Headlight tint

TSmingwei1992
post Feb 20 2017, 08:35 PM, updated 9y ago

482 posts

When I first got my car, I send it the shop to do headlight tint.

After 2 years of usage, the tint has become black like burned out.

I went to a nearby tinted shop just now, was quoted 90 to do removal and replacement.

Problem here is after removal of the film, the headlamp needs to be polished according to him as the adhesive might damage the headlamp already.

Once polish the clear coat will be gone and when applied with new tint would my lamp become yellowish after sometime?

Any good way to remove the tint without damaging the headlight. Thx
Cruxs
post Feb 20 2017, 08:56 PM

826 posts

Headlamp got clearcoat? Not just plastic? Try new method that use plastic vapour. It will absorb by the surface & there is no tint required. Price around 100. Its new method but cant remember the product name. It comes with metal cup to boil the solution & got outlet to vent out the vapour direct to ur headlamp. Need to polish the headlamp if got stain, discoloring or deep scratch.
ZaiZai1989
post Feb 20 2017, 10:19 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Feb 20 2017, 08:35 PM)

I went to a nearby tinted shop just now, was quoted 90 to do removal and replacement.

Problem here is after removal of the film, the headlamp needs to be polished according to him as the adhesive might damage the headlamp already.

Once polish the clear coat will be gone and when applied with new tint would my lamp become yellowish after sometime?

actually those tint need replacement every one year for best protection.. if u car seldom park under hot sun, then can last up to two years b4 it "hangus"..

QUOTE(Cruxs @ Feb 20 2017, 08:56 PM)
Headlamp got clearcoat? Not just plastic? Try new method that use plastic vapour. It will absorb by the surface & there is no tint required. Price around 100. Its new method but cant remember the product name. It comes with metal cup to boil the solution & got outlet to vent out the vapour direct to ur headlamp. Need to polish the headlamp if got stain, discoloring or deep scratch.
but this method also wont be very lasting.. after sometimes the coat will peel off by sections... very terrible
lsm1991
post Feb 21 2017, 12:23 AM

309 posts

i wana duduk.....

1)basically cheap visual (non protective)'light tint' a bad idea....
2)wana remove kene polish but that means cutting the lamp.... you can
3)permanant solution is to re-laminate it but... most cases it can be very expensive. cheaper alternative would be to spray a layer of clearcoat or..........something (damn cannot rememebr what u call it)

6UE5T
post Feb 21 2017, 01:23 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Feb 20 2017, 08:35 PM)

Just take the tint off, have it polished to clean it up, then just leave it off! Afterwards just DIY clean and wax maintenance with the cheapest cleaner wax like once every 2-3 months, good enough already la. My headlights are already almost 9yrs old often out in the sun, still pretty clean and shiny without any nonsense protection tint whatsoever! Those tint are just wasting money for nothing.
amduser
post Feb 21 2017, 08:07 AM

5,542 posts

i saw quite a number of cars have this problem, some even have gradient effect like black to brown along with some cracking effect on the cover as well

not sure is because of the tint or because of the heat generated by the headlight + the material of headlight cover isn't really glass but more like plastic/acrylic hmm.gif
TSmingwei1992
post Feb 21 2017, 06:02 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Cruxs @ Feb 20 2017, 08:56 PM)
If not mistaken some kind of product that prevent uv from damaging our headlight. Not sure what is it called

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Feb 20 2017, 10:19 PM)
actually those tint need replacement every one year for best protection.. if u car seldom park under hot sun, then can last up to two years b4 it "hangus"..
but this method also wont be very lasting.. after sometimes the coat will peel off by sections... very terrible
Yea mine 2 years super hangus d.
They say after remove need polish and reapply new layer.
I don't mind if it can protect from yellowing

TSmingwei1992
post Feb 21 2017, 06:06 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 21 2017, 12:23 AM)
i wana duduk.....

1)basically cheap visual (non protective)'light tint' a bad idea....
2)wana remove kene polish but that means cutting the lamp.... you can
3)permanant solution is to re-laminate it but... most cases it can be very expensive. cheaper alternative would be to spray a layer of clearcoat or..........something (damn cannot rememebr what u call it)
Got good tint? I ask is normal tint shop only. Any good brand to recommend??

