QUOTE(adamtayy @ Feb 15 2024, 01:08 PM)
pls dont trust anything you read from userbenchmarkthe site is trash and anyone who is into PC and tech stuff avoid that site like a plague.
[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!
Feb 15 2024, 01:16 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
5,088 posts Joined: Jun 2013 From: Blue Planet |
QUOTE(adamtayy @ Feb 15 2024, 01:08 PM) pls dont trust anything you read from userbenchmarkthe site is trash and anyone who is into PC and tech stuff avoid that site like a plague. babylon52281, defaultname365, and 1 other liked this post
Feb 15 2024, 02:40 PM
12,039 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
Even never use arc, a380 is chepest gpu support av1 codec, and 6GB memory
Feb 15 2024, 02:53 PM
560 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Pew Pew |
Hihi every sifu, looking for suggestion for new PC
[B][Budget] - RM1.5K...maybe going to 2k if really need. [Purpose] - My PC just kong and I need to get a replacement mainly for surfing the net, youtube, excel, word. No gaming. [Hardwares that will be re-use] - Keyboard, mouse, monitor, Corsair 650w PSU, 1 Plextor 128GB SSD as OS and 1TB WD Green as storage. I dont think I'll need GC as well since I've been using the Mobo's built in graphic accelerator. [Monitor resolution] - 1080 [Personal preferences] - Would need a new SSD with higher capacity ie 512gb if its possible within the budget [Location] - Puchong Thank you for all the suggestions. This post has been edited by D-Zire: Feb 15 2024, 03:05 PM |
Feb 15 2024, 03:32 PM
24,340 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(D-Zire @ Feb 15 2024, 02:53 PM) Hihi every sifu, looking for suggestion for new PC How about these?[B][Budget] - RM1.5K...maybe going to 2k if really need. [Purpose] - My PC just kong and I need to get a replacement mainly for surfing the net, youtube, excel, word. No gaming. [Hardwares that will be re-use] - Keyboard, mouse, monitor, Corsair 650w PSU, 1 Plextor 128GB SSD as OS and 1TB WD Green as storage. I dont think I'll need GC as well since I've been using the Mobo's built in graphic accelerator. [Monitor resolution] - 1080 [Personal preferences] - Would need a new SSD with higher capacity ie 512gb if its possible within the budget [Location] - Puchong Thank you for all the suggestions. Core i3-12100 - 515 MSI B760M-E - 455 Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 8GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 184 Kingston KC3000 512GB or 1TB - 275/449 FSP Hyper Pro 550W - 159 Cougar MX340 case - 129 Thermalright TL-R12 fan (for front) - 22 RM1739/1913 total (Shopee prices) This post has been edited by TristanX: Feb 15 2024, 03:37 PM |
Feb 15 2024, 11:35 PM
2,681 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 15 2024, 03:32 PM) How about these? Even for light use, the igpu on i3 are very anemic for multimedia streaming. i3 igpu really only for office PC. For media igpu the minimum should be i5 or Ryzen APU (5600G / 5500GT).Core i3-12100 - 515 MSI B760M-E - 455 Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 8GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 184 Kingston KC3000 512GB or 1TB - 275/449 FSP Hyper Pro 550W - 159 Cougar MX340 case - 129 Thermalright TL-R12 fan (for front) - 22 RM1739/1913 total (Shopee prices) This post has been edited by babylon52281: Feb 15 2024, 11:38 PM |
Feb 15 2024, 11:37 PM
2,992 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
Feb 15 2024, 11:39 PM
Feb 15 2024, 11:40 PM
2,992 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
Feb 16 2024, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Feb 15 2024, 11:40 PM) QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 15 2024, 11:35 PM) Even for light use, the igpu on i3 are very anemic for multimedia streaming. i3 igpu really only for office PC. For media igpu the minimum should be i5 or Ryzen APU (5600G / 5500GT). I have i3-12100. Using it to stream triple 4k video and running server.![]() Watch the bandwidth vs CPU usage. Oh, Intel Quick Sync video is extremely overpowered. Even Sandy Bridge i3-2100 is stupidly overpowered for 4k. Never gone crazy with more than 1 window though. This post has been edited by TristanX: Feb 16 2024, 12:39 AM |
Feb 16 2024, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 15 2024, 03:32 PM) How about these? Thank you all for the quotes and suggestions. Core i3-12100 - 515 MSI B760M-E - 455 Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 8GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 184 Kingston KC3000 512GB or 1TB - 275/449 FSP Hyper Pro 550W - 159 Cougar MX340 case - 129 Thermalright TL-R12 fan (for front) - 22 RM1739/1913 total (Shopee prices) I managed to read back the last 20 or so pages and arrived at some questions. For proc: would it be any significant difference between Core i5 12400 vs i5 13400? At the moment, I'm thinking to go i5 12400 since i3 is kinda too basic? For mobo: I have narrowed down 3: namely MSI Pro B760M-A Wifi vs Asrock B760M Pro RS Wifi vs Colorful B760M Gaming Frozen Wifi V20...I'm confused which one to get. Not sure which is better in terms of reliability also. For RAM: will go ahead with Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 8GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 184 For SSD: will go with Kingston KC3000 512GB or 1TB - 275/449 PSU: No need. Will be reusing my existing Seasonic 660w Gold Casing: Thinking either Montech Air 100 Lite Black vs Cougar MX340 vs Tecware Nexus Air M3...not sure which one also to get..any reco? Thank you for all the feedback! U guys have been very helpful |
