76 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

babylon52281
post Sep 12 2025, 04:53 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(Zarak @ Sep 12 2025, 04:27 PM)
Any reco on the SSD i should get?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=112127311
babylon52281
post Sep 13 2025, 10:34 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(jwgs0010 @ Sep 13 2025, 05:04 PM)
I read that MSI B650M GAMING PLUS WIFI having problems, is it firmware issues?
What problems? Sauce plox?
babylon52281
post Sep 15 2025, 12:05 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(jwgs0010 @ Sep 13 2025, 11:38 PM)
I see more likely is Ryzen Agesa instabilities in certain bios, a known issue that AMD has lesser stability than Intel. That video talked about his problems but didnt actually show it, so its a 'trust me bro' without showing proof.
babylon52281
post Sep 15 2025, 12:10 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 14 2025, 08:34 AM)
No, game performance issues are often a self created problem by the consumers - I don't know where it came from, but there is a weird stigma that PC gaming = run every games at max settings and complain on the Internet that the game is terribly optimized  sweat.gif
I really wish more people understands PC graphic settings a bit better sweat.gif
Lotsa big games gets released poorly optimised, hence needing high end GPU that requires >8 GB VRAM, which is why folks around keep hentam 8GB cards. But when a optimised game comes ie Clair Obscur or Metal Gear, you can comfortably still play with midrange 8GB GPUs.

Its not anybody in particular but game developers as whole that are at fault for us requiring such high specs GPU just to play their games. Also the fault of us consumers for expecting yearly releases of new COD but each is getting crappier than previous.
babylon52281
post Sep 15 2025, 11:56 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(jwgs0010 @ Sep 15 2025, 04:33 PM)
PROCESSOR: AMD AM5 RYZEN 7 7800X3D 4.2GHZ/5.0GHZ 100MB 8C/16T
MAINBOARD: MSI AMD AM5 B650 B650M GAMING PLUS WIFI
RAM: Acer Predator Pallas II 32GB (16*2) DDR5-6000 CL30
SSD: LEXAR NM790 M.2 2280 PCIe Gen4×4 NVMe SSD 2TB
Cooler: THERMALRIGHT Peerless Assassin 120 SE
Power supply: Corsair RM850X 80PLUS GOLD ATX3.1 PCIE5.0
Casing: LIAN LI LANCOOL 217 MID-TOWER
Total ~ 4k

GPU: 5070ti (3.5-4k)
Monitor: 27" 1440p (2-3k) mostly single player games / movie / reading texts

Ok o not, building the top part first, GPU waiting durian fall, monitor seeking recommendation. Thanks
Crap DRAMless SSD, instead go for DRAM type like S70 Blade, Legend 960 Max
babylon52281
post Sep 16 2025, 05:58 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(jwgs0010 @ Sep 16 2025, 01:52 PM)
KC3000 safe ya for now?
Do you feel lucky? I wouldnt touch it at this moment, and there are others just as good for similar price

QUOTE(jwgs0010 @ Sep 16 2025, 01:56 PM)
I din dig into the sound part, thanks
I thought its ok-ish comparable even dram-less, noted, thanks
For bootdrive its still better to go with DRAM type as it does lotsa file swapping & writes. Maxio based SSD are pretty good as storage units tho
babylon52281
post Sep 16 2025, 05:59 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 16 2025, 03:19 PM)
gaming plus wifi n A series.. all ALC897.. if u hv a cheapo speaker.. u sure suffer buzzing
Only if got quality 5.1/7.1 setup. Otherwise if using headphones theres no diff (also depends on headphones quality)
babylon52281
post Sep 17 2025, 12:47 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(jwgs0010 @ Sep 16 2025, 11:21 PM)
I 2.1 only...thanks for educating the pro term  notworthy.gif

Another noob question, how does warranty/rma work in general?
If I buy on shopee with physical store, mostly store will handle rma directly? I ask adata official store, said ship to them > ship to manufacturer to check > ship back eta 2-5 weeks for SSD.
Is it better to deal with brands that can rma with physical store or it doesnt matter since if any parts break down, rma take few weeks, pc canot use also unless buy replacement cry.gif
Buy all from 1 shop they can diagnose what is the real problem when bring whole PC back to them (this is why even buy online better if they have a real shop), you buy separate say you may find that its not a GPU problem but its PSU then you go thru RMA the GPU just to find it wasnt the problem then you wasted your time there.

