[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

xxboxx
post Nov 14 2018, 07:32 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Nov 12 2018, 06:25 PM)
Hi, I need a small/compact desktop connect to LED TV for movies, youtube, and music.

[Budget] - RM500 possible? pls advise

[Purpose] - for entertainment 

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - NIL

[Monitor resolution] - not required

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - windows, internet browser & media players

[Personal preferences] - need to have HDMI output

[Location] - KL
Thanks yaa....

Unbelievably, it's doable for RM500. laugh.gif
Get a Mini PC, such as from here https://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?catId=...rchText=mini+pc

But if budget RM500, can only get X5 Z8350 with 2GB RAM, like this
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/WooYi-winte...2654398163.html
Enough to play Youtube and 1080p H264 video. But will not be powerful enough for 2160p H265, I have N3450 cpu with 4GB RAM, it can playback 1080p H265 smoothly, but not 2160p H265. But then again if your TV is 4K, it should be able to play 2160p H265 video from the USB. So no need PC to play 4K video file.
xxboxx
post Dec 2 2018, 09:17 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(GGikhwan @ Dec 2 2018, 08:59 PM)
Thanks for the reply. I will do more research on the psu. Do u have any suggestions where a budget psu that have full sleeve cable. The other one that i found is aigo gt500w. My budget for psu is around 200.

For ram, higher clock ram is pretty expensive. Does it really make a significant different when OC? Im willing to used normal hdd instead of ssd and upgrade my ram if i have to.

Can get 3200mhz RAM around RM300. With Ryzen can feel the difference 2666mhz vs 3200mhz. You can use 2666mhz and OC it, but stability will be an issue.

SSD also important for speed, especially with Win10 sweat.gif

After the fall of coin mining, there's a lot of second hand GC in the market. Can save some budget from here.
xxboxx
post Jan 1 2019, 04:44 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 1 2019, 12:53 AM)
Hi guys, currently I'm using the below rig but I suspect that the mobo / cpu (or both) is also dead, hasn't confirmed yet but just in case so start researching first:

Casing: Phanteks ENTHOO PRIMO
Mobo: asrock h87m pro4
Cpu: Intel core i7 4770 with CM Hyper 212x cooler
Gpu: sapphire r9 290 tri-x
Ram: Kingston value ram ddr3 8gb x2
Psu: corsair AX860 - in the midst of RMA since 3 months ago rclxub.gif
Using few sad + hdd

Best case scenario, I won't need to purchase any parts (or bare minimum only hunt for lga1150 motherboard)

Worst case scenario, I'll need to replace my motherboard + cpu which also means the ram / cooler (unless still can reuse). don't really have a fixed budget but I want to spend the least to achieve similar (or slightly better) performance with the current combination I have - ie 4770 + 16gb ram, maybe can take the opportunity to upgrade the ram also.

Main purpose of the pc is for gaming (including virtual reality), and video editing (and live streaming).

Gpu is bare minimum with today's standard, so might also be considering an upgrade separately in the future (or maybe crossfire r9 290 if it's worth pursuing at all)

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

How many years you been using the mobo? Suspect the mobo after too long it's bend and dead. Happens to my system last time. Don't buy second hand mobo unless you gonna use it for just few months, I bought second hand and the mobo only last me about 6 months.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Jan 1 2019, 04:44 PM
xxboxx
post Jan 5 2019, 02:42 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jan 4 2019, 09:43 AM)
Hi guys, planning on getting a new pair of ram with faster speeds.
Currently looking at :
1) HyperX Fury 3466Mhz 8gb x 2
2) HyperX Predator 3600Mhz 8 gb x 2

The fury is cheaper but has slightly slower speed, any other recommendations? I dont mind not having rgb since my mobo has no rgb header or function and cant sync with the rest of my system, just need black color ram to fit the overall look of my built (black and white).

Below are my current specs:
Intel core i5-9600k
MSI GTX1070 ti Duke
Asrock z370m Pro4 mobo
ID Cooling Chromaflow 240
Samsung 860 EVO 250gb
WD Blue 1TB HDD
WD Green m.2 SSD 128gb
HyperX Fury 2400Mhz 8gb x 2
EVGA 650 GD

p/s: I wanna upgrade ram speed because it's vital in providing better fps in competitive PUBG. It's proven that upgrading to more than 3200Mhz can get up to extra 20fps in competitive match.