I try to avoid polishing the lamp but seems like no choice

Relaminating means applying new tint?If it's so it's just temporary next year need do again haha

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 21 2017, 01:23 AM)
Just take the tint off, have it polished to clean it up, then just leave it off! Afterwards just DIY clean and wax maintenance with the cheapest cleaner wax like once every 2-3 months, good enough already la. My headlights are already almost 9yrs old often out in the sun, still pretty clean and shiny without any nonsense protection tint whatsoever! Those tint are just wasting money for nothing.
Didn't know just waxing will help. I'll consider to take this option or not.

My car 24/7 in the sun

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 21 2017, 08:07 AM)
i saw quite a number of cars have this problem, some even have gradient effect like black to brown along with some cracking effect on the cover as well

not sure is because of the tint or because of the heat generated by the headlight + the material of headlight cover isn't really glass but more like plastic/acrylic  hmm.gif
Yup mine roasted already my tail light got black line.

Front headlight is plastic (a kind of plastic) that can become yellowish.

Tail light is acrylic don't think will become yellowish. This is what I gather over the internet
lsm1991
post Feb 21 2017, 10:13 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Feb 21 2017, 06:06 PM)

Relaminating means applying new tint?If it's so it's just temporary next year need do again haha

branded tints... those that cost hundreds, dont know what brand but apparently they last a long time and have some sort of uv rejection properties.
relaminating means relayering the headlight with plastic (or wherever they call that material** forgot its name), dont know how much it really costs, cause i never did this myself but someone i know has.... he says cost him almost 500++ (didnt tell exact figures but it was north of 500, almost 1k). Results are prettymuch as good as can be ut.... dammit costly. Not exactly something you should even think about unless replacements are unavailable

about waxing, it seems to help with the yellowing (lets call this hazing) but crazing is permanent, cant get rid of that, short of polishing if its not too bad. (am doing this, myself) there are headlight products you can buy off the shelf too... if its badly hazed, try polish it with toothpaste first, worked wonders for me (3 hours of polishing..... result: clear lenses thumbup.gif )
6UE5T
post Feb 21 2017, 11:00 PM

1,704 posts

My car 24/7 in the sun

Tail light is acrylic don't think will become yellowish. This is what I gather over the internet
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 21 2017, 10:13 PM)
branded tints... those that cost hundreds, dont know what brand but apparently they last a long time and have some sort of uv rejection properties.
relaminating means relayering the headlight with plastic (or wherever they call that material** forgot its name), dont know how much it really costs, cause i never did this myself but someone i know has.... he says cost him almost 500++ (didnt tell exact figures but it was north of 500, almost 1k). Results are prettymuch as good as can be ut.... dammit costly. Not exactly something you should even think about unless replacements are unavailable

about waxing, it seems to help with the yellowing (lets call this hazing) but crazing is permanent, cant get rid of that, short of polishing if its not too bad. (am doing this, myself) there are headlight products you can buy off the shelf too... if its badly hazed, try polish it with toothpaste first, worked wonders for me (3 hours of polishing..... result: clear lenses thumbup.gif )
If 24/7 out in the sun then would need to do maintenance more often, maybe like once a month. Mine last time was every day park in the sun during work hours only, but at home it's covered.

Expensive tint or layering is not worth it unless your headlight clear cover is damn expensive la! If like my car, the clear lens cover is only like rm100-200 per pair so might as well change new lens! laugh.gif
SonnyCooL
post Feb 21 2017, 11:26 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

My car 24/7 in the sun

what car ?
open, polish in and out, respray, change projector, mod signal and laminate ... rm1.8k ....
wanna try ?

TSmingwei1992
post Feb 22 2017, 09:32 PM

482 posts

Wow so expensive never know about that. I do the cheap ones that's y it doesn't last i guess.

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 21 2017, 11:00 PM)
If 24/7 out in the sun then would need to do maintenance more often, maybe like once a month. Mine last time was every day park in the sun during work hours only, but at home it's covered.

