Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2
stevenkkh
Apr 9 2018, 11:02 AM
Recently i found a few tv box: TZ Plus 3GB 32GB Android 7.1 Nougat Smart Android Box (Pre-installed Apps) https://www.lazada.com.my/products/tz-plus-...7Lvl60&search=1Android 7.1 Smart TV Box M8S PlusII Amlogic S912 Octa Core Mini PC 3G+32G+5G WIFI 4K H.265 Media Player Home Movie Bluetooth https://www.lazada.com.my/products/android-...9a6a4&cid=12793Mecool Pro L 3GB 32GB Android Smart Box (Pre installed Malaysian Apps) https://www.lazada.com.my/products/mecool-p...24897__11467__1I just roughly summarize most of the specs seems to be the same in 3GB ram, Android 7.1 and CPU Amlogic S912. Just thinking all this brand any different beside pricing? I know that a clean box without preinstall apps seems to be cheaper. Wondering any differences between all this boxes sell online to take notice.
stevenkkh
Apr 9 2018, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(puchongite @ Apr 9 2018, 11:37 AM) All the Amlogic devices are almost the same but not exactly the same. They may be differences in Wifi chipset, Wifi antenna (embedded, internal, external), ROM version, Netflix Certification, root/non-root, HD audio passthru, etc. Some seller added a few apps which able to stream some illegal/non-official content from some places and sell a few hundred ringgit more. So it's a big soup there. Hardware is not the only thing you need to consider. Maybe just for comparison example, out of this 3 device, which one seems to be the best excluding those apps as consideration? The pricing seems to be around the same.
stevenkkh
Apr 10 2018, 03:41 PM
Just thinking do you prefer to buy extra for an empty tv box or already come with preinstalled apps?
As I see those empty boxes is more cheaper by 100 bucks compare to those come with preinstalled apps. Example, for me, I have install Kodi before on my own. So was just thinking is those preinstalled anything special that I can install on my own just by search apk around or through playstore?
stevenkkh
Apr 10 2018, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 3 2018, 10:46 AM) Seller? You don't need a seller. Buy a box like from Lazada, I am using Minix U1 and it can use Astro Go, which the box once a while it has sales, so just wait for good deals.  For Astro Go account, just hook to your family/friend's account and enjoy it. I'm using my parents' Astro account and I enjoy it in my own place. Just think is this Minix U1 consider branded? Android 5.1 https://www.lazada.com.my/products/minix-ne...s244362629.htmlThe pricing is more but the hardware specs seems to be lacking compare to something better like Mecool Pro L 3GB 32GB Android Smart Box, Android 7.1 https://www.lazada.com.my/products/mecool-p...24897__11467__1This post has been edited by stevenkkh: Apr 10 2018, 03:52 PM
stevenkkh
Apr 11 2018, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 11 2018, 05:19 PM) Free app that has been working for years? Yes, cloudtv, just to mention one.. VOD? Showbox and Popcorntime.. TLDR, what do I know.. Only been messing with Android boxes for over 7 years.. Again.. You don't see what's in front of you.. I even tossed in a rough calculation to show that ultimately it's still better to buy your own box and DIY exactly as one sees fit and still cheaper than buying shitty boxes. Excuse my language, that's the safest word I can use to describe such. I know a pal who owns an evpad and latest Kodi works horribly on it.. Don't even get me started on HD surround sound passthrough capabilities and pq.. Good illegal IPTV services go for under RM20 per month..means in a year it's RM240. And can get yearly packages from same providers for almost 50% off that.. Yes, that cheap and they are much better maintained than the free ones.. Mine offers hundreds of channels, some 1080p with full accurate EPG and they have dedicated servers and bandwidth to offer up to 4K VOD streams..Just have to know where to look... I'm just a user, not invested or anything and will not (for obvious reasons) reveal it directly. In fact said free ones steal streams from such and provide to others (bless such devs).. But obviously they are unable to sustain it cuz weak servers and bandwidth plus legal complications. For all we know, evpad or ubox also grab streams from these guys and resell. As I mentioned earlier, one off payments devices aren't sustainable, just like MLM schemes.. Sure some can last over a year. But there'll come that time when they inevitably go bust having collected enough or can't handle the heat. So those last in one time payers... Your guess what happens to their money and if they are stuck with a crappy box or not. Eventually, end up here asking for which good box to buy. Why not skip that entire step and get a good box, then pair it with a reliable service. My 2 sen. I just afraid something off only with different pricing as whether why some sell cheaper like this one: MECOOL M8S PRO L AMLOGIC S912 3G RAM 32G ROM OCTA CORE 64 BIT DUAL WIFI ANDROID 7.1 BT 4.1 - RM340 http://www.11street.my/productdetail/mecoo...use-retargeting VS MECOOL M8S PRO L 3GB/16GB Android 7.1 Amlogic S912 KODI 17.3 4K TV BOX 802.11AC WIFI Bluetooth - RM265.30 http://www.11street.my/productdetail/mecoo...4043?recopick=4Seems almost the same, maybe one from Malaysia, one from China, maybe this is the different that cause the price difference. This post has been edited by stevenkkh: Apr 11 2018, 09:55 PM