509 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

tailtwist
post Aug 15 2017, 07:07 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Aug 15 2017, 10:06 AM)
Hmm did the office ask why are you, the husband not applying together?
This is sad.
Why are you not happy working here? I agree there will be ups and downs, but totally downs?
Mix around, go out, indulge once a while.
yes...just say he will apply later
tailtwist
post Aug 15 2017, 07:10 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Aug 15 2017, 11:19 AM)
Perhaps, tailtwist still got property or assets in MY not willing to give up.

That's why holding on it.

MY is going backwards now towards 3rd world country. Why retire in MY?

Nobody know what will happen to MY 30 years later.
well i dont have any assets nor land nor properties nor even a vehicle/motorcycle...just that both of my parents are still around in KL(my side), while for my wife, her parents(means my parents in law) didn't object to her converting to SG citizenship
tailtwist
post Aug 15 2017, 07:11 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Aug 15 2017, 02:11 PM)
Nobody know what will happen to SG 30 years later too. Converting to SG citizen is a one way ticket. Up to you though your preference.
yes its a 1 way ticket......i doubt you will even be granted MY PR after that
SUShuaweie5830
post Aug 15 2017, 07:22 PM

967 posts

Actually i don't understand the worry

If U r able to survive in this difficult SG society , and compete with people coming from all around the world

But now you are worry you cant get PR from any other country apart from Malaysia ?

Why retire in malaysia only ? Why not Indonesia ? why not Thailand ? Why not Vietnam ? I do notice more western rather retire in Thai than Malaysia

To be frank, at the time I retire, I rather spend my money traveling around the world , than telling my children to take care me , coz I wanna stay in Malaysia, and troubles my children travelling frequently from SG ( if he is sgrean)
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 16 2017, 08:39 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

majulah singapura. may it continue to be great over the next 30 years, for the next generation too.
ntick
post Aug 16 2017, 01:16 PM

348 posts

Hi...First time i tried POSB remit transfer to Maybank malaysia (same day transfer)

I did successful transfer at 12PM (before 2.30PM cut off time). and i did receive SMS from POSB "Your DBS Malaysia Remit to xxx has been processed successfully 16/08"

But after that i login to maybank malaysia still did not see the money were in

May i know roughly when the money will be arrive?

This post has been edited by ntick: Aug 16 2017, 01:17 PM
CreamMilk
post Aug 16 2017, 02:32 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Aug 16 2017, 01:16 PM)
Hi...First time i tried POSB remit transfer to Maybank malaysia (same day transfer)

I did successful transfer at 12PM (before 2.30PM cut off time). and i did receive SMS from POSB "Your DBS Malaysia Remit to xxx has been processed successfully 16/08"

If it's before cut-off time, usually by end of the day, try check again after 6pm. It's not instant transfer biggrin.gif
But I do experience it took another 1 business day even i transfer within cut-off time.
ntick
post Aug 16 2017, 02:37 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Aug 16 2017, 02:32 PM)
If it's before cut-off time, usually by end of the day, try check again after 6pm. It's not instant transfer  biggrin.gif
But I do experience it took another 1 business day even i transfer within cut-off time.
Thanks...i tot is instant transfer....coz there mentioned same day transfer cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Currently @ bukit indah.cafe shop...lazy go back SG take money and come back cry.gif cry.gif

Hopefully it will arrive today...if not no money eating sia...

Any Bukit indah friend belanja me makan rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
deadravel
post Aug 16 2017, 02:42 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Aug 16 2017, 01:16 PM)

normally 1working day or lesser for me thumbsup.gif
chk later or tmr
ntick
post Aug 16 2017, 02:55 PM

348 posts

[quote=deadravel,Aug 16 2017, 02:42 PM]
normally 1working day or lesser for me thumbsup.gif
chk later or tmr

[quote]W

tomorrow then no points liao..tomorow working liao...tot can enjoy today go BW bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
wkkm007
post Aug 16 2017, 07:08 PM

3,116 posts

Hi all,

I need a room rental urgently, will working @ The Adelphi, 1 Coleman St.
Where I can get a room rent beside from the internet website,
Or any Facebook source.
Budget S$500.00 or lesser room sharing ok, utility fee not including ok

joeylny
post Aug 16 2017, 08:05 PM

554 posts

Did anyone hire a truck or lorry to move your things to SG ?

calvin989898
post Aug 19 2017, 08:56 PM

943 posts

Guys , need your advise I'm new to this. Recently I have apply an internal position within my company. It's an mnc o&g company. I have more than 13 years experience in global projects persuit.
HR already told me I be getting this position and next week is just formality interview with MD which I already working with him for long.
Soon will be salary negotiation from HR side. Currently I'm earning basic around MYR 15k basic. For case like this what are the reasonable offer would be in SGD? This is prepare me to negotiation with HR soon.
I plan to drive my Malaysia car and will go back to KL every week end. The affect on my side will not be too much as I need to travel in Asia region frequently. Whether fly from changi or klia will be fine. Expected just stay 2 weeks in singapore and 2 weeks overseas and will fly in / out via klia.

