1384 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

demetry
post May 4 2017, 12:56 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ May 3 2017, 09:36 PM)
I'm also not sure. Just saw one video about it. That's​ why I say take my advice with a grain of salt. The video only say higher rate ssd much better for higher rate cpu. It's was Techdeal on YouTube.
he meant to say that it is more "worth" to put ssd on higher performance system which hes also correct. for me i5 is still fine, all comes down to technical viability.
tongaz86
post May 4 2017, 01:07 AM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(poovin_91 @ May 3 2017, 11:48 PM)
Should I get the M.2 form factor ?
If you want to safe space.

TristanX
post May 4 2017, 01:10 AM

Where is my stars?
24,341 posts

QUOTE(tzehan_dk @ May 4 2017, 12:02 AM)
Taking this setup you recommended earlier as the price is suitable too:

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1039
MSI A320M Grenade - 335
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 X1 - 260
Zotac GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 Mini - 1229
Corsair VS 550W - 248
Tecware F3 case - 124

RM3235 total (C-Zone prices)

Am aware to add a 1 TB disk of RM210 to this and may not need a monitor if i can keep mine (currently use a Samsung Syncmaster B2230)

Purpose will be for gaming (Dota 2 and CSGO only). Would appreciate if you could propose a good price/performance setup for budget of around RM3k without monitor. Need the list to head to the store soon. Am a newbie in this.
Some adjustments

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1039
MSI A320M Grenade - 335
Sapphire RX 460 4GB DDR5 Nitro+ - 642
WD Blue or Seagate 1TB - 212
Super Flower Leadex Silver 550W - 359
Tecware F3 case - 124

RM2971 total (C-Zone prices)
terence_nwb
post May 4 2017, 08:46 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ May 3 2017, 11:14 PM)
How about Evga...what model would you recommend. The shop don't sell Superflower model. Corsair , Silverstone , Seasonic , Raidmax & Evga only.

How about this model

1. Corsair CX650 - RM339
2. Silverstone ST600 - RM385
3. Evga 650GQ - RM459
Oh the shop that you are going to purchase your rig still got Seasonic PSU in stock? If yes then try to look for M12II-EVO, or spend more money in an EVGA 550W G2 (650 GQ if they don't have the G2 unit, G2 > GQ in terms of quality and warranty period).
starz92
post May 4 2017, 09:10 AM

1,679 posts

Dear sifus,
My preferred build would be as follow : Please help to check if there's any bottleneck or should I up my graphic card to 1080?
i7 7700K
Gigabyte Z270-HD3
Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Samsung 850 EVO SSD 250GB
WD Blue 1TB
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2
Tecware Alpha
Monitor: Dell U2717D or Dell S2716DG (will the 60Hz-IPS vs 144Hz + Gsync-TN affect gaming and color by much?)

This post has been edited by starz92: May 4 2017, 10:51 AM
tzehan_dk
post May 4 2017, 10:04 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 4 2017, 01:10 AM)
Some adjustments

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1039
MSI A320M Grenade - 335
Sapphire RX 460 4GB DDR5 Nitro+ - 642
Super Flower Leadex Silver 550W - 359
Tecware F3 case - 124

RM2971 total (C-Zone prices)
Thanks again for the help! Can u please advise why the difference in the graphics and power supply? What am I getting on Saphire RX 460 over the initial one?

Also, will I need to change my monitor? Currently use Samsung Syncmaster B2230.

Cheers!

This post has been edited by tzehan_dk: May 4 2017, 10:11 AM
tongaz86
post May 4 2017, 10:17 AM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 4 2017, 08:46 AM)
Oh the shop that you are going to purchase your rig still got Seasonic PSU in stock? If yes then try to look for M12II-EVO, or spend more money in an EVGA 550W G2 (650 GQ if they don't have the G2 unit, G2 > GQ in terms of quality and warranty period).
Got but really expensive. They only have P860 & X-650/750/1050 model.

