Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

windsurfer
post Aug 21 2018, 01:01 AM

Hi guys/sifus,

I am new to the Android box arena. I need some help. I have an extra PC monitor lying around and i want to use android tv box for the monitor.
So I checked, the monitor only has a hdmi input. Now my question is, the monitor abviously CANNOT play the sound via the HDMI stream from the android box. Most android boxes only has hdmi output.

1) How to deal with this issue?

2) Which box would you recommend with budget about RM 300 - RM 400 ? - watching movies and minor gaming only

3) Can use bluetooth headphones with the box?

Your help will be very much appreciated.

This post has been edited by windsurfer: Aug 21 2018, 01:13 AM
windsurfer
post Aug 21 2018, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 21 2018, 01:29 AM)
1) How to deal with this issue?
If your monitor have speaker build-in then it will work, else just get a pair of speaker.

2) Which box would you recommend with budget about RM 300 - RM 400 ? - watching movies and minor gaming only
Beside Mi Box I not sure what to recommended in this range. Others people here will have more choices as long as you don't care on Netflix.

3) Can use bluetooth headphones with the box?
Yes you can.
Thank you so much for your response. Appreciate it very much.
But I am still confused...if i get speaker, most android tv boxes have only hdmi output.
There is no way to connect the speaker to the box. sad.gif

Lets say if i get T95Z Plus,
they have HDMI output and also AV output...so according to you,
i can configure the box to output video via HDMI and sound via AV?
Does it work that way?

I don't want to buy, and then cannot use with monitor because of sound issues...will be very sad.
And i can't find people who have similar issues, else i can just tt from them.

Thanks much.

windsurfer
post Aug 21 2018, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(monoikhwan @ Aug 21 2018, 12:04 PM)
easy, you have 2 ways to solve:

1. get an hdmi to vga and audio splitter.
2. some boxes have extra for AV OUT port, utilize that port to output the sound
Oh ok, i get it now...

Scenario 1: Meaning split my HDMI out to RGB and Audio (using a splitter) then RGB to monitor and Audio to speaker.

Scenario 2: Just use the HDMI for video out, and use AV port for speaker if AV port is available.

Thanks so much.
Appreciate it.

windsurfer
post Aug 21 2018, 10:20 PM

@monoikhwan @BOTAK_WAI @lucaswjk @Andrewtst @fruitie

Guys thanks so much for your kind replies.
I checked many posts, but couldn't find answer...i guess checking previous posts is a bit crazy because got many previous threads also, so really appreciate it guys. At least i know the 3.5 mm AV port can be used for audio while using HDMI for video...makes alot of difference.

And thanks for the extra tips BT speakers, and Splitters etc...

Appreciate it guys... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
windsurfer
post Aug 22 2018, 12:38 AM

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 21 2018, 11:39 PM)
Bluetooth is the easiest, my speaker is a Bluetooth one as well but I prefer via AV port. tongue.gif
Thanks really...appreciate the tips. First box ...so abit cautious...smile.gif lol...
windsurfer
post Aug 22 2018, 12:46 AM

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Aug 21 2018, 10:40 PM)
Nexbox A95X Pro

Presenting the review of the new TV-Box Nexbox A95X Pro a new version of the classic Nexbox A95X model, this new version is interesting because it has a voice remote control compatible with Google Assistant that integrates with the Android TV system installed. A device that mounts the AMLogic S905W Quad Core SoC and has 2 GB of RAM, a basic model that competes in the price sector. As an attractive point this model includes DRM Google Widevine L1 certificate which allows us to see Netflix FullHD and Youtube 4K.

This device is selling at Gearbest for USD40

SPECIFICATIONS
Main Features
●Android 7.1 OS for fast and stable running
●Voice remote control for hand free operation
●HEVC H.265 decode format, saving half bandwidth
● Amlogic S905W CPU, 1.5GHz quad-core ARM Cortex-A53 processor
● Support 4K Ultra HD resolution
● Mali-450 GPU
● 2.4GHz WiFi
● 2G DDR3 RAM + 16G ROM
WiFi WiFi b/g/n – 2.4GHz
Bluetooth No
Is this the same is this:

https://www.lelong.com.my/a95x-r2-android-7...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Looks different but same name. Sometimes this android tv boxes very confusing smile.gif

If its not the same, can we get the version that you reviewed in Malaysia?
windsurfer
post Aug 22 2018, 11:48 AM

Anyone know where to buy these Android boxes in Penang? Thanks.
windsurfer
post Aug 22 2018, 02:08 PM

QUOTE(GuyM @ Aug 22 2018, 01:10 PM)
Lookup Nicety at garage, he’s based out of Penang
Thanks so much ... rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
windsurfer
post Aug 22 2018, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 22 2018, 01:13 PM)
True also.. But then, can spend similar price and get better entry-level box.. Why not.. laugh.gif
Latest real world reports indicate that the KM8 isn't Google certified as Mecool claims.. Latest Netflix app refuses to run on it. Patch doesn't work either.. Installing an older version does work, but res is limited to 480p.. So currently doubting their claims. Though it's probably a misunderstanding as they wouldn't advertise if it isn't.. Or rather shouldn't.
Just decide on which you want an have it shipped to you... Then can buy from anywhere, including overseas.. Check out garage sales too.
Thanks mate...just a question, if buy from China etc. from Lazada / 11 Street...customs kacau kah?

windsurfer
post Aug 22 2018, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 22 2018, 02:17 PM)
I bought all my boxes from Lazada which shipped from overseas, no issue at all. Even if that really happens, Lazada/11 Street will pay for you.
You're a savior really...now i know what to do and how to get. I have all my answers now.

Really thanks so much. Appreciate it to the core.

This post has been edited by windsurfer: Aug 22 2018, 02:26 PM
windsurfer
post Aug 22 2018, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 22 2018, 02:27 PM)
That's what YouTube and reputable websites or forum reviews are for.  Since you insist.. Then try Plaza Lowyat in KL.
You are welcome.. Can't speak for 11street. But I've bought a lot of overseas items off Lazada & Aliexpress,...never had to pay any extra customs fees. It's all already factored in, especially lazada.. Just pay, let seller ship and wait for delivery.. Typically in 7 - 10 days.. Max 2 weeks for a delayed item. This doesn't mean that you shouldn't buy local. I try to always buy local first and if only the item can't be found locally and or too expensive, then I buy from overseas..
Way too cool...didn't know of AliExpress...seems got some good stuff there...thanks mate.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

0.2474sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:24 PM