253 Pages « < 219 220 221 222 223 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

TristanX
post Oct 12 2023, 07:00 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Oct 12 2023, 01:19 PM)
Guys, I'm looking to replace my 8 years old dying PC by year end - not urgent but want to know what to aim (if any proposed item not launched yet).

[Budget] 5-6k+ can top up if really value

[Purpose] Currently mostly casual gaming and browsing, will play AAA game if interest me but not necessary ultra setting

[Hardwares that will be re-use] nil

[Monitor resolution] 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]

[Personal preferences] No need RGB, practicality/value for money > aesthetic

[Location] KL

Can intro shop as well as I need full set invoice for tax purpose (can't buy separately in LZD/SP)
Price changes overtime. Just ask again when its time to buy.

QUOTE(vernontan @ Oct 12 2023, 03:59 PM)
Hi all! Looking for build recommendations. PC will be used primarily for connection to dental intraoral scanner. Most people would use a laptop to connect to the scanner but I feel that the upgrade path is limited. I might be using the PC for CAD/CAM in the future, which is more demanding on the PC.

[B][Budget] Open to suggestions

[Purpose] Dental intraoral scanner. In the future, might go into dental CAD/CAM

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution]

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Exocad for CAD/CAM in the future

The recommended specs for the scanner are as follows:
CPU    : Intel i7-11800H/12700H/13650H
RAM    : 16/32GB
HDD/SSD : 512GB
GPU  : RTX2060/3060/4060 mobile (AMD not supported)
The hardware requirements for exocad are as follows:

"Full workstation" example configuration for using any exocad product

CPU: Intel Core-i9 11900k / AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
RAM: 16GB DDR4 non ECC
Graphics: Nvidia RTX 2060 (6GB GDDR6) or RTX 3070
Screen resolution: WQHD (2560x1440), recommended: UHD (3840x2160)
Power: 750+ Watt
Minimum hardware configuration to run exocad DentalCAD

CPU: Quad-Core and 2.8 Ghz
Note: AMD Ryzen ZEN2 CPUs e.g. AMD Ryzen 7 3700X or 3900X are supported starting with 2.3 Matera version (EngineBuild 7174 or newer), released by exocad in August/September 2019.
RAM: 4GB
Graphics: Nvidia GTX dedicated GPU with at least 1 GB graphics memory, OpenGL 4, DirectX 11.1, Shader Model 5 and a graphics driver dated August 2017 or newer.
Minimum screen resolution: 1080p (1920x1080), if a DPI setting of 100% is used. If you use a higher DPI setting, a higher resolution is required!
Power: 450 Watt
Thank you all in advance! Cheers
How about these?

Core i9-13900K - 2628
Thermalright Frost Commander 140 - 259
MSI Z790 Tomahawk DDR5 - 1489
Colorful Icicle 32GB DDR5-6600 CL34 - 579
Gigabyte RTX 3060 12GB - 1338
Kingston KC3000 2TB - 549
Corsair HX750 power supply - 599
Lian Li Lancool III case - 530

RM7971 total

You can try getting myway1985 to build it for you.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Oct 12 2023, 07:01 PM
TristanX
post Oct 12 2023, 11:19 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Oct 12 2023, 09:42 PM)
That's fair but I'm putting it that way because I can wait if there are suggestion that needs to wait. I can buy now if nothing new worth waiting.
Try

Core i5-13500 - 1149
Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE - 139
MSI B760M-A Pro Wifi DDR4 - 665
Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 32GB DDR4-3200 kit - 344
Gigabyte RX 7800 XT 16GB Gaming OC - 2699
Kingston KC3000 1TB - 299
MSI A750GF power supply - 509
Corsair 4000D Airflow case - 315

RM6119 total
TristanX
post Oct 21 2023, 12:59 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2023, 12:45 PM)
If CPU speed and cache size dependant then perhaps can go for 5800X3D, B550 mobo, 32GB DDR4

Or if hunt for good bargains

7800X3D, midrange A620, 32GB DDR5 6000. Easily 3x more cache size than  14700K!!!
X3D cache does nothing outside gaming. Its proven over and over every review sites.
TristanX
post Oct 21 2023, 03:55 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2023, 03:45 PM)
Its super massive cache that will help certain dependent applications...
No, it doesn't. I've yet to see one.

It's just a gaming chip. Thats about it.
https://www.techpowerup.com/review/amd-ryze...7800x3d/27.html
TristanX
post Oct 21 2023, 07:13 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2023, 06:02 PM)
Err okay then... just to mention that FPGA development is very very very niche more rare than the usual software or game creation, or audiovisual applications stuff.
I havent seen a review bench for Quartus, Xilinx, Mentor Graphics or other PLD developmental programs out in the wild either so I cant say ur reference is accurate or not, but if the user knows his application is cache heavy dependent and it can make use of X3D tech it might well be more advantageous to go with AM5. Just saying.
Sadly, benchmarking them is forbidden from their EULA. Maybe prescott2006 will know more.
TristanX
post Oct 24 2023, 09:13 AM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(Xsence @ Oct 24 2023, 08:38 AM)

My GPU amd7600 is blocking my WiFi pcie card, any solution? It will work but one of the fan won't spin cause the WiFi card is applying pressure on the fan.
Try looking for "pcie X1 riser 90".
TristanX
post Oct 25 2023, 10:40 AM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(whome96 @ Oct 25 2023, 09:50 AM)
Hi, would like to have hardware suggestions on building my first gaming pc

[B][Budget]: RM6,000

[Purpose]: Primarily gaming, watching movie/video during free time

[Games & softwares that use frequently]: next gen games

[Personal preferences]: want to have a water cooling system included

[Location]: KL

Thanks!
Budget is low. Putting AIO will need to cut something.

