11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

kingkingyyk
post Sep 18 2024, 09:44 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Sep 17 2024, 11:29 PM)
any recommendation for budget/mid range matx casing? Initial plan of reusing h510 elite failed, cuz pc is still being used. Dont care bout rgb aethestic, want max airflow and silent fan. Montech air 100 argb OK? 3 120mm fans front, 1 120mm rear
ASUS AP201 or Lian Li A3 + get your own fans (i.e. Arctic F12 or Noctua S12B) . biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Sep 18 2024, 09:44 AM
kingkingyyk
post Sep 19 2024, 10:26 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Sep 19 2024, 09:44 AM)
thanks for the suggestions.

Was interested at lian li a3 (cuz saw the tech jesus video about it). Attracted to the smaller form factor too, but then need to buy extra fans myself...  D: I just went with montech air 100 D:
biggrin.gif Not a fans of bundled fans. You could turn the speed down until tolerable level but the airflow will not be as good (one of your requirement). Just hope Air 100 can serve what you asked for.

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Sep 18 2024, 03:43 PM)
Noticing something weird with my pc, suapect its a dying drive. Any recommendations for a replacement m.2 ssd 2tb or 1tb. Use case is mostly gaming/media.
If it is not system drive then you could go for cheapo drives like Kingston NV2 as the operations will be largely on read. wink.gif Otherwise start with at least WD SN580.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Sep 19 2024, 10:29 AM
kingkingyyk
post Sep 20 2024, 10:17 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Sep 19 2024, 03:40 PM)
That A3 is maxi DANS type case, basically ITX case upsize to fit MATX, so airflow is shit compared to regular MATX case.
This is not the A4. The massive amount of ventilation holes & fan brackets are there for a reason. I won't be solely blaming the case is bad when you run into temperature issue.

Hot VRM... I don't feel A3 will have it. Check the review posted earlier, you could install a fan on side panel and blast it toward the VRM (or the fan on air cooler will just bring some air to it.)
Hot SSD could be due to GPU exhausting a lot of heat, especially to the one below PCI-E slot. This is not exclusive to A3. wink.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Sep 20 2024, 10:20 AM
kingkingyyk
post Oct 13 2024, 08:59 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 13 2024, 12:13 AM)
i ever bought a counterfeit ram from one of the shopee seller. so now i am very cautious in choosing a RAM to buy from shopee...
HyperX division is long sold to HP. The series is now known as Fury. wink.gif
kingkingyyk
post Oct 13 2024, 03:07 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 13 2024, 02:39 PM)
Checked out the price, they are about the same or higher than Kingston one.

The Kingston 8gb ram after discount on Shopee is about rm67++ I think it is still worthy to get?
Just try to get back the same brand & model as possible. wink.gif
kingkingyyk
post Oct 14 2024, 03:30 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 14 2024, 11:42 AM)
ok.

but notice that this KINGSTON FURY BEAST BLACK 8GB /16GB / 32GB DDR4 2666MHZ / 3200MHZ / 3600MHZ Gaming Ram is the cheapest. even cheaper than the same brand 'value ram' is it normal?

even the price and spec i believe it is no brainer that i should go for this gaming ram instead of the value ram rite?

but my current ram is actually this one... not sure if i am add in the gaming ram above together with my this current ram (seems to be value ram) will it cause any compatible issue or not.

my mobo is ASUS H110M-K motherboard, i think it limits the ram speed to 2133 MHz and support a maximum ram capacity of 32 GB (across 2 DIMM slots). Even though the i5-7500 CPU can theoretically support RAM speeds of up to 2400 MHz, the H110 chipset limits the memory speed to 2133 MHz. So, the highest supported RAM speed for this setup is 2133 MHz.

Fury Beast cheapest model's price is indeed as low as value RAM. wink.gif Looks like the heat spreader costs nothing to them to make. biggrin.gif The mobo will get the both RAM to run at 2133MHz, so no worries.
kingkingyyk
post Oct 26 2024, 06:52 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(ScivanShimitar @ Oct 26 2024, 12:02 AM)
Appreciate the link,

Im not really keen on getting on blue camp as the upgrade path is very limited for LGA1700.
If you always use something such as AVX, Handbrake that 9700X performs obviously faster than 7700, why not? wink.gif
7900 is within reach if you crave for multithreaded performance but 9700X is faster in those software built with single-threaded language, i.e. the sluggish Electron web app (Chromium in disguise), Python.

