[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

yikyeou
post Sep 27 2017, 12:28 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

Dear all sifu and master, I am looking for recommendation for a workstation PC for my interior design work, mainly running CPU intensive rendering like SketchUp, Vray, Autocad and Photoshop.

[B][Budget]
RM5k - RM6k

[Purpose]
Work for interior design

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] 1080p (no need include monitor in the budget)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] SketchUp, Autocad, Vray, 3dsmax

[Personal preferences]
Speed up rendering time which is CPU heavy, plan to do some video editing as well

[Location]
Penang

Thanks in advance to all the sifu out there
yikyeou
post Mar 6 2021, 04:24 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

Hi sifu sifu, I wanna build a PC rig, will be using for 3D rendering on Sketchup and Autocad (interior design works), do video editing and Adobe Premier and maybe play some shooting game like L4D, COD.

Budget around RM5-6k, wonder is it workable for a good rig? Thanks a lot.
yikyeou
post Mar 8 2021, 11:13 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Mar 6 2021, 04:24 PM)
Hi sifu sifu, I wanna build a PC rig, will be using for 3D rendering on Sketchup and Autocad (interior design works), do video editing and Adobe Premier and maybe play some shooting game like L4D, COD.

Budget around RM5-6k, wonder is it workable for a good rig? Thanks a lot.
Bump bump, need advises.

Thanks in advance!
yikyeou
post Mar 9 2021, 02:44 AM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

Thanks guys for the guide, definitely helped me in my planning!

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 9 2021, 12:58 AM)
The integrated graphics inside that 10700 is probably faster than that GT1030 (if it's the slow DDR4 model) sweat.gif
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 9 2021, 01:18 AM)
Some benchmarks:

Since you are gaming as well, you should aim for a GeForce card rather than Quadro (low end Quadros are not worth it unless you go for their high end models, but even that it heavily depends on what type of applications you are using) icon_idea.gif
Not quite a gamer, some casual gaming only. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 9 2021, 01:24 AM)
That isn't too bad, but the Quadro P1000 is pretty slow for games (it's about as fast as a RX550):

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/quadro-p1000.c2932

There's also another variant that performs at the level of a GTX1050:

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/quadro-p1000.c3680

The only Quadros that are worth buying would be the P2000 (and above), but even that it depends on what workstation applications TS is using (some applications are much suited for Quadros, and sometimes you are much better off with an equivalently priced gaming card) icon_idea.gif

Thanks guys for the suggestion! Definitely helped my planning a lot.

Also, TS wants to play games as well, and a lot of games tend to dislike dual GPU setups:
This post has been edited by yikyeou: Mar 9 2021, 02:45 AM

0.0667sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:55 AM