Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

silverwave
post Aug 11 2022, 09:34 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Aug 11 2022, 09:28 PM)
Tq Tq.
How do u define it as reputable? Their job description/role/company match during iv with their client and their e-mail when they approach me.

Didnt get expat package, basic salary with clinic claim.they handle all the pass or related document. But the pay is SGD to MYR is slightly above 1.3:1 ratio. Once absorb by the client, pckge will revise.
There are many headhunters or recruitment companies out there that collect the resume, call you to get all the info and then totally no news. Some even lie with the package, job role so that we will agree for an interview. Basically, they are there just for their commission.
marsha1l
post Aug 11 2022, 10:01 PM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Aug 11 2022, 09:34 PM)
There are many headhunters or recruitment companies out there that collect the resume, call you to get all the info and then totally no news. Some even lie with the package, job role so that we will agree for an interview. Basically, they are there just for their commission.
Oh, those kind of headhunter. Yea, did come across a few but mostly in MY. Most offer from headhunter for SG are through LinkedIn. So able to do background check on the company.
crazy25kid
post Aug 12 2022, 08:22 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Aug 11 2022, 09:34 PM)

wait till u meet 1 that tells u to sign a document saying you must attend interview if they arrange one or get fined sweat.gif sweat.gif
whatislyfe P
post Aug 16 2022, 01:23 PM

Probation
19 posts

Hi sifus,

I will be moving to Singapore in a week time. Thinking to open a DBS account once I have landed. May I know what is the minimum deposit to open an account there?

FYI, I have already opened a CIMB SG there, but CIMB SG is not accepted for my company to pay for my salary. smile.gif
reiyan P
post Aug 17 2022, 12:18 PM

Probation

QUOTE(whatislyfe @ Aug 16 2022, 01:23 PM)
Hi sifus,

I will be moving to Singapore in a week time. Thinking to open a DBS account once I have landed. May I know what is the minimum deposit to open an account there?

FYI, I have already opened a CIMB SG there, but CIMB SG is not accepted for my company to pay for my salary. smile.gif
you can open online if you have the docs. go to dbs/posb online webpage.
DBS/POSB same bank. For first timer, you can try the POSB payroll account. No initial minimum deposit required for opening POSB Payroll Account.
S$2 monthly service fee if;
- average daily balance falls below S$500.
- makes more than 4 ATM cash withdrawals in the month.
- if cash withdrawal of S$2,000 or less at the branch/over counter (dont apply to online or atm withdrawal).
Eve_1989 P
post Aug 18 2022, 12:22 AM

Probation

Hi sifus,

Opened DBS account, as they will most likely advise you to submit the application for account opening online, indeed as per sharing above , there is no deposit required for dsb as well - posb is like their related subsidiary or group entity as well.

As for proof of residential address, if you do not have a proper utility bill or lease agreement, for my personal experience they do not accept my IPA/notification letter with residential add mentioned on it, they advised me to get and submit a simple employer letter confirming my residential address and it worked eventually (weird point : apparently this is acceptable and employment contract or offer letter is not πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…). If walk in and open maybe need deposit, submit online noneed ya !

If walk in to get on the spot prepare for 1-2 hrs waiting time but that’s ok if you can spare time and do not want to wait few days for online delivery of your cars.
gome
post Aug 18 2022, 06:58 PM

488 posts

Regarding DBS account opening, I had my proof of residential address rejected twice by the online application. I was using my Malaysian address as per my IC, but got rejected. First tried with my monthly phone bill, then with an insurance statement (which unfortunately was not as recent as 3 months prior to my application time).

I eventually went down to SG DBS service branch once I got my SG residential address settled. My company also issued a letter stating my residential address in SG. Once at the branch, I still had to do my application online. But the customer service lady walked me through the entire process, where the application was done over the Web browser instead of the digibank app. Eventually my application got approved, but need to wait for them to post the card.

For those who quickly want to get a sim card once you land, I'd recommend to get the singtel $15 prepaid hicard. You can order online and collect it at the airport. I made the mistake of ordering the $8 hicard, and had to waste time at the singtel shopping mall collection point, which only opens at 11am.
Eve_1989 P
post Aug 19 2022, 09:17 AM

Probation

QUOTE(gome @ Aug 18 2022, 06:58 PM)
Regarding DBS account opening, I had my proof of residential address rejected twice by the online application. I was using my Malaysian address as per my IC, but got rejected. First tried with my monthly phone bill, then with an insurance statement (which unfortunately was not as recent as 3 months prior to my application time).

I eventually went down to SG DBS service branch once I got my SG residential address settled. My company also issued a letter stating my residential address in SG. Once at the branch, I still had to do my application online. But the customer service lady walked me through the entire process, where the application was done over the Web browser instead of the digibank app. Eventually my application got approved, but need to wait for them to post the card.

