13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

mbr
post Sep 5 2018, 01:19 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Sep 5 2018, 11:25 AM)
Hi I do check in Lazada but i found that there are a few price available. For example, ADATA XPG SX8200 240GB cost RM 282 while Samsung EVO 970 250GB cost RM 490. What is the different that cause it to have such high cost different? I am not sure which to choose.
Prices depend on model and features... amount of DRAM, types of memory, warranty, etc. Which to choose? If money is not a problem, go Samsung 970. Else read reviews online for individual models.
mbr
post Sep 5 2018, 10:53 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TheDeadlySins420 @ Sep 5 2018, 08:39 PM)
hi guys. anyone know where can i find PC assembly shop in kuching?
Most shops can do. Check out NTCT in OneTJ if you are considering mods.
mbr
post Sep 5 2018, 10:55 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 5 2018, 10:25 PM)
How to unplug it? Socket 939 cpu power cable.
May I suggest that you start a thread to ask for instructions? That way we can keep this thread on rig/part suggestions. biggrin.gif
mbr
post Sep 6 2018, 01:48 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Nando's @ Sep 6 2018, 01:44 PM)
Hi guys, may need your advise on the below specs for office use.

I3 8100
ASUS PRIME H310M-K SOCKET
G.SKILL AEGIS DDR4 2400MHZ 4GB
1TB BLUE HDD
VS 450
Normal Casing

Price given, within RM1.3k, is that ok?  Budget below RM1.5k icon_question.gif
Suggest 8GB RAM if working with files of over 10-20MB (will be within budget of 1.5k still)
or 16GB RAM if opening large files >50MB and many simultaneous tasks expected
mbr
post Sep 6 2018, 11:01 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TheDeadlySins420 @ Sep 6 2018, 10:47 PM)
hey, im seriously in dilemma right now. should i buy the parts first and wait for the gpu prices come down after RTX series released?
im scared hard to find stock

Kristal.S
You say you are in Kch, right? Actually prices not that much different so you might as well plan ahead... There will be no end to the waiting game... Wait for RTX, wait for navi, wait for intel 9th gen, wait for zen2 (not the 2400-2700), wait for ram to be cheap, etc...

If you have a spare gpu lying around, just use that first till you are comfortable with further investment. Things will always be cheaper if you dont mind playing with older gear, like i5-6500/ryzen 5-1600 and gtx1060.
mbr
post Sep 7 2018, 09:25 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Sep 7 2018, 07:55 AM)
Sorry to interrupt again. Just want to ask if the Asrock Fatal1ty H370 Performance and Asus ROG Strix H370-f which is a better and more durable board?

Also, if i use H370 board, can i buy the G.Skill Trident Z 3000 RAM? I didn't see any one selling the Trident Z RAM in 2666 clock speed.
Both are good brands. Check individual specs on types of capacitors, and component protection.

Using higher rated RAM will only run on the limits of what the board can support. Meaning it will run at 2666 or 2400, whichever the max setting supported. You could save some money with DDR4-2666 instead. Of couse, sometimes it MAY be supported but they have not updated the website. Try search online for people's experiences with those models.
mbr
post Sep 7 2018, 10:05 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Sep 7 2018, 09:50 AM)
Ok i will check on it. but how i know if the capacitor and component protection is good enough?
https://www.quora.com/What-truly-makes-a-mo...eliable-durable

Look around for other info till you are satisfied. Too much to read? Then just trust that main manufacturers do better jobs on higher priced models, and rely on warranty protection.
mbr
post Sep 8 2018, 09:31 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(n3w @ Sep 8 2018, 07:49 AM)
My motherboard is on pcie 2.0 while the graphic card you mentioned uses pcie 3.0. Would it affect performance?
No problems. It won't saturate pcie2
mbr
post Sep 12 2018, 11:16 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(TheDeadlySins420 @ Sep 11 2018, 01:31 PM)
Asus GTX 1070 TI Cerberus
There are lots of "deals" to be had in the garage section. However, no one can tell you if the deals are financially sound, considering risks of used hardware.

Always do this:
1. Is the part suitable for your needs? Specs and compatibility
2. Is the part affordable?
3. Is the deal a smooth one or nasty nego?

#1: Can discuss here on what you need.

#2: Decide if affordable... I do have my own matrix to help me guess whether the items are worth to get, but this is based on my own value perception, without solid references or proof.

In that sense, I would check for authencity (proof of purchase, online warranty check, etc) and card condition (card use in gaming or mining, settings used, duration of use, overclock or not, pics of part itself as well as pic of the part IN THE RIG if possible).

Then I would use the matrix to make a guess on probable value, then compare with seller's asking price.

Eg... for ASUS Cerberus 1070Ti, you check local stores for new prices maybe RM 2300-2500, then used for gaming only, and used about 8-9 months, then around 85% of the value, I would value it around RM1950-2100. But I would also check for other models, eg Galax 1070Ti can be had for around RM 1999 new as well... So consider against that...