Core i5-13500 - 1149
MSI B760M-A Pro Wifi DDR4 - 665
Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 32GB DDR4-3200 kit - 344
Gigabyte RX 7800 XT 16GB Gaming OC - 2699
MSI A750GF power supply - 509

RM6119 total
TristanX
post Oct 25 2023, 07:40 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(whome96 @ Oct 25 2023, 12:57 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation! By cutting something you are referring to? Budget wise how much would you suggest me to put to accommodate for my needs?
Reduce graphic card performance. Thermalright Peerless Assassin is extremely good for the price.

Just 360 more for EK AIO 360 Basic and LGA 1700 kit. Its on clearance price. You gotta upgrade casing though.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Oct 25 2023, 07:40 PM
TristanX
post Oct 31 2023, 08:17 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Oct 31 2023, 10:41 AM)
Hi, would like to have hardware suggestions for a ACAD drafting work and some light 3d modelling

[B][Budget]: RM3,000

[Purpose]: Work only

[Games & softwares that use frequently]: ACAD, SketchUp, ArchiCAD

[Personal preferences]: none

Thanks!
How about these?

Core i5-12400F - 655
MSI B760M-A Pro Wifi - 665
Kingston HyperX 32GB DDR4-3200 kit - 344
Arktek GTX 1650 Super 4GB - 619
MSI A650BN - 204
Montech Air 100 - 159

RM3084 total
TristanX
post Nov 2 2023, 11:31 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 2 2023, 11:27 PM)
Rm 5k for 1440 gaming would be tough as you will need a 4070Ti/RX7800XT class GPU for starters.

Could you actually get one for Rm 5k? Sure of course as the link below
https://idealtech.com.my/product/rx7800xt-packagepc/

But that is a good GPU surrounded by other poor & cheapo hardware choices (6core CPU, lousy VRM gigashit baseline mobo, slow DDR5 sticks, cheapo SSD, cheapo PSU that comes with the case).

For 1440 gaming with some room for future upgrades, I suggest up the budget to RM 7k for a system similar to this
https://idealtech.com.my/product/rtx4070ti-gamingpc/

Not as crappy with better CPU, a mobo that can handle a i7 14700 upgrade later. Everything else still crappy tho so wait for the sifus here spec you a decent 1440 gaming PC.
Blizzard and moba isn't demanding games. You can get away with RX 6600 too. Diablo IV is the most demanding of them all.

https://www.tomshardware.com/features/diabl...em-requirements
TristanX
post Nov 2 2023, 11:44 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 2 2023, 11:37 PM)
Games are getting more demanding by the launch (have you seen reviews of City Skylines 2?) so your shouldnt be speccing to just play adequately for today but have some to still play adequately in 1-2 years from now.
Did you even bother reading what he wants? Oh wait, I don't see Skylines.

And yes, I know its crappy budget wanting 1440p.

QUOTE(Skullman @ Nov 2 2023, 10:09 PM)
Hi, would like to have hardware suggestions for Gaming at 1440p if possible
[B][Budget] RM5000 With monitor if possible

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Sata SSD 1GB

[Monitor resolution] 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Blizzard games, MoBA

[Personal preferences] None

[Location] KL

Thanks in Advance.
Very low budget for 1440p. Should be fine for Blizzard and MoBA games though.

Core i5-12400F - 655
Kingston HyperX 16GB DDR4-3200 kit - 198
Palit RTX 3060 12GB Dual V2 - 1268
Adata XPG Core Reactor 650W - 423
Dell G3223D 32" - 1399 (Dell DFO)

RM5062 total

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 2 2023, 11:47 PM
TristanX
post Nov 5 2023, 06:44 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Nov 5 2023, 05:02 PM)
my cpu is i7 13700k, I got an AIO 420 artic freezer
plan to get msi suprim liquid rtx 4090
what W psu and brand do you guys recommend for it. i currently use 750W corsair
1200W. No questions asked. Look for ATX 3.0 ones. Thermaltake, NZXT and FSP. Unless you wanna pay for overpriced Asus. Extremely limited selection.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 5 2023, 06:47 PM
TristanX
post Nov 6 2023, 09:13 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Nov 6 2023, 08:03 PM)
does atx 3.0 support my mobo [msi z790 pro-a wifi ddr4]
just bought the nzxt and asus rog strix 4090
Its backward compatible. No issue.
TristanX
post Nov 8 2023, 06:55 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(Hune @ Nov 8 2023, 06:08 PM)
Hi guys, would like recommendations on building a gaming rig on 1080p gaming.

