Rejected Trade Name by SSM (Sole Proprietorship), Reason: Too general

TSicycokes
post Feb 23 2017, 10:23 PM, updated 9y ago

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

Hi, so I'd been trying to register my sole proprietorship with SSM via EzBiz. But the application was rejected by the officer. because the trade name is considered to be too 'general'. I came up with a unique name somewhat similar to Pizza Hut, which is made up of two nouns. What followed was a series of exchanges between me and SSM for the past 2 days, trying to explain to them that my trade name is a unique combination.

So, I refer to Akta Perniagaan 1957 and Business Name Guidelines and there is no mention of trade name prohibition unless it is called "Beautiful Sdn Bhd" or "Attempt Sdn Bhd". The officer in-charge refused to approve my application without giving me any proper reason, claiming that it is their "SOP" to approve trade name with a personal name only.

I am really puzzled. If that's the case, how come companies like

Rice & Pasta
Nutrition Depot
City Teleshop and etc

*these are real business establishments obtained from searches in the SSM database.

can be registered while mine is rejected? I'd be grateful if someone can enlighten me on this matter. Thanks!

Link to the guideline: http://www.ssm.com.my/sites/default/files/...a%20Company.pdf

This post has been edited by icycokes: Feb 23 2017, 10:25 PM
MysticShadow
post Feb 24 2017, 02:29 AM

250 posts

Do the words you use have any relevance to your business? From the words alone, can a consumer tell your nature of business?

Eg: Rice & Pasta - diner;
Nutrition Depot - sounds like a place to buy supplements
City Teleshop - a place I can go to buy phone and accessories
TSicycokes
post Feb 24 2017, 03:54 AM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(MysticShadow @ Feb 24 2017, 02:29 AM)
Do the words you use have any relevance to your business? From the words alone, can a consumer tell your nature of business?

Eg: Rice & Pasta - diner;
Nutrition Depot - sounds like a place to buy supplements
City Teleshop - a place I can go to buy phone and accessories
100% relevant. The type of the product is in the trade name, just like Nutrition Depot.
CyrusWong
post Feb 24 2017, 04:14 AM

1,643 posts

(misunderstand something)

-post deleted-

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Feb 24 2017, 04:17 AM
bee993
post Feb 24 2017, 06:31 AM

1,178 posts

Y dun u Juz post the name here?
shadow_walker
post Feb 24 2017, 06:18 PM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(bee993 @ Feb 24 2017, 06:31 AM)
TS is afraid later u steal his trade name lar..if not he already posted edi..haha
darthsabre
post Feb 24 2017, 08:14 PM

try applying at a different branch with another officer?
bee993
post Feb 24 2017, 09:19 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(shadow_walker @ Feb 24 2017, 06:18 PM)
TS is afraid later u steal his trade name lar..if not he already posted edi..haha
Lol...i tot so..but since he also cant register we also cant steal la.

Juz wan c wether is confusing name or really got conflict ma
NightHeart
post Feb 25 2017, 12:55 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Feb 23 2017, 10:23 PM)
Hi, so I'd been trying to register my sole proprietorship with SSM via EzBiz. But the application was rejected by the officer.  because the trade name is considered to be too 'general'. I came up with a unique name somewhat similar to Pizza Hut, which is made up of two nouns. What followed was a series of exchanges between me and SSM for the past 2 days, trying to explain to them that my trade name is a unique combination.

So, I refer to Akta Perniagaan 1957 and Business Name Guidelines and there is no mention of trade name prohibition unless it is called "Beautiful Sdn Bhd" or "Attempt Sdn Bhd". The officer in-charge refused to approve my application without giving me any proper reason, claiming that it is their "SOP" to approve trade name with a personal name only.

I am really puzzled. If that's the case, how come companies like

Rice & Pasta
Nutrition Depot
City Teleshop and etc

*these are real business establishments obtained from searches in the SSM database.

can be registered while mine is rejected? I'd be grateful if someone can enlighten me on this matter. Thanks!

Link to the guideline: http://www.ssm.com.my/sites/default/files/...a%20Company.pdf
Just spare 4 to 5 hours, go to the nearest SSM & do it there physically. Problem solved.
TSicycokes
post Feb 25 2017, 09:23 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(bee993 @ Feb 24 2017, 06:31 AM)
QUOTE(shadow_walker @ Feb 24 2017, 06:18 PM)
QUOTE(bee993 @ Feb 24 2017, 09:19 PM)
Lol...i tot so..but since he also cant register we also cant steal la.

Juz wan c wether is confusing name or really got conflict ma
I'd rather not post the name here.. For some reason. I succumbed to them in the end. Adding an unwanted 'X' in front of my trade name. I mean, I just wanna get over it and done with. It is a small biz anyway. I'll remember this experience if I get to register a SDN BHD, should my business does well.

