11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

kingkingyyk
post Dec 20 2024, 06:37 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(JM10 @ Dec 20 2024, 03:00 PM)
Need some suggestion as I am planning to upgrade my existing rig and this is my first time planning to try amd build
Ryzen 7 9800X3D RM2299
Thermalright PA120 SE RM139
MSI B650M Mortar WiFi RM1040 (Or MSI B650M-A WiFi @RM979)
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5600 32GB Kit RM449
Intel AX210 RM60 (If you plan to use WiFi/Bluetooth)

Total: RM3987

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 20 2024, 06:41 PM
kingkingyyk
post Dec 20 2024, 08:58 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Dec 20 2024, 08:22 PM)
Realistically, u won’t be able to get the 9800X3D with that price, at least for now, reason being all the sellers will force u to bundle with x870/x870e motherboard. No one will sell this cpu alone.
So go for 9700X and save some money. icon_idea.gif
kingkingyyk
post Dec 24 2024, 07:06 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Dec 24 2024, 06:45 PM)
Hi guys, is RTX4060 build doable around RM2.5k?
Excluding PSU, RAM and ROM.
Stop right here and get B580 instead.

Ryzen 5 5600 RM489
MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi RM549
ASRock B580 Challenger RM1299 (Estimated price)
LianLi 205M Mesh RM189

Total: RM2526
kingkingyyk
post Dec 25 2024, 08:22 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Dec 25 2024, 06:33 PM)
but b580 gpu seems like won't arrive any sooner, even alchemist also hard to get
I want to upgrade rig for tax relief btw
Tax relief needs to be in complete setup, not component only. biggrin.gif
kingkingyyk
post Dec 26 2024, 09:01 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(mimiy1 @ Dec 26 2024, 07:47 AM)
Good day sifus, looking at getting a new PC for home use. Kindly recommend thanks.

[Budget] RM3K

[Purpose] watch movie, internet browsing, light gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] only have mouse, keyboard & 1 usb wifi adapter

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota 2, chrome

[Personal preferences] will need to include monitor into budget.

[Location] Penang
Ryzen 5 5600 RM489
MSI A520M-A Pro RM299
Kingston Fury Beast DDR4-3200 32GB Kit RM259
Gigabyte RX6600 8GB Eagle RM999 (Or Zotac RTX3050 8GB Solo RM1079)
WD Blue SN580 500GB RM209
Lian Li 205M RM189
Silverstone ST65F-ES RM229
Viewsonic VA2432-H 24" RM309

Total: RM2982 / RM3062

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 26 2024, 09:07 AM
kingkingyyk
post Dec 26 2024, 04:27 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Dec 26 2024, 03:59 PM)
[attachmentid=11508054]
Eh he needs monitor too. 16GB RAM is also becoming insufficient these days.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 26 2024, 04:27 PM
kingkingyyk
post Dec 27 2024, 09:35 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(chabuchabu @ Dec 27 2024, 05:34 AM)
Hi every sifus, hoping to get a new pc to replace my 11 years old rig, kindly recommend thanks you!
Ryzen 5 7500F RM659
MSI B650M Gaming WiFi RM689
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5200 64GB Kit RM709
ASRock B580 Challenger RM1299 (Estimated)
WD Blue SN580 1TB RM319
Silverstone ST65F-ES 650W PSU RM229
Lian Li 205M RM189

Total: RM4093

QUOTE(tippman @ Dec 27 2024, 06:36 AM)
Hi every sifus, hoping to get a new pc to replace my 5 years old rig, kindly recommend thanks you!
Ryzen 5 7500F RM659
MSI B650M Gaming Plus WiFi RM799
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5200 32GB Kit RM399
ASRock B580 Challenger RM1299 (Estimated)
WD Blue SN580 1TB RM319
Silverstone VIVA Gold 650W PSU RM329
Lian Li 205M RM189

Total: RM3993
kingkingyyk
post Dec 27 2024, 01:02 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(chabuchabu @ Dec 27 2024, 11:54 AM)
thank you sifu! first build seems like the one I gonna go for! rclxm9.gif
Budget a bit tight for comfortable parts like slightly better board (Plus version for future upgrade to 170W CPU), SSD (Kingston KC3000 for better sustained read/write that is not really needed under daily usage), PSU (VIVA Gold 650W for better efficiency), but still work nevertheless. wink.gif

