(WTA)Which double DIN has Apple Carplay, In the market looking for Apple Carplay

TSMasculine
post Feb 20 2017, 09:50 AM, updated 7y ago

1,282 posts

Hi all sifu,

My 3 year old Kenwood 7330BT breakdown again for the second time and I give up in repairing as it is very costly
and not guaranteed to be good for at least a year. The last time it is repaired is just 4~5 months ago and cost me
almost rm700 to repair it.

Since I'm not keen to have Kenwood again, I'm looking to test other brand like Pioneer and JVC or others. I normally
played out music from my iPhone library and would love to have apple carplay or mirror capability of this ICE. I don't need GPS navigation as I love Waze and would like it to be displayed on my car audio display.

I browse Pioneer Malaysia page but it is not really that user friendly in term of looking for this capability.

Thank you
slaveone
post Feb 20 2017, 09:55 AM

1,180 posts

sony XAV-AX100?
TSMasculine
post Feb 20 2017, 10:02 AM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Feb 20 2017, 09:55 AM)
sony XAV-AX100?
Wahh... price also not bad... thanks for the info
katz79
post Feb 20 2017, 11:26 AM

99 posts

u can't use waze on apple car play for now. it isn't supported, only ios maps can be used. but u can use waze with mirrorlink function. else go find apple av digital adapter, rca to hdmi converter/hdmi cable + usb to lightning cable. pioneer headunit is a good choice. check wether ur iphone supported mirrorlinks or not.
TSMasculine
post Feb 20 2017, 02:30 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(katz79 @ Feb 20 2017, 11:26 AM)
u can't use waze on apple car play for now. it isn't supported, only ios maps can be used. but u can use waze with mirrorlink function. else go find apple av digital adapter, rca to hdmi converter/hdmi cable + usb to lightning cable. pioneer headunit is a good choice. check wether ur iphone supported mirrorlinks or not.
Noted. I just learned yesterday that carplay and mirroring is two different thing. I was excited thinking carplay can mirror everything on my iphone and I can play youtube movie on the head unit.

Now that I understand the difference, I still prefer carplay since it is dedicated to apple system and don't mind using ios map.

TSMasculine
post Feb 20 2017, 03:01 PM

1,282 posts

Just read about AppRadioMode functionality. Look like this is better than carplay
katz79
post Feb 20 2017, 04:10 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Feb 20 2017, 02:30 PM)
Noted.  I just learned yesterday that carplay and mirroring is two different thing.  I was excited thinking carplay can mirror everything on my iphone and I can play youtube movie on the head unit.

Now that I understand the difference, I still prefer carplay since it is dedicated to apple system and don't mind using ios map.

Carplay still in early stage. It doesn't supported youtube, not even whatsapp. Better use mirror links or apple av digital adapter. U can google what's app is supported on Carplay. Android auto in other hand can support whatsapp and googlemaps. Music player also can play and u can use siri/google now in their respective ecosystem. Maybe in the future more app will be supported.
TSMasculine
post Feb 22 2017, 11:55 AM

1,282 posts

looks like kenwood DNX-7016BT with the KCA-WL100 wireless adaptor will do
air "mirror" of smartphone.

anybody here has use it before??
-cmi-
post Mar 5 2017, 02:30 AM

664 posts

Pioneer AVH-X8850BT
TSMasculine
post Oct 26 2017, 03:17 PM

1,282 posts

Finally bought AVH-Z5050bt couple with pioneer compact subwoofer TS-WX110

Love it. Carplay is great because 100% my music is from apple music in my iphone.

Unfortunately appradiomode is incompatible with ios11 otherwise can use waze
DeepMemory
post Oct 31 2017, 08:08 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Oct 26 2017, 03:17 PM)

Love it.  Carplay is great because 100% my music is from apple music in my iphone.

Can share price and details? Very interested also 😁
craziechild
post Oct 31 2017, 11:14 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Oct 26 2017, 03:17 PM)

Love it.  Carplay is great because 100% my music is from apple music in my iphone.

Waiting for appmode to rectify the issue as well... been using this feature since the start of the appmode... now suddenly blank screen the drive always feels like something is missing...
TSMasculine
post Nov 1 2017, 08:09 AM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Oct 31 2017, 08:08 PM)
Can share price and details? Very interested also 😁
Bought it at rm1880 in JB
TSMasculine
post Nov 1 2017, 08:13 AM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Oct 31 2017, 11:14 PM)
Waiting for appmode to rectify the issue as well... been using this feature since the start of the appmode... now suddenly blank screen the drive always feels like something is missing...
The carplay function is great coz I have music account from ios. However, run into several issues
I guess it is due to ios 11 being unstable.

First 2-3 days, nice no issues after that suddenly connection of carplay keep dropping every few seconds. The shop tech
reset the unit and connection problem solved. But another problem comes up. HU not charging iphone during carplay connection.

I reset my iphone... OK for a day... next day... no charging comes up again..
EatApple
post Nov 3 2017, 03:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Nov 1 2017, 08:13 AM)
The carplay function is great coz I have music account from ios.  However, run into several issues
I guess it is due to ios 11 being unstable.

First 2-3 days, nice no issues after that suddenly connection of carplay keep dropping every few seconds.  The shop tech
reset the unit and connection problem solved.  But another problem comes up.  HU not charging iphone during carplay connection.

I reset my iphone... OK for a day... next day... no charging comes up again..
You may try to update the head unit firmware.
TSMasculine
post Nov 4 2017, 07:07 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(EatApple @ Nov 3 2017, 03:21 PM)
You may try to update the head unit firmware.
Yepp... forgot about this. Thinking that the model is quite new, I figure the firmware is very new..

Once I see the new firmware is 8.26 compared to that of the unit 8.02... Why haven't I thought about it....

Now the carplay is quite stable and my iphone is charging all the time.... thanks mate...
CloudComputer
post Nov 19 2017, 03:19 AM

257 posts

AppRadio mode and Pioneer are not compatible with iOS 11 for the moment, need to wait for Pioneer to update the firmware.

http://appradiomode.com/important-notice-i...-appradio-mode/

Important Notice: Incompatibility between iOS11 and AppRadio Mode
September 20, 2017

Dear Valued Pioneer Customer:

With the introduction of Apple’s new iOS 11 mobile operating system, Pioneer has discovered an incompatibility with AppRadio Mode on certain Pioneer Navigation, DVD, and AppRadio receivers. If you connect an iPhone® or 5th or 6th generation iPod touch® device that has been updated to iOS 11 and launch AppRadio Mode, you will experience a blank screen or other display malfunction that disables AppRadio Mode.

To maintain compatibility with AppRadio Mode, please continue using iOS 10 or older with your iPhone or iPod touch. Pioneer is working to resolve the issue and will update this notice once firmware updates for the receivers are available.
TSMasculine
post Nov 20 2017, 11:06 AM

1,282 posts

Yeah I saw this before I bought the unit....

I'm more into carplay.... now its getting more stable... only if I used the carplay... phone charging are super slow...

I have to say the Pioneer 5050bt is much better than my previous kenwood unit
JakzT
post Dec 2 2017, 04:45 AM

455 posts

Z5050bt better or 8850bt better?
Thinking to chg car player.
TSMasculine
post Dec 4 2017, 08:35 AM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(JakzT @ Dec 2 2017, 04:45 AM)
Z5050bt better or 8850bt better?
Thinking to chg car player.
i think definitely z5050bt better... 8850bt kind of old model already... just my 2 cents though

0.0156sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:42 PM