Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

SUSmonoikhwan
post Jun 29 2017, 12:34 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 29 2017, 12:10 PM)
Yesterday my smart TV Youtube no more can function anymore. And the media player youtube too.

After further check, youtube no more support the old version (flash ?). Which both my device is 5yrs old. No firmware can be found and answer from the manufacturing.

So my solution is to get a android box? Which is still very new to me.

What I need is just able to stream youtube only. Others channel not important. A very simple box. Like chromecast.

But Chromecast require to use the phone or pad as a remote and navigate. That is abit troublesome. Which everytime I have to fireup the unit for a simple navigate.

Is there any box that is like chromecast. But with a remote control ?
want to buy my nexbox a95x? selling cheap rm100 kaotim
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jun 29 2017, 01:14 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 29 2017, 01:02 PM)
Is this the spec --> Amlogic S905X, 2GB RAM, 16GB ROM, Android 6.0  ?

Why you sell it away ?
ops sorry, this is the 1GB variant.
Below is the spec.

● Amlogic S905 quad-core CPU
● Mali-450 GPU
● 64bit Android 5.1
● 1GB DDR3 + 8GB eMMC Flash Memory
● 2.4GHz WiFi (10 / 100Mbps Ethernet)
● Supports H.265 video code
● Supports 4K HD video
● HDMI connector: DOLBY TrueHD and DTS HD Bypass through HDMI.
● EU plug
● Power LED indicator: Power ON is blue, sleeping is red.

Reason of selling?
I already have Minix U9H for living room and Beelink GT1 for my room, this box only used in my maid's room.
And according to her, she didnt know how to use and not interested to know how to use doh.gif
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jun 30 2017, 10:52 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 30 2017, 09:20 AM)

Is that memory enough ? 1GB DDR3. I check the review and mostly is a 2gb version.
i only open kodi, iflix and youtube on this box (thats only what i teach my maid anyway). So far never encountered low memory warning.

That Android 5.1 is upgrade able?
nope, stock firmware only at 5.1. Not sure about custom / 3rd party firmware.

My TV always face memory full. And now face the old firmware problem. Sian.
please find my replies in blue, thank you
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jul 4 2017, 04:11 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 4 2017, 04:01 PM)
Fuh, hardcore lineup.

Look like the Beelink is good spec. But 3x the price of someone here offer me his 2nd set. sweat.gif

But might thing of this Beelink set. The spec look like can upgrade android easily. Hope it can last very long.
lol. Beelink cant even get their firmware working right.
go to Beelink forum and you can see for yourself, how many users are fuming that their GT1 dead/brick after upgrade firmware.
of course it can be resurrected, but it is such a hassle to short pins and all.

how do i know? i faced the issue myself. and how do i solved it? by flashing 3rd party firmware.
yeah u read it right. 3RD PARTY FIRMWARE.
Beelink cant even get their firmware to work correctly.
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jul 5 2017, 01:30 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 5 2017, 01:05 AM)
Beelink good? specs seems better than Minix X8
except the firmware u mentioned.
Good spec with poor support, no no nope.
I've learned it the hard way.
The firmware is what interfaces u to the so called good hardware. If this part problematic, no matter how good the hardwares are, you'll still end up getting sub par quality.
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jul 7 2017, 06:04 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 7 2017, 05:06 PM)
Yes. These re-branded boxes are not good with Krypton. I just hope Jarvis can be used for few years... Else, I gotta try SPMC...
I've been using SPMC on my older box, so far its better than Kodi.
i also tried FTMC, but still SPMC seems better than both.
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jul 13 2017, 10:16 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(Ice BabY @ Jul 13 2017, 08:52 AM)
Yeah i already bought 5port network switch.. you mean i need 1 router? 1st floor and also ground floor?
configure a vlan trunk on router downstairs, tag 500 on router on the upper floor. done.
SUSmonoikhwan
post Aug 11 2017, 09:18 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Aug 11 2017, 06:10 PM)
Finally bite the bullet getting the Mini-X U9-H from 11 Street bundled with A3 Air Mouse.

So expensive LOL.

