[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

malakus
post May 29 2017, 07:20 PM

234 posts

Hello

[Budget] Rm1.5k

[Purpose] Office, surfing, streaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Keyboard, mouse, monitor, speaker

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] No game, just office and movies

[Personal preferences] SSD plus 1TB hdd, mini itx case

[Location] I will most likely order online.. So this one doesn't really matter

Is it possible to add window with that budget?
malakus
post Jun 1 2017, 12:45 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 29 2017, 08:31 PM)
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 29 2017, 08:33 PM)
QUOTE(TristanX @ May 29 2017, 09:05 PM)
I see. Thanks for the suggestions. notworthy.gif
malakus
post Aug 20 2017, 12:18 PM

234 posts

Hello. Is 4k enough to convert my pc into a mini itx build and upgrade the gc as well? To play games like xcom 2, gta v and witcher 3. Current;y using Dell 23" U2312HM

Which part do I need to swap? Looking at cooler master 130

Intel Core I5 4570
Asrock B85M-Pro4
G.Skill 8GBx1
Hitachi 1TB 7200RPM HDD x2
Zotac GTX770 2GB AMP!
Cm storm Scout II Black
LG DVD RW 24x
Rosewill Hive 650M Bronze "Modular"
Crucial M500

This post has been edited by malakus: Aug 20 2017, 12:57 PM
malakus
post Aug 20 2017, 01:41 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 20 2017, 01:27 PM)
Yup

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1039
Gigabyte AB350N Gaming WIFI - 549
Kingston 8GB DDR4-2400 X1 - 303
Zotac GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 Mini - 1309
Coolermaster Elite 130 case - 199

You are done.
Thanka for the fast reply but I forgot to mention I want to go with intel as I alao play guild wars 2. Read that gw2 relies on single thread performance and intel does that better.

malakus
post Aug 20 2017, 06:30 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 20 2017, 03:18 PM)
That's up to you. I do have GW2 installed running with Ryzen 7 1700. It is not single threaded.

Switch to these parts if you insist on it.

Core i5-7500 - 869
Gigabyte H270N-WIFI - 649
Ah I see. Thanks, I appreciate it.
malakus
post Oct 8 2019, 12:47 PM

234 posts

Hello sifu. Now that Red Dead Redemption 2 has been confirmed for pc, I think it's time for a new pc. Thanks for helping, really appreciate it.

[Budget] RM 4.5K

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Case(Cm storm Scout II Black), Monitor(xg2402), KB&M, 2X 1TB HDD, 1 SSD

[Monitor resolution] 1080p 144hz

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Open world games(GTA V, Red dead 2, etc), Hitman 2, Cities Skylines, Planet Zoo, Guild Wars 2

[Personal preferences] I hope to get a 5700 XT so I wouldn't to have upgrade for a while. 2070 super might be too much for my budget. Main thing is to play Red Dead 2 on max setting. If budget allows I also want to get a ssd for gaming, is GALAX 960GB GAMER L SERIES 2.5' SOLID STATE DRIVE okay?

[Location] Perlis. Most of the items might be more expensive. A local seller list Sapphire 5700 Xt Pulse at RM 2099.

This post has been edited by malakus: Oct 8 2019, 01:51 PM
malakus
post Oct 8 2019, 05:04 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Oct 8 2019, 03:24 PM)
What about these:

CPU: AMD RYZEN 5 3600 4.2GHZ RM853.00
MOBO: MSI B450 TOMAHAWK MAX RM509.00
RAM: T-FORCE DELTA RGB 16GB (2X8GB) DDR4 3200MHZ RM395.00
GPU: XFX RADEON RX 5700 XT THICC II 8GB GDDR6 RM1,995.00
SSD: GALAX 960GB GAMER L SERIES SSD RM388.00
PSU: FSP 650W HYDRO GE 80+ GOLD FULL MODULAR RM368.00

Total: RM4,508 (E Tech PC prices)

Galax Gamer L SSD is dramless which is not recommended.
Thanks for the recommendation. I guess I will drop the SSD for now. That way I would have more room budget wise for the gpu.

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 8 2019, 03:56 PM)
The Thicc II is one of the worst 5700 XT FYI - you might want to get the Sapphire Pulse/PowerColor Red devil instead icon_idea.gif

Thanks for the link. After watching it, I think I'll go with Sapphire Pulse
malakus
post Oct 8 2019, 08:56 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Oct 8 2019, 07:28 PM)
Alternatively, can consider Gigabyte RX 5700 XT for the same price too @ RM1,950. See link below for review:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLHP_ubnjfQ&t=497s
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 8 2019, 08:15 PM)
The Gigabyte is actually a decent card, unlike the MSI (especially the Evoke OC) where they decided to cut cost by not putting proper thermal pads on the VRAM sweat.gif
Thabks. I will check that card with my local store. Doubt I will get that price though.

If I can increase my budget a bit, is it worth it to buy thw cheaper 2070 super? Like zotac air/twin fan.
malakus
post Jan 16 2025, 11:00 AM

234 posts

Hello sifus. Thinking of upgrading since my current rig keeps bsod nonstop. Thank you

[Budget] RM5K - RM6k.

[Purpose] Gaming, Movies

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Lianli Lancool 3 case, gpu rx7600, monitor, psu superflower leadex III 650w gold

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] BDG3, Civ, Cyberpunk. Prepare for GTA6.

[Personal preferences] I know it is not recommended but amd 9600x or 9700x. 2 m.2, one for storage and one with heatsink for gaming.

Also planning to upgrade gpu like end of the year or next year to either 5070ti or 9070xt and 4k. So upgrade psu now or alongside gpu?

[Location] Perlis.
malakus
post Jan 16 2025, 03:06 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 16 2025, 02:37 PM)
With RM 6K and many reuse parts, I think can get 7800x3d + B650 gaming plus wifi mobo combo for RM 3k, Rm 700-800 for 2x32GB DDR5 6000-6400 CL30-36, then plenty left for 850W ATX3.0/3.1 GOLD PSU
I see. Is 9600x, 9700x really that bad value wise? And what about b850?

Any good psu? Local shop recommends me 1st Player NGDP HA 850BA4 850w psu gold at RM450. Cant find a really good info on the brand.

This post has been edited by malakus: Jan 16 2025, 03:20 PM

0.4913sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:33 AM