For those who quickly want to get a sim card once you land, I'd recommend to get the singtel $15 prepaid hicard. You can order online and collect it at the airport. I made the mistake of ordering the $8 hicard, and had to waste time at the singtel shopping mall collection point, which only opens at 11am.
Ya I was confused and rejected few times for the Proof of address too cos when I submitted the employer letter as advices I received sms saying POA is invalid πŸ˜… so I went again to the branch directly and they resolved + issued my debit card directly πŸ₯ΈπŸ₯Ά

The longest/complicated process ever to get a bank account and get KYC-ed myselfπŸ˜‚ thinking how bout Credit card if debit is already this β€œhard”

VinluV
post Aug 19 2022, 09:23 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(Eve_1989 @ Aug 19 2022, 09:17 AM)
Ya I was confused and rejected few times for the Proof of address too cos when I submitted the employer letter as advices I received sms saying POA is invalid πŸ˜… so I went again to the branch directly and they resolved + issued my debit card directly πŸ₯ΈπŸ₯Ά

The longest/complicated process ever to get a bank account and get KYC-ed myselfπŸ˜‚ thinking how bout Credit card if debit is already this β€œhard”
Credit card is much easier.
The bankers can happily up your limit to the max for you. Hehehehe

I suggest you browse sites like singsaver and get a freebie with the credit card.
Eve_1989 P
post Aug 19 2022, 08:14 PM

Probation

QUOTE(VinluV @ Aug 19 2022, 09:23 AM)
Credit card is much easier.
The bankers can happily up your limit to the max for you. Hehehehe

I suggest you browse sites like singsaver and get a freebie with the credit card.
Alright πŸ‘ŒπŸΌβœ¨ thanks for sharing!
jian5481
post Aug 24 2022, 08:22 PM

781 posts

Hi fellow forumers,

I am planning to transfer to my company's Singapore branch, planned for early to mid 2023. I'm planning to bring my dog over as well, and already have contact for professional pet relocator.

However, my concern is the ease of finding rental where the owners will allow medium sized dog (14kg). Will be moving with my wife and child, so 2 adults, 1 child and 1 dog.

Anyone had experience in finding rental properties with pets? Office will be at Paya Lebar Square, so properties not too far from Circle or East West line should be fine. Rental around SGD3k should be fine, or SGD2k+ if further from office

Thank you
Fiona Chin
post Aug 24 2022, 11:52 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Aug 24 2022, 08:22 PM)
Hi fellow forumers,

I am planning to transfer to my company's Singapore branch, planned for early to mid 2023. I'm planning to bring my dog over as well, and already have contact for professional pet relocator.

However, my concern is the ease of finding rental where the owners will allow medium sized dog (14kg). Will be moving with my wife and child, so 2 adults, 1 child and 1 dog.

Anyone had experience in finding rental properties with pets? Office will be at Paya Lebar Square, so properties not too far from Circle or East West line should be fine. Rental around SGD3k should be fine, or SGD2k+ if further from office

Thank you
HDB don't allow mid size dog I think. Condo can have mid breed, but depend on MC and the neighbours complain or not. Try ask the MC before signing. Not sure about the rental now but allow more budget if condo. I kept 3 husky, they howl at night sometime but never get complain. Its cruel to muzzle the dog at home all the time.
jian5481
post Aug 25 2022, 12:43 AM

781 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Aug 24 2022, 11:52 PM)
HDB don't allow mid size dog I think. Condo can have mid breed, but depend on MC and the neighbours complain or not. Try ask the MC before signing. Not sure about the rental now but allow more budget if condo. I kept 3 husky, they howl at night sometime but never get complain. Its cruel to muzzle the dog at home all the time.
Thanks! Are you living in a condo too? HDB seems to allow bigger local mongrels now, but don't think that will apply to mongrels from Malaysia sad.gif Do you happen to know any good property agents. so that I can also engage them when the time comes?
SUSceo684
post Aug 25 2022, 12:52 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Hi sifus,

No minimum if apply DBS online. But it will take a bit of time to complete because they post one by one. First the card. then the pin. then the activation for online banking. (In total expect 4 snail mail IIRC).

Most important is settle the EP thumbprint at EPSC (if you're here on EP).
Coz the card also take time to process.

After EP card in your hands life is good.

QUOTE(Eve_1989 @ Aug 18 2022, 12:22 AM)
Opened DBS account, as they will most likely advise you to submit the application for account opening online, indeed as per sharing above , there is no deposit required for dsb as well - posb is like their related subsidiary or group entity as well.

As for proof of residential address, if you do not have a proper utility bill or lease agreement, for my personal experience they do not accept my IPA/notification letter with residential add mentioned on it, they advised me to get and submit a simple employer letter confirming my residential address and it worked eventually (weird point : apparently this is acceptable and employment contract or offer letter is not πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…). If walk in and open maybe need deposit, submit online noneed ya !

