[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

theartnet
post Dec 25 2023, 01:31 AM

13 posts

Hello, sorry for the long story, stuck on what to best get

I am using a pc from many years ago (2016ish i think), specs below. Currently struggling to play Horizon Zero Dawn smoothly, i guess due to the GPU memory not enough..also bought God of War from the recent steam sales. Planning to also buy a mix of either Stray / Baldurs Gate 3 / Death Stranding / Cyberpunk also. Want to keep playing at 1920x1080 resolution

CPU: Intel i5-6500
Motherboard: Asustek H170m-plus
RAM: 1x Adata 8GB DDR4 2400Mhz
GPU: Leadtek GTX 1050
Storage: 1x Samsung SSD 750 EVO 120GB, 1x Toshiba 1TB HDD
PSU: AcBel PCB041 (not sure exact, it puts rated 500W max 550W)
Case: Corsair carbide spec alpha
Monitor: Samsung S24D330 24in 60Hz

[Budget] 2k
Some of my own thoughts..over-reading online past few days lol
- Adding 1 more similar RAM for dual channel + buying new GPU that can go with current PSU, then change others in the future then re-use the GPU
- Change motherboard+cpu+ram first, then later GPU+PSU
Or, will it be much better to save up more for a whole new setup? (my max 6k+)

[Purpose] Playing games at 1080p 60fps at mostly high setting (don't have to be all ultra setting)

[Location] mainland penang..i got this current setup from a pc shop nearby me and its been working well all this while....TQ!

Saja add screenshot details using msi afterburner for reference

theartnet
post Dec 25 2023, 11:16 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 25 2023, 09:25 AM)
Graphic card too weak. Upgrade it first. Budget also too low. Upgrade your PC in stages.

Part 1:
Asrock Arc A750 8GB (RTX 3060 level performance but driver not as good as AMD or Nvidia) or Palit RTX 3060 12GB - 880 / 1275
Adata XPG Core Reactor 750W - 469
Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 32GB DDR4-3200 kit - 344

Part 2:
Core i5-12400 -  769
MSI B760M-A Pro Wifi - 644
(optional) Kingston KC3000 1TB - 349

Also, SSD and RAM price is going up. If you dont want to touch CPU, RAM and mobo, add a 8GB DDR4-2400 of same brand. Hopefully it can dual channel.
Thanks for the suggestion and price hike advise, now got direction to focus at..will prob look into the rtx 3060 12gb+psu+ram+ssd
The 32GB ram kit means it's two 16GB sticks right?

Excited about this lol..want to browse kao kao later
theartnet
post Dec 25 2023, 01:26 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 25 2023, 11:30 AM)
Budget kinda low if you wanna play 1080P Cyberpunk (and more) at smooth 120 FPS. Needs at least 3k

Target GPU minimum 4070 (RM 2.8k) / RX7700XT (RM 2.4k)

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/pny-gefo....32a917035WhFIs
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sapphire....5db27be04nr1Xj

Then ur need to add 1 more stick of RAM for Dual channel, it will help gameplay 1% & 0.1% lows.

Then ur PSU defo will not handle any GPU upgrades, needs at least FSP Hydro G/PT (<RM500)
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/fsp-hydr....44cd7942AlRgXm

You can carry these over to a new build but imho for Cyberpunk @100+FPS, it will do for now. Not sure on PL DLC tho.
Thanks for the recommendation, ya those 2 gpu will be overbudget for me already
The other recommendation of rtx 3060 12gb seems reasonable..happy to maintain at 60fps at the moment (the HZD screenshot was hitting unstable 30fps at 720p resolution lol so a good 60fps 1080p mostly high setting will be cantik already for me)
theartnet
post Dec 25 2023, 08:07 PM

13 posts

Thanks everyone for the replies and suggestions, got the below items in shopee under 2.5k which im okay with it. If they all work ill be super2 happy

GPU: Zotac rtx3060 twin edge 12gb
RAM: 2x16GB Kingston Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
PSU: Adata xpg core reactor 750W
SSD: Kingston kc3000 1tb

Will update again when they arrive and replace the old parts, maybe next week notworthy.gif excited man

edit:
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 25 2023, 07:00 PM)
3060 12GB will be about 60-75 FPS on High. With DLSS Quality 75-90 FPS.

