1384 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

TristanX
post Jun 30 2017, 01:58 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(playstan211 @ Jun 30 2017, 01:20 PM)
hi all, pls advice on this built. is it good? is it future proof for another 2-3 years?
CPU  Gigabyte AB350 Gamin 3 + RYZEN 1600
GPU Gigabyte N 1080 G1 Gaming 8GB
RAM Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 (Kit of2)
STORAGE Samsung 960 EVO 500GB 
POWER UNIT EVGA G3 Full Mod 750W Gold
CASING Phanteks P400 tempered glass
Yes, Ryzen 7 1700 would last even more if you can afford it.

QUOTE(Alex@ @ Jun 30 2017, 01:46 PM)
Hi all sifus,
I'm considering to build gaming rig as below. Mainly for some AAA titles like Skyrim, GTA V, etc in 1080p.

Intel I5 7500. Rm899
Gigabyte GA-B250 Gaming 3 Rm499
G.Skill AEGIS 16gb DDR4 Rm569
FSP 600W 80+ Bronze Rm329
Sharkoon DG7000 Rm 349
Samsung Evo ssd 250gb Rm509

I have GTX1050ti bought not long ago for this rig and might upgrade to 1060 in future. Any further advice for me?
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 is better bang for the buck. Current Intel prices are not worth it.
Alex@
post Jun 30 2017, 02:17 PM

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 30 2017, 01:58 PM)
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 is better bang for the buck. Current Intel prices are not worth it.
Thanks for replying. So I need to switch mobo to ryzen mobo right?
TristanX
post Jun 30 2017, 02:52 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Alex@ @ Jun 30 2017, 02:17 PM)
Thanks for replying. So I need to switch mobo to ryzen mobo right?
Yeah, like Asus Prime B350M-A, MSI B350M Mortar, Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
SnaCkxZ
post Jun 30 2017, 03:12 PM

61 posts

I was quoted around 3.4k for spec as below. need advice if I should request for any changes and if the price is reasonable as the total seems like slightly more expensive than buying them individually. (feel like assembling myself but cable management is a headache ohmy.gif )

Ryzen 5 1600
MSI B350 Pro VDG
8gb DDR4 2400
PNY 256 GB SSD
Zotac 1050Ti OC 4gb (not sure if I should change to 1060 6gb)
FSP HyperK 500W 80+ White
Segotep K8

rifrif345
post Jun 30 2017, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 30 2017, 12:36 PM)
You may want to wait for graphic card upgrade. GTX 1060 prices skyrocketing.

For the CPU, look for second hand i7-4770 or i7-4790.
bro, is it okay if i get new cpu like new i7 kaby lake + new mobo + gtx 1060 because my current pc got no feel high performance la haha. I'm not a fan of buying second hand item unless I know the person really takes care of his/her item.
TristanX
post Jun 30 2017, 03:36 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(rifrif345 @ Jun 30 2017, 03:32 PM)
bro, is it okay if i get new cpu like new i7 kaby lake + new mobo + gtx 1060 because my current pc got no feel high performance la haha. I'm not a fan of buying second hand item unless I know the person really takes care of his/her item.
That's up to you. Those second hand non-OC CPUs are quite safe.
R3b0rn
post Jun 30 2017, 03:44 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(playstan211 @ Jun 30 2017, 01:20 PM)
hi all, pls advice on this built. is it good? is it future proof for another 2-3 years?
CPU  Gigabyte AB350 Gamin 3 + RYZEN 1600
GPU Gigabyte N 1080 G1 Gaming 8GB
RAM Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 (Kit of2)
STORAGE Samsung 960 EVO 500GB 
POWER UNIT EVGA G3 Full Mod 750W Gold
CASING Phanteks P400 tempered glass
For ram I suggest you check with the QVL before purchase.

You can tone down the PSU for like 650W ones.

Yes it's a good buy for a ryzen 5 smile.gif
playstan211
post Jun 30 2017, 03:52 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 30 2017, 01:58 PM)
QUOTE(R3b0rn @ Jun 30 2017, 03:44 PM)
For ram I suggest you check with the QVL before purchase.

You can tone down the PSU for like 650W ones.

Yes it's a good buy for a ryzen 5 smile.gif
Sorry what is QVL? Can 650w support OC?
terence_nwb
post Jun 30 2017, 04:43 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ Jun 30 2017, 12:24 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion. Just want to ask regarding some of the parts as maybe I can top up a bit. Atleast another RM1k.