P/S : Seems like CZone has the Plus at discount (RM699!): https://czone.my/czone/msi-b650m-plus-gamin...otherboard.html

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 27 2024, 01:05 PM
kingkingyyk
post Dec 27 2024, 04:06 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 27 2024, 02:00 PM)
Light gaming in 2x 4K? Is still quite heavy bro. What kinda games?
Use XeSS performance and call it a day. laugh.gif

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 27 2024, 02:12 PM)
That Strider Essential PSU is essentially a firestarter. Top up just RM 20 more for FSP HV Pro 650W at C Tier 80 Bronze rating plus ATX 3.0 for the latest rev model.
That price is for HV Pro 85+, and don't see anyone selling the ATX3.0 model here. Any idea to further squeeze the amount to 4K? icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 27 2024, 02:13 PM)
9900k equal to i5-12600 level btw...i did set up for designer firm, hospital (supply) , architect firm.. all learned hard lesson with AMD... got 1 iron head factory kena spend extra 20k (on top of wat they had spend earlier) to change from threadripper pro to intel
They have specific use case so should consult the software company for support. After all they paid for the software. wink.gif
kingkingyyk
post Dec 27 2024, 08:07 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 27 2024, 07:25 PM)
1 Autodesk product manager ask me bout spec everytime his client build a new system... They dun really know their software tolerance can go how far
He can just ask Autodesk to release some official figures as guide. laugh.gif

QUOTE(chabuchabu @ Dec 27 2024, 08:00 PM)
This is not the ATX3.0 model, but is a viable option. wink.gif
kingkingyyk
post Dec 28 2024, 06:45 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(ryanice8888 @ Dec 28 2024, 05:22 PM)
i see, learned new thing on the bold.

since its a new cpu cooler and if i can confirm the pc builder pasted it then i dont have to repaste thermal paste since i am only lifting it for a short period?
Yeah, it will be fine. wink.gif I too replaced my onboard Mediatek with AX210, nothing other than several screws. cool2.gif
kingkingyyk
post Jan 28 2025, 08:17 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Lebennin @ Jan 28 2025, 06:49 PM)
Hello sifus, looking for a rig for gaming and programming.

[Budget] RM9k

[Purpose] Mainly gaming, some programming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Mouse, keyboard

[Monitor resolution] 1440p 144hz

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Steam, Visual Studio 22 (My current computer is quite old, so I usually play older/less demanding titles. But Ideally I'd like to be able to play the latest AAA titles without issues

[Personal preferences] None

[Location] -
Ryzen 9 9900X RM2099 (or 9800X3D @ RM2399 if you don't mind losing some code compilation performance)
Thermalright PA120 SE RM139
MSI B650 Gaming Plus WiFi RM799
Kingston Fury DDR5-5600 64GB Kit RM689
Zotac RTX4070 Ti Super Solid RM3799
Kingston KC3000 2TB SSD RM549
Silverstone DA 850W PSU RM459
Silverstone FARA 514X RM259

Total: RM8792

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Jan 28 2025, 08:18 PM
kingkingyyk
post Jan 30 2025, 11:43 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Lebennin @ Jan 30 2025, 11:41 AM)
Thanks for the reply!

Would it be ok if I switched out the case for a Fractal North XL?
Sure. cool2.gif
kingkingyyk
post Feb 3 2025, 03:55 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 3 2025, 12:54 PM)
no point u go 5070 unless all build latest top spec.. nvidia driver screw up.. u no put ultra 285k or i9 14900k or 9800x3d these processor.. ur 5000 gpu gonna worse than 4000
Provided you have near gen processors, it should be fine without X3D. GPU is still the main frame generator, but it is due the large price difference between different models that drive people towards X3D. You spend relatively less for the gain.

QUOTE(Lebennin @ Feb 3 2025, 11:49 AM)
I have a couple of other questions if you don't mind.