But act fast as stocks wont last forever and those remaining likely will be crappier 8GB version.
Good enough for me at 60fps
My next read up will be DLSS and ray tracing, always assumed they will reduce fps like antialias but seem terbalik lol

This post has been edited by theartnet: Dec 25 2023, 08:11 PM
theartnet
post Jan 6 2024, 11:06 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(theartnet @ Dec 25 2023, 08:07 PM)
Thanks everyone for the replies and suggestions, got the below items in shopee under 2.5k which im okay with it. If they all work ill be super2 happy

GPU: Zotac rtx3060 twin edge 12gb
SSD: Kingston kc3000 1tb

Will update again when they arrive and replace the old parts, maybe next week notworthy.gif excited man
Just want to update here everything went well! setup took like 4-5 hours cos 1st time changing all the wires from PSU..especially the 24 pin was hard to pull out
Without changing cpu+motherboard, so far still works very nice. maybe ill come back in a couple months to ask back recommendation

Couldn't find a screw to put the ssd in place, then found forums to 'leverage' casio calculator back screw and it did the trick lol

Now HZD is going 70+fps with high setting, i then checked the vsync button to make it less teary

edit: wanted to add changing the game install folder from previously HDD to this m.2 SSD really changed the loading times (didnt actually count but felt at least 2-3x faster) dam big diff for me man

This post has been edited by theartnet: Jan 6 2024, 11:18 AM
theartnet
post Jan 7 2024, 02:29 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Jan 6 2024, 03:30 PM)
how much frame rate for CS 2?

Can run crysis 3 remastered @ ultra setting / max setting??
Sorry man dont have crysis 3 to try out

CS2 didnt play much, but got 80-100 fps on high setting (using 1080p monitor)
This is from the tutorial vs bots..somehow msi afterburner overlay didnt show, but good thing got alternative
theartnet
post Jan 10 2024, 10:05 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 10 2024, 12:37 AM)

Check if its this
i second this, happen to me also. in the end i used msi afterburner's fan control (custom fan speed curve)
theartnet
post Jun 1 2024, 10:49 AM

13 posts

Hi sifus, i'd like to 'complete' the build that was partially done back in dec/jan, could i get advise if the below setup is ok? Anywhere can/should be changed?

Also thinking to upgrade to 1440p, from videos, the 3060 seems capable enough to reach >60fps
Or, if its not suitable, ill hold off monitor and will get it later with a better GPU like 4070 super/5xxx end of this year/next year

Budget for cpu+cooler+mobo+case (without monitor) up to rm3500

Thanks as always

QUOTE(theartnet @ Dec 25 2023, 01:31 AM)
Hello, sorry for the long story, stuck on what to best get

I am using a pc from many years ago (2016ish i think), specs below. Currently struggling to play Horizon Zero Dawn smoothly, i guess due to the GPU memory not enough..also bought God of War from the recent steam sales. Planning to also buy a mix of either Stray / Baldurs Gate 3 / Death Stranding / Cyberpunk also. Want to keep playing at 1920x1080 resolution

CPU: Intel i5-6500 --> to change to i5-14500 or i7-14700, is 14700 overkill?
CPU Cooler: stock --> to Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE or EVO
Extra: Contact Frame for lga1700
Motherboard: Asustek H170m-plus --> to change to MSI B760M-A WIFI DDR4
GPU: Zotac RTX3060 Twin Edge 12GB
Storage: 1x Samsung SSD 750 EVO 120GB, 1x Toshiba 1TB HDD, 1x Kingston KC3000 1TB
Case: Corsair carbide spec alpha --> to change to LianLi Lancool 216. Was aiming for Montech air 903 max but seems disappeared from shopee
Monitor: Samsung S24D330 24in 60Hz --> i'm 50/50 to upgrade to 1440p monitor, looking at around 1.5k budget, will probably dig around in the monitor thread

[Purpose] Playing games at 1080p 60fps at mostly high setting (don't have to be all ultra setting)

[Location] mainland penang..i got this current setup from a pc shop nearby me and its been working well all this while....TQ!
theartnet
post Jun 1 2024, 12:31 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 1 2024, 11:36 AM)
No change. Recommended parts is as at that date. The longer you wait, chances of changing parts becomes higher. And now we have 8% GST too. i7-14700 is not worth the price. Might as well topup for i7-14700K but you have to go B760M Mortar board.

Montech Air 903 Max is one of the best price/performance. It will sell fast. Lancool 216 is great as well.

