oldbirdsong
post Mar 16 2018, 02:29 PM

QUOTE(bumfart @ Mar 16 2018, 12:01 PM)
i work in O&G industry
income, if i tell you, you wont believe

also i am single so my expenditure is relatively low
what kind of community work should i do?
i see singapore takes care of their differently abled citizens much much better than Malaysia

how much would a monthly car lease cost?
O&G usually very high income, I believe you.

For community work, just go to nearest community centre and ask the staff, or visit:

https://www.giving.sg
https://www.touch.org.sg
https://www.salvationarmy.org/singapore/volunteer

For car rental see https://lioncityrentals.com.sg/

WenWen1220
post Mar 16 2018, 10:46 PM

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Mar 16 2018, 09:20 AM)
You can. What is happening is you are given an IPA (In-Principle Approval). It is quite possible to have several of them at the same time.
ohh.. so if I decide to accept the 2nd offer, then just proceed with the medical check-up and reject the 1st offer will do?

This post has been edited by WenWen1220: Mar 16 2018, 10:51 PM
WenWen1220
post Mar 16 2018, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Mar 16 2018, 09:20 AM)
You can. What is happening is you are given an IPA (In-Principle Approval). It is quite possible to have several of them at the same time.
ohh.. so if I decide to accept the 2nd offer, then just proceed with the medical check-up and reject the 1st offer will do?
rainie1284
post Mar 17 2018, 07:23 AM

883 posts

btw, why some subjected to medical and some not?
knwong
post Mar 17 2018, 09:23 AM

2,951 posts

QUOTE(rainie1284 @ Mar 17 2018, 07:23 AM)
btw, why some subjected to medical and some not?
In general I saw MOM will require lower income foreign workers to go for medical check. Whereas higher salary don't need
mr_maverix
post Mar 17 2018, 09:43 AM

26 posts

Hello sifus.

I am looking to move over to Singapore. But there is still no employer who has called me yet. Anyone in the IT industry needs a fresh hand for their team?
kribrigdefoo
post Mar 17 2018, 02:55 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(mr_maverix @ Mar 17 2018, 09:43 AM)
Hello sifus.

I am looking to move over to Singapore. But there is still no employer who has called me yet. Anyone in the IT industry needs a fresh hand for their team?
My company doesn't need fresh hand yet, but u can find startup jobs by using www.techinasia.com/jobs.
I found mine there.
But I highly recommend that u gain enough experience at MY first before u come
Mackiddo
post Mar 18 2018, 12:13 AM

† St. David †
5,851 posts

QUOTE(bumfart @ Mar 16 2018, 12:01 PM)
i work in O&G industry
income, if i tell you, you wont believe

also i am single so my expenditure is relatively low
what kind of community work should i do?
i see singapore takes care of their differently abled citizens much much better than Malaysia

how much would a monthly car lease cost?
wow. Co still hiring? I've doing some jobs for O&G but salary so-so only. Looking for greener pastures.
mr_maverix
post Mar 18 2018, 02:56 PM

26 posts

I do have 8 years of experience in the IT Service Management industry. Looking to come over to SG to broaden my horizon and settle down there.

Will take a look at the site you recommended bro.
bumfart
post Mar 19 2018, 08:49 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(oldbirdsong @ Mar 16 2018, 02:29 PM)
O&G usually very high income, I believe you.

For community work, just go to nearest community centre and ask the staff, or visit:

https://www.giving.sg
https://www.touch.org.sg
https://www.salvationarmy.org/singapore/volunteer

For car rental see https://lioncityrentals.com.sg/
I will think about it
first priority is to find a place

high salary, but also the work is intense
when i go to site, 6 days a week, 12 hours. but get some daily site allowance

if i go offshore, constant work, but get good day rate in USD

not everyone can handle it though. i have known few guys who quit. and also it's really not for people with families. need to put the job first

oldbirdsong
post Mar 19 2018, 10:36 AM

QUOTE(mr_maverix @ Mar 17 2018, 09:43 AM)
Hello sifus.