They do have Evga G2 unit but lowest is 650watt. Should I invest more if in the future I overclock? Not even sure if I want to overclock. Might ended up with much more expensive things if going that way with maybe just a little gain?
TristanX
post May 4 2017, 11:03 AM

Where is my stars?
24,341 posts

QUOTE(tzehan_dk @ May 4 2017, 10:04 AM)
Thanks again for the help! Can u please advise why the difference in the graphics and power supply? What am I getting on Saphire RX 460 over the initial one? 

Also, will I need to change my monitor? Currently use Samsung Syncmaster B2230.

Cheers!
Budget issue. RX 460 is slower but good enough for dota and cs. Power supply is higher quality.

Hard to tell when got budget issue. There are better monitors out there.

This post has been edited by TristanX: May 4 2017, 11:04 AM
tzehan_dk
post May 4 2017, 11:22 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 4 2017, 11:03 AM)
Budget issue. RX 460 is slower but good enough for dota and cs. Power supply is higher quality.

Hard to tell when got budget issue. There are better monitors out there.
The initial RM3.2k is actually fine. Think I might just go for a 1060 graphics card.

Will Intel5 7600 be better than AMD Ryzen5 1600 for gaming? Thanks a lot for explaining!

This post has been edited by tzehan_dk: May 4 2017, 11:27 AM
tzehan_dk
post May 4 2017, 11:53 AM

74 posts

Guys,

EVGA vs Nvidia 1060? Or AMD RX580??

Cheers
terence_nwb
post May 4 2017, 12:29 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ May 4 2017, 09:10 AM)
Dear sifus,
My preferred build would be as follow : Please help to check if there's any bottleneck or should I up my graphic card to 1080?
i7 7700K
Gigabyte Z270-HD3
Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Samsung 850 EVO SSD 250GB
WD Blue 1TB
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2
Tecware Alpha
Monitor: Dell U2717D or Dell S2716DG (will the 60Hz-IPS vs 144Hz + Gsync-TN affect gaming and color by much?)
You need an aftermarket CPU cooler for that 7700K as it doesn't come with Intel stock cooler.

As for the monitor, if you never try 144Hz before or not going to play fast pace & competitive games then 60Hz will do just fine, I always prefer color > refresh rate as I am not a FPS gamer smile.gif

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ May 4 2017, 10:17 AM)
Got but really expensive. They only have P860 & X-650/750/1050 model.

They do have Evga G2 unit but lowest is 650watt. Should I invest more if in the future I overclock? Not even sure if I want to overclock. Might ended up with much more expensive things if going that way with maybe just a little gain?
You can't go wrong with good quality PSU, it can last for many years and you can re-use it when you upgrade your system in the future. If you don't mind the extra cost then it shouldn't be an issue biggrin.gif
starz92
post May 4 2017, 12:39 PM

1,679 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 4 2017, 12:29 PM)
You need an aftermarket CPU cooler for that 7700K as it doesn't come with Intel stock cooler.

As for the monitor, if you never try 144Hz before or not going to play fast pace & competitive games then 60Hz will do just fine, I always prefer color > refresh rate as I am not a FPS gamer  smile.gif
You can't go wrong with good quality PSU, it can last for many years and you can re-use it when you upgrade your system in the future. If you don't mind the extra cost then it shouldn't be an issue  biggrin.gif
around how much for the aftermarket cooler? Do you think I need the 7700k and Z270 mobo for the Dell monitor U2715H and 1070 graphic card?
TristanX
post May 4 2017, 12:42 PM

Where is my stars?
24,341 posts

QUOTE(tzehan_dk @ May 4 2017, 11:22 AM)
The initial RM3.2k is actually fine. Think I might just go for a 1060 graphics card.

Will Intel5 7600 be better than AMD Ryzen5 1600 for gaming? Thanks a lot for explaining!
i5 is expensive. Ryzen 5 1600 is slower but it rollovers i5 when the app or game utilizes the extra cores.

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1039
MSI A320M Grenade - 335
MSI RX 580 8GB DDR5 Gaming X - 1295
Corsair VS 550W - 248
Tecware F3 case - 124

RM3513 total (C-Zone prices)

Way off your budget

QUOTE(tzehan_dk @ May 4 2017, 11:53 AM)
Guys,

EVGA vs Nvidia 1060? Or AMD RX580??

