[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

Nursh
post Mar 21 2017, 09:56 AM

314 posts

Hi guys. I'm thinking of building a mini pc using Cooler Master 110 or any similar portable mini PC case. Please give full suggestion for the hardwares that I need thanks.

[Budget] <RM2k

[Purpose] Gaming on 1080P on smallest PC, high graphic setting.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 1TB Green HDD, MKB+Mouse.

[Monitor resolution]
- ViewSonic VA2419-SH IPS - RM 495 1080P, if there's a better 1 pls give suggestion. Minimum 21.5".

[Games & softwares that use frequently] : The Witcher series, common upcoming AAA games

[Personal preferences] : RX460 2GB, I will upgrade to GTX1070. So expecting to be using same CPU for GTX1070. Will not overclock. Amd Ryzen if viable?

This post has been edited by Nursh: Mar 21 2017, 09:57 AM
Nursh
post Mar 24 2017, 01:43 PM

314 posts

[Budget] <3k

[Purpose] Mainly for gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 3.5" HDD 1tb WD Green, 256GB HyperX SSD, kb+🐁

[Monitor resolution]1080p 21.5">

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Typical AAA Games

[Personal preferences] Portable mini Pc Casing, CM110. May reuse CPU to upgrade my GPU to GTX1070/ new AMD GPU in the future (within 6 months).

[Location] KL(prefer online purchase)

This post has been edited by Nursh: Mar 24 2017, 01:44 PM
Nursh
post Mar 25 2017, 01:33 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Mar 24 2017, 01:43 PM)
[Budget] <3k

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 3.5" HDD 1tb WD Green, 256GB HyperX SSD, kb+🐁

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Typical AAA Games

[Personal preferences] Portable mini Pc Casing, CM110. May reuse CPU to upgrade my GPU to GTX1070/ new AMD GPU in the future (within 6 months).

[Location] KL(prefer online purchase)
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 24 2017, 03:13 PM)
Since you are planning to upgrade the GPU to GTX1070 (or AMD equivalent if got) in the near future, i7 is recommended so you can re-use in your next upgrade as i5 bottlenecks the GTX1070 in some CPU demanding titles (especially few recent triple A titles). But unfortunately your budget cannot fit an i7 yet, if you were to get an i7 now then you will have to rely on a low end GPU for gaming, the next available option is to wait for the cheaper AMD Ryzen 5 and their respective X300/A/B300 SFF mobo to reach Malaysia first before you make the purchase.

Intel Core i5 7500 - RM 922
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 283
G.SKill Aegis 8GB 2133MHz RAM - RM 255
Zotac GTX1060 3GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 989
SSD re-use
HDD re-use
Superflower Leadex Silver 650W - RM 399
CM Elite 110 - RM 158

Total: RM 3006 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)
Sure.
Ok thank for the suggestion. So let's say I want to make a PC rig that's able to play high on latest AAA games and ultra on older AAA games temporarily with RX460 only, what's the best alternatives? I'll get new CPU+GPU in the future if I'm capable of that, meanwhile I'll stick with RX460. Also, RM3k budget including monitor, so it's around Rm2.5k left for PC rig.
Nursh
post Mar 26 2017, 04:45 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Mar 24 2017, 01:43 PM)
[Budget] <3k including monitor

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 3.5" HDD 1tb WD Green, 256GB HyperX SSD, kb+mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Typical AAA Games, old ones and new ones

[Personal preferences] Portable mini Pc Casing, CM110. Able to play games on high settings smoothly, 30 fps minimum.

[Location] KL(prefer physical store if buy within this week/online purchase)
QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 25 2017, 06:41 PM)
If you decided to use RX460 only then you need to expect the FPS to be much lower than higher end card, if you go this way then you can get a speedy CPU first like i7 or Ryzen 5.
With my current budget, should I wait AMD Ryzen to arrive then only I proceed to build my PCt? I'm thinking of getting my PC built within a week, maximum I can wait is 2 weeks. Please suggest on what parts should i get for my PC again since I had revised it. Now I will only focus on bulding 2.5k PC Rigs for the meantime, I will upgrade CPU and GPU at the same time in the future.
Nursh
post Mar 27 2017, 12:02 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Mar 22 2017, 09:01 AM)
Would be good to know what kind of games you play to establish whether they are GPU/CPU demanding or not. Here's something to consider:

CPU - Intel G4560 RM249
Mobo - Asus H110i-PLUS RM380
RAM - 8GB Kingston PC DDR4-2133 RM270
HDD - 1TB 7200rpm RM212
Case - Cooler Master Elite 110 RM189
PSU - Cooler Master Elite 550W RM235
GPU - GIGABYTE GTX1050 2G D5 OC RM599

TOTAL - RM2134 based on C-Zone pricing

For better GPU, GIGABYTE GTX1050TI 4G D5 RM715
Add SSD, KINGSTON UV400 120GB RM239
So I'm opting for this setup, how about the WiFi card? What kind of WiFi receiver should i be getting?
Nursh
post Nov 3 2020, 01:02 PM

314 posts

My last PC built was in 2017. I'm hoping to make upgrades and replacement if necessary.
CPU - Intel G4560 3m 3.5ghz
Mobo - Asus H110i-PLUS (spoilt)
RAM - 8GB gskill PC DDR4-2133 x1
PSU - CM 550w elite v2
HDD - 1TB 7200rpm green WD
SSD - cooler master 256gb
Case - Cooler Master Elite 110
GPU - RX460
View sonic 21.5" 60 ghz monitor.

It's served me well but it just died. Pc crashed after I launched a game and it doesn't start up anymore, CMOS reset doesn't work anymore (previously worked, but crashed again after I swapped my Logitech Wireless dongle to a different usb port because some USB port doesn't read it). I think it might have something to do with the broken pin on the MOBO, the pin that connects to the frontal casing USB hub, I've been using the PC without functional frontal case USB hub.

Can someone please suggest me what to upgrade or buy? I'm looking spend rm1000-rm1500

Preference:
Mini or mid itx case(or reuse a 3 y/o cm110 case)
New CPU that's better than G4560 (around rm400-500)
New mobo to support the CPU and case
New GPU to go with the new CPU (around rm400)
More ram, 4gb or 8gb on top of my currently 8gb ram x1.

Usage:
Gaming 1080p 60fps
Most AAA games but mostly Black Desert Online (cpu heavy & can't sustain 60 fps during high effect particles, it'd be great if new CPU can at least sustain 60fps).

Location: Kuching Sarawak. Most likely will order everything online since it will still be cheaper than buying from physical store. But with recent price changes for Pos Malaysia, I'm not too sure either.

This post has been edited by Nursh: Nov 3 2020, 01:08 PM
Nursh
post Feb 2 2021, 03:43 PM

314 posts

[

Change of plan
Budget is rm3.5k for pc, peripharal purchase is not required.

Preference:
Going for Q300L matx casing
Mobo: asrock steel legend b450? (NetstoreMY on shopee, apparently combo pack with Ryzen 5 too rm1.4k inlc. shpping).
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600?
(Ryzen AMD that's obtainable via online purchase with local warranty)
Gpu: maybe GTX1650 Super?
Psu:
M.2 ssd: rm300+- price range perhaps
Ram: Kingston HyperX Fury 3200 8gb DDR4 rm190. If I can reuse my RAM - 8GB gskill PC DDR4-2133 x1.
Nothing will be reused from previous pc except hdd and ssd, also looking for an upgrade for m.2 ssd for better performance.
Please advise, thanks in advance.

Nursh
post Feb 15 2021, 09:25 AM

314 posts

Hi. I have managed to build a PC from Idealtech. I know it may not not be ideal as they do mark up the prices but they said they would provide free shipping for 3.5k rig including shipping to Sarawak where I'm at, and GTX 1660 super. Can any sifu have a look at my build and tell me if it's good? Thanks in advance.

Notable thing is the PSU, well they provide 5y warranty and I don't think I know too much about it either. I'll be using stock cooler for AMD Ryzen. G.skill ram has lifetime warranty, can't choose Kingston cuz not available.
Mobo i chose cheapest as possible, I don't know if it's good, I heard heatsink on vram on MOBO is important too(to prevent performance throttle)? I chose corsair m.2 ssd 480gb bcuz it has the least markup price (70rm compared to rm130 for XPG SX6000 lite 512gb)

