Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

hwachong
post Jul 20 2017, 04:30 PM

773 posts

Is it right that income tax will be charged at 15% if I am non-resident (<183 days) for the first year working in SG?
hwachong
post Jul 21 2017, 02:28 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jul 21 2017, 02:07 PM)
Yes. flat rate of 15%. before you exit SG, you will need to clear any remaining tax balance after deducting your salary withhold by your employer.

You can walk into IRAS and pay to get tax clearance letter if you do not have Singpass or IRAS mytaxaccount.

my advise, best to quit after 183 days no matter how unless that 15% you rela pay.

if you quit your 1st job within 183 days and Re-Employed, you may fill and objection to the tax filing via Email or MytaxAccount. They will revise the IR21 and re-calculate your tax.

My own case, i only file objection/apply to convert from NR-R (non-resident to resident) after 183 days....guarantee bcome tax resident. Gotten my refund after 1 week.

My advise, file your Objection to Tax Assessment via IRAS Mytaxaccount. it is very convenient and efficient in processing.
Thank you.

What if I started work in Singapore on October 2017, will I still be treated as non-resident for FY17 since only 3 months (<183 days)?

This post has been edited by hwachong: Jul 21 2017, 02:28 PM
hwachong
post Aug 1 2017, 06:08 PM

773 posts

Any sifu here working for big 4 in sg i can speak to?
hwachong
post Jul 23 2018, 12:17 PM

773 posts

anyone here working for advisory big4 that i can speak to?
hwachong
post Aug 1 2018, 04:12 PM

773 posts

Would you move to SG for $6k, considering you are earning RM8k in MY?
hwachong
post Aug 3 2018, 02:35 PM

773 posts

for dependent pass, who bears the cost (employer or employee) and if my wife continue to remain in kl, should i still get the pass?
hwachong
post Aug 10 2018, 12:13 PM

773 posts

Is MOM strict on the income requirement to apply for dependent pass even for malaysians?
hwachong
post Aug 10 2018, 10:22 PM

773 posts

any preference for company medical insurance, shenton or raffles?
hwachong
post Aug 13 2018, 12:22 PM

773 posts

Typically how long for EP to be approved?
hwachong
post Aug 15 2018, 09:07 AM

773 posts

wow my EP got approved in one day. that's efficient. what should i prepare for other than tendering and agree on my final day?
hwachong
post Aug 15 2018, 12:06 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(oldbirdsong @ Aug 15 2018, 10:14 AM)
Wao, EP means you are a high income earner, care to share your salary and which line of industry?

There is nothing to prepare except for a place to stay.
I will be joining a big4 as AM. you can easily find my salary with google's help.

What if I'm sharing room with a friend already working in SG. How do I proof that I am staying there? For bank account opening, etc.
hwachong
post Aug 15 2018, 12:22 PM

773 posts

If my EP status on the MOM website is approved, do I need a medical checkup?
hwachong
post Aug 17 2018, 12:19 PM

773 posts

Since I already got an IPA, can another company apply for another IPA or I need to cancel the previous IPA first?
hwachong
post Aug 17 2018, 04:17 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(oldbirdsong @ Aug 17 2018, 03:03 PM)
If you do this your "reputation" will be impacted and you may not get any IPA at all  biggrin.gif

Don't be so greedy la
problem is my current company may counter offer for me to transfer to SG. so how?
hwachong
post Aug 22 2018, 05:08 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(charkueh @ Aug 22 2018, 02:00 PM)
Hi guys,

need an advise from forumer here.

let say u just got a job here in SG.(work pass everything done)

after one month u got another offer from other company in SG.

is it advisable to jump?

any pro and cons?

thank you
new company can get the work pass approve?
hwachong
post Aug 22 2018, 05:28 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(charkueh @ Aug 22 2018, 05:24 PM)
Why ya?

U mean there is a possibilities for MOM to reject work pass in new company?

I heard that for foreigner, we cannot resign less than one year because the current employer will report to MOM and in future we will not get a job in SG.

Is this true?
I think it is okay to jump as long as work pass in new company is approved.

There is a possibility that it may be rejected. Current employer may blacklist you, but I'm not sure the impact
hwachong
post Aug 23 2018, 05:53 PM

773 posts

anyone applied for PR recently? heard that the new process is done online and cost $100. no need to make appointment anymore?
hwachong
post Sep 3 2018, 05:09 PM

773 posts

Is there a EP quota for companies? My company wanted to counter offer me in SG, but mentioned that they are lack of EP
hwachong
post Sep 4 2018, 10:42 PM

773 posts

if my wife got a dependent pass, is it easier for her to get a job in SG? employer need to apply EP?
hwachong
post Sep 5 2018, 11:39 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Sep 5 2018, 08:27 AM)
Yes, she can work in sg immediately. No need to apply EP.

But good luck, requirement now is 6k sgd/month. My wife is on a dependent pass but I applied back when the salary requirement was 4k only. Recently renewed and was successful even though my current salary did not meet the new requirement.

This is because, sg practice grandfather rules and previous approvals are unaffected to keep family in tact.

I will most likely apply for PR next month. Heard DP holders should have easier and shorter waiting time but who knows..
Perfect. can i apply for the dependent pass with my IPA? or have to wait til I obtain my EP

0.2602sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:57 AM