4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

Current Events guy
post Jul 31 2019, 05:08 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jul 31 2019, 04:57 PM)
Go for SX8200 Pro 250GB NVMe SSD for around the same price. Much better performance. The rest looks good.

If its for home use, get cheap Window 10 and MS Office keys from Shopee. Around RM5 each.
Thanks for the recommendation, can PM me a seller if you have anyone in mind for the keys?

Current Events guy
post Aug 3 2019, 12:14 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 2 2019, 02:22 PM)
Yo, so maybe ill do it at gtx solution

https://gtxsolution.page.link/CZ1W

Can check the build ok?
I just put put put only
Pls advise sifu
Get the AMP edition of the Zotac 2060 card.

Also, ask them to flash bios for your mobo.
If not you cant use your CPU on that board.
Current Events guy
post Aug 3 2019, 09:56 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 3 2019, 12:18 AM)
If i may ask
Why AMP edition?
Also what does AMP means and what does it do?
And also i need to ask the to manually adjust the fan curve?
Is the casing or chassis good enough?

Btw is zotac better than galax?

Cc: Kristal.S
AMP editions have preset overclock, it's a faster card. This particular card has good reviews from reputable sites and users. With a 5 year warranty, you cant go wrong. That being said, there isn't anything bad about your current card that you chose.

I cant say anything on Galax even though it does get recommended here a lot.

Your casing is fine. If you want to consider something else, there's the Silverstone Redline R07 which has decent airflow but can be even better with after market casing fans. That would add at least RM100 for the case to your budget though.

If your budget is tight then I'd just spend any extra money I have on performance than aesthetics.

Current Events guy
post Aug 5 2019, 09:27 AM

966 posts

Does E tech have a price list or do I have to look at items one by one in their lazada store?
Current Events guy
post Aug 5 2019, 10:23 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 5 2019, 10:02 AM)
Dont think they have. Can browse by categories through their Lelong page: https://www.lelong.com.my/store/easyit2u
Ah that's unfortunate.

Need to make my own using excel then.

Thanks though.
Current Events guy
post Aug 8 2019, 08:55 AM

966 posts

So I went out to a physical store and bought the parts for a new PC, but they didnt have some parts I wanted so I improvised on the spot since I didnt feel like delaying much:

Here's my build:
Ryzen 5 3600 RM860
16 GB 3200 Mhz RAM Kingston hyper X RM449
AORUS X570 PRO WIFI RM1280
External ODD LG RM80
250 GB NVME XPG 8200 Pro RM200
2TB HDD Barracuda RM200
RTX 2060 ASUS ROG RM1750
27" viewsonic VX2758C RM900
650W EVGA Supernova RM449
Cooler master H500 RM435

Total RM6600
Total with win 10 pro, logitech Z313 speakers and kb+m combo is RM6750

Will get a table later but definitely not getting a printer.

Anyone know a good guide for adjusting fan curves or other UEFI/Bios settings? This is my first PC build in 10 years as well as my first Ryzen rig so I'm not familiar with what BIOS options are like these days.
Current Events guy
post Aug 8 2019, 09:41 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 8 2019, 09:16 AM)
Could've been better when there is no overpriced parts.

Look for "Load Optimized Defaults". For the fan curve, just set it to normal for the fan curve. Unless it is noisy, there is "Silent" settings.
While I was at the store, I quickly built the rig online using E tech lazada prices and compared to retail price lists online. I figured online retailers would have competitive pricing but the total I got from E Tech was RM6785 for the PC alone, excluding shipping. That made me think that the store prices were acceptable, short of buying parts from multiple sellers.

Thanks for the info, I'll take a look at that later.
Also, I read that I need to disable AMD cool and quiet but I cant seem to find it. Any idea where aorus/GB would store that option? I couldn't find anything by doing a search on the mobo online manual.
Current Events guy
post Aug 8 2019, 09:55 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 8 2019, 09:47 AM)
Running Ryzen 5 3600 with super expensive overkill motherboard though. Could've been Ryzen 7 3700X and X470 or B450.

