1384 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

bobowyc
post Apr 12 2017, 09:10 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(teddymonster @ Apr 12 2017, 07:42 PM)
i did already deducted the 1070 from the 4k budget haha! after going through the other thread of pp showing of their rigs it's getting harder and harder to stick to the budget lol. I'll probably save up abit more to have a larger budget down the road to upgrade to  this --> "Maybe a 1.5k mobo and a 1.5k cpu. Like i7-7000series i think.." .  tongue.gif Thanks alot for your help bobowyc! Really appreciate it!
Hahaha. Its okay bro. Sure will deviate from original budget. Unless you're building it like me. Hahaha. Simply do also can. I just installed an ssd yesterday. Works well. Loll. So yea.
y4ng
post Apr 13 2017, 12:32 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

Dear All,

My GPU burnt out recently, I dont really game anymore. but my screen resolution is a bit sucky after taking out my GPU. My plan is to get a GPU + SSD upgrade. Can recommend anything? more to using tools like photoshop, and watching HD videos/movies nia nowadays.

Budget below RM1k. my current build (yeah, some over what i need, that time i was richer)

Intel Core i5 4460
Asrock B85 Killer
G.SKill 16GB X2 DDR3
Powercolor R9 280X (KO last month)
WD Blue 500MB
Coolermaster V750
tongaz86
post Apr 13 2017, 01:39 AM

1,750 posts

Need advice from sifu here. Never build a gaming rig before but I like RTS game and usually they are best on PC. Don't have monitor but mouse & keyboard wireless I have.

B][Budget] - No idea yet

[Purpose] - Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - Mouse & Keyboard

[Monitor resolution] - at least FHD ( Have 32" LED TV can use?)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - RTS ( TotalWar Warhammer currently)

[Personal preferences] - Running TotalWar Warhammer at full setting with 60FPS

[Location] - Johor
TristanX
post Apr 13 2017, 08:29 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Apr 13 2017, 01:39 AM)
Need advice from sifu here. Never build a gaming rig before but I like RTS game and usually they are best on PC. Don't have monitor but mouse & keyboard wireless I have.
B][Budget] - No idea yet

[Purpose] - Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - Mouse & Keyboard

[Monitor resolution] - at least FHD ( Have 32" LED TV can use?)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - RTS ( TotalWar Warhammer currently)

[Personal preferences] - Running TotalWar Warhammer at full setting with 60FPS

[Location] - Johor
How about these?

Core i7-7700K - 1579
Coolermaster Hyper 212X - 189
Gigabyte Z270X Gaming K5 - 899
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 X2 - 520
Gigabyte GTX 1060 3GB DDR5 - 1100
Samsung 850 Evo 250GB - 482
WD Blue (go for 7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212
Super Flower Leadex Silver 550W - 359
Corsair Spec case - 299

RM5119 total (C-Zone prices)

Optional:
Acer R241Y 23.8" monitor - 639

Yes, LED TV would work but it may look too big.
terence_nwb
post Apr 13 2017, 08:46 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bpc @ Apr 12 2017, 09:08 PM)
AMD Processor AM4 RYZEN 7 Series 1700 3.7GHz
POWER COLOR VGA RX 480 8GB DDR5 256BIT RED DEVIL AXRX4808GBD5-3DH/OC
G.SKILL RAM Desktop DDR4 TRIDENTZ 2X 8GB PC3200 F4-3200C16D-8GTZB
MSI MOTHERBOARD AMD AM4 B350 TOMAHAWK

WESTERN DIGITAL SSD M.2-2280 SATA3 BLUE 500GB (WDS500G1B0B)
WESTERN DIGITAL HDD INT Desktop PURPLE 4TB SATA3 64MB (WD40PURX)
COOLER MASTER Casing ATX MASTERCASE MAKER 5 (MCZ-005M-KWN00)
SILVERSTONE Power Supply STRIDER PLATINUM 750W (ST75F-PT)
hi everyone,
how is the above rig ? case is a bit expensive i didin't decide yet, i am planning to use mainly for video edit, so gpu looks fine, i know a bit less fps comparing to gtx1060 but as i know a bit cooler biggrin.gif what do you say ?
Specs is fine, RX480 runs hotter than GTX1060 FYI but that's still within safe range (just FYI).

