Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

joeylny
post Jul 22 2017, 09:09 PM

554 posts

Hi hi

!) Relocation package..
Company say no relocation package but only 1 way ticket .
Do all of you have relocation package or some only get a 1 way ticket as well?
Have not sign the employment contract yet.
Do u still try to negotiate?

Since hiring foreigner employers actually pay less 17% EPF they can actually afford to pay a certain ammount for relocation right.

2)I read on this thread and noticed some ppl mention
EP while some mentioned SPass
care to explain whats the difference n which is better?
New Employer is offering SPass ..but is EP better? shud i request for EP?

This post has been edited by joeylny: Jul 22 2017, 09:18 PM
joeylny
post Jul 24 2017, 04:18 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jul 22 2017, 10:50 PM)
I believe most people don't get a relocation allowance
To negotiate or not, do you feel like the company really wants you, or it's you who wants the job more?
Yes they can certainly afford to, but your question should be if they are willing to pay that for you instead of whether they can afford to

Leave the pass type to them, not much of a difference so don't bother
Relocation they now offered a lump sum in SGD so i guess shud be enuf to cover my movers fee n etc.
Ive researched that EP is still best for married couples and the requirement for EP is only 3600 sgd so i guess shud be fine.
Just want to know the difference so i spoke to a few friends of mine in sg n they still say EP is better.

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 23 2017, 02:30 PM)
You must be a Millenial. A bit demanding eh...

1) I only heard of relocation package for expats. Definitely NOT for S pass. Don't ever need to talk the way into 17% savings from CPF - that's different budget altogether

2) Types pf pass is not for you to decide. Solely MOM discretion. Salah apply later you can't come to SG for work.

The only downside of this pass compared to EP is privilege of credit cards that you can apply and ability to bring immediate family & spouse to come stay with you
Hold your horses. Contribute your first income tax to the nation first
Not a Millenial but just want to get the best offer i can get before relocating since its a big move for us.

1) manage to get a relocation ammount so problem is solved.
2) asking them to proceed with EP as its better for married couples.

PR probably think bout it later after 1st income tax in sg so need not worry bout that yet.

This post has been edited by joeylny: Jul 24 2017, 04:21 PM
joeylny
post Jul 24 2017, 04:22 PM

554 posts

Anyway anyone staying at Ang Mo Kio ?
Looking to rent a 1bedroom or 2 bedroom whole unit..
which condo or place is recommended?
preferably nearby mrt .

joeylny
post Aug 8 2017, 12:15 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(bellerophon @ Aug 8 2017, 10:50 AM)
that, I do not know. hehe. because my daughter has dual citizenship. still a baby. I'm not too sure about the asset once you give up malaysian citizenship.
One parent Malaysian + one parent Singaporean?
Is that how ur baby got dual citizenship?

joeylny
post Aug 10 2017, 12:13 AM

554 posts

Anyway for those with familes who moved to Singapore from malaysia .

Did anyone bring a lot of stuff over?
Any customs taxes if above a certain value?
If yes how much would the tax be?
Let's say for kitchen electrical items, kitchenware, clothes, gadgets, etc
Care to share?
Would it be better to drive down a few times or hire a lorry to move the stuff over?

joeylny
post Aug 11 2017, 08:52 PM

554 posts

Did anyone bring a lot of stuff over?
Any customs taxes if above a certain value?
If yes how much would the tax be?
Let's say for kitchen electrical items, kitchenware, clothes, gadgets, etc
Care to share?
Would it be better to drive down a few times or hire a lorry to move the stuff over?
joeylny
post Aug 14 2017, 01:22 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(extheist @ Aug 11 2017, 11:48 PM)
im also interested to know more about this. when are u moving to sg?
Tentatively early Oct

joeylny
post Aug 16 2017, 08:05 PM

554 posts

Did anyone hire a truck or lorry to move your things to SG ?

joeylny
post Aug 22 2017, 05:08 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Aug 22 2017, 10:56 AM)
Yes, the job is totally up of my scope.

anyone know how long does it need to approve my EP after i accept the offer?
As fast as 3 up to 12 working days generally
joeylny
post Aug 22 2017, 05:18 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Aug 22 2017, 03:00 PM)
my rule of thumb is 75% to 80%. aka sgd12k.
Actually i agree.. 80% of current salary in SGD is a good number to relocate to Singapore.
For every RM1 u earn here in Malaysia u earn SGD0.80 = RM2.51 ...
Thats 2.5 time more that what we earn here hence we can save more money

joeylny
post Aug 22 2017, 11:44 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(GetHappy @ Aug 22 2017, 08:01 PM)
Hi all, im facing a dilemma like what many are facing earlier.