Lian Li A3-mATX case is coming.
https://lian-li.com/product/a3-matx/

Read the spec carefully before buying. Super small case like that may not be for you. Another option is Asus AP201 but you have to buy fans like Arctic P12 Max.
Thanks! ill search more about b760M mortar - is this the one? MSI Page
Case wise, will stick to LianLi Lancool 216, kind of prefer the larger size and i can accommodate up to 235mm width which is juust nice

Also do i have to play around with undervolt/power limit/those settings in bios if im aiming for 14700K? Just preparing myself if need to korek more info about those areas

theartnet
post Jun 1 2024, 03:24 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jun 1 2024, 12:52 PM)
If you want something to last, 8 cores is the minimum but if you arent using for productivity work, 14700 extra Ecores is wasted. So you can save money by going 13700F or even 12700F if you can find cheaper.

Since you havent built computers in a while and you arent extreme OCer, the contact frame is not necessary and might risk voiding warranty if done wrong.

If you have the budget for 1440P go for it but then a 3060 isnt cut for that reso, its very clearly meant for 1080P gaming but depending on games and settings, can be playable at 2K Low maybe up to 60FPS. Still not ideal and for proper 2K better get at least 4070Super / 7700XT then you can turn on RT with DLSS/FSR

For that you need to up budget but then anyhow your budget still need to go up from Dec since SSD & even HDD prices has gone up dy plus RM getting shittier daily (thank you Madani Gomen! bangwall.gif )

For decent 1440P setup target a budget RM6-7k for system alone
I don't do productivity work, mainly gaming + browser use only, and read that the F version has no integrated gpu which may be helpful to have the igpu right?
Ill exclude the contact frame and stick to 1080p then for now, until i have more budget for a better GPU to buy together

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 1 2024, 01:36 PM)
Yes, thats the board you are looking for. Can be found for RM928.

If you gonna need tuning, you have to go with Z790 motherboard. Thats a lot more expensive. Try MSI Z790-P or Z790-A Pro Max DDR4.
Honestly...i dont wana tweak too much in that section, more to 'set it initially and let it run like that'

With these breakdown, how would you guys recommend for cpu+mobo in the rm3000 range? So far these add to rm3596
CPU: TBD (in shopee, theres 14700K for ~2004)
CPU Cooler: Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 EVO, ~239
Motherboard: TBD (in shopee, MSI MAG B760M MORTAR WIFI DDR4 ~928)
Case: LianLi Lancool 216, ~425

Edit: ill be buying them very likely during 6.6

Thanks again!

This post has been edited by theartnet: Jun 1 2024, 03:30 PM
theartnet
post Jun 2 2024, 12:58 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 1 2024, 04:06 PM)
INTEL CORE I7-14700K RM1959
thermalright PS120 evo RM239
B760m A wifi D4 RM699 (afraid b760m mortar d4 not available here)
lian li A3 Estimate RM379 (new casing tristan saliva come out)
Thanks for the suggestion, will the b760m-a pro be undewhelming for 14700k?
I guess i prefer more headroom/space for the case, will like to stick to the Lancool 216 (eyeing on the front panel filter and side connector later on too, very gatai when seeing accessories lol)
https://lian-li.com/product/lan216-1/
https://lian-li.com/product/lan216-2/

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jun 1 2024, 09:59 PM)
If you just want to run at stock settings, imho no need Ksku, waste of money. And if no productivity work then the igpu also kinda wasted (altho good to have as backup in case GPU kongs ymmv).

For your use case & budget I think

i7 13700F
PA/PS 120 SE (much cheaper than EVO coz no RGB)
MSI Pro B760M-A DDR4
2x16GB Kingston Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
RTX3060 12GB (7700XT is better if budget can stretch)
LianLi Lancool 216 (Montech Air 100/ Nexus M2 for budget option)
Thanks, i'll research more on 137 and their pricing on shopee, will narrow down more on either K or non-K (still prefer to keep the igpu)

I guess im narrowing down to 137/147 k or non-k versions, and from there look at which suitable B/Z motherboards and budget too
Going to go down the rabbit hole lol but its interesting
theartnet
post Jun 5 2024, 01:55 PM

13 posts

After some researching, im planning to get these:

CPU: 14700k
Cooler: Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE or Thermalright Frost Commander 140 (leaning more to FC140 for a slight bit better cooling from reviews)
Motherboard: MSI PRO Z790-A WIFI DDR4
Case: LianLi Lancool 216

Will play around with the bios setting to power limit and other stuff
They all will add up to around 4k from shopee prices (up 500 from my initial budget but i think this will last me for some time)

Thanks again for the help and direction!

0.0524sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:24 AM