Cheers
For AMD Ryzen, RX 580 is recommended instead. For some reason, Ryzen bottlenecks GTX 1060 on certain games.
tongaz86
post May 4 2017, 02:09 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 4 2017, 12:29 PM)
You can't go wrong with good quality PSU, it can last for many years and you can re-use it when you upgrade your system in the future. If you don't mind the extra cost then it shouldn't be an issue  biggrin.gif
So better get Evga G2. I see if I can stretch my budget. GQ still a good option?

This post has been edited by tongaz86: May 4 2017, 02:13 PM
terence_nwb
post May 4 2017, 02:43 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ May 4 2017, 12:39 PM)
around how much for the aftermarket cooler? Do you think I need the 7700k and Z270 mobo for the Dell monitor U2715H and 1070 graphic card?
If you are going for mild CPU overclocking (~ +0.3GHz offset), then you might be able to get away with RM 200 - RM 300 cooler (air or liquid AIO). For heavy CPU overclocking, you are advised to get a high end CPU cooler, they are not cheap (mostly > RM 500).

CPU overclocking doesn't bring significant performance boost in gaming, at least not until your CPU starts to slow down in the next few years (probably will take > 5 years), stick with 7700 and normal B250/H270 if you want to save money or not going to overclock the CPU as it comes with Intel stock cooler.
terence_nwb
post May 4 2017, 02:44 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ May 4 2017, 02:09 PM)
So better get Evga G2. I see if I can stretch my budget. GQ still a good option?
Yup, still a good option, tier 2 + 5 years of warranty compared to tier 1 + 7 years of warranty of G2.
starz92
post May 4 2017, 03:08 PM

1,679 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ May 4 2017, 02:43 PM)
If you are going for mild CPU overclocking (~ +0.3GHz offset), then you might be able to get away with RM 200 - RM 300 cooler (air or liquid AIO). For heavy CPU overclocking, you are advised to get a high end CPU cooler, they are not cheap (mostly > RM 500).

CPU overclocking doesn't bring significant performance boost in gaming, at least not until your CPU starts to slow down in the next few years (probably will take > 5 years), stick with 7700 and normal B250/H270 if you want to save money or not going to overclock the CPU as it comes with Intel stock cooler.
How about clockspeed? I7-7700 have 3.60Ghz while 7700k have 4.20Ghz...will this impact anything if no OC
terence_nwb
post May 4 2017, 03:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ May 4 2017, 03:08 PM)
How about clockspeed? I7-7700 have 3.60Ghz while 7700k have 4.20Ghz...will this impact anything if no OC
Yes on certain demanding titles, but by how much? It is very subjective and hard to judge.

i7 7700 - 3.6G (Base), 4.2G (Boost on single core)
i7 7700K - 4.2G (Base), 4.5G (Boost on single core)
Akera
post May 4 2017, 05:25 PM

Im thinking of upgrading my display to 1080p, is it possible with 2k budget(including monitor)?
My current PC:

Monitor: LG20en33
CPU: i3-3220
MOBO: not sure
PSU: FSP hexa+ 550
GC: Sapphire HD 7790
4gig RAM
Casing: Bitfenix prodigy M

Mainly used for gaming

This post has been edited by Akera: May 4 2017, 06:00 PM
TristanX
post May 4 2017, 09:25 PM

Where is my stars?
24,341 posts

QUOTE(Akera @ May 4 2017, 05:25 PM)
Im thinking of upgrading my display to 1080p, is it possible with 2k budget(including monitor)?
My current PC:
Monitor: LG20en33
CPU: i3-3220
MOBO: not sure
PSU: FSP hexa+ 550
GC: Sapphire HD 7790
4gig RAM
Casing: Bitfenix prodigy M

Mainly used for gaming
I suggest you upgrade in stages

Package 1:
RX 580 or GTX 1060 + Monitor