Graphic card is rtx 2070 or equivalent with 8gb Vram.

Budget is RM5k maximum.
Try

Core i5-13500 - 1129
Kingston HyperX 32GB DDR4-3200 kit - 330
Powercolor RX 6700 XT Fighter 12GB - 1609
Kingston KC3000 1TB - 298
Adata XPG Core Reactor 750W - 493

RM4978 total (Shopee prices)
TristanX
post Nov 10 2023, 08:26 AM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(Hune @ Nov 10 2023, 01:15 AM)
Living at kajang.

Thanks to you guys, the recommendations are pretty helpful.

Been thinking on the processor though, can afford to buy cheaper option, or not worth it?
You can go for i5-12400 at around RM700ish. Thats pure 6 core CPU.

11.11 sale tomorrow. You might find some parts cheaper.
TristanX
post Nov 10 2023, 07:04 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(blueyan @ Nov 10 2023, 04:11 PM)
thanks for taking time to quote this  notworthy.gif
but is i7 overkill ? But I do need to record screen when I trade, not sure if i5 is sufficient or better stick with i7 for the safe side.

and so I just get one gigabyte rtx 3060 windforce for my 4 display monitor, in the future I just add another GPU to support another 4 monitors right?
can 1st player steampunk 750 handle two  rtx 3060?
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Nov 10 2023, 04:22 PM)
my bad

i7-13700k  RM1,899.00
msi z790 P wifi9 D4  RM1,199.00
32GB 3200mhz kingston fury beast  RM340.00
1tb kc3000  RM320.00
gigabyte rtx 3060 windforce  RM1,399.00
1st player NGDP 1000 platinum  RM759.00
azza hive 450m  RM269.00
thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE  RM169.00

this should be enuf...
Don't need higher end cards. Just find some below RM1k cards with quad display ports. I could find some GTX 1660 (not sure if it can go more than 3 monitors) and RTX 3050. Goal is more video outputs, not gaming.

Also, motherboard got HDMI and displayport as well.

https://www.nvidia.com/en-my/geforce/graphi...tion=compare-16

You can also try this as well.
https://shopee.com.my/AISURIX-RX580-8GB-RGB...46-40edc45e47be

I'm not sure how reliable is it due to the price though.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 10 2023, 07:24 PM
TristanX
post Nov 11 2023, 10:23 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(Hune @ Nov 11 2023, 09:41 PM)
Just one quick question here, is there any risk if I instead buy i5-12400F without integrated graphic?
No but you will lose backup GPU and Intel Quick Sync Video. Intel Quick Sync is a very good video transcoding tool. You can free up GPU resources streaming your games with Intel QSV.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Nov 11 2023, 10:24 PM
TristanX
post Nov 13 2023, 05:23 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Nov 13 2023, 03:44 PM)
Need suggestion. Currently my PC is Ryzen 2600 with RTX2070 Super. Games i play vary from Dota2 to Open world game like GTAV, Farcry series, Ass Creed, Ghost Recon Wildlands, Hogsworth, Scorn and some Fallout 76. Planning to get Tekken 8 and GTA 6 and Dying light 2.
I wonder i should upgrade the CPU first to 5000x3d or 5900x or get RTX4070.
As for monitor, I do have Viewsonic 27" 1440p 144hz monitor which i buy last december and left in the box neaer my bedroom wall after bring it from the shop till today since i use my old LG 42" 1080p TV 60hz. Lulz.
You have some very demanding games there. Both need upgrade. Update BIOS and get 5800X3D or get your GPU. If you intend to use 1440p monitor, get GPU first.
TristanX
post Nov 18 2023, 07:15 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Nov 18 2023, 01:56 PM)
can i get a recce for my secondary rig, without the ssd.

purpose is for chrome (50 tabs or more), edge, youtube, excel, google play games beta, hdmi out to full hd 46 inch tv screen at times, or full hd monitor reso.

what i noticed is that certain product has been consistent recommended such as

MSI A650BN - 204
Montech Air 100 - 159
Kingston HyperX 32GB DDR4-3200 kit - 344

thanks so much

budget : 1 - 2k possible?
Nope, you will need at least i5-12400 setup. Definitely will cross RM2.5k .

TristanX
post Nov 19 2023, 02:14 AM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(dan137 @ Nov 19 2023, 01:39 AM)
been a while didn't follow graphic card tech. Need recommendation for graphic card. Build this rig 2 years back during MCO for my son's school pdpr, now looking for graphic card upgrade as he keen on playing games now.

current spec:

CPU: Ryzen 5 3600X
MoBo: ASRock B550M Steel Legend
RAM: 32GB ddr4
monitor: AOC 24G2
PSU: HX1000W (my very old PSU)
graphic card: R5870-PM2D1G (my very old grahic card)
Look for RTX 3060 12GB (ignore 8GB) or RX 6700 XT 12GB. Still, how far are you willing to go?

253 Pages « < 219 220 221 222 223 > » Top

0.0580sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:52 PM