QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 1 2023, 09:37 AM)
AK620 does looks slightly better with its squared sided fans giving the whole cooler look like a single cube.[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!
[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!
Jun 1 2023, 03:11 PM
2,673 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
Jun 1 2023, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(bozehead @ Jun 1 2023, 10:10 AM) Hi Everyone, Our 2 sifus have given you their input but if ur limited to above choice, then change the RAM & PSU. I am looking for a rig that I can play games on (latest triple A games with preferably 1440 resolution) with a budget of RM6500. I got quoted the following build for RM6250. Can anyone here share their input and knowledge before I pull the trigger? Or if there's anywhere I can get it at a more affordable pricing/parts combo? Preferably prebuilt (I have zero experience building my own rig) INTEL CORE I5-13400F MSI PRO B660M-A WIFI DDR4 KINGSTON FURY BEAST RGB / LONGDIMM / DDR4 / 16GB / 3600MHZ KINGSTON FURY RENEGADE / PCIE GEN4x4 / 1000GB / READ UT 7300MB / WRITE UT 6000MB MSI GEFORCE RTX4070 VENTUS 3X OC 12GB CORSAIR CV750 / ATX / 750W / 80 PLUS BRONZE LIANLI LANCOOL 216 RGB / BLACK / ATX / 2 x 160MM ARGB FAN + 1 x 140MM FAN THERMALRIGHT PEERLESS ASSASSIN 120 SE ARGB / BLACK Many thanks in advance! If ur not savvy with manually setting RAM speeds & timings, better stick to 3200MHZ as nonK CPU cannot do 3600MHZ @G1. Saves you money and less headache to set XMP. CORSAIR CV750 is tier C on cultist list and while I am using a C tier for my 12700+3060Ti system, I would suggest go for a better A or B tier unit since you still have RM 250 balance. This is right up to ur budget limit plus its ATX3 compliant for future proofing https://www.lazada.com.my/products/corsair-...0483965064.html? Overall this shop suggestion isnt bad, maybe a bit questionable here & there but not too terrible like giving you NV2 SSD or the likes, the mobo is a bit dated but you dont really lose much vs newer B760M version (both DDR4 & only PCIE4.0). Id say you found a far more honest shop/salesman and just make some tweaks above you do just fine. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jun 1 2023, 03:49 PM |
Jun 1 2023, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 1 2023, 03:19 PM) Tech jesus said the new AK620 is still in preproduction development so it isnt coming out soonish. Expect in Q4PS as comparison I like FUMA3 better as it too sports the cubic look but maintains the front fan compatibility with 4X rams and still can mount a 3rd fan at rear for better cooling than PA120 or AK620. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jun 1 2023, 03:41 PM |
Jun 3 2023, 01:43 AM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 2 2023, 09:09 PM) i5-13400F RM959.00 Just be known that S2722DGM is VA and comes with all that VA Smear goodness b760m msi pro a wifi RM689.00 16gb 3200mhz kingston fury beast black RM208.00 1TB kingston kc3000 RM359.00 Asus Tuf RX6800 RM2,690.00 1st player steampunk 850 gold RM389.00 thermalright pa120 se RM159.00 1st player X4-M Black RM175.00 DELL S2721DGF QHD 165hz 1MS DFO RM999.00 RM6,627.00 i5-13400F RM959.00 b760m msi pro a wifi RM689.00 16gb 3200mhz kingston fury beast black RM208.00 1TB kingston kc3000 RM359.00 Sapphire RX6800XT (2yr warranty) RM2,599.00 1st player steampunk 850 gold RM389.00 thermalright pa120 se RM159.00 1st player X4-M Black RM175.00 DELL S2721DGF QHD 165hz 1MS DFO RM999.00 RM6,536.00 i5-13400F RM959.00 b760m msi pro a wifi RM689.00 16gb 3200mhz kingston fury beast black RM208.00 1TB kingston kc3000 RM359.00 Colorful RTX 4070 NB EX-V RM2,899.00 1st player steampunk 850 gold RM389.00 thermalright pa120 se RM159.00 1st player X4-M Black RM175.00 DELL S2721DGF QHD 165hz 1MS DFO RM999.00 RM6,836.00 Dell 24 Gaming Monitor - G2422HS DFO RM699 Dell 27 Curved Gaming Monitor - S2722DGM DFO - RM999 Dell 25 Gaming Monitor - S2522HG 240hz 1ms DFO FHD- RM1129 Alienware 25 Gaming Monitor - AW2521H 360hz 1ms FHD DFO - Rm1399 |
Jun 3 2023, 03:14 AM
Jun 4 2023, 02:28 AM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 3 2023, 11:33 AM) VA better for those in dark room... IPS u need turn on HDR if gaming in dark room.. Bcoz you didnt specify the panel type it could lead to buyers bias, when looking at the specs that you did share a noob might go: "oh wow a 27" monitor! Curved unlike the others! Cheaper somemore! Must buy!" I did quote s2721dgf IPS... QHD 27in only a handful model r better than this wat...27GP850, aw2723, Rog 1 sell so expensive but overall quality still up black car.. haih I quote 5 model only 1 va.. n u pick on tat.. haha.. g2422hs, s2522hg.. this 2 FHD no comment bout this? Its disingenuous to expect customers to research and then find out ur listed IPS panels except that particular one. I was in that rabbit hole once and was amazed why VA monitors was much cheaper than IPS high frame rate equivalent, even nearly got one, until I studied further the differences and found out how bad that was for general purpose usage. VA panels have quite a narrow specific use case where it has clear advantages but for the majority other uses IPS is still the better one, and monitor prices reflects on that. Anyhow this is more for discussion in the Monitor tered than here. |
