Server With Customization Option For Individual, Where To Find in Malaysia

TSIrzani
post Mar 1 2017, 12:15 AM, updated 7y ago

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

Dear everyone, as IT Security practitioner, I'm trying to build up server workstation in my room. Therefore, I've allocate 10K for my first server for this purposes. I'll acquire other devices such as switch, router, and etc in soon too for my networking certifications.

Objective: To build my own isolated internet for research purposes and to retain and enhance my knowledge on many things ...

My problem is I didn't know where to start .... I've browsed through Dell and HP website but based on the information, I need to contact their partner/reseller. However, my big issue is the reseller website is totally outdated or cannot be reached. The pricing and spec are also outdated. And this is my first 10K which I took a loan for this purposes .. so, I need the best and affordable solution ... not too much markup issue

My colleagues have proposed

Serverware Malaysia

http://www.serverware.com.my/

in where they can provide Supermicro based server for individual ... but still I haven't contact them since there are no price list in their website

However, any chances that I can opt for other brand with full customization?

Such as Dell, HP, IBM, Lenovo and etc ?

There are not much problem if I was located in US/UK/Australia and etc as even individual can acquire the server based product directly, but in Malaysia .. they need us to contact the partner/reseller.

Thank you in advance for your suggestion below ...

This post has been edited by Irzani: Mar 1 2017, 02:26 AM
horns
post Mar 1 2017, 04:19 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

maybe you can check out this section of the forum, https://forum.lowyat.net/ServersGarageSales

you can set it up to serve as hypervisor to host a variety of guest os (virtualization), as long as it has enough resources.
badai
post Mar 1 2017, 12:00 PM

998 posts

15 years ago dell/hp website are already outdated.

I've to called few reseller to find out which one can do it.

Just try to call one by one, eventually you will reach an active reseller.
TSIrzani
post Mar 1 2017, 04:49 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 1 2017, 04:19 AM)
maybe you can check out this section of the forum, https://forum.lowyat.net/ServersGarageSales

you can set it up to serve as hypervisor to host a variety of guest os (virtualization), as long as it has enough resources.
thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately most of the thread only sell used server. I'll be considering the used server on phase 2 later .

"you can set it up to serve as hypervisor to host a variety of guest os (virtualization), as long as it has enough resources."

Yes, this is one of my homelab plan ... I'll be creating a lot of VM with vulnerabilities

Thank you for the input

QUOTE(badai @ Mar 1 2017, 12:00 PM)
15 years ago dell/hp website are already outdated.

I've to called few reseller to find out which one can do it.

Just try to call one by one, eventually you will reach an active reseller.
Noted and thank you Sir. But I'm not good in communication ... I'll be considering this later. TQ again
horns
post Mar 2 2017, 04:53 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 1 2017, 04:49 PM)
thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately most of the thread only sell used server. I'll be considering the used server on phase 2 later .

"you can set it up to serve as hypervisor to host a variety of guest os (virtualization), as long as it has enough resources."

Yes, this is one of my homelab plan ... I'll be creating a lot of VM with vulnerabilities

yes it's up to you. imo our weak currency might shrink your budget to certain extent that you might get something that is not justifiable if you purchased a new server.

to me used servers is an option because they are cheaper (with the same amount of money you can get something with more system resources for you to play with compared to new), and they are equally capable of getting jobs done. (just don't get something that are too old) you might also save some budgets for other more practical stuff.

i used to run freebsd on an old pc with cyrix cpu and 16MB of ram. (in those days to install redhat you need to have at least 32MB of ram) i learned most of the basics that make our internet today from that old pc. it's quite an experience hehe
TSIrzani
post Mar 3 2017, 01:08 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 2 2017, 04:53 AM)
yes it's up to you. imo our weak currency might shrink your budget to certain extent that you might get something that is not justifiable if you purchased a new server.

to me used servers is an option because they are cheaper (with the same amount of money you can get something with more system resources for you to play with compared to new), and they are equally capable of getting jobs done. (just don't get something that are too old) you might also save some budgets for other more practical stuff.

i used to run freebsd on an old pc with cyrix cpu and 16MB of ram. (in those days to install redhat you need to have at least 32MB of ram) i learned most of the basics that make our internet today from that old pc. it's quite an experience hehe
Noted and thank you for your advice Sir. Hopefully I can find a right server with the right capacity soon enough. The server will be powered with VMware ESXi which I'm going to subscribe through VMUG Advantage. I've a lot of VM with Windows Server based license (legit license - Academic based) to be tested.

Btw, look like no other suggestion from our forumer here. Is it "serverware" is the only option to have customized server in Malaysia? Other brand? Or should I opt to buy from overseas? hmm.gif
horns
post Mar 3 2017, 09:25 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 3 2017, 01:08 PM)
Noted and thank you for your advice Sir. Hopefully I can find a right server with the right capacity soon enough. The server will be powered with VMware ESXi which I'm going to subscribe through VMUG Advantage. I've a lot of VM with Windows Server based license (legit license - Academic based) to be tested.