Fury have high latency, CL19-23-23 @ 3466mhz
Predator lower latency, CL17-18-18 @3600mhz
Because of lower bandwidth, Fury latency is actually much higher than Predator.

Lower latency will help to get more fps

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Jan 5 2019, 03:02 PM
xxboxx
post Jan 5 2019, 06:14 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jan 5 2019, 04:52 PM)
Thanks for the input man, the predator sounds like a better option but the non RGB version is so much more expensive and I can't configure the lightings cuz my mobo has no RGB support.
Any other ram you recommend? For something about 3200mhz.

Kingston is one of the cheapest already.
If G.Skill will be much more expensive, but they're lower latency.
Not sure about Corsair and Crucial RAM price.

You can check out these listing. Basically if can get Dual-Rank RAM (not to be confused with dual-channel) and Samsung B-die would be the best RAM. It is more stable when push for higher bandwidth and lower the latency.
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/62vp2...onfusion_eg_on/
xxboxx
post Feb 1 2019, 09:18 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Qusyairi2000 @ Jan 29 2019, 03:11 PM)
Noted and thank you. Pop to Lowyat and got myself a RTX2060 since ASUS have a promo starting today till 22Feb.

How much you got it for?

xxboxx
post Feb 1 2019, 11:26 AM

5,261 posts

Wow just one or two hundred ringgit shy of RTX 2070
xxboxx
post Aug 11 2019, 09:19 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 8 2019, 08:55 AM)

So I went out to a physical store and bought the parts for a new PC, but they didnt have some parts I wanted so I improvised on the spot since I didnt feel like delaying much:

Here's my build:
Ryzen 5 3600 RM860
16 GB 3200 Mhz RAM Kingston hyper X RM449
AORUS X570 PRO WIFI RM1280
External ODD LG RM80
250 GB NVME XPG 8200 Pro RM200
2TB HDD Barracuda RM200
RTX 2060 ASUS ROG RM1750
27" viewsonic VX2758C RM900
650W EVGA Supernova RM449
Cooler master H500 RM435

Total RM6600
Total with win 10 pro, logitech Z313 speakers and kb+m combo is RM6750

Will get a table later but definitely not getting a printer.

Anyone know a good guide for adjusting fan curves or other UEFI/Bios settings? This is my first PC build in 10 years as well as my first Ryzen rig so I'm not familiar with what BIOS options are like these days.

What makes you decide to go with such an expensive mobo?

For adjusting fan curves, see what is your system idle and short spike temp, then adjust the fan so that at such temp range the fan does not spin too fast until too loud.

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 11 2019, 07:40 PM)
So I finally got cable management done yesterday, some comments on what to improve is welcomed.

Based on your mobo picture you should put the ram at socket A2 & B2 to get dual channel.

Can add one or two fans on top to improve air flow.

When you tired with the high cpu temp when full load, can change the cooler with after market.
xxboxx
post Jul 27 2025, 01:39 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 27 2025, 01:24 PM)
You can get 5070 Ti for RM3387 now.

[attachmentid=11516462]

You still cannot max RT on some games.
What voucher you got there?
I only have 3% cap RM80 voucher.

And just as typing here, the link page is gone.
xxboxx
post Jul 27 2025, 11:03 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 27 2025, 02:21 PM)
Probably someone watching this space...

I just took it the picture from my phone. All IT was selling it at that price.
Even without voucher it will be 3.8k+, which is cheap as other sellers selling 5070 ti at 4k and above.
Maybe All IT wrongly set the price and bombarded with orders.
xxboxx
post Jul 29 2025, 10:47 AM

5,261 posts

All IT back again with 5070 ti, this time got RM300 voucher, after less is RM3549.

Only 4 unit left
xxboxx
post Jul 30 2025, 09:38 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 29 2025, 12:19 PM)
Use your phone. I still see RM3387.
I'm using phone.
I don't have the voucher that you have. Yesterday I got RM300 cap voucher, today the voucher disappear and I only left with RM200 cap voucher. My price now higher by RM100.

Today still left 3 units. Even at this price only manage to attract 1 buyer.
xxboxx
post Jul 31 2025, 11:56 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 30 2025, 09:58 AM)
RM3549 right now for me. I guess voucher also got dice roll. Maybe credit card?
Your previous screenshot shows -RM461.88 voucher
If you go to check out then you can see what voucher it apply and it's due date and redemption limit.

Always got many different types of vouchers. Some vouchers auto added and some vouchers need to press claim. Your earlier voucher is the highest amount.

0.0698sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:25 PM