Don't need to disable cool and quiet. I got two AMD Ryzen rigs. I got no issue with the noise as well. I could tolerate a bit of noise though.
Yeah I was initially considering a zen+ with a B450 but then I decided to get a zen 2 instead. I chose to pair it with an X570 because I didnt want to deal with the issues I read online when it came to using zen 2 on older boards. Unfortunately the mobo was one of those things I wanted but they didnt have it in stock so I ended up with the Aorus Pro. Also, why 3700X if it's just to be used for admin work and gaming?

I was under the impression that disabling cool and quiet was to primarily prevent drops in FPS, and noise was an acceptable byproduct by disabling it.
Current Events guy
post Aug 8 2019, 05:11 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Aug 8 2019, 10:25 AM)

B450 tomahawk a bit concern with the ongoing bios booting issues doh.gif

Good x570 boards are plenty, it's up to what your budget allows

https://i.redd.it/58am663beh931.png

Good b450 boards are set in stone at this point

https://i.redd.it/7n48gewun0p21.png

On your concern regarding bios failures, if you're gonna buy it from the store, they can help with you flashing the bios. Stores also provide post sales assistance, especially if you still have problems in a week since purchase. I'm sure in a months time, the BIOS for last years boards will be updated further, reducing the likelihood of you facing this problem in the future.

I just assembled over a couple days ago and I went with an X570 aorus pro. Some review sites gave it good scores, other users said that the board was dead on arrival. Mine is working fine.

QUOTE(choonyink @ Aug 8 2019, 12:42 PM)
Hi Sifu, can comment on the build below? Solely for gaming and admin work only.

2)
I'm using a SaTA SSD is my current old rig, I find it still plenty fast for OS and Microsoft work loads.

3) Any recommendation on a good 750W gold rated and fully modular PSU? Superflower is not cheap and not always have stocks.

4)
Should I wait for AIB 5700XT? Will it be much more expensive when it comes AIB cards? I don't mind waiting though if the price is going to be around RM2K for AIB 5700XT.
2. I thought about putting games on M.2 SSDs for my rig too but I asked myself if it was neccessary. It wasn't going to make the games more fun and current load times on my drive aren't that bad, so i dropped the idea and just got an NVME for the OS and a classic 7200 HDD for versatility. At the very least, the money I put aside for a second NVME can be put towards games instead, which is one main reason that I built my rig in the first place.

3. Super flower 650W models are in demand, 750W are in higher stock. I went with a EVGA just because they were out of 650W superpowers and the 750W was just too much power that I didnt need although it was only RM20 more.

4. I think the 3rd party 5700s are coming out by end of next week and should arrive here before end of august. I think there's gonna be multiple models across a wide price spectrum. Hopefully galax and Zotac release their variant, those are gonna be close to reference cards, followed by MSi, sapphire, giga and asus
Current Events guy
post Aug 8 2019, 09:53 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Aug 8 2019, 08:54 PM)
so basically any mobo will do as logn as new bios is flashed?
don think i wan to go to x570. So u still think i should opt for b450 tomahawk? Any x470 i can look for other than b450 tomahawk?
The tomahawk is a good choice. The people here love steel legend, so you can consider that.
Current Events guy
post Aug 9 2019, 05:18 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 9 2019, 04:18 PM)
Yes

Any monitor to recommend
I just bought a VX2758-C-MH for RM900.

If you want a 24", can also go for XL2411P for RM1000 or VX2458 for RM600.

These are 144 hz monitors.

Since your rig is capable of playing at 144hz, I recommend you look into the models I listed.
Current Events guy
post Aug 9 2019, 07:17 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 9 2019, 06:20 PM)
Why not ips monitor
I bought the above based on reviews, havent found one ips 144 in my price range so I cant recommend.
Current Events guy
post Aug 10 2019, 03:00 PM

966 posts

I'm interested in building an ITX using the Node 202.

What's a good CPU cooler that is easily obtainable locally for an AMD rig?