QUOTE(y4ng @ Apr 13 2017, 12:32 AM)
Dear All,

My GPU burnt out recently, I dont really game anymore. but my screen resolution is a bit sucky after taking out my GPU. My plan is to get a GPU + SSD upgrade. Can recommend anything? more to using tools like photoshop, and watching HD videos/movies nia nowadays.

Budget below RM1k. my current build (yeah, some over what i need, that time i was richer)

Intel Core i5 4460
Asrock B85 Killer
G.SKill 16GB X2 DDR3
Powercolor R9 280X (KO last month)
WD Blue 500MB
Coolermaster V750
Have you tried to update the driver of the iGPU? i5 4460 comes with HD4600 which shouldn't give you any problem when running 1080p (or even 1440p) monitor. Not worth to spend RM 150++ for GT710 which is even weaker than the iGPU sweat.gif

As for SSD, 240GB enough? Your budget can go for 500GB if you want biggrin.gif
y4ng
post Apr 13 2017, 09:34 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 13 2017, 08:46 AM)
Specs is fine, RX480 runs hotter than GTX1060 FYI but that's still within safe range (just FYI).
Have you tried to update the driver of the iGPU? i5 4460 comes with HD4600 which shouldn't give you any problem when running 1080p (or even 1440p) monitor. Not worth to spend RM 150++ for GT710 which is even weaker than the iGPU  sweat.gif

As for SSD, 240GB enough? Your budget can go for 500GB if you want  biggrin.gif
so far have yet to update my iGPU, but in the future i would want to use it for my 40" TV, so still possible? was considering a cheap 950 or 960. RM300-500 can get kua?

for SSD, erm, which brand to go for? i know my mobo cant take M.2, a dealer suggested pioneer blink.gif last time i was thinking it was always intel, samsung or i cannot remember the other one, was popular for CD-RW.
terence_nwb
post Apr 13 2017, 09:57 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Apr 13 2017, 09:34 AM)
so far have yet to update my iGPU, but in the future i would want to use it for my 40" TV, so still possible? was considering a cheap 950 or 960. RM300-500 can get kua?
for SSD, erm, which brand to go for? i know my mobo cant take M.2, a dealer suggested pioneer  blink.gif last time i was thinking it was always intel, samsung or i cannot remember the other one, was popular for CD-RW.
40" 1080p TV? If yes then no problem, your mobo can output 4K @24Hz or 1440p @60Hz via HDMI so that's plenty to spare yet.

Since you don't game anymore, why would you spend the extra money for an used 950 or 960? I would rather spend the money to get a larger size SSD anytime.

Pioneer SSD is entry level SSD, you can consider getting the Samsung 850 EVO/Transcend 370/Corsair Force LE etc. if you prefer something that performs better out of the box.
y4ng
post Apr 13 2017, 02:38 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 13 2017, 09:57 AM)
40" 1080p TV? If yes then no problem, your mobo can output 4K @24Hz or 1440p @60Hz via HDMI so that's plenty to spare yet.

Since you don't game anymore, why would you spend the extra money for an used 950 or 960? I would rather spend the money to get a larger size SSD anytime.

Pioneer SSD is entry level SSD, you can consider getting the Samsung 850 EVO/Transcend 370/Corsair Force LE etc. if you prefer something that performs better out of the box.
SSD for my OS, other brands beside samsung? entry level will do cos I dont think I can feel the difference.Pioneer is alright? thinking get one SSD, another 1TB hdd if not getting GPU. nah dont wanna get 2nd hand, i have trust issue with ppl nowadays, kena bitten too many times. pay a bit more to get new + warranty better.

thanks for the tv output, appreciate it a lot.
terence_nwb
post Apr 13 2017, 03:16 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Apr 13 2017, 02:38 PM)
SSD for my OS, other brands beside samsung? entry level will do cos I dont think I can feel the difference.Pioneer is alright? thinking get one SSD, another 1TB hdd if not getting GPU. nah dont wanna get 2nd hand, i have trust issue with ppl nowadays, kena bitten too many times. pay a bit more to get new + warranty better.

thanks for the tv output, appreciate it a lot.
Pioneer is fine if you are only finding something that can boost the performance of your PC from the traditional HDD.

Other entry level (or mid end) SSD that you can consider are Kingston UV400/WD Blue/Green/Apacer etc.
tongaz86
post Apr 13 2017, 03:48 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 13 2017, 08:29 AM)
How about these?

