Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

HP Computer
post Sep 7 2023, 04:21 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Chartry @ Sep 3 2023, 09:20 PM)
If I were you, I'll go for NUS. NUS is a top uni, there are countries/big cities that issue special visa to folks from top universities nowadays to attract talents.
Agree. After some research, there are similar master degree from UK (Uni. of Aberdeen, Rm 80k, online distance learning) including MY (UTP, Rm 35k, weekend) that can be considered.

As I am just too old to invest Rm140k for master, likely will enrol in UTP (Msia) for weekend master degree. For youngsters, no doubt a master from NUS or NTU could be a good investment, especially those in finance/banking.

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 7 2023, 12:24 PM)
NUS so expensive now? NUS used to be the place for good student but family not so well to do. I planned to send my kids there but 44k how to afford?
Sgd 44k is for master by coursework. PR is 4k cheaper if not mistaken. By the way, the fee will increase yearly.

HP Computer
post Sep 7 2023, 04:22 PM

183 posts

double post.. sorry

This post has been edited by HP Computer: Sep 7 2023, 04:22 PM
Fiona Chin
post Sep 7 2023, 05:21 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(HP Computer @ Sep 7 2023, 04:21 PM)
Agree. After some research, there are similar master degree from UK (Uni. of Aberdeen, Rm 80k, online distance learning) including MY (UTP, Rm 35k, weekend) that can be considered.

As I am just too old to invest Rm140k for master,  likely will enrol in UTP (Msia) for weekend master degree. For youngsters, no doubt a master from NUS or NTU could be a good investment, especially those in finance/banking.
Sgd 44k is for master by coursework. PR is 4k cheaper if not mistaken. By the way,  the fee will increase yearly.
So expensive, SG known for its good and affordable education last time... Just checked the MBA become 90k now, double up already...
Mackiddo
post Sep 14 2023, 04:55 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Aug 14 2023, 01:55 PM)
Anyone working in JI? Which telco is good, starhub or singtel there?
Jurong Island? Keep to Singtel or it’s subsidiaries, like GOMO, ZERO1, CMLink, Vivify, ZYM, HEYA …..

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Sep 14 2023, 04:58 PM
VinluV
post Sep 25 2023, 10:35 AM

1,947 posts

Is there still a whatsapp chat group for Malaysians in Singapore?

Was wondering if there are meetups.

This post has been edited by VinluV: Sep 25 2023, 10:53 AM
modlingguntio
post Oct 4 2023, 09:54 PM

30 posts

My PR reentry permit end next year june and I now working in Malaysia since this month. Will my reentry permit get renew if I found job in Singapore before March next year?
VinluV
post Oct 4 2023, 10:36 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(modlingguntio @ Oct 4 2023, 09:54 PM)
My PR reentry permit end next year june and I now working in Malaysia since this month. Will my reentry permit get renew if I found job in Singapore before March next year?
Iinm you have to do it yourself using the eservice.
I don't think it matters if you dont have a job yet.
HP Computer
post Oct 26 2023, 01:17 PM

183 posts

Hello, anyone taking KTM from JB sentral to Gemas?

Wonder more slots/seats will be opened for purchase when the traveling date is getting nearer?
xHj09
post Nov 6 2023, 09:26 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

one dumb question guys

i understand >180 days in SG will get taxed there.

how about remote jobs for SG? do we get 100% of the gross salary?

i've seen many people ask to apply for Sdn Bhd (or enterprise?)

say if I have Sdn Bhd ready, and my remote job pays (e.g., after conversion RM10k, and I register myself as employee with 8k income, I'll need to declare personal = 8k and my SSM will need to declare with 10k - 8k expense = 2k profit?
lol0919
post Nov 9 2023, 12:01 PM

168 posts

Hi all sifus, does anyone know what is the salary range for software engineer with 4 years exp in the current market?
Im currently looking for java developer role in Singapore and no idea how much expected salary shall i demand while applying job, my last drawn was 6k SGD since Oct 2022, will it be ok if i put amount that higher than 7k in current market? Do you guys have any suggestions? Im currently looking for a new job role as java backend developer in Bank/investment banks and IT consulting firms.
chupapi_munyayo
post Nov 14 2023, 10:47 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Aug 14 2023, 01:55 PM)
Anyone working in JI? Which telco is good, starhub or singtel there?
Bro which telco line u find best in Jurong island??
kai91
post Nov 16 2023, 04:59 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(lol0919 @ Nov 9 2023, 12:01 PM)
Hi all sifus, does anyone know what is the salary range for software engineer with 4 years exp in the current market?
Im currently looking for java developer role in Singapore and no idea how much expected salary shall i demand while applying job, my last drawn was 6k SGD since Oct 2022, will it be ok if i put amount that higher than 7k in current market? Do you guys have any suggestions? Im currently looking for a new job role as java backend developer in Bank/investment banks and IT consulting firms.
go for 8-9k
Blackdawn
post Nov 22 2023, 11:33 AM

268 posts

just curious got for those who work in Singapore but stay in JB, normal working hour (9-5) and daily commute to SG via car.

How was your experience and any tips or concerns that i should be considering?

other than tiredness from driving, i will get
- more money and savings
- bigger house
- better food
- no NS for my son
- int school for my son than sg gov school (not to say not good but i don't like the competitiveness there)
- better places to go during weekend
- more money and savings

and i can also consider renting a room in SG and go back only during weekends, if i am really too tired.

want to hear from all perspective.

KilJim
post Nov 22 2023, 01:11 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Does staying in Malaysia vs Singapore avoid NS?
I thought it's simply related to PR status of your son
Blackdawn
post Nov 22 2023, 01:35 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 22 2023, 01:11 PM)
Does staying in Malaysia vs Singapore avoid NS?
I thought it's simply related to PR status of your son
he's not a PR or citizen yet.

KilJim
post Nov 22 2023, 02:26 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Blackdawn @ Nov 22 2023, 01:35 PM)
he's not a PR or citizen yet.
I don't think he needs to go for NS in that case, even if he's residing in Singapore
Blackdawn
post Nov 22 2023, 02:32 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 22 2023, 02:26 PM)
I don't think he needs to go for NS in that case, even if he's residing in Singapore
i know. which is why the choice was between staying in singapore and convert to SGrian / PR to study locally then serve NS, or stay in JB and go international school, and skip the NS.

think the point is not about NS, i just want to to know for those who commute daily from JB, any other concerns that I have not considered.

jian5481
post Dec 4 2023, 09:07 AM

781 posts

Hi, anyone recently applied for PR since they moved to online submission? Do they still require hardcopy? My wife's degree cert quite big, and difficult to bring around without damaging it unless I buy those tube cases
IwanAGP
post Dec 4 2023, 09:26 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Dec 4 2023, 09:07 AM)
Hi, anyone recently applied for PR since they moved to online submission? Do they still require hardcopy? My wife's degree cert quite big, and difficult to bring around without damaging it unless I buy those tube cases
Uni never give the tube case?? Mine came with it so I still have it in the case. Anyway can't verify for you got my PR for quite some year already.
jian5481
post Dec 4 2023, 11:36 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 4 2023, 09:26 AM)
Uni never give the tube case?? Mine came with it so I still have it in the case. Anyway can't verify for you got my PR for quite some year already.
OK, just asked my wife, she said yes but not sure where it is...will just have to find a way to transport it nicely then, just in case it's needed. thanks!

512 Pages « < 506 507 508 509 510 > » Top

0.0412sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:20 AM