Segotep K7 - Does it have good airflow ? This one fully tempered glass right ? any problem using such case ? Or any other casing within similar budget

Superflower Leadex Gold 550W vs 750w Corsair cx750 = Which one is better ?

Asus strix b250 - This motherboard good for the new setup?

i5 7400 vs i5 7500 vs Ryzen 5 1400 : I know Ryzen will perform better, do AMD CPU's still have heating issues ? Is it worth to get i5 7500 instead of i5 7400 ?
Tempered glass casing doesn't affect airflow, it's more towards aesthetic purpose, more and more big brands are releasing their own tempered glass casing nowadays and if you would like to jump on the bandwagon but have limited amount of budget then K7 is among the cheapest option out there. If you aren't fancy of tempered glass then there are plenty of other casings to choose from within your budget like NZXT S340/Corsair 270R/CM Masterbox 5 etc. smile.gif

As for the PSU, no doubt it's gonna be Leadex Gold, it is a tier 1 PSU, the Corsair CX series is barely considered as a good PSU (tier 5 with expensive price tag doh.gif ), another option that you can consider is EVGA G2 (obsoleted)/G3 (new).

Strix B250 is more towards aesthetic as it comes with some fancy features like RGB support to sync up the RGB fans in your casing, you can save a couple of bucks by going for a cheaper B250 if you aren't going to utilize those extra features by the Strix B250 model and use the money for other parts.

Ryzen is good so far, it's a complete new process node and architecture. i5 7500's clock speed is slightly higher than 7400, if clock speed is important for you (single threaded apps which rely on single core performance will perform better on a CPU with higher clock speed), then yep I would top up for the 7500.

QUOTE(Legendary Big Boss @ Jun 30 2017, 01:56 AM)
If full ATX mobo,how much do i need to topup?

btw if im opted for mobo GIGABYTE GA-AB350M-Gaming 3 is it cool? because i was thinking of making red&black theme.

For CPU, should i fork abit for 1500/1600 or 1400 is sufficient enough because i really expecting of getting at least 30% upgrade in performance from i5 4460.
AM4 ATX mobo starts at around RM 550, another model that you can consider is Asus B350 Prime, red & black board design as well.

Ryzen 5 1400 is like an i7, so 30% performance improvement should be easy to achieve, but if you don't mind adding another RM 200, Ryzen 5 1600 is a good pick (6 cores 12 threads), more powerful and a great leap from your current i5 thumbsup.gif
R3b0rn
post Jun 30 2017, 05:14 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(playstan211 @ Jun 30 2017, 03:52 PM)

Sorry what is QVL? Can 650w support OC?
650W is enough for all your OC needs.

Support RAM on this mobo : http://download.gigabyte.asia/FileList/Mem...350-gaming3.pdf << thats QVL for RAM since Ryzen is very sensitive towards RAM requirement. So just check first before complaining the SPD ram is not following the spec sheet smile.gif
R3b0rn
post Jun 30 2017, 05:17 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(SnaCkxZ @ Jun 30 2017, 03:12 PM)
I was quoted around 3.4k for spec as below. need advice if I should request for any changes and if the price is reasonable as the total seems like slightly more expensive than buying them individually. (feel like assembling myself but cable management is a headache  ohmy.gif )

Ryzen 5 1600
MSI B350 Pro VDG
8gb DDR4 2400
PNY 256 GB SSD
Zotac 1050Ti OC 4gb (not sure if I should change to 1060 6gb)
FSP HyperK 500W 80+ White
Segotep K8
May I know which shop you base from? Because, that price point you can get slightly better parts :3
Just my 2 cents
playstan211
post Jun 30 2017, 05:33 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(R3b0rn @ Jun 30 2017, 05:14 PM)
650W is enough for all your OC needs.

Support RAM on this mobo : http://download.gigabyte.asia/FileList/Mem...350-gaming3.pdf  << thats QVL for RAM since Ryzen is very sensitive towards RAM requirement. So just check first before complaining the SPD ram is not following the spec sheet smile.gif
I didn't know that . Thks for the advise
SnaCkxZ
post Jun 30 2017, 06:33 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(R3b0rn @ Jun 30 2017, 06:17 PM)
May I know which shop you base from? Because, that price point you can get slightly better parts :3
Just my 2 cents
im kinda aware of that but not really sure whats the best model to buy for parts like mobo, ram, psu & ssd. thats why did not rush for it so that i wont regrett later laugh.gif
initially wanted to upgrade proc, mobo and ram only but decided to build a new rig instead.

