3 Pages  1 2 3 >Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

views

garlicpesto
post Mar 19 2019, 06:23 PM

Getting Started
194 posts

hey! have an offer in hand to work in SG this coming July. Office will be at Mapletree 2 and rental there seems expensive.. Although a relocation allowance is provided (flight, shipment costs, hotels + meals while moving), was thinking of asking for housing allowance on top of that but it feels a little out of place since Im a fresh graduate... The worst HR could do is say No right?

Also, coming from MY, how was your experience like when you made the first move across the border?

This post has been edited by garlicpesto: Mar 19 2019, 06:23 PM
garlicpesto
post Mar 19 2019, 07:19 PM

Getting Started
194 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Mar 19 2019, 03:10 AM)
You can stay close to MRT and take public transport to work. Public transport is pretty reliable in SG. SG is much more organized as compared to MY.
The average rent nearby my office (10-20 minute commute) is $800 along West SG. I am looking anywhere between Queenstown upwards to Clementi too!

When yall go time got dapat any housing allowance ah brows.gif

This post has been edited by garlicpesto: Mar 19 2019, 07:22 PM
garlicpesto
post Mar 19 2019, 09:08 PM

Getting Started
194 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2019, 03:56 AM)
No harm asking but housing allowance is very very rare for entry level positions. Most people don't even get relocation. Anyway when I came over I got relocation plus 1mth food and board, everything after that sendiri settle.
I see. Work is by Mapletree but guess I'll have to rent further. Big sacrifice because Im not the biggest morning person! bangwall.gif

QUOTE(deadmau5 @ Mar 19 2019, 04:52 AM)
Lol fresh grad how to get housing allowance la. It’s a bonus alr that they give you relocation allowance.
Your starting package is above average considering that you still refer yourself as a fresh grad