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 26 2024, 12:17 PM)
AMD for 24/7 its not recommended... they hv another pro series for workstation usage.. but price more expensive than intel
I oppose this. smile.gif I have APU running 24/7 as server and it has been working amazing well.

To clarify thing further :
- The pro series you mentioned is Threadripper.
- The actual pro series is Ryzen Pro / Threadripper Pro. They are for enterprise market, come with extra security (i.e. the infamous PSB fuse) / management interfaces.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Oct 26 2024, 07:06 PM
kingkingyyk
post Oct 27 2024, 12:12 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 26 2024, 09:29 PM)
ryzen Pro lenovo tried.. many onsite claim case.. threadripper pro? if someone can afford TR pro.. they should look into EPYC.. tat 1 much more scalable
My unit is perfectly fine. wink.gif Threadripper is for user desk, not Epyc. It can start small with 32 cores as execution testing or small data and further transfer the full workload to Epyc if performance is needed.
kingkingyyk
post Oct 27 2024, 01:10 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 27 2024, 08:03 AM)
THREADRIPPER PRO...not the consumer threadripper...
Threadripper Pro is just Threadripper with enterprise management features. It is still for workstation on user desk, but in corporate who wants to have those features. brows.gif One such case use would be engineer that needs intensive computing power within reach. Too bad there is no other offering from Intel alternative now for this market.

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/design-visuali...tations/latest/

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 27 2024, 12:48 PM)
Unless your comfy with digging into bios & OS settings, I wont reco AMD... too many Agesa updates and boot issues to suggest to new users. I think for same age system, an AMD would have at least 2x or 2.5x the same bios/Agesa updates as my Alderlake system.
The reason with this is Intel can roll out new microcode via Windows Update whenever needed. For novice users going to AMD, the bios will be mature in 3 months or so after new platform launch, and that is the good time to use that as baseline. (and enjoy price drop) wink.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Oct 27 2024, 01:17 PM
kingkingyyk
post Nov 2 2024, 09:29 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Nov 1 2024, 03:59 PM)
Hi all, after 10 years - I have decided to upgrade my main rig.

What I currently have: i7 4790k (first one fried, bought a used one somewhere in 2021) + Asus Z97A, 4x4GB CORSAIR 1600MHz DDR3, 500GB Samsung 870 EVO SATA3 (upgraded from 840 Evo in 2021), Gigabyte 970 GTX (Upgraded a year after I built the PC) and it's been serving me well until I struggle to edit 4K videos on Premiere Pro starting in 2018 or playback H.265 videos and only up till recently, it started to BSOD on a daily basis. I'm guessing it's either the RAM, MOBO or processor.

Now, I don't have a budget, I just want to have a reasonably fast high-end PC without going too deep into the point of diminishing returns.

[Budget] N/A

[Purpose] Video editing, Lightroom, Stable Diffusion, Casual browsing, Python Coding, very very occasional gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] My 2x8TB HDDs

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Lightroom, DxOMark, Davinci, Premiere Pro, Handbrake, Stable Diffusion, Visual Studio Code, Selenium

[Personal preferences] Prefer something that can still be relevant for close to a decade, Noctua CPU cooler, Be Quiet or Corsair cases that are not flashy (absolutely no RGB please). I'm comparing against i7 12700k (to avoid the 13th/14th gen fiasco, let me know if i'm being too paranoid) vs Ryzen7 9800x/3d

[Location]: JB/KL/SG

Many thanks!
"Cheap" & Small:
Ryzen 7 9700X RM1548
Noctua NH-U9S RM373 (Or just go for value for bucks Thermalright PA120 SE for 139 and change to Noctua fans when it breaks)
MSI B650M Gaming Plus WiFi RM759
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5600 64GB Kit RM939
MSI RTX4070 12GB Ventus 2X E OC RM2799
Kingston KC3000 1TB SSD RM359
Silverstone DA 750W PSU RM449
Lian Li 205M (RGB fans, but you can disconnect the RGB cable if you don't want) RM189

Total: RM7415

-------

Ryzen 7 9900X RM1999
Noctua NH-U12S RM489
MSI B650 Tomahawk WiFi RM1315
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5600 64GB Kit RM939
MSI RTX4070 12GB Ventus 2X E OC RM2799
Kingston KC3000 1TB SSD RM359
Silverstone DA 850W PSU RM519
Lian Li 207 (RGB fans, but you can disconnect the RGB cable if you don't want) RM339

