such price movements doh.gif  bangwall.gif
I believe that if one wants to be good in the market...
One needs to possess the ability to ignore other peoples big winnings.

Cannot win everything one ma.....

Learn to let go. biggrin.gif

Just concentrate on ourselves.

109 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:25 PM