And yes, RMA takes few weeks coz passing many hands.
babylon52281
post Sep 17 2025, 10:30 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(jwgs0010 @ Sep 17 2025, 09:36 AM)
What brand / product should be avoided for rma in msia?
A forumer recently had to wait months for his PNY GPU to RMA and back. But thats just from 1 user. Asus has infamy RMA process that wants to charge customers to repair other defects but not fix the main problem. And they will threaten to send back that item in disassembled pieces if you dont pay up.

Expensive or budget, there are no totally good brands when dealing with RMA (esp in Msia).
babylon52281
post Sep 17 2025, 12:11 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(jwgs0010 @ Sep 17 2025, 11:00 AM)
Think I read sun cycle distribute punya quite good rma
Sun cycle is main distro for many brands. Usually shops are resellers that gets their brand stocks from Suncycle (Asrock mobo, FSP PSU, Tgroup RAM, etc). Normally RMA you dont go thru main distro but seek out the shops you buy from instead, unless they close shop then you got reason to ask distro for help. But sometimes they might ask you go to another reseller/shop to process your RMA, so the whole thing isnt as straightforward here.
babylon52281
post Sep 22 2025, 09:44 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(clovercliff @ Sep 22 2025, 12:14 AM)
thanks, how about AMD? does it have comparable performance at cheaper price?
If used for productivity, stick with Intel. AM4 is not as stable as them and unless you have knowledge doing deep troubleshooting I wouldnt reco AM4 for those who never used AMD before.
babylon52281
post Sep 24 2025, 10:21 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 23 2025, 11:00 PM)
Out of topic, i don want open new thread, just browsing lazada notice some desktop like this, but why CPU is H, and use so dimm RAM?

Laptop spec make as desktop?
Slimline office PC are usually using laptop parts (H/HX sku CPU, Sodimm RAM, 2230 SSD) on OEM mobo with the CPU often being soldered to it. Lenovo not the only one; Dell Optiplex pun sama, HP pun sama. If you have in your shop go open it and see yourself.
babylon52281
post Sep 25 2025, 12:48 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 25 2025, 10:39 AM)
Acer Arc B580 at RM991.20.

https://my.shp.ee/vrRgjxr
Buying ARC now is worrying if they will even remain years down the line with Nvidia calling the shots. Neither does Intel have a solid track record of keeping old stuffs thats no longer produced supported (drivers).

At the least, Nvidia driver team has kept 10 yo hardware running with updates. And even if no longer officially supported, the chances of running on obsoleted Nvidia drivers successfully is far higher than AMD/Intel.
babylon52281
post Sep 25 2025, 06:53 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 25 2025, 12:57 PM)
Better than stupidly overpriced RTX 5050 8GB. 12GB will last longer than 8GB!

Nvidia already stopped updating GTX 10.
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Nvidia-confir....1048442.0.html
Not if Intel kills ARC and automatically obsoletes that B580. 7 years down the line, Im super duper confident that 5050 can still run latest games & apps, not so much the Intel GPUs future fate.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Sep 25 2025, 07:03 PM
babylon52281
post Sep 26 2025, 08:00 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 25 2025, 07:25 PM)
Highly doubt it. 7 years down the line very likely GPU is not powerful enough for any cards at this price anyway.

And Intel is hiring more GPU engineers....
https://www.techpowerup.com/341263/high-end...-more-engineers
I didnt say run smoothly (as if it can right now) but just being supported by the apps and drivers. When things are out of support crazy things can happen and to such owners theres no recourse as they wont be able to write compatible drivers themselves.

Intel hiring more engineers? What about the 20,000+ they just laid off? Hiring just to fire later isnt new. Wait until Jensen gets his grubby hands into Intel operations.
babylon52281
post Sep 26 2025, 08:16 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(StenCL @ Sep 26 2025, 07:23 PM)
Thank you for the tips!
Would you mind sharing some example parts or links for what you mentioned?
I’m not very experienced, so if I just search by name I worry I might buy something that doesn’t fit.
Especially with the GPU and motherboard — I’m not sure if they’ll fit into my Fractal Design case, or if I’d need to change the case too to support more demanding games.
CPU: 5700X3D
Storage: Legend 960Max (throw out the HDD and dinky Gen3 SSD)

Your MesifyC has max 315mm GPU fit limit, so based on TPU database nearly all 5080 cannot fit except a few ie MSI Shadow & Ventus3X, Asus Prime models. Otherwise, 5070Ti are slightly smaller so theres more models that will fit inside.