Expensive tint or layering is not worth it unless your headlight clear cover is damn expensive la!  If like my car, the clear lens cover is only like rm100-200 per pair so might as well change new lens!  laugh.gif
My car actually quite cheap only but not sure of the clear cover haha. Persona only

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Feb 21 2017, 11:26 PM)
what car ?
open, polish in and out, respray, change projector, mod signal and laminate ... rm1.8k ....
wanna try ?
Persona only.
Thx for the offer.
Next time I change car then can try.
voscar
post Feb 22 2017, 11:27 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Feb 22 2017, 09:32 PM)
Wow so expensive never know about that. I do the cheap ones that's y it doesn't last i guess.
My car actually quite cheap only but not sure of the clear cover haha. Persona only
Persona only.
Thx for the offer.
Mudah got sell new OEM headlamp less than 80 bucks per side. Should be no problem if every 3 years change new headlamp after heavily stained and faded again.
SonnyCooL
post Feb 23 2017, 01:35 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Feb 22 2017, 09:32 PM)
Persona only.
Thx for the offer.
my guy will tell u .... buy new set ..... smile.gif
not worth for a fine polish smile.gif

This post has been edited by SonnyCooL: Feb 23 2017, 01:35 AM
lowyatguy
post Feb 23 2017, 10:13 AM

=Certified Counter-Striker=
3,144 posts

There are some headlamp tint from reputable brands namely 3M, Oracel (? not sure if i spelled correctly) and DuraShield, all those are with UV protection.

My 3 years old car's headlamps are installed with Durashield and it is still shinning clear and good against stone chip on my headlamp.
lsm1991
post Feb 23 2017, 10:45 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Feb 23 2017, 10:13 AM)
There are some headlamp tint from reputable brands namely 3M, Oracel (? not sure if i spelled correctly) and DuraShield, all those are with UV protection.

My 3 years old car's headlamps are installed with Durashield and it is still shinning clear and good against stone chip on my headlamp.
those seem to help with hazing but from what i gather, will also cause a little premature crazing (strangely apparent on lower end cars, cheaper plastics??)

and no, these tints do NOTHING against chips, same applies to those coatings one can apply over paint. those help with scratches and stuff but not chips and dings
lsm1991
post Feb 23 2017, 10:47 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 22 2017, 11:27 PM)
Mudah got sell new OEM headlamp less than 80 bucks per side. Should be no problem if every 3 years change new headlamp after heavily stained and faded again.
frankly.. most cheap oem headlights are built very poorly... u can feel it just by holding it in your hand... no heft to it (on the plus side, weight reduction!!!)
voscar
post Feb 23 2017, 11:36 AM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 23 2017, 10:47 AM)
frankly.. most cheap oem headlights are built very poorly... u can feel it just by holding it in your hand... no heft to it (on the plus side, weight reduction!!!)
Yes, but since TS was driving persona, I'm not sure how bad condition were his headlamp. I've seen gen2 and persona headlamp in very terrible condition which would affecting the light outputs. Getting those cheap OEM headlamp seems better option for those than salvaging the headlamp. But like I said, perhaps it could only lasts 2 3 years so since it's cheap, you can opt to change again..
lsm1991
post Feb 23 2017, 11:58 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 23 2017, 11:36 AM)
Yes, but since TS was driving persona, I'm not sure how bad condition were his headlamp. I've seen gen2 and persona headlamp in very terrible condition which would affecting the light outputs. Getting those cheap OEM headlamp seems better option for those than salvaging the headlamp. But like I said, perhaps it could only lasts 2 3 years so since it's cheap, you can opt to change again..
haha try toothpaste and live with it jer.... crazing, well biarlah, hazing should be gone
lowyatguy
post Feb 23 2017, 02:07 PM

=Certified Counter-Striker=
3,144 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 23 2017, 10:45 AM)
those seem to help with hazing but from what i gather, will also cause a little premature crazing (strangely apparent on lower end cars, cheaper plastics??)

and no, these tints do NOTHING against chips, same applies to those coatings one can apply over paint. those help with  scratches and stuff but not chips and dings
My car is usually under covered roof, so it is not very accurate to be a good example.

As for the stone chips prevention, it is from my own experience, it is one piece of durable tint film with good amount of thickness that you can tell by touch, so yes it is for stone chip prevention but its up to you to believe it or not. The result speaks for itself.
SonnyCooL
post Feb 23 2017, 06:52 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Feb 23 2017, 10:13 AM)

base on my experience 3M doesn't last very long time smile.gif
Twins10
post Aug 27 2019, 02:52 PM

919 posts

How to remove the black burnt part??? I can't drive at night..almost like no lights going thru.

0.3855sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:42 AM