AMD Ryzen 5 3600+Wraith Stealth (6Core/12 Threads/3.6ghz-4.2ghz/AM4) 899
GIGABYTE B450M S2H (MATX/2x3200Mhz/1x M.2/4X Sata3/RGB Header) 295
G.SKILL AEGIS Series 8GB DDR4 3200mhz F4-3200C16S-8GIS(Life Time Warranty-One to One Exchange)x2 398
AMD Motherboard Rebates: Rebated RM30 on AMD B450/B550 Motherboard -30 1 -30
ASUS TUF-GTX1660S-SUPER-06G-GAMING(1860/14000) (Double Fan) 1379
ANTEC NE550C 550W (80+BRONZE/NON MODULAR/Japanese Heavy-duty Caps/12CM DBB Fan)*5 YEARS WARRANTY 249
COOLERMASTER MasterBox Q300L 165
CORSAIR FORCE Series MP510 480GB Gen3 PCIe x4 NVMe(3480/2000). 419

Total 3774

This post has been edited by Nursh: Feb 15 2021, 01:53 PM

Nursh
post Feb 15 2021, 02:28 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 15 2021, 01:00 PM)
Motherboard is rubbish. VRM with no heatsink. SSD is ridiculously overpriced.

Switch parts to these

MSI B450-A Pro
Phanteks Eclipse P400A

Buy SSD from somewhere else. You can see how much they markup here.

http://viewnet.com.my/downloads/viewnet_diy_pricelist.pdf
https://drive.google.com/file/d/17KrhJPbmTg...avVey552nW/view

Bad news. Now Idealtech does not want to provide their Option 41 full rig bonus option, such as free shipping for full rig above rm3.5k to whole Malaysia, including Sabah/Sarawak. Reason given was because of MCO and less flight flying to East Malaysia. Well well well.

This post has been edited by Nursh: Feb 15 2021, 05:48 PM

Nursh
post Feb 15 2021, 09:32 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 15 2021, 07:08 PM)
how much total? dell prebuild can get similiar geh

onsite warranty lagi
Yeah man, rm3991+200shipping, rm4191 total. These irresponsible sneaky PC stores are hoarding the good GPUs and only sells them bundled with trash/most profitable stuff to them. If I can find one, I think I would go for prebuilt PC at this point. Too bad it seems like they are short on stock as well :/
Nursh
post Feb 16 2021, 06:50 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(pcbuilder420 @ Feb 15 2021, 10:37 PM)
Nobody can tell you if prices/stock will get better by June. Either way, you should wait for Intel's 11th gen release, which is in March 2021. First question, are you willing to build it yourself? If not, disregard everything after this and get a prebuilt from OEMs.
I'll also be assuming you'll be using it mainly for gaming with light editing workloads.

If you're building it yourself, here's some recommendations with approximated prices from Shopee:
CPU - Intel i5 10400f OR 11th gen equivalent        [~RM1050 bundled with mobo]
CPU Cooler - Cooler Master Hyper 212                  [RM100]
Mobo - MSI B460M Mortar                                  [see CPU]
GPU - RTX 3060                                                [RM 1999?]
RAM - HyperX Fury 3200Mhz DDR4 2x8GB          [~RM 350]
PSU - Cooler Master MWE Gold V2 650W              [RM370]
Case - Tecware Forge M Stealth                          [RM160]

TOTAL = approx RM4029

The remainder of your budget can be put towards your monitor and peripherals if needed. Can definitely squeeze in a 1440p 144Hz+ monitor in there assuming all the prices above.
Note that the build will be low on RGB or any lighting at all, if you don't like the stealth look, you can go and pay the RGB tax and pimp out your build (waste of money IMO, especially for budget-oriented builds).
Also, if you're planning to wait for the 11th gen CPUs, the prices will differ, and you should also get the new generation of mobos that will support it.
RTX3060 is not available for sale yet (releasing Feb 25th), so those are approximate prices. Regardless of your build, I think you should definitely snag it on launch day, because that is your best shot at a mid-high end GPU at MSRP with the hyper-inflated market at the moment.