I am earning around 6.5k myr with 6 years+ experience and the sg recruiter/headhunter asked me whether would sgd4k work for me on the position the employer is looking at. Excluding AWS here. Mind you, its a regional position.

Thats around almost 40% reduction from my base now and I feel like somehow they are low-balling me. Recruiter even gave me reference of someone from KL earning 10k myr salary getting 5.5k sgd.

Recruiter is saying they are taking conversion rates into account for almost every position in Singapore for foreigners. And their calculation is after conversion would be 2k sgd and offering me 4k would be a 100% increment already.

Any comments?
SGD 4k /month Do they give u any bonus? Coz some offers comes with bonus of few mths (subject to KPI )
Maybe u can negotiate for slightly more since relocation is a big move. n rental in sg is quite high.

joeylny
post Aug 29 2017, 01:07 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 29 2017, 11:27 AM)
Hi guys and gals,

By any chance does anyone know a reasonably priced way to send 2 suitcases (with clothes and stuff) from SG to KL?
i would love to know too.
joeylny
post Sep 3 2017, 04:20 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(jasonhue @ Sep 1 2017, 08:44 AM)
any recommded place for room rental around sgd 700 walking distance to mrt ? single room not willing to share with other. my work place around boon keng mrt  area. i dont mind to walk 1 km with walking path prefer shelter.
Check rental apps/websites like SGRent , Nestia, 99.co , property guru.. plenty to choose from there if its just a room
joeylny
post Sep 6 2017, 02:01 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Sep 6 2017, 12:16 PM)
Yooo, anyone here finding roommate /accommodation near orchard area? I am finding one too, maybe we can discuss more and stuffs like that, pm me! I am a guy
pm
joeylny
post Sep 6 2017, 06:48 PM

554 posts

Any of you here have a Master bedroom in your unit for rent?
Prefer renting with Malaysians biggrin.gif
Moving to Sg 5-8th Oct tentatively ..
Looking nearby mrt (red line or green line)
coz working in Somerset area.

This post has been edited by joeylny: Sep 6 2017, 06:48 PM
joeylny
post Sep 7 2017, 11:27 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Sep 7 2017, 12:27 AM)

2-3 minutes walking distance from the unit to Braddell MRT (red line).
Also nearby: wet market, grocery shop, McD, KFC, clinic, dental, food courts

Bigger photos:
Posting for my good friend. 2 Malaysian female housemates + another Malaysian tenant renting in November. All are decent and clean housemates.
Now looking for tenants for master room; can accommodate up to 3 new tenants (any gender).
Monthly rental at $900 (non-negotiable); HDB unit
Whatsapp +65 9455 2608 if interested.
Nice but i need smth early Oct.
joeylny
post Sep 7 2017, 06:11 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Sep 7 2017, 05:59 PM)
Just received my PR approval letter from ICA after 6 months of waiting rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

other than medical checkup report, is anything that i should take note before i attend the appointment to complete the formalities?
congratulations!!
joeylny
post Sep 26 2017, 07:24 PM

554 posts

Moving to Singapore soon but would like to activate roaming for my current number for at least a mth or two ... what is the cheapest way apart from the daily roaming rate
i am using maxis.
joeylny
post Sep 27 2017, 09:45 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Sep 27 2017, 09:41 AM)
U need any data? if not y need to activate daily roaming. my umobile automatic turn into roaming mode without any charge, but without data. Just use for maybank TAC, can receive call as normal
no need data but i am expecting some important calls so need to keep my number active while i am in sg
or perhaps Can we forward all calls to sg number?

This post has been edited by joeylny: Sep 27 2017, 09:46 AM
joeylny
post Oct 1 2017, 10:27 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(strategist @ Sep 29 2017, 12:35 AM)
Did you guys retain your Malaysian phone number?

Which prepaid services are recommended?
digi prepaid have a one year validity plan Super long life pay RM38 a year
so u can keep ur number active

0.2403sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:53 AM