This post has been edited by calvin989898: Aug 19 2017, 09:01 PM
tailtwist
post Aug 19 2017, 09:38 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(calvin989898 @ Aug 19 2017, 08:56 PM)
Guys , need your advise I'm new to this. Recently I have apply an internal position within my company. It's an mnc o&g company. I have more than 13 years experience in global projects persuit.
HR already told me I be getting this position and next week is just formality interview with MD which I already working with him for long.
Soon will be salary negotiation from HR side. Currently I'm earning basic around MYR 15k basic. For case like this what are the reasonable offer would be in SGD? This is prepare me to negotiation with HR soon.
I plan to drive my Malaysia car and will go back to KL every week end. The affect on my side will not be too much as I need to travel in Asia region frequently. Whether fly from changi or klia will be fine. Expected just stay 2 weeks in singapore and 2 weeks overseas and will fly in / out via klia.
you will be driving your Malaysia car into SG or park nearby JB checkpoint?
waa....going back kl every weekend....easily waste 6 hours of driving(round trip provided no incident/jam on the PLUS highway)...not including your petrol/maintenance/toll etc etc...well its something that i cant afford for sure....
pay wise...not a single clue..cause im not in O&G field
calvin989898
post Aug 19 2017, 10:08 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 19 2017, 09:38 PM)
you will be driving your Malaysia car into SG or park nearby JB checkpoint?
waa....going back kl every weekend....easily waste 6 hours of driving(round trip provided no incident/jam on the PLUS highway)...not including your petrol/maintenance/toll etc etc...well its something that i cant afford for sure....
pay wise...not a single clue..cause im not in O&G field
No, I plan to use the car within SG when I'm there. It's faster to travel around and go back to KL instead of taking public transport to JB. And my office at Tuas so it's easy if have own transport. The price to pay is what you say lo, waste 6 hours commute time once every 2 weeks. But nothing is perfect , in return is better experience and better pay 😁😁

This post has been edited by calvin989898: Aug 19 2017, 10:15 PM
tailtwist
post Aug 20 2017, 07:01 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(calvin989898 @ Aug 19 2017, 10:08 PM)
No, I plan to use the car within SG when I'm there. It's faster to travel around and go back to KL instead of taking public transport to JB. And my office at Tuas so it's easy if have own transport. The price to pay is what you say lo, waste 6 hours commute time once every 2 weeks. But nothing is perfect , in return is better experience and better pay 😁😁
on top of that dont forget to include your travelling expenses/time into SG...eg VEP/ERP and the time spent crossing the borders on a DAILY basis (5 days a week)

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Aug 20 2017, 07:08 AM
knwong
post Aug 20 2017, 09:26 AM

2,953 posts

QUOTE(calvin989898 @ Aug 19 2017, 08:56 PM)
On top of the driving expenses that other LYN have mentioned, you also need to consider the taxation since you will be traveling in the region i.e. spending ~50% of your time away from Singapore. You'll be taxed non-resident 15% flat for that

Clarify with HR on this. Later once you get the offer in the end your take home pay is lesser than what you are getting now - no point at all to make this career move.

If I am your employer, knowing that you travel a lot why will I let you based out from SG and increase my costing here.

danieltan
post Aug 20 2017, 10:55 AM

Abuthen
750 posts

Want to ask. What is procedure after getting pr approved
calvin989898
post Aug 20 2017, 11:04 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 20 2017, 07:01 AM)
on top of that dont forget to include your travelling expenses/time into SG...eg VEP/ERP and the time spent crossing the borders on a DAILY basis (5 days a week)
Actually I plan to go in on mon and only leave on fri by renting a room in SG if I'm not overseas. Some of my friends said this is Ok as long as I'm no PR. Just pay the VEP
calvin989898
post Aug 20 2017, 11:14 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 20 2017, 09:26 AM)
On top of the driving expenses that other LYN have mentioned, you also need to consider the taxation since you will be traveling in the region i.e. spending ~50% of your time away from Singapore. You'll be taxed non-resident 15% flat for that

Clarify with HR on this. Later once you get the offer in the end your take home pay is lesser than what you are getting now - no point at all to make this career move.

If I am your employer, knowing that you travel a lot why will I let you based out from SG and increase my costing here.
Yes the tax is one part is something I need to talk to HR. I checked the Iras website : The number of days of employment in Singapore includes weekends and public holidays. Any absences from Singapore that are temporary (e.g. overseas vacation leave) or incidental to your employment (e.g. business trips) are still counted in the total days of employment for the purpose of determining your tax residency status.
Maybe during business trip is also counted as working day.
Actually this new position I have have direct report from SG , that is why the position is offered there. Else I can just continue work from KL office. But for my case like this not sure what's the multiplier I could get ??

509 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:49 PM