Feb 16 2024, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(D-Zire @ Feb 16 2024, 03:54 PM) Thank you all for the quotes and suggestions. Those CPUs cost more. i5-12400 being the cheapest. Ignore i5-13400 or 14400. They have less 4 e-cores. Top up a bit for 13500 or 14500.I managed to read back the last 20 or so pages and arrived at some questions. For proc: would it be any significant difference between Core i5 12400 vs i5 13400? At the moment, I'm thinking to go i5 12400 since i3 is kinda too basic? For mobo: I have narrowed down 3: namely MSI Pro B760M-A Wifi vs Asrock B760M Pro RS Wifi vs Colorful B760M Gaming Frozen Wifi V20...I'm confused which one to get. Not sure which is better in terms of reliability also. For RAM: will go ahead with Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 8GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 184 For SSD: will go with Kingston KC3000 512GB or 1TB - 275/449 PSU: No need. Will be reusing my existing Seasonic 660w Gold Casing: Thinking either Montech Air 100 Lite Black vs Cougar MX340 vs Tecware Nexus Air M3...not sure which one also to get..any reco? Thank you for all the feedback! U guys have been very helpful i5-12400 - 6 cores , 12 threads , 4.4Ghz max turbo - RM769 i5-13500 - 6 P-cores, 8 e-cores, 20 threads , 4.8Ghz max turbo - RM1159 i5-14500 - 6 P-cores, 8 e-cores, 20 threads , 5Ghz max turbo - RM1189 Motherboard wise, MSI B760M-A Pro Wifi is the best among the list. This post has been edited by TristanX: Feb 16 2024, 04:45 PM |
Feb 17 2024, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(D-Zire @ Feb 16 2024, 03:54 PM) Thank you all for the quotes and suggestions. If your not gaming or multicore application usage (video encoding, rendering and such), the Ecores are pretty much useless. Its main purpose is to offload Windows background tasks from the main Pcores for use on focused apps ie games.I managed to read back the last 20 or so pages and arrived at some questions. For proc: would it be any significant difference between Core i5 12400 vs i5 13400? At the moment, I'm thinking to go i5 12400 since i3 is kinda too basic? For mobo: I have narrowed down 3: namely MSI Pro B760M-A Wifi vs Asrock B760M Pro RS Wifi vs Colorful B760M Gaming Frozen Wifi V20...I'm confused which one to get. Not sure which is better in terms of reliability also. For RAM: will go ahead with Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 8GB DDR4-3200 X2 - 184 For SSD: will go with Kingston KC3000 512GB or 1TB - 275/449 PSU: No need. Will be reusing my existing Seasonic 660w Gold Casing: Thinking either Montech Air 100 Lite Black vs Cougar MX340 vs Tecware Nexus Air M3...not sure which one also to get..any reco? Thank you for all the feedback! U guys have been very helpful If want maximum money saving, just get 12400 or else 13400 if the price diff is not large. Forget the i3 of any gen. Mobo, any of those you said will do fine, VRMS will handle up to i5 easy. See which has features you want best suits you (Asrock has USB C at rear, MSI has 2x HDMI & 2x DP ports), PCIE ports, M2 slots, etc. Casing, also see which has features suits you best. Go for Montech or Tecware unit, the Cougar has solid front so cooling performance is inferior to the both. That Tecware has full mesh front giving best results while Montech front is vented steel plate. However that Montech has 2x USB 3.0 + 1 USB2, vs Tecware has 1x USB3.0 + 2x USB2 ports. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Feb 17 2024, 02:26 AM Gigabit liked this post
Feb 17 2024, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 17 2024, 02:11 AM) If your not gaming or multicore application usage (video encoding, rendering and such), the Ecores are pretty much useless. Its main purpose is to offload Windows background tasks from the main Pcores for use on focused apps ie games. Alright! Thank you for the pointers. I’ll go with 12400 and tecware..i like the mesh front from tecware 😄If want maximum money saving, just get 12400 or else 13400 if the price diff is not large. Forget the i3 of any gen. Mobo, any of those you said will do fine, VRMS will handle up to i5 easy. See which has features you want best suits you (Asrock has USB C at rear, MSI has 2x HDMI & 2x DP ports), PCIE ports, M2 slots, etc. Casing, also see which has features suits you best. Go for Montech or Tecware unit, the Cougar has solid front so cooling performance is inferior to the both. That Tecware has full mesh front giving best results while Montech front is vented steel plate. However that Montech has 2x USB 3.0 + 1 USB2, vs Tecware has 1x USB3.0 + 2x USB2 ports. |
Feb 18 2024, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(D-Zire @ Feb 17 2024, 11:13 PM) Alright! Thank you for the pointers. I’ll go with 12400 and tecware..i like the mesh front from tecware 😄 If you got about Rm80 leftover, can change up cooler to SE224XT/XTS or Jonsbo CR1000 or Snowman MT4. The Intel box cooler is sufficient for use but upgrade it if you find the noise too annoying. |
Feb 18 2024, 06:56 PM
14,258 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
I plan to build a gaming PC that is sufficient to play most of the AAA titles currently and at least for the next 3 years.
how much does it cost? |
Feb 18 2024, 07:52 PM
12,039 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
Feb 18 2024, 08:09 PM
1,394 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Penang island |
Feb 18 2024, 08:13 PM
Feb 18 2024, 09:00 PM
Feb 19 2024, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 18 2024, 06:56 PM) I plan to build a gaming PC that is sufficient to play most of the AAA titles currently and at least for the next 3 years. Do follow this question guide as it helps sifus here to reco what you wanthow much does it cost? [B][Budget] [Purpose] [Hardwares that will be re-use] [Monitor resolution] [Games & softwares that use frequently] [Personal preferences] [Location] For AAA titles the sky is the limit, if want to run everything max out your looking at RM 20k for a 14900K + RTX4090 rig. |
| Change to: | 0.0356sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:07 PM |