Then PSU; get 1000W unit for longevity since your using Seasonic PSU, go with a larger Seasonic unit wont be wrong.

babylon52281
post Sep 26 2025, 08:43 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 26 2025, 08:17 PM)
Galax RTX 5080 1-click OC is 303mm. It is Nvidia SFF ready.
Not commonly available unless buy online and that too not many big box stores has them. YMMV
babylon52281
post Sep 26 2025, 11:19 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(StenCL @ Sep 26 2025, 10:35 PM)
Thanks for the tips everyone.

I think I’ll make these my first choice for now:

CPU: Ryzen 7 9800X3D

Mobo: MSI X870-P Wifi

GPU: Galax RTX 5080 White

PSU: Super Flower Leadex III 1000W

Case: Fractal North XL
Planning a full overhaul so it’ll last me a good few years.

Quick questions:

1. Which parts usually sell out faster or are more likely to go out of stock?
I’m guessing the case, but how about the others?

2. Can I reuse my SSD + HDD and current RAM for now, then upgrade later — it shouldn’t cause any issues, right?

3. On Shopee I noticed some CPU + mobo bundles are priced slightly higher (few hundreds) than buying separately.
Isn’t a combo usually cheaper, or is there something special about it?

If anyone has any more suggestions or alternatives, please let me know.
If your gonna do a full overhaul, its only a few % of the total for a decent Gen4 SSD with DRAM (S70 Blade, Legend 960Max,990 Pro, SN850X). That dinky 512GB SSD wont cut it if you install >3 COD/BF titles, so dont skimp on storage. Mind you some AAA are requiring installation on a SSD, a HDD doesnt cut it anymore.

Some rumours that RTX Supers will come in Oct/end Oct, so if you can wait why not wait until Supers launched?
babylon52281
post Sep 28 2025, 01:45 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(Idc5 @ Sep 27 2025, 03:57 AM)
Hi all, want some help on parts for my upcoming itx build

Cpu : r5 7500f. If there's a better cpu with a difference of 100-200 might go with that.

Mobo : any cheap a620i. Not too keen on chinese mobo like jginyue b650i, dunno about their future driver support & ram compatibility

Ram : 16gb or 32gb. This rig will mainly be used for gaming, dunno how much is optimal.

Storage : any good value 2tb nvme.

Gpu : rx 9060xt 16gb or rx 9070. Really wanted Nvidia, but scared if i unplugged the 12v cable too frequently something might happen.

Psu : 600-800, dunno how much i need

Case : sgpc k49 pro. Or any itx below 10L w similar layout.

Budget is 4-6k. Will mainly be gaming on fhd, 2k for nxt year when i have the money for a new monitor. I wanted itx since it compact enough to carry on a plane yet upgradeable, unlike steamdeck. Will be traveling min once a year to kk.

Dunno if this is the correct format. Thanks for any feedback
If traveling by plane I would reco get a gaming laptop. Will be pricier to match the specs above but far more durable for portability and you can game while waiting in the airport.
babylon52281
post Sep 28 2025, 01:58 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(StenCL @ Sep 27 2025, 08:41 AM)
Alright, understood — Guess I’ll have to include RAM in my list.
Thanks for pointing that out.
I see, thanks for your input. I’ll keep that in mind — there’s already quite a lot of parts I need to get and they’re not cheap, so I’ll plan to swap the HDD for an SSD later on.

As for the RTX Super rumours in Oct/end Oct, I don’t mind waiting on the GPU purchase.
But it should be fine to buy the rest of the parts first, right?
Also, will the parts I listed in my ‘new 1st option’ still be compatible with my current GPU while I wait for the Supers?
Bear in mind SSD prices have been falling a bit lately but will soon shoot up even higher than the previous highs as NAND makers are all upping prices
https://www.techpowerup.com/341330/nand-fla...or-qlc-products

TLDR if you dont buy now it will be costlier later. RAM as well.

GPU can wait, your 2080Super is about same perf as my 3060TI and afaik I havent see the need to go lower than High on my games and still does to 120FPS.

"Also, will the parts I listed in my ‘new 1st option’ still be compatible with my current GPU while I wait for the Supers?"
Follow the reco of Tristanx...

"Are there more affordable alternatives that still offer solid airflow and quiet performance?"
Artic P14 or Scythe Kaze 140

76 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Top

0.4779sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:46 PM