as for casing, i feel like buying a better looking 1 since just need to fork out a bit more
Ebony & Ivory
post Jun 30 2017, 07:53 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jun 30 2017, 09:28 AM)
How's ryzen's performance? didn't really look into it but seems like the series has been quite a challenge to intel?

ryzen 1600 + gigabyte ab350m -gaming 3? don't really plan to sli.
ryzen is having good performance, and the am4 platform is become more mature and better with each bios update and optimization from developer.

ryzen 1600 + gigabyte ab350m -gaming 3, look fine. smile.gif

amy test
post Jul 1 2017, 10:36 AM

378 posts

[Budget]
~5000+

[Purpose]
- Gaming, media streaming. Centre monitor for game, side monitor(s) for browsing/youtube/walkthroughs.
- Will upgrade to triple monitor setup later.

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
- BenQ RL2455HM as a side monitor, Thrustmaster wheel.

[Monitor resolution]
- 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
- Planning to play DiRT Rally, Euro Truck Simulator, MGS V, strategy/sim games (Civ/AOE/Sim City/Football Manager/etc), Witcher 3. No AAA games later than 2015 (except Witcher 3).
- Dolphin emulator
- PC will become server to stream movies/music to nearby devices. Going to use Kodi, Plex, Spotify
- Exact Audio Copy

[Personal preferences]
- Not interested in overclocking (yet).
- Old games (2015 and earlier) at highest graphic settings. Hopefully can play Witcher 3 in a decent graphic setting possible without using overpriced GPU. As I'm just catching up playing older PC games, maybe I won't need a powerful GPU yet I guess.
- Not sure if triple monitor gaming will still require the overpriced GPUs. If it does, I'll use one main monitor for gaming and one side monitor for walkthroughs first and upgrade later.
- Bluray drive to watch movies and rip music CDs.
- SSD for boot, large storage for media
- will connect the PC to an AV receiver for 5.1 sound.

[Location]
-Perak

Please suggest a build for me (with an okay-ish GPU, maybe for use with 1 or 2 monitors first), with ability to expand to a triple monitor setup with more powerful GPU later (different budget) once GPU price goes down.
TristanX
post Jul 1 2017, 12:40 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(amy test @ Jul 1 2017, 10:36 AM)
[Budget]
~5000+

[Purpose]
- Gaming, media streaming. Centre monitor for game, side monitor(s) for browsing/youtube/walkthroughs.
- Will upgrade to triple monitor setup later.

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
- BenQ RL2455HM as a side monitor, Thrustmaster wheel.

[Monitor resolution]
- 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
- Planning to play DiRT Rally, Euro Truck Simulator, MGS V, strategy/sim games (Civ/AOE/Sim City/Football Manager/etc), Witcher 3. No AAA games later than 2015 (except Witcher 3).
- Dolphin emulator
- PC will become server to stream movies/music to nearby devices. Going to use Kodi, Plex, Spotify
- Exact Audio Copy

[Personal preferences]
- Not interested in overclocking (yet).
- Old games (2015 and earlier) at highest graphic settings. Hopefully can play Witcher 3 in a decent graphic setting possible without using overpriced GPU. As I'm just catching up playing older PC games, maybe I won't need a powerful GPU yet I guess.
- Not sure if triple monitor gaming will still require the overpriced GPUs. If it does, I'll use one main monitor for gaming and one side monitor for walkthroughs first and upgrade later.
- Bluray drive to watch movies and rip music CDs.
- SSD for boot, large storage for media
- will connect the PC to an AV receiver for 5.1 sound.

[Location]
-Perak

Please suggest a build for me (with an okay-ish GPU, maybe for use with 1 or 2 monitors first), with ability to expand to a triple monitor setup with more powerful GPU later (different budget) once GPU price goes down.
How about these?

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 990
Asus Prime B350M-A - 445
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 X1 - 260
Galax GTX 1050 Ti 4GB DDR5 EXOC - 749
Kingston UV400 120GB - 239
WD Black 2TB - 588
Asus Blu-ray writer - 399 (estimated)
Super Flower Leadex Silver 550W - 359
Tecware Edge case - 169
LG 24MP68VQ 24" monitor - 583

RM4911 total (C-Zone prices)

Legendary Big Boss
post Jul 1 2017, 12:52 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jun 30 2017, 04:43 PM)
Tempered glass casing doesn't affect airflow, it's more towards aesthetic purpose, more and more big brands are releasing their own tempered glass casing nowadays and if you would like to jump on the bandwagon but have limited amount of budget then K7 is among the cheapest option out there. If you aren't fancy of tempered glass then there are plenty of other casings to choose from within your budget like NZXT S340/Corsair 270R/CM Masterbox 5 etc.  smile.gif

As for the PSU, no doubt it's gonna be Leadex Gold, it is a tier 1 PSU, the Corsair CX series is barely considered as a good PSU (tier 5 with expensive price tag  doh.gif ), another option that you can consider is EVGA G2 (obsoleted)/G3 (new).

