[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!
lost123
Mar 9 2017, 01:15 PM
Hey sifus, I think my mobo just died on me, I can't seem to boot into Windows, I just get to the BIOS splash screen and I can't even press f2 or f10 to enter BIOS. I tried reseating the ram, removing and replacing the mobo battery, and still can't seem to enter BIOS
If it is my mobo that's dead, I was wondering whether I can get a decent setup to replace my system. Currently, my rig is
Processor: i5 2500 Mobo: Intel 1155 socket (I'm guessing it's dead ) Ram: 2 x 4gb 1133 Gfx: gtx570 PSU: seasonic X660 (660W gold) HDD: 1tb + 500gb
Wondering what I could salvage and what could I get with a budget of rm2000. My usage is mainly Photoshop and some gaming
This post has been edited by lost123: Mar 9 2017, 02:05 PM
lost123
Mar 9 2017, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 9 2017, 01:54 PM) Do you install any new hardware/components recently? If yes, try to remove it first. If don't have, then remove all the connected hardware like GPU, HDD/SSD, leave CPU and RAM installed, then try to boot again. Nope didnt install anything new. It happened after the thunderstorm yesterday. It was on when i left my house, and when i got back, I saw that it was stuck on the BIOS screen (im guessing the thunderstorm killed something, and im praying its not the HDD). I will try removing everything thing tmrw when I get back.
lost123
Feb 5 2018, 02:46 PM
Sifus, im considering upgrading my PC, or essentially salvaging whichever parts i need. My PC is starting to slow down quite a bit, and running photoshop and lightroom on my current set up is getting annoying especially when i have my browser and video player opened. My rig is nearly 7 years old now. My current set up is:-
i5 2500k 2 x 4GB DDR3 (i think it was DDR3) 500GB WD blue (my other 500GB HDD just died recently, worried this is gonna die soon too) GTX570 Seasonic 660w Gold PSU
[Budget] Rm1000-2000 (if possible below rm1.5k)
[Purpose] Photo and video editting
[Hardwares that will be re-use] - whichever i can salvage, im guessing PSU and GPU coz i don't plan to do much gaming anyway since i have a PS4
[Monitor resolution] Reusing existing U2311h monitor
[Games & softwares that use frequently] Lightroom, photoshop
[Personal preferences] Need speeeeeeeed and enough RAM
[Location] KL / PJ
This post has been edited by lost123: Feb 5 2018, 02:58 PM
lost123
Feb 5 2018, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 5 2018, 03:20 PM) Get SSD and use first. Not possible below 1.5k for an upgrade. Sell off your existing parts and get this AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 929 Asus Prime B350M-A - 445 Corsair 8GB DDR4-2400 X2 -800 Hmmm.. good point.. I may just format my pc, and reinstall the OS on the new SSD. Then maybe later on upgrade the rest of it later... hmmm... or maybe just max my 2k budget and get 8gb of RAM first and then add on another 8GB later on (don't remember RAM being so expensive.. damn)... BTW, what do u think of the i5-8400 over the ryzen 5 1600??? EDIT: Is it true it (8400) only supports the Z370 Mobo? if it is so, then the mobo cost would bring the value down quite a bit right? This post has been edited by lost123: Feb 5 2018, 09:23 PM