> Cum rate my "BBQ" Beef Brisket (home cooked), No Pork No Lard No Mudah Keliru thread.

LYN /k/ Approved?

Hnnnggggggghhhhhhhh [ 11 ] ** [32.35%]
Sous vide is not BBQ [ 7 ] ** [20.59%]
TS ghey [ 16 ] ** [47.06%]
Total Votes: 34
Guests cannot vote 

TSdeodorant
post Feb 19 2017, 08:19 PM, updated 8y ago

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Last night my dinner: Self-cook "BBQ" Brisket!! Before cooking was 1.6kg, in the end share 8ppl makan.

Followed a combination of ChefSteps + SeriousEats recipes.

Ingredients list / Recipe on Blog if anyone interested.
TSdeodorant
post Feb 19 2017, 09:33 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Feb 19 2017, 08:25 PM)
where to buy the liquid smoke, kosher salt, etc?

QUOTE(ycs @ Feb 19 2017, 09:06 PM)
thanks for the info, unlike ts

Minta maaf boss, I couldn't load the thread cos LYN cacat on mobile or something.
TSdeodorant
post Feb 19 2017, 10:08 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(azhan82 @ Feb 19 2017, 09:17 PM)
Janji Kosher Salt biggrin.gif

I looked it up on google,
Actually kosher salt has nothing to do with Jewish traditions.
It's just salt that the grains is a particular size / shape lol.

Kosher salt's original purpose was really to kosher meat, meaning to remove the blood from meat, so it's really koshering salt. Certain salt companies labeled the boxes of this coarse salt kosher salt rather than koshering salt, and the name stuck.

TSdeodorant
post Feb 19 2017, 10:11 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(MENimalist @ Feb 19 2017, 08:57 PM)
looks fucking good 10/101

QUOTE(itekderp @ Feb 19 2017, 09:34 PM)
Looks fantastic

Thanks you but to be frank, my skill / talent contribution to this dish is 0%. 100% of it is just blindly follow internet recipe/directions. So actually anyone can do it as well lol.

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 19 2017, 09:15 PM)
no pork = ok
but the beef halal or not??

No halal chop deswai I no dare to claim halal, only can claim "no pork no lard" icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 19 2017, 09:23 PM)
lol.
my cardboard has more moisture than that

This one not prime rib boss, this cut is brisket which needs long, slow cooks in order to be tender. Deswai brisket is mostly always served well done.

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Feb 19 2017, 09:38 PM)
U need to exercise. Pilling on the weight.

Mang ... I oredi cut carbs by 75% and reduce other caloric intake and swim 2-3 times a week, but best i can do is maintain weight sad.gif
Metabolism super reduce ever since hit 30's
TSdeodorant
post Feb 19 2017, 11:18 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 19 2017, 10:18 PM)
since you cook it sous vide already, all you need is just a very hot pan to color the outer layer.
if you want it to be cooked well done just have the temperature in the sous vide slightly higher. and the length of time there should have it tender.
3 hours in the oven is just overkill with sous vide.

I totally agree with you for other more common cuts of meat. Like prime rib, steak, any other type of standing rib roast or sirloin or striploin roast - sure, you only need a short time in a hot pan for colour. But Brisket is different. You need time in the oven (or in an actual smoker / bbq grill) to develop the bark/crust.

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 19 2017, 10:18 PM)
video looks nice!! Would be better if you speak like a sentence or two during each step.

Dun have any proper microphone, lol. Maybe next time, I baru start doing n00b videos saja.

QUOTE(fotosintesis @ Feb 19 2017, 11:02 PM)
On another note, used to have whole brisket few times before, all were gifted by my neighbour. Damn.. Regret i have not learn proper prep earlier.

Your neighbour in Malaysia? Or in angmoh country? I can hardly find any butcher in Malaysia/Singapore that actually stocks & sells whole briskets, it doesn't seem to be a popular cut (I guess cos we don't have 'that kind' of bbq culture).

TSdeodorant
post Feb 20 2017, 04:26 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Feb 20 2017, 12:21 AM)
Seems abit well done.....otherwise.......damn good effort.

QUOTE(grumpydrive @ Feb 20 2017, 02:17 AM)
is it supposed to be dry?

Can't compare with rib eye, sirloin, or any of the other "common" roast beef cuts which we normally eat at medium or medium rare. Brisket is a super load-bearing muscle which makes it very tough, so it needs to be cooked for long periods of time to break down the toughness. Long cook = well done lol.

(Internet say one)

Anyway it was fatty & juicy despite what it looked like icon_idea.gif
TSdeodorant
post Feb 20 2017, 07:48 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 20 2017, 02:12 AM)
pewwwdiepie in the making!!!!!!! rclxm9.gif

LOL no way man. I dun think I have the charisma or thick-skinned face to be a proper youtuber.
TSdeodorant
post Feb 20 2017, 08:44 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(GonnersKL @ Feb 20 2017, 08:19 AM)
fuh, took days to prepare, and minutes to eat

to be fair, actual time taken working on it was less than 1hr over all those days. i think the washing up took even longer lol.

QUOTE(chokia @ Feb 20 2017, 08:33 AM)
pandai masak

more like pandai follow recipe icon_idea.gif
TSdeodorant
post Feb 20 2017, 12:36 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ Feb 20 2017, 08:49 AM)
why use brisket tho?

It's cheap 😬
A nice prime rib roast easily costs 4x or more.
Brisket is one of those cheap cheap cuts of meat that even if screw up also wallet not so painful.

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Feb 20 2017, 10:40 AM)
wow so nice. and the quality of your camera is top notch!

It's just a compact cam, canon g7x, nothing fancy or anything.

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Feb 20 2017, 10:56 AM)
mcm overcooked je

brisket is like that i guess. unlike rib eye or sirloin or any of the other popular steak / roast cuts, brisket is a well-used, load-bearing muscle so it needs to be cooked very long to be tender.

0.0356sec    0.30    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 04:53 PM