Strix B250 is more towards aesthetic as it comes with some fancy features like RGB support to sync up the RGB fans in your casing, you can save a couple of bucks by going for a cheaper B250 if you aren't going to utilize those extra features by the Strix B250 model and use the money for other parts.

Ryzen is good so far, it's a complete new process node and architecture. i5 7500's clock speed is slightly higher than 7400, if clock speed is important for you (single threaded apps which rely on single core performance will perform better on a CPU with higher clock speed), then yep I would top up for the 7500.
AM4 ATX mobo starts at around RM 550, another model that you can consider is Asus B350 Prime, red & black board design as well.

Ryzen 5 1400 is like an i7, so 30% performance improvement should be easy to achieve, but if you don't mind adding another RM 200, Ryzen 5 1600 is a good pick (6 cores 12 threads), more powerful and a great leap from your current i5  thumbsup.gif
Thanks again bro for the tips given.

Can I know is there any alternatives for Super Flower Leadex Gold 550W Full Modular PSU? I couldnt find 1 near my place and I'm planning to Overclock the Ryzen 1500X alongside GTX 1060.

What PSU would u suggest?

Here some i already shortlisted is it okay for OC?

SilverStone ST60F-ESG Strider Essential Series 600W Power Supply Unit - 80 Plus Gold
CORSAIR TX650M — 650 Watt 80 Plus® Gold Certified PSU
CORSAIR TX550M 550 Watt 80 Plus® Gold Certified PS

This post has been edited by Legendary Big Boss: Jul 1 2017, 02:29 PM
terence_nwb
post Jul 1 2017, 03:15 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Legendary Big Boss @ Jul 1 2017, 12:52 PM)
Thanks again bro for the tips given.

Can I know is there any alternatives for Super Flower Leadex Gold 550W Full Modular PSU? I couldnt find 1 near my place and I'm planning to Overclock the Ryzen 1500X alongside GTX 1060.

What PSU would u suggest?

Here some i already shortlisted is it okay for OC?

SilverStone ST60F-ESG Strider Essential Series 600W Power Supply Unit - 80 Plus Gold
CORSAIR TX650M — 650 Watt 80 Plus® Gold Certified PSU
CORSAIR TX550M 550 Watt 80 Plus® Gold Certified PS
If you want to keep the level/grade of Leadex Gold which is a tier 1 PSU, then you will have to look for EVGA G3, CM V series (not VSM), Corsair HX, RMx, RMi etc, G3's price is closest to Leadex Gold's price.

All the PSU listed by you are okay for overclocking, the internal components that build up the whole PSU matter the most, it is recommended to fork out more budget on a decent quality PSU for stability purpose.

FYI,

SilverStone Strider Essential - tier 6
Corsair TXM - tier 2
amy test
post Jul 1 2017, 04:42 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 1 2017, 12:40 PM)
How about these?

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 990
Asus Prime B350M-A - 445
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 X1 - 260
Galax GTX 1050 Ti 4GB DDR5 EXOC - 749
Kingston UV400 120GB - 239
WD Black 2TB - 588
Asus Blu-ray writer - 399 (estimated)
Super Flower Leadex Silver 550W - 359
Tecware Edge case - 169
LG 24MP68VQ 24" monitor - 583

RM4911 total (C-Zone prices)
Thanks for your suggestion.
If I want to go for triple monitor setup later, do I just have to change the GPU only and add the monitors needed?
Do I need two GPUs or just one is enough?
Legendary Big Boss
post Jul 1 2017, 05:02 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 1 2017, 03:15 PM)
If you want to keep the level/grade of Leadex Gold which is a tier 1 PSU, then you will have to look for EVGA G3, CM V series (not VSM), Corsair HX, RMx, RMi etc, G3's price is closest to Leadex Gold's price.

All the PSU listed by you are okay for overclocking, the internal components that build up the whole PSU matter the most, it is recommended to fork out more budget on a decent quality PSU for stability purpose.

FYI,

SilverStone Strider Essential - tier 6
Corsair TXM - tier 2
Thanks again bro.

btw what does UK means in this product? Does it use UK power cable?

http://www.lazada.com.my/corsair-tx650m-65...FT&ff=1&sc=EXU=

1384 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:11 PM