If walk in to get on the spot prepare for 1-2 hrs waiting time but that’s ok if you can spare time and do not want to wait few days for online delivery of your cars.
Yeah if walk in the account will have min deposit and fall below fee.
First DBS acc open online will not have said issues.
Later on can consider UOB also laugh.gif

QUOTE(gome @ Aug 18 2022, 06:58 PM)

Yes DBS will post one by one one.

Actually since you have a residential address, don't waste time with a Singtel prepaid..not cheap to call. For short term data RM10/day hotlink prepaid is not bad one.. only $3 then u can throw it after a few days
Get a giga line $10-18 a month lots n lots of data. Fast delivery (next day) thumbup.gif

Don't forget singpass application after getting EP card.
Rmb to change the ADDRESS first to your home address otherwise it will send to company one by default icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 25 2022, 12:54 AM
Sumofwhich
post Aug 25 2022, 08:25 AM

1,274 posts

Can consider redone SG, it is using starhub line, am only using Amazing8 for $8/month, what stands out is the free calls to MY (especially when needed to contact banks) and can use from the 5GB data pool while roaming in MY (am using Unifi bebas prepaid without monthly commitments).

If there is a cheaper prepaid/postpaid plan, I might consider.

This post has been edited by Sumofwhich: Aug 25 2022, 08:26 AM
Eve_1989 P
post Aug 25 2022, 01:19 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 25 2022, 12:52 AM)
No minimum if apply DBS online. But it will take a bit of time to complete because they post one by one. First the card. then the pin. then the activation for online banking. (In total expect 4 snail mail IIRC).

Most important is settle the EP thumbprint at EPSC (if you're here on EP).
Coz the card also take time to process.

After EP card in your hands life is good.
Yeah if walk in the account will have min deposit and fall below fee.
First DBS acc open online will not have said issues.
Later on can consider UOB also laugh.gif
Yes DBS will post one by one one.

Actually since you have a residential address, don't waste time with a Singtel prepaid..not cheap to call. For short term data RM10/day hotlink prepaid is not bad one.. only $3 then u can throw it after a few days
Get a giga line $10-18 a month lots n lots of data. Fast delivery (next day)  thumbup.gif

Don't forget singpass application after getting EP card.
Rmb to change the ADDRESS first to your home address otherwise it will send to company one by default  icon_question.gif
Thanks for all the info πŸ₯ΈπŸ‘πŸΌ

For credit cards which bank do all of you use/recommend?

Eve_1989 P
post Aug 25 2022, 01:21 PM

Probation

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Aug 24 2022, 08:22 PM)
Hi fellow forumers,

Thank you
I would love to know too, but my dog is of smaller breed/poodle. Considering studio unit but it’s also ranging 2.6k-3.2k per mth πŸ™ˆ have you found out about the procedure? By land or by air? Must hire the authorised list of agent right? And quarantine etc.

jian5481
post Aug 25 2022, 02:11 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(Eve_1989 @ Aug 25 2022, 01:21 PM)
I would love to know too, but my dog is of smaller breed/poodle. Considering studio unit but it’s also ranging 2.6k-3.2k per mth πŸ™ˆ have you found out about the procedure? By land or by air? Must hire the authorised list of agent right? And quarantine etc.
You will need to make sure your dog is microchipped, and vaccinated for rabies (if i recall correctly, needs to be vaccinated at least 6 months before relocating). I'm planning to use land transport (quoted about RM5k), and then quarantine in Singapore for 30 days, costing close to SGD2k. I am still planning to check with other agents to see what their cost are.

I don't think it's necessary to use agent if you have time to do everything yourself.
Fiona Chin
post Aug 25 2022, 03:15 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Aug 25 2022, 12:43 AM)
Thanks! Are you living in a condo too? HDB seems to allow bigger local mongrels now, but don't think that will apply to mongrels from Malaysia  sad.gif Do you happen to know any good property agents. so that I can also engage them when the time comes?
I staying landed and short while at condo during renovation. They howl at the condo maybe not used to the new environment we have to scold them. Big breed need a lot of running space else they havoc your house. Now no more staying in SG, come here for kay poh only. Try ask others for recommendation.
Eve_1989 P
post Aug 26 2022, 01:03 PM

Probation

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Aug 25 2022, 02:11 PM)
You will need to make sure your dog is microchipped, and vaccinated for rabies (if i recall correctly, needs to be vaccinated at least 6 months before relocating). I'm planning to use land transport (quoted about RM5k), and then quarantine in Singapore for 30 days, costing close to SGD2k. I am still planning to check with other agents to see what their cost are.

I don't think it's necessary to use agent if you have time to do everything yourself.
Ahh I see I thought agent is compulsory πŸ™πŸ‘ŒπŸΌ Thanks for all this info- guess it will come in handy when it’s my time πŸ₯²πŸ’ͺ🏼

512 Pages « < 489 490 491 492 493 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:45 PM