1. Is the current budget I've currently allocated for the build excessive?
2. Should I bother waiting for the 5070?
1) More requirement details, specifically related to programming, please. biggrin.gif If you are not doing the full CI jobs / running stress test with your code in your machine then you could settle with cheaper 9700X, or perhaps a smaller SSD.
2) The RTX4070 Ti Super has 16GB VRAM, while RTX 5070 only 12GB. It is no brainer, especially you are on 1440p. laugh.gif AMD does seem to have 9070 in the pipeline that could strike a surprise attack, though.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Feb 3 2025, 04:06 PM
kingkingyyk
post Feb 4 2025, 07:40 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Lebennin @ Feb 3 2025, 08:15 PM)
Thanks for the input, I won't be doing full CI jobs / stress testing code. Just some light programming (just using Visual Studio), I will mainly be gaming on this rig. In that case should I be going for the 9800X3D?
That will add the price further. Swapping to 7500F (649) can save you 1K+ (comes with stock cooler too, so skip the PA120). smile.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Feb 4 2025, 07:41 AM
kingkingyyk
post Feb 5 2025, 08:00 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Lebennin @ Feb 5 2025, 06:32 PM)
I see, that does save quite a bit. My concern now is whether the 7500F would bottleneck me in gaming. Does that depend on what sort of games I play, or is it not really a big factor?
Well it does lose some quite FPS compared to X3D but is still sufficient. Games doesn't automagically goes from 30FPS to 90FPS if you upgrade to X3D. You need faster GPU for that case.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Feb 5 2025, 08:00 PM
kingkingyyk
post Feb 8 2025, 04:19 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Feb 8 2025, 03:13 PM)
I just built a new pc with 7500f & 4070 super using stock cooler. On certain games, cpu temp went up to 95cel

Definitely needs a cpu cooler.
That's normal. There is a fair amount of overestimation in the real temperature that AMD has improved it in 9000 series. wink.gif You can go ahead and change to AIO WC and it still goes 95C with PBO. If you are concerned, and impose the PBO temperature limit to 80/85C, you will only left with negligible amount of performance loss.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Feb 8 2025, 04:50 PM
kingkingyyk
post Feb 9 2025, 09:05 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 9 2025, 06:47 PM)
SSD QVL isnt as near necessary as RAM QVL, I havent heard of such incompatibilities yet unless you want to use with obscure Ali brand SSD. Just use the usual brand and whatever sizes should work. Caveat is that weird sizes like 8TB, might have problems.
There is, but usually happens with branded PCs. wink.gif Sometimes laptops also have issue with high performance drives with their high power consumption + temperature.

QUOTE(Lebennin @ Feb 8 2025, 10:12 AM)
So the MSI B650 Gaming Plus WiFi is ok?
Been using it since the release of 9000 series. brows.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Feb 9 2025, 09:08 PM
kingkingyyk
post Feb 15 2025, 12:16 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 15 2025, 11:16 AM)
This really brings me back to when I got my Geforce 6600GT with only 128MB VRAM while many tells me the cheaper nonGT 6600 had a bigger 256MB buffer. Thats when Nvidia wanted to push sales using bigger VRAMs on lousier GPUs but in just about any benchies the much stronger GT beats out the nonGT thus vindicating my selection.
Back in those days the larger memory has older standard. 256MB was with DDR, while 128MB was with GDDR3. The memory bandwidth issue was there to start with. wink.gif

The 8GB vs 12GB or more VRAM issue was with texture settings and 1% lows when you run with 1440p. wink.gif 1440p has been gaining traction.
https://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey/Ste...elcome-to-Steam
There is also upcoming wave of running more AI models in game that eats VRAM like crazy. We already have the new transformer model, next is small texture generation model, NPC behaviour / TTS model. bye.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Feb 15 2025, 12:17 PM
kingkingyyk
post Feb 18 2025, 08:10 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(derthvadar @ Feb 18 2025, 01:43 AM)
What is the sweetspot for RAM DDR5? 32GB 6000MHz CL30? The price seems abit higher than CL32 CL40.
Refer to processor official spec. 7500F is 5200. Anything above is considered as overclocking and have unstable risk. You could still run 6000 stick at 5200, but you wasted extra money.

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0685sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:30 PM