Interstate Marriage & JPN, JPN issues

TSvash_h
post Mar 1 2017, 05:41 PM, updated 9y ago

Dear All,

Hi. I recently proposed to my 8 yr long girlfriend and she accepted my wedding proposal icon_idea.gif

but now i have a problem. I heard my sister say, that it will not be so easy.

I am born and raised in Selangor, while she is born and raised in Johor.

My sister claims that she will need to go to JPN and request to change address to Selangor before she can get married to me.

But how to change address in IC? she has no permanent residence here. The house we are buying will be under my name, and is still not ready,
pending SPA and strata title.

anyone encounter this problem before? i would think it is ridiculous procedure but if it is required, just have to do it.

Do she need to bring proof of address as well? to change her address? bill address perhaps?
scchan107
post Mar 1 2017, 05:46 PM

205 posts

Another option will be registration with JPN on both states, main purpose is to make sure no one oppose this marriage from Selangor (where you stay) and Johor (where she stay)

The JPN will explain the exact procedure for Interstate registration
ctandk
post Mar 1 2017, 05:52 PM

92 posts

Easy, just go jpn (ic department) change to kl address, pay rm2 then can register.

They only change the address in the system and u can proceed to register without issuing new nric with kl address.

Secondly, do it at a thien hou temple, no restriction where u and your wife from.
Aftermaths
post Mar 1 2017, 05:53 PM

601 posts

My wife different state, registration no problem at all.

You go ask officer or person who help in marriage registration.

Please, your sister is not an officer. So... Don't believe her.
kambingkoh
post Mar 1 2017, 06:42 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Aftermaths @ Mar 1 2017, 05:53 PM)
My wife different state, registration no problem at all.

You go ask officer or person who help in marriage registration.

Please, your sister is not an officer. So... Don't believe her.
That's what a lot people experience before. Change of address. Even for my friend who recently got married last year. The only way to do it without changing address I could think of is to do it in places like Thien Hou Gong or probably church.

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Mar 1 2017, 06:43 PM
kambingkoh
post Mar 1 2017, 06:42 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ctandk @ Mar 1 2017, 05:52 PM)
Easy, just go jpn (ic department) change to kl address, pay rm2 then can register.

They only change the address in the system and u can proceed to register without issuing new nric with kl address.

Secondly, do it at a thien hou temple, no restriction where u and your wife from.
thien hou temple +1 rclxms.gif
TSvash_h
post Mar 2 2017, 12:54 PM

thanks guys.. i guess change address should do the trick.
calvin_kenni
post Mar 6 2017, 11:10 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(vash_h @ Mar 1 2017, 05:41 PM)
Dear All,

Hi. I recently proposed to my 8 yr long girlfriend and she accepted my wedding proposal  icon_idea.gif

but now i have a problem. I heard my sister say, that it will not be so easy.

I am born and raised in Selangor, while she is born and raised in Johor.

My sister claims that she will need to go to JPN and request to change address to Selangor before she can get married to me.

But how to change address in IC? she has no permanent residence here. The house we are buying will be under my name, and is still not ready,
pending SPA and strata title.

anyone encounter this problem before? i would think it is ridiculous procedure but if it is required, just have to do it.

Do she need to bring proof of address as well? to change her address? bill address perhaps?
well mine was an interstate marriage

Opsyen PERTAMA:
go to JPN selangor and JPN johor (the town u both from), say u mau kahwen, itu opiser will guide u how to do.
the general idea is to put u and ur bini punya gambar dekat papan notis at both JPN branches for 30 days, if no objeksi then boley kahwen
but this takes a lot of time and might need to take leave to do coz all must do within opis hour only.
so i ditched this plan.

the other jpn way is to change ur sis punya IC address to your address (say u both stay together), should be ok.

Opsyen KEDUA:
do via religious institution in KL, pay them RM100-200 (i forgot) and save the hassle with JPN.
both of you fill in the forms provided by the religious institution in KL, bayar them, then select the date u want.

example of places: Thean Hou temple, Buddhist Maha Vihara Temple for buddhist
for christians and hindus i forgot liao

Opsyen KETIGA:
u duit manyak, so u kasi duit kopi itu opiser jpn selangor, pick a super duper expensive venue in KL, bao kaliao the place, then u invite the JPN opiser come see u both say "i do i also do" on that date laugh.gif

This post has been edited by calvin_kenni: Mar 6 2017, 11:14 PM
keah.kyle
post Jun 30 2017, 08:57 AM

148 posts

need help!
i just propose to my gf and she is from china.
now the headache comes in.
how could we register?
the JPN website doesnt give any information.
who got JPN runner contact?
zm72
post Jul 4 2017, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(keah.kyle @ Jun 30 2017, 08:57 AM)
need help!
how could we register?
when are u planning to get married? it could be a long process...
keah.kyle
post Jul 4 2017, 12:17 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(zm72 @ Jul 4 2017, 11:44 AM)
when are u planning to get married? it could be a long process...
at the end of the year.
any advice?
clement8
post Jul 5 2017, 10:19 PM

36 posts

Guys need advice. What is the dress code for female on ROM day in JPN Putrajaya? I heard there are some restrictions like, need to be knee height and cannot be sleeveless.

My fiancee is having trouble getting dress that she likes because all of them its either sleeveless or above the knee.
mr.thinkpad
post Jul 7 2017, 08:53 AM

Enrich Traveller
558 posts

QUOTE(clement8 @ Jul 5 2017, 10:19 PM)
Guys need advice. What is the dress code for female on ROM day in JPN Putrajaya? I heard there are some restrictions like, need to be knee height and cannot be sleeveless.

My fiancee is having trouble getting dress that she likes because all of them its either sleeveless or above the knee.
must wear shirt and below knee
feiming
post Jul 29 2017, 08:50 AM

212 posts

Before u get married,JPN need to advertise for X days notice of marriage at their branch. If no one object, then you can proceed. It make no sense to advertise wedding notice in a location where the couple don't live in. JPN refer to IC address to determine where a person is living.

If the couple is from 2 different state,JPN from each state need to put up their wedding notice. You get around it by changing IC address.

If you want to organise your ROM at somewhere nice instead of JPN office. You need to select a location,check which state it's in,check with JPN HQ of that state,put in request for out of JPN office ROM. Pay some money for MB to approve and an officer will come to site
dannychen
post Jul 29 2017, 10:34 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(keah.kyle @ Jun 30 2017, 08:57 AM)
need help!
how could we register?
as far as I know, this can only be done at HQ - Putrajaya.
clement8
post Jul 31 2017, 09:49 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(mr.thinkpad @ Jul 7 2017, 08:53 AM)
must wear shirt and below knee
thanks for the confirmation!
frequency
post Aug 17 2017, 01:29 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

Me and my wife different state, Selangor and Johor. What we did

I went to Putrajaya JPN 3rd floor, change my my IC data (Not the physical IC) to Selangor. Got that done in less than 30 minutes.

Then we went to the JPN in Petaling Jaya to submit the application. After 1 month, collect the form and letter from JPN Petaling Jaya then went to the Perkahwinan department Putrajaya on 2nd floor, fill up the form and booked the date we would like to do the ROM.

Done!

*Note bcos we prefer to have ROM in Putrajaya since they open during weekend, else you can have all settled in the JPN according to your state.

This post has been edited by frequency: Aug 17 2017, 01:31 PM
wmeisan1987
post Nov 23 2017, 09:52 PM

37 posts

need advise.... where to get the Form JPN.KC02??
can it be downloaded?

This post has been edited by wmeisan1987: Nov 25 2017, 09:52 AM

0.0199sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:45 AM