Jun 4 2023, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Jun 4 2023, 07:53 AM) hey can anyone weigh in. around 1k at the moment, whats the best card i can get, new or used? could find some zotac 3070 twin fan for 1.1k, 6700xt for 1k Sharing ur use case will help the sifus here better recommend. Gaming only? Mixed work applications ie Illustrator or CAD? If gaming, is RT important to you since 6700XT does RT at 3060Ti level? Generally 6700XT is the better deal since it has 12GB VRAM but certain use case 3070 is better. |
Jun 5 2023, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 4 2023, 11:12 AM) I play RT on Metro EE & Halo Infinite, with no problems or lags on my 3060Ti. For RTX you gotta use it with DLSS then gameplay is not much affected, something which Radeons lack and that is why their RT suffers. |
Jun 5 2023, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 5 2023, 12:26 AM) Still better than not enough VRAM on current and upcoming games. Yeah, new RT games eats more VRAM too.. HUB did their test with specific setup in mind to highlight the deficiencies of VRAM; 4K with no upscaling. Once you go down to 2K or 1080P and add DLSS, the VRAM usage lowers by far. Either ways with or without RT, I don't expect much from midrange cards ie 3060Ti to 3070Ti, to be driving 4K at respectable FPS anyhow. Midrange GPUS for midrange monitors at midrange resolutions lahhhttps://www.techspot.com/article/2670-vram-use-games/ |
Jun 5 2023, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Jun 5 2023, 01:12 AM) Hi all, I am planning to buy two sets of complete PC, one for each of my two kids (both under 10). For RM 2k each you might wanna consider getting a laptop? Specs could be about the same, esp if you go for slightly older gen models. Appreciate your feedback on what I have compiled so far. Are they pricey, are the combos in the same league with each other, are there better options, etc. Thank you. [Budget] - RM2,000 total each [Purpose] Family usage (light office & gaming usage so far) [Games & softwares that use frequently] Office, youtube, netflix, roblox. My kids are really into Roblox for now, can't tell yet what other games they may play in future. [Location] KL PC Processor: INTEL CORE i3-12100 GPU: Integrated GPU Cooler: Stock Cooler Motherboard: MSI H610M-E DDR4 RAM: GSKILL AEGIS 8GB DDR4 3200Mhz (1x 8GB) SSD: KINGSTON Nv2 PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD 250GB Power Supply: Integrated PSU Casing: X-FIVE Marvelous N7 TP-Link Archer TX55E AX3000 Wi-Fi 6 with Bluetooth 5.0- RM149 *GRAND TOTAL PRICE: RM1448.00* https://idealtech.com.my/product/officepc/ Monitor (Ok for my usage?) Samsung 24" Essential Monitor S3 S31C LS24C310EAEXXS FHD IPS, 75Hz, 5ms & AMD FreeSync RM400 Mouse & Keyboard (Must be wireless to minimize clutter) Logitech MK270R Wireless Mouse and Keyboard Combo RM90 Speaker (Must be small & doesn't take up space) Creative Pebble 2.0 RM90 Monitor mount (To save space on table) NB F80 North Bayou RM90 GRAND TOTAL RM2,118 After all if ur kids are into games they will wanna bring it with them for travels & holidays. PS, 2 PCs for 2 kids? What happen to learning how to share between siblings? Haha jk jk. Both ur kids are very fortunate This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jun 5 2023, 11:02 PM |
Jun 5 2023, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(kimirockz @ Jun 5 2023, 05:27 PM) dear sifus, was quoted the below item. You asked this 6 months ago. PC parts isnt gonna be cheaper just cuz its a bit older thanks to our currency getting shittier (well done Unity Govt!), whatmore 4060Ti was so underwhelming that its launch didnt push further down the 3060Ti price. If you have the money, dont think just buy now as 12th gen & RTX30series will be phased out of market soon and replaced by more newer but costlier replacements.purpose of build is for some gaming like fifa, genshin, documentation, youtube. is the quoted price and spec good? tq i5 12400F - 680 MSI b660m A wifi - 630 KC3000 - 340 Zotac 3060 TI - 1650 Kingston fury beast 8GB x2 - 178 Cooler mAster v650 gold (white) - 480 (is black version cheaper?) Invasion GX900 (4 fans) - 150 total - 4108 |