Then if looks like it will serve the purpose for the next 3 years+, then check wallet if can manage the burn... if YES, then proceed to nego with seller

#3: In seller nego, check if they are friendly, and likely to assist in warranty claim should the shop be somewhere far from you. Ask about packaging and courier choices, and if all seems well, it would be easier to manage from there on.

For new items, we would suggest parts that are compatible and reasonably reliable. But we certainly cant assume the same for used part. So decide wisely! It is still your money smile.gif

This post has been edited by mbr: Sep 12 2018, 11:21 AM
mbr
post Sep 12 2018, 06:36 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ Sep 12 2018, 04:36 PM)
Hey sifus, need some opinion for my rig.

CPU: I5-3570
Ram: 8gb
GPU: AMD HD7950 3gb

Should I still stick to the platform by just upgrading the GPU? What's the best GPU to be used with this CPU without bottle-necking?

Playing PUBG is a pain in the ass even with settings set to mid - low (mostly low).
What is your current monitor resolution and what is the FPS that you are having now at current settings? And what is your expected outcome from the upgrade?

Eg... 1080p, from 50-54 FPS, want to reach 60-75fps?
mbr
post Sep 14 2018, 09:05 AM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Sep 13 2018, 09:51 AM)
Hi all,

I am looking for a budget FullHD IPS monitor for my desktop. I have narrowed all my options to two:

a) LG 22MK430H-B (RM349)
b) Viewsonic VA2419-sh (RM419)

Anyone has experience with either of these two monitors? Viewsonic is RM70 more expensive while being bigger screen but I am not too concerned about screen size.

Having compared the tech specs of these two, they are very similar, therefore I am more concerned about the out-of-factory screen calibration, reliability and warranty. At the moment I perceive LG to have better quality but I am not too sure, so I am here to get advises from the experienced ones.

Which option would you go for?

Thanks in advance!  biggrin.gif
I have used Viewsonic for years and I think it is well established. My old 17inch is still working well, and currently using VA2719-SH as main monitor for work and games.
mbr
post Sep 14 2018, 08:03 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(benyolo @ Sep 14 2018, 04:41 PM)
[B][RM1500]
[Purpose] Office use i.e. Mic. Word, Access database, AI Software, adobe photoshop. Home Use: watching movies,
[Hardwares that will be re-use] TV
[Monitor resolution] 1080x1980
[Games & softwares that use frequently] Light gaming i.e. Nox emulator android games, dota 2, diablo 3
[Personal preferences] Using CPU i3 8100 (because for future planning to play shooting games). Wont be needing GPU now but maybe later when got budget, will utilise the integrated graphic for light gaming. But not sure if AI photo editing need GPU.
[Location] JB
I do appreciate if can get much cheaper option but still able to perform above. I want to upgrade step by step but still prioritize on my need i.e. quick fast booting PC. Storage is my second priority.
Suggestion: (Prices from Viewnet unless otherwise mentioned)
CPU Intel Core i3-8100: RM 449
Mboard: Asrock H310M-HDV: RM 249 (https://www.goldfries.com/hardware-reviews/asrock-h310m-hdv-review/)
RAM: Kingston DDR4-2400 8GBx1: RM 299
SSD: Apacer Panther AS340 240GB: RM 179 (https://www.tech-critter.com/apacer-as340-panther-240gb-ssd-review/)
PSU: Corsair VS 450W: RM159 (https://www.hardwareinsights.com/corsair-vs450-review/)
Case: Cooler Master Elite 343: RM 139 (Jayacom)

Total RM 1474

Kinda tight budget if you wanted the SSD...

Just get a reasonable keyboard and mouse combo

If you wanted to add a nice GPU sometime in the future, I suggest to increase budget and get the Superflower Leadex Silver 650W at RM319 (Jayacom)

This post has been edited by mbr: Sep 14 2018, 08:40 PM
mbr
post Sep 15 2018, 04:11 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Sien99 @ Sep 15 2018, 03:03 PM)
Hi all, need some suggestion for an itx rig.
Currently looking at this spec.

Proc: Ryzen 2700x
Mobo: itx b450 not sure whether can find or not.
Ram: need good suggestion.

Budget 2.5k

Or any other good suggestion? Need to be itx
Hi. It would be helpful to have further details on expected use, etc.
Follow template from first post please smile.gif
mbr
post Sep 15 2018, 06:39 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Davird @ Sep 15 2018, 05:31 PM)
Hi, Need a really good budget rig. My old Gigabyte GA-G41M-Combo has finally given up on me.

Need a rig for office (word, powerpoint excel) net surfing and very minor small fry level photoshop-ing.

Processor: I3/I5 or AMD
GPU: Don't need
Mobo: (with built in graphics)
hdd: wd blue 1tb
RAM: 8gb
PSU:
Case: (with slot for dvd writer)

budget RM1k.

Thanks in advance.
I am thinking...
Intel G5400: rm229
Asrock H310-hdv: rm249
Kingston d4-2400 8gb x1: rm299
WD 1TB HDD: Rm179

Price now is rm956 (viewnet)

Suggest to reuse PSU and casing from before. If you can reuse HDD, you could actually get an Apacer AS340 240gb SSD for same rm179.
mbr
post Sep 15 2018, 08:15 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Davird @ Sep 15 2018, 07:51 PM)
Thanks for the advice. my psu and hdd really needs to go as they are more than a decade old. figured that once the cpu goes, the rest are soon to follow. 
current Hdd is a weird Hitachi that has bad clusters in it and crystaldiskinfo has popped up a BIG Yellow critical alert. doh.gif  I can do without a ssd for now and just go with a HDD as i need the space for years of files.

