[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

Cerv
post Sep 22 2018, 12:26 AM

[Budget] : 10-12k

[Purpose] : Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] : Keyboard, Mouse

[Monitor resolution] : 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] : AAA titles

[Personal preferences] : Acer X34P (are there better alternatives in that price range?) , Fractal Design R6

[Location] : KL

Hi Sifus, could I get a recommendation based on the above please?

Besides that, I have an existing 1440p monitor that I wish to use as a secondary monitor, mainly for watching other media while gaming etc. RTX seems rather disappointing price/performance wise so I guess a 1080Ti would be best, or would SLI with 2 1070s etc be more worth it?

Thank you!
Cerv
post Sep 24 2018, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(mbr @ Sep 22 2018, 06:19 AM)
With this budget, suggest to wait till Intel 9th gen is out and reviewed. Hold on another 3-4 months. Meanwhile, can buy a gtx1080 Ti and upgrade your old rig (still using your 3770k rig?)
Thanks for the headsup. I see that they're expected to be reviewed early next month. I guess I'll wait until then before deciding.
Yea, I'm still on my previous rig, a 3570k though tongue.gif

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Sep 22 2018, 03:11 PM)
What about these:

CPU: INTEL CORE I7 8700K PROCESSOR RM 1,580.00 (Can opt for 9th gen)
COOLER: CORSAIR HYDRO SERIES H100I PRO RGB RM 439.00
MOBO: ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F GAMING RM 867.00 (Can opt for Z390)
RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB PRO (2X8GB) DDR4 3200MHZ RM 889.00
GPU: GIGABYTE GTX 1080 TI GAMING OC 11GB GDDR5X RM 3,299.00
SSD: SAMSUNG 250GB 860 EVO M.2 RM 378.00
HDD: SEAGATE 3.5' BARRACUDA 1TB RM 185.00
PSU: SUPER FLOWER 650W LEADEX II 80+ GOLD RM 415.00
CASE: FRACTAL DESIGN DEFINE R6 RM 649.00
MONITOR: ACER PREDATOR 34' X34P CURVED IPS RM 3,899.00

TOTAL: RM12,600 (E Tech PC prices)
Thank you for the suggested specs. May I ask what are the main advantages of the ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F ? I forgot to mention that I have a dedicated sound card (Asus Xonar Essence STX) that I will be transferring over. Seeing that this mobo has a soundcard as well, would it be compatible?

QUOTE(neverfap @ Sep 22 2018, 04:16 PM)
Cerv U can also get the monitor from shopee/lazada. Can get around 300 cheaper smile.gif
Yes, i'll do that. After further research, i'm now thinking of going for the Alienware AW3418D instead. Around 1k more on Shopee, but seems worth it for the build and specs.
Cerv
post Oct 29 2018, 01:43 AM

[Budget] : Around RM9k

[Purpose] : Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] : Keyboard, Mouse, HDD, Monitors

[Monitor resolution]: Acer X34 P + Secondary 1440p monitor for streaming while gaming.

[Games & softwares that use frequently]: AAA titles

[Personal preferences]: Minimal RGB lighting, would prefer price/performance over lights

[Location] : KL

Hello again Sifus.
Seeing that the new Intel 9 series is not that worth it price/performance wise, opinions on the following? (based on previous recommendations + some snooping around)

CPU: INTEL CORE I7 8700K PROCESSOR
COOLER: NH-D15 (I read that air cooling is still more efficient)?
MOBO: ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F GAMING
RAM: KINGSTON 3200 HYPERX PREDATOR RGB 8GB X 2
GPU: ZOTAC GTX1080TI 8G 11GB OC
SSD: SAMSUNG 970 EVO 250GB M2 PCIE
HDD: Already bought
PSU: SUPER FLOWER 750W LEADEX II 80+ GOLD
CASE: Fractal Design DEFINE R6 TG ATX

The above from C-Zone sums up to around 8.5k.

Questions:
1. Is C-Zone the best choice to order it from? Are there other alternatives that offer OC services etc?
2. RTX2080 vs GTX1080TI? 2080 seems to be available for around RM600+ more elsewhere, is that worth it?

Thank you again~

Cerv
post Nov 6 2018, 11:12 PM

Thank you for all the advice and recommendations Sifus.
I went ahead and placed an order with E Tech PC. biggrin.gif
Cerv
post May 21 2021, 04:35 PM

Any recommendations for a new windows PC.

Budget : 4k

Purpose : Gaming (dota, CS, apex) and excel based work

Monitor : min 144hz (separate budget)

0.1105sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:37 PM