Jun 14 2023, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jun 13 2023, 08:03 AM) Thanks. Would like to ask, like PNY comparing to other big player i.e Asus, Palit, Zotac, besides some benchmark difference, any other significant difference ? Palit, PNY, Gainward are from the same company leh. Zotac is oso same B tier level AIB so no different leh. Choose whichever is cheapest or looks/RGB that you like. Asus is on another level but overprice if you dont OCFor HyperX Fury, which model is the one that quoted by yourself RM 792 ? and just curios how is it compare to Tridentz ? Is it significant when comes to gaming to fork out almost double the price ? I don't have any specific requirement as long as it can run and works Curious to know why Igame RTX ya ? myway1985 liked this post
Jun 18 2023, 11:05 PM
Jun 19 2023, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jun 19 2023, 01:01 PM) It is the norm bcoz, WE (the global consumers), let it happen. Look what AMD did when market survey for the RX7600 found it will not be hot if launched at its original price ($299). Even after that it was still too high and many are shooting for it to drop down to $250. |
Jun 22 2023, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jun 22 2023, 09:37 AM) Yes, why not. 12/13 Gen scales well with memory speeds & latencies. Unless ur running memory heavy programs the best bang for buck is low latency 3600MHZ DDR4. As for DDR5, the higher speeds the better as it scales up to 7000+ but in games you wont see any diff from the best bang DDR4 above. |
Jun 24 2023, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(targon @ Jun 24 2023, 10:50 AM) Ddr 5 is the future. Get D5 if u can afford it. DDR5 is the future no doubt but right now it is a very expensive future. IMHO its still very early and will take more years to reach price/performance parity with DDR4.Cos it's fully required for new platforms beyond alder/raptors. There won't be any D4/D5 choices like now. U can reuse D5 them later. Prices have dropped across the board since launched. ATM cheapest 5200 DDR5 kits still has 70-90% premium over similar cheapest 3200 DDR4 kits at same size 32GB. Whats galling is except for bandwith intensive apps, others like gaming sees no significant difference in real world performance. A fast DDR4 kit with low latency priced the same as standard DDR5 will actually perform better in such situations so low end DDR5 sux. To really leverage on this new tech you need to go up and that means 6000+ and above speeds (for intel), this way it will start to outpace fastest DDR4 performance and if you want to add more RAM in future, lets say a 7000MHZ kit would have be affordable in 3 years time, then ur current 6000+ RAM wont badly hamper ur new ones unlike if you use those new with bog slow 5200 sticks. Right now with Intel 12/13/14 gen one still have a cheaper path to new hardware. |
Jun 25 2023, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jun 25 2023, 03:29 AM) Hi, if I want to build a pc which is similar to a macbook pro 14 inch with 10 core CPU, 16 core GPU, what should the build be like??? Comparing hardware across different platforms is difficult plus thats a lappie. If i were to say, the closest would be a system built with i5 13400 however that mac might be 10 Pcores while that i5 is 6Pcores+4Ecores RiriRuruRara liked this post
Jun 25 2023, 06:41 PM
Jun 25 2023, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(Christensen @ Jun 25 2023, 04:22 PM) Hi guys, been lost track on desktop spec for many years, need some advice here on a new gaming desktop (entry level, around 3-3.5k) RM 3.5k can be just enuff or very low spec depending on what you game... current spec: Processor: Intel i5 7400 Motherboard: Acer Veriton M2640 RAM: 2x4GB DDR4 Storage: 250GB SSD + 250GB HDD GPU: GTX 1060 3GB PSU: 600W Casing: ATX with Tempered glass WiFi: Yes Bluetooth: Yes Monitor: Samsung S22E450, 1680 x 1050 currently only playing 1 game on Steam: Super Mecha Champion how much should I place if selling the above desktop? looking to buy 1080p monitor as well, any recommendation? refurbished unit seems worth the price (RM200 +/-). also, buying new set from Aftershock or assembling the same spec by PC shop in lowyat is cheaper? how about reliability? Many thanks for your time! And even the best prebuilt PC from reputable shops will often have some weak parts hidden, ie lousy PSU or mobo, overpriced RAM, just to boost profits. Get the parts recommended here then go to a well stocked shop and insist you want exact these. Christensen liked this post
Jun 25 2023, 06:53 PM
| Change to: | 0.0620sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:08 PM |