I think your suggestion looks good and fits my needs.

Intel G5400: rm229
Asrock H310-hdv: rm249
Kingston d4-2400 8gb x1: rm299
WD 1TB HDD: Rm179

with the addition of '

CORSAIR vs450
Techware matx or cooler master elite 343
----- or i can just go with an avf with 500w psu case.

Do you think that this would do? it's a bit over budget, but i'm ok with going a couple of hundreds over.
That looks decent. You would want a reasonable PSU to protect your components and can support future upgrades.

If you want more savings, get a replacement for your G41 (old stock) and just get new HDD...
mbr
post Sep 16 2018, 01:53 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(jgamer @ Sep 16 2018, 01:33 PM)
Hi all, i need suggestion for matx desktop (without monitor and keyboard mouse)

[B][Budget] : 3.5k-4k

[Purpose] : surfing internet , streaming videos and gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] : None

[Monitor resolution] : mostly 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] : pc games

[Personal preferences] : None

[Location] : KL
Can advise which cpu to go for : AMD Ryzen 2600x or i5 8500?

Thank you.
At that budget, standard setup for gaming: i5-8400 with B360 mobo, 16gb ddr4-2400 (or 2666), gtx1060 6GB, 240gb ssd, hdd 1 or 2 TB, good psu 450-600W.

addition: Good monitor and peripherals, decent case and cooling smile.gif
mbr
post Sep 16 2018, 04:01 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(jgamer @ Sep 16 2018, 02:53 PM)
How about AMD Ryzen 2600x? The Ryzen cpu seems to be able multitask better with more threads. Any nice matx casing with dvd drive slot and cooling solution to recommend?
Ryzen 2600x is also good, but works best with speedy rams, which costs quite a bit more. The i5-8400 is no slouch with 6 threads, too, and intel has better IPC and works great for gaming, at a pretty good budget point. If you want lots more threads, and you think you will need them, then can definitely consider Ryzen. So, check out if the games you are interested in will benefit 8+ cores/threads.

I am feeling that Thermaltake Versa H25 is quite good at its price (around RM 140-170), with adequate space for mounting rads if you want to try AIO and simple water cooling.
https://www.goldfries.com/hardware-reviews/...-casing-review/
mbr
post Sep 16 2018, 05:33 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(earshore @ Sep 16 2018, 03:37 PM)
[Budget]
2000-2500

[Purpose]
New CPU for basic computing purposes
Internet, Streaming Video, Microsoft Office
To operate in high temperature environment with minimal maintenance

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse, SSD

[Monitor resolution]
1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Microsoft Office - Word, Excel, Power Point
Adobe Reader
Internet Explorer
Google Chrome

[Personal preferences]
Prefer i5 or AMD Ryzen
Power saving, eco.
Reduced heat emission.

[Location]
KL
Basic computing does not need i5 smile.gif

CPU Intel G5400 (230)
Motherboard H310 (280)
RAM kingston DDR4-2133 or 2400, 8GBx1 (300)
SSD Optional
HDD 1 or 2 TB (180-250)
PSU 350-500W (180-250)
Cooler: Stock
Casing (150-250)

Total RM1300 to 1600 (roughly based on Viewnet pricing)

If expecting heavy office work, can opt for i3-8100 (add rm 220) and 16GB DDR4 (add rm300),

This post has been edited by mbr: Sep 16 2018, 05:34 PM
mbr
post Sep 16 2018, 07:58 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Leroi2x @ Sep 16 2018, 04:47 PM)
[B][Budget] 2.5k-3k

[Purpose] play games ,download movie

[Hardwares that will be re-use] maybe hd7850 in consider

[Monitor resolution] 1980 x 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] dota 2

[Personal preferences]

[Location] kl
Recommendation at that price point:

CPU Intel i3-8100 (450)
Motherboard: B360 chipset (370)
RAM DDR4-2400 or 2666, 8gb x1 (300)
GPU Reuse 7850
SSD SATA 240GB (220-240)
HDD 2 TB (250)
PSU 400-550W (200-350)
Cooler Stock
Casing (200-350)

Total RM 2000-2400 (estimated based on Viewnet pricing)

Further upgrades:
Add GTX1060 6GB (RM1200)
Add another 8GB DDR4 (RM300)
Change CPU to i5-8400 (RM750)
mbr
post Sep 16 2018, 08:55 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Leroi2x @ Sep 16 2018, 08:13 PM)
Sorry ,casing also use back

Thinking of should go for i5 or ryzen
As price not much diff but ghz better?
Whats ur opinion should go for i5 8400 or ryzen 5 2600?
If casing reuse, you could get a gtx1060 6GB and the 16gb ram, reselling your 7850 to recoup some costs

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0437sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:00 AM