I'd like to avoid modifying the case
Current Events guy
post Aug 11 2019, 07:40 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 8 2019, 08:55 AM)

So I went out to a physical store and bought the parts for a new PC, but they didnt have some parts I wanted so I improvised on the spot since I didnt feel like delaying much:

Here's my build:
Ryzen 5 3600 RM860
16 GB 3200 Mhz RAM Kingston hyper X RM449
AORUS X570 PRO WIFI RM1280
External ODD LG RM80
250 GB NVME XPG 8200 Pro RM200
2TB HDD Barracuda RM200
RTX 2060 ASUS ROG RM1750
27" viewsonic VX2758C RM900
650W EVGA Supernova RM449
Cooler master H500 RM435

Total RM6600
Total with win 10 pro, logitech Z313 speakers and kb+m combo is RM6750

Will get a table later but definitely not getting a printer.

Anyone know a good guide for adjusting fan curves or other UEFI/Bios settings? This is my first PC build in 10 years as well as my first Ryzen rig so I'm not familiar with what BIOS options are like these days.
So I finally got cable management done yesterday, some comments on what to improve is welcomed.

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Aug 11 2019, 07:41 PM
Current Events guy
post Aug 11 2019, 08:20 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(derthvadar @ Aug 11 2019, 07:59 PM)
Nice and clean build.
Thanks, took me a really long time since it's been a while but I'm open to suggestions on improvement.

I just stopped because it was late and I was sleepy.
Current Events guy
post Aug 11 2019, 09:31 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Aug 11 2019, 09:19 PM)
What makes you decide to go with such an expensive mobo?

For adjusting fan curves, see what is your system idle and short spike temp, then adjust the fan so that at such temp range the fan does not spin too fast until too loud.
Based on your mobo picture you should put the ram at socket A2 & B2 to get dual channel.

Can add one or two fans on top to improve air flow.

When you tired with the high cpu temp when full load, can change the cooler with after market.
Mobo: I wanted one that had onboard wifi. the cheaper ones I was looking for was sold out.
At the same time I wanted to build a rig with Zen 2, and didnt want to deal with issues related to using that CPU on B450/X470.

Fan curve:
Thanks for the tip.
I took a look at the smart fan in the bios, looks like it runs at 40% around the idle temp.
I havent noticed any noise so far, thanks in part to the 200mm fans.

RAM:
Yeah I've swapped A2 to B1 this morning.
Good catch.

Fans:
I'm probably gonna get the NH-DH15S for the cooler later, and whatever I noctuas I can find for the top slots.
I wish there was a shop that just had noctuas in stock, but AIOs are what's in these days unfortunately.
Current Events guy
post Aug 12 2019, 10:47 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 12 2019, 08:17 AM)
wei next time before you build invite me
I want to learn how to build at least I understand
in the future can build on my own lelz
The only difference is I assembled my own and you got someone else to put it together. You were still the one that selected all the components, so you probably know more about building a PC than you think.

Also, I noticed you got the Zotac Amp version of RTX 2060. Dont forget to claim your free copy of youngblood and control before Aug 18.

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Aug 12 2019, 10:48 AM
Current Events guy
post Aug 12 2019, 11:48 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 12 2019, 11:02 AM)
Where to claim that?
Also damn now u mention it i forgot to extend the warranty

Btw i didnt know lah
Kristal picked up thr components for me
But i humbly and honestly want to learn from someone to build pc
Check out this LINK

Scroll all the way down to "How to redeem the game" and click that then enter your details.

My card is an ASUS and I got the free games right after sending in the details last night, no waiting necessary.

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 12 2019, 11:42 AM)
get a black cable tie
Yeah, white was all I had on me at the moment.

With white ties though, it's a better indicator as to where the ties are.

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Aug 12 2019, 11:58 AM
Current Events guy
post Aug 12 2019, 04:51 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 12 2019, 01:32 PM)
Thank you so much bro
It is two different games right?
Yes, you get
1. Wolfenstein: youngblood from Bethesda store. You can download and play right away using the bethesda launcher.

2. Control: from Epic store. You can redeem first but you cannot play until August 27 when the game launches.
Current Events guy
post Aug 12 2019, 05:53 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Aug 12 2019, 05:21 PM)
Sounds good.
Online game?
Yeah can play online with 1 more friend.

Can also play with bot

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0422sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:36 AM