Core i7-7700K - 1579
Coolermaster Hyper 212X - 189
Gigabyte Z270X Gaming K5 - 899
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 X2 - 520
Gigabyte GTX 1060 3GB DDR5 - 1100
Samsung 850 Evo 250GB - 482
WD Blue (go for 7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212
Super Flower Leadex Silver 550W - 359
Corsair Spec case - 299

RM5119 total (C-Zone prices)

Optional:
Acer R241Y 23.8" monitor - 639

Yes, LED TV would work but it may look too big.
Wow...5k that not include Windows right? Forgot to mention I maybe won't be overcloking CPU @ GPU. If lower the CPU will it bottleneck the GPU? Just bought an SSD also so can reuse that.
TristanX
post Apr 13 2017, 04:07 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Apr 13 2017, 03:48 PM)
Wow...5k that not include Windows right? Forgot to mention I maybe won't be overcloking CPU @ GPU. If lower the CPU will it bottleneck the GPU? Just bought an SSD also so can reuse that.
No windows.

GTX 1060 works fine with i5.
y4ng
post Apr 13 2017, 04:32 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Apr 13 2017, 09:34 AM)
for SSD, erm, which brand to go for? i know my mobo cant take M.2, a dealer suggested pioneer  blink.gif last time i was thinking it was always intel, samsung or i cannot remember the other one, was popular for CD-RW.
Okies, thanks for the help. I will go do some shopping this weeekend =)
tongaz86
post Apr 13 2017, 05:02 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 13 2017, 04:07 PM)
No windows.

GTX 1060 works fine with i5.
What more can I lower down to support GTX 1060? Or should I get GTX 1050 if on a budget? Need cut budget for monitor & windows.

For 1st time gaming rig build own or just get 2nd hand better?
TristanX
post Apr 13 2017, 05:11 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Apr 13 2017, 05:02 PM)
What more can I lower down to support GTX 1060? Or should I get GTX 1050 if on a budget? Need cut budget for monitor & windows.

For 1st time gaming rig build own or just get 2nd hand better?
Thats up to you. Wouldn't recommend lower than 1050 Ti for 1080p.

Remember, games will always get more demanding. Buy a new one if you can afford it.
r0ck_
post Apr 13 2017, 05:34 PM

92 posts

B][Budget] - 5000

[Purpose] - Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - Nothing

[Monitor resolution] - 2560×1600(for watching videos only)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - Just any games

[Personal preferences] - RGB lighting

[Location] -Penang

This post has been edited by r0ck_: Apr 13 2017, 05:35 PM
tongaz86
post Apr 13 2017, 05:39 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 13 2017, 05:11 PM)
Thats up to you. Wouldn't recommend lower than 1050 Ti for 1080p.

Remember, games will always get more demanding. Buy a new one if you can afford it.
So lowest for 1080p gaming would be 1050 Ti? What difference between Ti & non Ti model?

Sorry asking noob question. Thanks for guiding this noob.
TristanX
post Apr 13 2017, 06:05 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Apr 13 2017, 05:39 PM)
So lowest for 1080p gaming would be 1050 Ti? What difference between Ti & non Ti model?

Sorry asking noob question. Thanks for guiding this noob.
Ti is more powerful.
kingkingyyk
post Apr 13 2017, 06:46 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(r0ck_ @ Apr 13 2017, 05:34 PM)
B][Budget] - 5000

[Purpose] - Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - Nothing

[Monitor resolution] - 2560×1600(for watching videos only)

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - Just any games

[Personal preferences] - RGB lighting

[Location] -Penang
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 RM1039
MSI B350M Mortar RM480
Kingston Value 16GB DDR4 RM499
MSI GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 RM1299
Intel 600P 128GB SSD RM329
WD Blue 1TB RM219
Corsair CS550M RM399
Casing+RGB LED Strip RM320
Windows 10 Home OEM 64 bit RM419

Total : RM5003

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Apr 13 2017, 06:46 PM
r0ck_
post Apr 13 2017, 08:26 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Apr 13 2017, 06:46 PM)
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 RM1039
MSI B350M Mortar RM480
Kingston Value 16GB DDR4 RM499
MSI GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 RM1299
Intel 600P 128GB SSD RM329
WD Blue 1TB RM219
Corsair CS550M RM399
Casing+RGB LED Strip RM320
Windows 10 Home OEM 64 bit RM419

Total : RM5003
Which case do you reccomend?
kingkingyyk