Total: RM8758

Zen 5 is plain fast in single threaded workload (I'm looking at you, damn Python GIL!)
https://www.phoronix.com/review/amd-ryzen-9950x-9900x/9
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/...w/#Introduction

There isn't much point to choose Intel 14th over AMD since the package price is quite identical due to more expensive cooler needed to tame the hot Intel down. The platform is dead end too. hmm.gif

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 1 2024, 11:30 PM)
Im surprised you could still edit 4K with a 970 GTX  shocking.gif

Media edit apps are getting to be more reliant on GPU so go max on the GPU budget and you just only need everything else to be reliable... try:
It depends. wink.gif Intel IGP is proven good in supporting latest codec (so scrubbing through timeline will be quick!), but some plugins just outright only supports CPU computation. NVIDIA GPU isn't that far off unless TS has specific codec that can only be supported by Intel IGP but not NVIDIA. For rendering wise, GPU still has a long way to beat CPU in terms of quality per bitrate.

So in this case, we can have a look at this : https://www.techpowerup.com/review/amd-ryzen-9-9900x/11.html

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Nov 2 2024, 09:59 AM
kingkingyyk
post Nov 2 2024, 11:41 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 2 2024, 11:05 AM)
Don't see any point of going B650 Tomahawk when X870 is just a bit more cash. With future CUDIMM support.

NH-U12S at RM489? Thermalright Frost Commander 140 at RM255 will blow it away by a country mile. Even Peerless Assassin 140 is still a lot more cooler. Stick it to Montech Air 903 Max for space. Arctic P12 and P14 Max fan has very good price/performance as well.
The underlying chipset is still Promontory 21 anyway, but X870 M.2 is PITA due to the forced USB4 implementation. puke.gif
CUDIMM is to solve high speed memory issue, but can be solved technically with X3D.

I'm not a fans of the poor Thermalright fan, that's why there is an extra option mentioned. Arctic fan is ok for the price (Mine had fan blade just flew off), but TS mentioned about longevity and Noctua specifically, so why not? wink.gif For casing it is quite subjective.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Nov 2 2024, 11:41 AM
kingkingyyk
post Nov 2 2024, 12:30 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Nov 2 2024, 12:19 PM)
thermalright non rgb fan are not bad.. i had a 4litre itx casing using it for 6yrs de
If you compare it with Arctic, why not. laugh.gif
kingkingyyk
post Nov 2 2024, 12:44 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 2 2024, 12:31 PM)
This is a work pc. Unless you want to deal with potential "I don't know which chip has X3D" issue on gaming. You have so many M.2 slots. Definitely more lanes than B650. I think issue is over exaggerated.
The same goes to I bought a 8000MT CUDIMM RAM, but my processor/board couldn't drive it. With 64GB RAM, is it really necessary for TS to change to CUDIMM in years to come? It could cost more but the performance gain could be better obtained by pouring the fund into some other parts.

As for X870, the problem is more like you spend extra but you get a x2 speed on CPU-linked M.2. For sure you can disable the USB4 functionality in BIOS to get that back, but now the board becomes B650 in functionality. biggrin.gif If OP has specific reason and needs USB4 then it would be okay to have X870 instead. wink.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Nov 2 2024, 12:45 PM
kingkingyyk
post Nov 2 2024, 05:03 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 2 2024, 03:40 PM)
CUDIMM is very new. Don't know how much you can get from performance. It does give some uplift for Arrow Lake. From the news, it has 10000+mhz.
We shall see that in Zen 6 since there will be I/O die change. brows.gif
kingkingyyk
post Nov 15 2024, 08:49 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Nov 15 2024, 08:25 PM)
Looking to build three office pc with normal ability to surf net and do WhatsApp’s or WeChat

Budget including keyboard mouse and monitor for each pc is rm2000, thanks Sifu

wondering if same specs it’s better to get a mini pc or desktop pc as well
Ryzen 5 5600G RM489
MSI A520M-A PRO RM299
Kingston Value 16GB DDR4-3200 RAM x2 RM290
Kingston KC3000 500GB SSD RM239
Silverstone FARA 313B RM169
FSP Hyper Pro 550W PSU RM159
Viewsonic VA2432-H 24" RM309
Logitech MK120 KB+Mouse Combo RM47