Monitor recommendations for 1440p 144Hz are LG 27GL850, and ASUS VG27AQ.
Happy hunting.
Wow, RM4k for a 1660 super build.. That's actually insane lol
Should've tried your luck at RTX3060 at launch before committing to a purchase  sweat.gif
Thank you very much for your suggestions, it's what I needed. Now I have some insights and know what to do next.
Nursh
post Feb 16 2021, 12:24 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 16 2021, 12:21 PM)
PROCESSOR: Intel Core 10th Generation i7-10700 Processor (8 Core, Up to 4.80GHz, 16MB Cache, 65W)
SOFTWARE: Windows 10 Home
1TB 3.5inch SATA Hard Drive (7200 RPM) + 512GB PCIe M.2 NVMe Class 35 Solid State Drive Hard Drive
16GB (2X8GB) Up to 3200MHz DDR4 UDIMM Non-ECC MEMORY
DISPLAY NOT INCLUDED LCD
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 6GB GDDR6 GRAPHICS
Dell Outlet XPS 8940

15months onsite warranty
RM4400... dell foc delivery
Thanks. Good info, didn't expect to look for outside the Gaming Desktop category, that's a good PC. I will consider it.
Nursh
post Feb 23 2021, 08:09 AM

314 posts

Yo guys. Anyone mind to share where and when we can buy or preorder the RTX 3060 that will come out on 25th February? I have been looking around, couldn't find it yet. It's 2 more days before launch.

This post has been edited by Nursh: Feb 23 2021, 08:09 AM
Nursh
post Mar 5 2021, 09:38 PM

314 posts

I just saw someone collected what seems to be a full package PC at one of thes store in a shopping mall. I saw a freaking rtx2060 with rm1499 price. When I asked the store, they simply say no stock, can't do pre order either. I keep hearing "you can only buy when there's stock".
How the freak did that guy walked out with a full set pc boxes with rtx2060 then?
Anyone have any idea how to be that guy? Or should we wait until gpu stock increase due to recent BC mining ban by China firm? I'm not willing to pay marked up price to scalper, I wonder if the guy paid more for his package PC, even if the price tag on that sweet rtx2060 is rm1499...
Nursh
post May 15 2021, 03:11 PM

314 posts

Will it be fine to ask which monitor is the best here?
Currently using VA2419-SH 24 FULL HD SUPER CLEAR IPS LED MONITOR from 2017, looking to upgrade it.
I read about how 27" 1080p monitor might not look as good, but I'd love to have bigger screen because I multitask often but doesn't want quality to be compromised. 144ghz would be nice too, when I upgrade my rx460 PC to gtx1660/rtx 3060 PC in a year or two when the price come down. 144ghz would be nice too if possible with rm1k budget

This post has been edited by Nursh: May 15 2021, 03:13 PM
Nursh
post May 17 2021, 11:43 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ May 16 2021, 01:55 PM)
https://youtu.be/pOwttXCE5CA

Perhaps, you feel free to have a look at the link above

[attachmentid=10880240]
272E1GSJ/69
I bought this

This post has been edited by Nursh: May 18 2021, 10:53 AM
Nursh
post Jul 12 2021, 06:50 AM

314 posts

What do you sifus think of the upcoming GPU price crash? Will it affect the price of other pc parts such as MOBO CPU etc?
Will prebuilt still be a viable or a better option when the price of GPU actually crashed down?
Please share your insights, thanks in advance.
Nursh
post Aug 13 2021, 10:41 AM

314 posts

Yo guys, any recommendation on how to get the AMD rx 6600 xt?
The other day I saw PO for it Hellhound RM2300+- from pcimage/castleit on Shopee.
It's still a lot over the 379usd/rm1600 msrp so I was unsure if it's a good deal.
Amd direct store hasn't listed the brand in it either
Nursh
post Aug 13 2021, 11:22 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 13 2021, 10:59 AM)
AMD is silly making the card PCIE 4.0 x8. Your setup must have PCIE 4.0. PCIE 3.0 might bottleneck it.

Wait for price drop if you can.
Alright thanks. There's news in the US that the rx 6600 xt are selling at msrp or below and actually are in stock in some places (Microcentre)
My current PC is Asrock B550m Steel Legend which has PCIE 4.0 x16, I should be good right?
Nursh
post Aug 16 2021, 04:18 PM

314 posts

Can some sifu advise me which m.2 2230 network wifi+bluetooth card to get? I have Asrock b550m steel legend MOBO. My usage is just connecting to my bluetooth speaker and TWS Tranya (with 5.1 BT) on gaming when I don't feel like wearing my headphones.
Is Intel AC wireless good enough? 8265 model. Since my MOBO has allocation for m.2 network card, I'm thinking of utilizing it by getting wifi + bluetooth combo.
Will that be good or should I just get ordinary Orico 5.0 BT Dongle instead? I'm looking to achieve <100ms latency for BT if possible

0.0529sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:32 AM