Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

yclam5729
post Mar 6 2018, 09:54 AM

575 posts

Morning, I just got myself 4k TV and was disappointed with Tisen OS by Samsung on video playback and unable to view my shared folders from PC. It doesn't pass through DTS-HD or DD HD through HDMI ARC. Only can hear DTS. So I have no choice to look for 4k media player with DTS-HD, DTS-X, DTS Atmos etc pass through.

I am shortlisting Himedia Q10 Pro. Any of the media player <1K does a better job than Q10 Pro? Egreat A11 is great, can get me to the HD audio pass through with dual HDMI(one video and one audio) without the need to upgrade my receiver but it cost Rm2000!!

Please share your thought all sifu.
yclam5729
post Mar 6 2018, 10:44 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Mar 6 2018, 10:21 AM)
For viewing your shared files, you need to enable DLNA on the TV and also enable it on your PC.
No TV being sold right now is able to pass through DTS-HD & DD HD via ARC. You will need to wait for HDMI 2.1 for that capability and tvs with hdmi 2.1 will come in 2019 only.
The Himedia Q10 Pro is a good choice. For your RM1k budget you can also consider the Nvidia Shield.
I can only view 'Movies', 'Music' folders from C drive and not other shared drive. Will try to check again what's missing and why I can't view other than C drive. Nvidia Shield advantage is better graphic right? Hasn't studied thorough yet, will I get everything Q10 Pro have? I trust Nvidia will do a better job in sound and video, where's best place to get it cheapest?
yclam5729
post Mar 9 2018, 04:02 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 9 2018, 02:53 PM)
I'm using the same box and using AOTG. I hardly have issue with AOTG, I think only once I forced to exit the app because it cannot play any videos. Other than that, it is doing good.

Where did you download the app? It cannot be installed from Google Play if I'm not mistaken, I sideloaded the app myself.
I do use AOTG in my xiaomi box but it is older version. 8.1.2.4 if not mistaken. Only problem is the search show for e.g Singing contest either THe voice or Singer 2018 can't play on xiaomi box. What's version you are using and doesn't it work on searched movies/shows?
yclam5729
post Mar 12 2018, 03:47 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 10 2018, 02:07 AM)
yclam5729, sorry for the reply guys. I'm using 8.1.75.

Add on: I just noticed the latest version is 8.1.93, I just installed and it's still working good. biggrin.gif
Thanks for the clarification, just gotten Nvidia Shield TV(thanks @jdgobio for the sharing of this model) with latest firmware and tested AOTG 8.193. It works for the 1st run, once exit and reopen it will crash and close. If anyone has any clue to this please let me know.

The Nvidia is fast and smooth running on 2160p videos from my PC stream through LAN. Still yet to get the Kodi pass through DTS-HD and DD HD, VLC works so I may need to look for wrapper for Kodi on Nvidia Shield. Overall very happy with my decision to get this than Q10 Pro I short listed as it feels so much premium on the quality and I am sure the video and audio output as well.

I managed to install China TV app used in my Xiaomi TV box, missing the button found in xiaomi remote to switch to 4K streaming.
yclam5729
post Mar 16 2018, 01:50 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Mar 16 2018, 01:15 PM)
i have mi box tv3 china version..the white box..quite ok
Except the 4k quality is way below if you play from TV. If you are not in 4K video, this xiaomi box is good, I use it for AOTG.
yclam5729
post Mar 19 2018, 10:40 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 17 2018, 05:13 PM)
What wrong with Xiaomi 4K video quality?

I don't have single issue playback 4K content from Netflix and YouTube and it play as nice as my Panasonic TV apps.
The color looks so much inferior on my Samsung TV and Nvidia Shield. Same experience for my friend who own LG TV.
yclam5729
post Apr 5 2018, 09:28 AM

575 posts

Anyone can give some idea why my AOTG 8.1.93 version can't install properly in Nvidia Shield TV which is Android version 7.0? Anyone with other box in Android 7.0 OS install AOTG without issue? I have installed successful once, after exit can never open without crash. Even I clear cache, uninstall and reinstall also doesn't help. I try other 2 previous version of AOTG also the same, please share if you have any idea what's happening.

0.2382sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:19 PM