Total: RM2001

Or

ASRock DeskMini X300 RM709
Ryzen 5 5600G RM489
Kingston Value 16GB DDR4-3200 RAM RM145
Kingston KC3000 500GB SSD RM239
Viewsonic VA2432-H 24" RM309
Logitech MK220 Wireless KB+Mouse Combo RM79

Total: RM1970

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Nov 15 2024, 08:58 PM
kingkingyyk
post Nov 16 2024, 07:54 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 16 2024, 12:51 PM)
Unfortunately. 5600G gives PCIE 3.0. Go for 8500G or i3-14100 or i5-12400 setup instead.
Doesn't matter for office purpose.
kingkingyyk
post Dec 18 2024, 06:17 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(J033s10r @ Dec 18 2024, 05:24 PM)
Hi sifus, I've looked thru the forum, but still wanted to ask for recommendations.

Purpose: movie and gaming (so far played MW3, Tomb Raider, TLOU part 1.)
Planning to buy a Monitor 1080p 120hz, but let's exclude that from budget first.

Budget: 3.5k-4k (4.2k also ok la)
Prefers: drr5

Is it advisable to go for msi asus instead of other brands like gigabyte, pny?
Saw some posts in forum/reddit saying msi asus less breakdown and more stable.

This was my planned build:
I5-14400f or R5 7500f
MSI/ASUS B760M Wifi or MSI/ASUS B650M-A wifi
MSI Geforce 4060 8gb (if got extra budget wanna try 4060ti)
Ram 16gb (brand not sure)
1TB SSD (brand not sure)
Psu 650W (brand not sure)
Casing and cooler I'm not sure.

Thank you in advance sifus!
Ryzen 5 7500F RM659
MSI B650M Gaming WiFi RM599 (+180 for Plus version if plan to upgrade to 120W CPU later)
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5600 32GB Kit RM409 (16GB is no longer enough for AAA games)
ASRock B580 12GB GDDR6 Challenger RM1399 (Estimated price, and hell no to 8GB VRAM)
WD Blue SN580 1TB RM319
LianLi 205M RM199
FSP HV Pro 650W PSU RM249

Total: RM3833

P/S : DDR5 boards are obscenely expensive. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 18 2024, 06:20 PM
kingkingyyk
post Dec 18 2024, 10:22 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(J033s10r @ Dec 18 2024, 09:09 PM)
Actually, i plan to use this setup for the next 10+ years. Not really wanna plan for upgrade, unless really necessary.
If that's the case, would you recommend me to go for drr4 instead (can save more money)
And if drr4, what's the recommended build? (For i5-12400 or R7 5600 liddat)
Thank you!
AM4 / LGA1700 / LGA1851 are dead end.
AM5 will can fare you Zen 6 down the road.
kingkingyyk
post Dec 19 2024, 09:18 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(hehe86 @ Dec 19 2024, 02:06 AM)
Hello tech enthusiasts! I would like to know some recommendations to upgrade my old gtx 960 pc... It probably would be my last upgrade since after 10 years i would be in the late 40s... lol

[Budget] ~5k (but after i survey i don't think this amount can make it)
Ryzen 5 7600 RM709
MSI B650M Gaming Plus WiFi RM759
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5600 32GB Kit RM409
ASUS RTX4060 Ti 16GB Dual OC RM2199
Kingston KC3000 1TB RM349
ASUS A21 Mesh RM199
Silverstone VIVA Gold 650W PSU RM329

Total: RM4953

---

Ryzen 5 7600 RM709
MSI B650M Gaming WiFi RM599
Kingston Fury Beast DDR5-5600 32GB Kit RM409
Zotac RTX4070 Super 12GB Twin Edge RM2699
Kingston KC3000 1TB RM349
ASUS A21 Mesh RM199
FSP HV Pro 650W PSU RM329

Total: RM5293

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 19 2024, 09:24 AM
kingkingyyk
post Dec 20 2024, 10:35 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 20 2024, 01:23 AM)
That Asus case is okay but why want to pay Asus tax? Similar Montech Air 1000, Tecware Nexus Air goes about RM 200+, Corsair 4000D about RM 300. how much the Asus ask for?
199 and what else you could request? icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 20 2024, 09:10 AM)
3 oso g skill expo ram . Kingston expo ram not popular so hardly heard... Corsair expo ram got boot problems alot in overseas... Xmp ram still the more safety 1
Kingston EXPO has been working fine for me. Stick to official 5600, not trying luck by going 6000/6400 can save some troubles. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 20 2024, 10:40 AM

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0524sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:23 PM