What skills and experiences you have that others don't have?

Look at below 1 month temo job just for computer move and how many managers are eager to apply?

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 19 2018, 11:52 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

bonus season coming. hope everyone gt a big payout wink.gif
mr_maverix
post Mar 19 2018, 12:35 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(oldbirdsong @ Mar 19 2018, 10:36 AM)
What skills and experiences you have that others don't have?

Look at below 1 month temo job just for computer move and how many managers are eager to apply?

Very interesting and truthful information shared. That is what I am facing now. An influx of people from one location who are willing to take up such jobs and cuts off opportunities for people like me.

To answer your question it is going to be tough, but it is a good question for me to strengthen my portfolio, i.e. to be able to say why one should hire me. Right now I would say I understand the culture and the work ethics in Singapore, and not just looking for a short term stint. I specialise in people skills, getting through to people and making them understand what is needed from them, to get business objectives met. Having a natural flair in understanding how technology works helps me to become the bridge between business people and technical people.
oldbirdsong
post Mar 19 2018, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(bumfart @ Mar 19 2018, 08:49 AM)
I will think about it
first priority is to find a place

high salary, but also the work is intense
when i go to site, 6 days a week, 12 hours. but get some daily site allowance

if i go offshore, constant work, but get good day rate in USD

not everyone can handle it though. i have known few guys who quit. and also it's really not for people with families. need to put the job first
Your generous budget of $2K pm should have no issue finding a good place!

oldbirdsong
post Mar 19 2018, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(mr_maverix @ Mar 19 2018, 12:35 PM)
Very interesting and truthful information shared. That is what I am facing now. An influx of people from one location who are willing to take up such jobs and cuts off opportunities for people like me.

To answer your question it is going to be tough, but it is a good question for me to strengthen my portfolio, i.e. to be able to say why one should hire me. Right now I would say I understand the culture and the work ethics in Singapore, and not just looking for a short term stint. I specialise in people skills, getting through to people and making them understand what is needed from them, to get business objectives met. Having a natural flair in understanding how technology works helps me to become the bridge between business people and technical people.
Have you open an account on http://linkedin.com/ and put your skills & experiences?

I find Linkedin is the best to look for professional jobs.

thurtin
post Mar 19 2018, 03:03 PM

277 posts

My personal experience from trying to find a job in SG late last year. It's so true that its not good/easy now.

Just a bit of context, my job is in the communications sector. I've got over 10+ experience, and was looking at a senior position.

I updated my CV on Linkedin, and only got like maybe 2 people messaging me with not really great offers. Got maybe 2 responses from the jobs I applied from there as well. I did reach out to recruiters I knew from Linkedin and got more positive responses. Sadly, only had 3 real interviews that came out from it and that was really because the hiring managers from those companies knew me before this.

Things I learned from this process.

1. Not many senior positions available compared to mid and entry level ones. The job market is kinda soft in that aspect. Don't quote me on this, but its probably easier to try for senior execs to manager level jobs (3 to 5 years experience) it seems. At least according to headhunters I've talked to because all of them asked me if I have any people to recommend in those positions.

2. Be prepared to get offered less than market rate for any positions. I knew what the market rate were because I have friends in the industry, and the offers I got was way below the going rate. One hiring manager even insisted that this is their "standard offer" now, and try to hint that "this will be a lot more than your RM salary after conversion. Nice try. lol. I have an ex-colleague who just moved to SG in Feb and she is getting paid below market rate as well.

3. SG companies are being pressured by their govt to hire locals. Headhunters told me SG companies have to go through the proper process and its becoming a bit of hassle when they need talent urgently. Not saying that its not possible for non-SG folks to get a job there, but the process will take longer unless you work in a highly specialized field.

4. Applying through Linkedin jobs or any other SG job applications sites is hit or miss. I would say 90% of the time, you won't hear back from the jobs you applied. Maybe paying for Linkedin Premium will help but I didn't try that.