QUOTE(darthsabre @ Feb 24 2017, 08:14 PM)
try applying at a different branch with another officer?
No use! I submitted the application online and made payment (online too). So they rejected my application and asked me to change my biz name. The payment was made, there is no way I can go 'another branch' without forfeiting it.

The right approach should be doing it offline and pay once everything is approved. This way, you can ensure approved application.

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 25 2017, 12:55 AM)
Just spare 4 to 5 hours, go to the nearest SSM & do it there physically. Problem solved.
You're right. This is the right way to do it. Else, people will end up like me. But too bad. I decided to just succumb to their rigidity as I realized we were going in circles and I'm at the mercy of their hands since I made payment already.

I hope this serves as an experience for others who wish to register their business with SSM. Always do it in person. Not online.

This post has been edited by icycokes: Feb 25 2017, 09:24 PM
magnesium
post Feb 25 2017, 09:28 PM

1,130 posts

for me company name and business name is different

can put ur desired name on name card and add (owned by your ssm name followed by ssm no)
NightHeart
post Feb 25 2017, 09:45 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Feb 25 2017, 09:23 PM)
You're right. This is the right way to do it. Else, people will end up like me. But too bad. I decided to just succumb to their rigidity as I realized we were going in circles and I'm at the mercy of their hands since I made payment already.

I hope this serves as an experience for others who wish to register their business with SSM. Always do it in person. Not online.
Ouch, damage done already sad.gif
To answer your original question, there shouldn't be any strict guideline. It solely depends on the officer who's handling your application. When I registered mine, the officer even suggested me to use a universal name (e.g. Sony, Loob etc) that's not related to any industry so that I can do business in any industry.

Well it's ok, like magnesium said....business (brand) name & company name is different. It's not a big deal, like McDonald is a business name, while their company name is Golden Arches Sdn Bhd & Baskin Robins is a business name while their company name is Golden Scoops Sdn Bhd. My business & company name is different as well, the only problem thus far is when it comes to payment. Sometimes the accounts person got confused, but it's fine cause I used it to my advantage to befriend the accounts girl.

And look on the brighter side, wish your business will grow well & then can upgrade to sdn bhd eventually. Then hopefully you can get the name that you truly want thumbsup.gif
TSicycokes
post Feb 25 2017, 10:07 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 25 2017, 09:45 PM)
Ouch, damage done already  sad.gif
To answer your original question, there shouldn't be any strict guideline. It solely depends on the officer who's handling your application. When I registered mine, the officer even suggested me to use a universal name (e.g. Sony, Loob etc) that's not related to any industry so that I can do business in any industry.

Well it's ok, like magnesium said....business (brand) name & company name is different. It's not a big deal, like McDonald is a business name, while their company name is Golden Arches Sdn Bhd & Baskin Robins is a business name while their company name is Golden Scoops Sdn Bhd. My business & company name is different as well, the only problem thus far is when it comes to payment. Sometimes the accounts person got confused, but it's fine cause I used it to my advantage to befriend the accounts girl.

And look on the brighter side, wish your business will grow well & then can upgrade to sdn bhd eventually. Then hopefully you can get the name that you truly want  thumbsup.gif
That's exactly the concern I have. I think the company's trade name goes hand in hand with the brand. I wouldn't want my stakeholders get confused, especially since I'm just starting out.

Thanks! I sure hope my business can grow and survive and eventually becomes a sdn bhd.
MAE2233
post Feb 8 2018, 12:55 AM

May I know how long it takes for the registration to be approve ? ? I have registered my company online for two days and it still in process status.

therion
post Feb 14 2018, 02:15 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(MAE2233 @ Feb 8 2018, 12:55 AM)
May I know how long it takes for the registration to be approve ? ? I have registered my company online for two days and it still in process status.
My registration has been pending for more than 1 week now.
NightHeart
post Feb 14 2018, 03:24 PM

3,991 posts

Best that you spare a few hours & visit the nearest SSM to you. You'll get it done without much hassle over the counter.
vistaera
post Mar 30 2018, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(therion @ Feb 14 2018, 02:15 PM)
My registration has been pending for more than 1 week now.
yours done already ? how long?

mine still in process in eBiz

today is 3rd day since the payment done
therion
post Mar 30 2018, 09:11 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(vistaera @ Mar 30 2018, 11:25 AM)
yours done already ? how long?

mine still in process in eBiz

today is 3rd day since the payment done
Done, it takes 3 weeks. I contact ssm via their fb page,amazingly their fb handler are very very helpful. They processed my application at 10pm.
SUSRyuGW90
post Mar 31 2018, 10:42 PM

576 posts

It's been month. What the updates?

0.0204sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:19 PM