Btw, look like no other suggestion from our forumer here. Is it "serverware" is the only option to have customized server in Malaysia? Other brand? Or should I opt to buy from overseas? hmm.gif
np; good luck hunting it smile.gif

all common brands sell custom servers. you just need to talk to the right person. you can try ask myway1985 (i think he sells dell servers); maybe he has something for you.

alternatively you can check out shops at lyp and maybe imbi. there are shops that do build custom servers at lyp.
randnum23
post Mar 3 2017, 10:48 PM

55 posts

You can try building your own, amd got new processor out 8 cores/16 thread quite cheap, should be good for esx purpose. Can also try the rig suggestion thread here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4209269.
myway1985
post Mar 3 2017, 11:19 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 3 2017, 01:08 PM)

U can pm me wat spec u wan...Thanks bro horns for tag me..

all brand server i oso got..just focus on dell... coz i big player in the factory refurbished sector.. recently they offer me special for the server.. u can send in wat spec u wan n they quote u base on DFO price

This post has been edited by myway1985: Mar 3 2017, 11:25 PM
myway1985
post Mar 8 2017, 09:29 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 1 2017, 12:15 AM)
Dear everyone, as IT Security practitioner, I'm trying to build up server workstation in my room. Therefore, I've allocate 10K for my first server for this purposes. I'll acquire other devices such as switch, router, and etc in soon too for my networking certifications.

Objective: To build my own isolated internet for research purposes and to retain and enhance my knowledge on many things ...

My problem is I didn't know where to start .... I've browsed through Dell and HP website but based on the information, I need to contact their partner/reseller. However, my big issue is the reseller website is totally outdated or cannot be reached. The pricing and spec are also outdated. And this is my first 10K which I took a loan for this purposes .. so, I need the best and affordable solution ... not too much markup issue

Serverware Malaysia

in where they can provide Supermicro based server for individual ... but still I haven't contact them since there are no price list in their website

There are not much problem if I was located in US/UK/Australia and etc as even individual can acquire the server based product directly, but in Malaysia .. they need us to contact the partner/reseller.

u still need server? got offer now for new unit

This post has been edited by myway1985: Mar 8 2017, 09:29 PM
TSIrzani
post Mar 9 2017, 01:06 AM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 8 2017, 09:29 PM)
u still need server? got offer now for new unit
Hi, I'm doing a technology research now ... a comparison between Serverware (SuperMicro) vs Dell . Currently I'm looking forward to get a new Dell Server 730XD with 3 years warranty but my budget is max to 11K ... I can sacrifice on the CPU and RAM and focus on other components first and upgrade it slowly ... In the mean time, I'm also interested to hear about the news of upcoming AMD Napels CPU too.

Thanks for highlighting again ... will contact you to get on the official quotation (the company that I work with will pay directly) if Dell is my first choice.
myway1985
post Mar 9 2017, 07:54 AM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 9 2017, 01:06 AM)
Hi, I'm doing a technology research now ... a comparison between Serverware (SuperMicro) vs Dell . Currently I'm looking forward to get a new Dell Server 730XD with 3 years warranty but my budget is max to 11K ... I can sacrifice on the CPU and RAM and focus on other components first and upgrade it slowly ... In the mean time, I'm also interested to hear about the news of upcoming AMD Napels CPU too.

Thanks for highlighting again ... will contact you to get on the official quotation (the company that I work with will pay directly) if Dell is my first choice.
For rx730xd I hv promotion if u dun need installation.. Warranty is important for server bro, every parts is expensive.. especially ram.. price hv up 80% .. and dell giv u pro support 4hrs for server
Satori 14118a
post Feb 9 2019, 12:21 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 1 2017, 12:15 AM)

Serverware Malaysia

To your use case scenario, it's better to invest in more RAM as that's the ceiling you're likely to hit first.

On VMware, you can get away with using the evaluation version. Just that you will not be able to use the advanced features (vMotion, vCenter, NSX, yada yada).

Feel free to PM me if you need any advise on VMware setup.
TSIrzani
post Feb 27 2019, 12:08 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(Satori 14118a @ Feb 9 2019, 12:21 AM)
To your use case scenario, it's better to invest in more RAM as that's the ceiling you're likely to hit first.

On VMware, you can get away with using the evaluation version. Just that you will not be able to use the advanced features (vMotion, vCenter, NSX, yada yada).

Feel free to PM me if you need any advise on VMware setup.
Dear Sir, any reason on why NSX cannot be applied? I've bought two dual CPU with 10 core each, any specification that I've missing?
Satori 14118a
post Feb 27 2019, 12:22 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 27 2019, 12:08 PM)
Dear Sir, any reason on why NSX cannot be applied? I've bought two dual CPU with 10 core each, any specification that I've missing?
License required for NSX.
TSIrzani
post Feb 27 2019, 12:25 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(Satori 14118a @ Feb 27 2019, 12:22 PM)
License required for NSX.
Already have the license for 1 year .. I took VMUG program. In the term of technical, any issue with the implementation?

TQ
Satori 14118a
post Feb 27 2019, 05:53 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 27 2019, 12:25 PM)
Already have the license for 1 year .. I took VMUG program. In the term of technical, any issue with the implementation?

TQ
Then should be no issues.
mcat84
post Mar 12 2019, 07:58 AM

614 posts

server in the room?..what is the noise level?
cant afford to put 10k+ on lab...
TSIrzani
post Mar 13 2019, 01:01 AM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(mcat84 @ Mar 12 2019, 07:58 AM)
server in the room?..what is the noise level?
cant afford to put 10k+ on lab...
No problem with the noise since I'm using Tower Server .. just I can feel the heat under the table after add in 1500VA UPS, currently looking to find any cooler that can be used on the floor and small enough to be inserted under the table

0.0219sec    1.06    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:56 AM