5. Reach out to headhunters or recruitment agencies to increase your rate of success. Add them as your contacts on Linkedin, and write a nice short intro about yourself. If they managed to find you a job, they will get a nice commission. They are highly motivated to get you a job if you're a good talent or fit the positions they are trying to fill. I had a headhunter shop me around a few companies within their database of client, jobs that are not on Linkedin and it's really nice of her to do so.

6. Network more to know more people that can intro you to good opportunities or even consider to hire you in the future. Nothing really beats that.

mr_maverix
post Mar 19 2018, 03:37 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Mar 19 2018, 03:03 PM)
My personal experience from trying to find a job in SG late last year. It's so true that its not good/easy now. 

Just a bit of context, my job is in the communications sector. I've got over 10+ experience, and was looking at a senior position.

I updated my CV on Linkedin, and only got like maybe 2 people messaging me with not really great offers. Got maybe 2 responses from the jobs I applied from there as well. I did reach out to recruiters I knew from Linkedin and got more positive responses. Sadly, only had 3 real interviews that came out from it and that was really because the hiring managers from those companies knew me before this.

Things I learned from this process.

1. Not many senior positions available compared to mid and entry level ones. The job market is kinda soft in that aspect. Don't quote me on this, but its probably easier to try for senior execs to manager level jobs (3 to 5 years experience) it seems. At least according to headhunters I've talked to because all of them asked me if I have any people to recommend in those positions. 

2. Be prepared to get offered less than market rate for any positions. I knew what the market rate were because I have friends in the industry, and the offers I got was way below the going rate. One hiring manager even insisted that this is their "standard offer" now, and try to hint that "this will be a lot more than your RM salary after conversion. Nice try. lol. I have an ex-colleague who just moved to SG in Feb and she is getting paid below market rate as well.     

3. SG companies are being pressured by their govt to hire locals. Headhunters told me SG companies have to go through the proper process and its becoming a bit of hassle when they need talent urgently. Not saying that its not possible for non-SG folks to get a job there, but the process will take longer unless you work in a highly specialized field. 
4. Applying through Linkedin jobs or any other SG job applications sites is hit or miss. I would say 90% of the time, you won't hear back from the jobs you applied. Maybe paying for Linkedin Premium will help but I didn't try that. 
5. Reach out to headhunters or recruitment agencies to increase your rate of success. Add them as your contacts on Linkedin, and write a nice short intro about yourself. If they managed to find you a job, they will get a nice commission. They are highly motivated to get you a job if you're a good talent or fit the positions they are trying to fill. I had a headhunter shop me around a few companies within their database of client, jobs that are not on Linkedin and it's really nice of her to do so.

6. Network more to know more people that can intro you to good opportunities or even consider to hire you in the future. Nothing really beats that.
Agreeing to all the above statements. Tried all the above steps, and yet to find a fruitful interview session. I have resorted to reaching out to network with people, hence I am here. 😊

And again my question remains, anyone out there who could use fresh hands with their mid-level management team? Reason why I am looking for a senior level position is because I have gained enough experience from grassroots, and I am ready to contribute as an SME/manager now. I am still open for grassroots positions if the challenge (and salary) is good!

oldbirdsong
post Mar 19 2018, 03:47 PM

Saw this on a SG forun, guess how much?

Economy rice at Orchard Road: 1 rice, 1 mutton, 3 sides

knwong
post Mar 19 2018, 03:51 PM

2,951 posts

QUOTE(oldbirdsong @ Mar 19 2018, 03:47 PM)

Food Opera in Ion Orchard is an expensive food court. Easily SGD 10 and above for Malay food

This post has been edited by knwong: Mar 19 2018, 03:52 PM
aussiebum
post Mar 19 2018, 04:07 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(oldbirdsong @ Mar 19 2018, 03:47 PM)

Thats a huge portion tbh.... blink.gif
Some more mutton and food opera...I think 15?

509 Pages « < 181 182 183 184 185 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:19 AM