It's like RM677 after discount and shipping fee.
Later can you please confirm if Hypptv everywhere can be used with this box? Mine didn't work. Called TM and they said probably box is rooted.
SUSmonoikhwan
post Aug 12 2017, 05:23 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(demon88 @ Aug 11 2017, 09:36 PM)
Hai, i have tried the hypptv app on u9 couple month ago and its works just fine, but only on wifi. Ethernet only able to stream Luxe HD and RTM channel iirc, not  sure why.
Ahhh no wonder. Mine was connected via Ethernet. Let me try with WiFi. Thanks for the heads up! smile.gif
SUSmonoikhwan
post Aug 14 2017, 12:30 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(demon88 @ Aug 11 2017, 09:36 PM)
Hai, i have tried the hypptv app on u9 couple month ago and its works just fine, but only on wifi. Ethernet only able to stream Luxe HD and RTM channel iirc, not  sure why.
Yeah! it works! once i switch to wifi, all channel can be viewed, thanks for the info!

QUOTE(donhue @ Aug 12 2017, 07:44 AM)
Not sure about the U9, but on my U1, under Ethernet settings, there's an option to fake wifi status. It's to trick the OS and apps to think it's connected to wifi instead of mobile data (which is how it's considered when it's connected to LAN)
U9 did have the option, i did try turning it on. but HyppTV still doesnt work.
it only work under below scenario:
turn on wifi, click fake wifi, hypptv works, restart device, (fake mode still on) hypptv doesnt work.
basically, we need to manually on wifi device, and it didnt work after each reboot.

do you experience the same thing?
SUSmonoikhwan
post Dec 18 2017, 05:59 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(mywife @ Dec 4 2017, 12:09 PM)
After some good read from that 4pda forum I decided to flash again my box but this time with Ugoos m3 firmware. They have a very good discussions and recommendation of this box being paired with Ugoos m3 fw.
Here's one comprehensive and detail review of Mini m8s Pro...i found the link somewhere from the thread.

Now I got all three Njoi Now, Astro Go and Hypptv everywhere working hahaha.
Good and clean firmware from Ugoos I might say. No driver problem this time and as praised by some in that 4pda thread, this fw is considered the best-match for mini m8s's hardware.
And from my experience, it's like straight drop-in replacement though.

The most welcomed feature of the fw is "Ugoos hw settings" where you can enable in-built hardware monitor like CPU Temp and network activity. So now I have 2 less apps to install huhuhu.

I was actually planning to flash the previous minix fw with magisk in my effort to try my luck with hypptv everywhere and now it's working on this Ugoos....very nice indeed!!!

...only thing is hypptv only works on WiFi. Once switched to ethernet, the circle keep on spinning. But I don't mind that since the box just sit next to router all the time.

Thanks to that Yuri guy by the way...I can now have some good rest for awhile...
bro, which firmware u tried?
the ugoos 1.1.4 or the 2.0.1?
SUSmonoikhwan
post Dec 19 2017, 07:48 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 19 2017, 05:21 PM)
Anyone here used a MX3 air mouse before ?

Thinking of getting one. As the RII mini keyboards are not able to fully power off the TV and tv box, whereas the MX3 air mouse has IR learning capability and thus is able to power off/on both the TV and the tv box.
Very good, however reliability is questionable. Mine broken after 6 months. Well during the 6 months, everything is a breeze.
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jan 1 2018, 10:27 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 1 2018, 10:16 PM)
Everyone should have this thinking.. Logic is logic and cannot be faulted.. If everyone questioned things and only applied logic and fairness, the world won't have idiots today who think it's okay to grab a gun or strap on a vest to blow people up, just because a book written by someone else says its very much justified to do so or they can't handle the way the world works now. Good, you too are entitled to your opinion (this is a public forum after-all). If you can't accept it doesn't mean the logic is flawed.. I posted my comments to avoid others simply accepting flawed logic as true. I know the things I know, because I put in the work and not sit around expecting people to tell it all down to the last bit.. There's spoon-feeding and then there's extreme spoon-feeding. In this your very post, you already contradict yourself..

[*]Help page - https://help.netflix.com/legal/termsofuse (only mentioned quality is depends on internet line performance and subject to device capabilities **).. That is a warning given by Netflix already.. Simplest obvious meaning is to tell you that performance is dependent on your Internet Speeds and Device used..No? Plus they already offered free 1-month trial for you to test before payment starts.. Isn't one month more than enough for you to test current devices capabilities and if you require a different one or a lesser plan (I mentioned this in my previous post but as usual you don't have logical comebacks for such). Anyways, You say Google pulling out of Amazon devices is a business interest and has nothing to do with hardware capable or not.. Good grief! I never thought anyone could be that dense. How is it not related? Aren't Amazon devices more than capable of running YouTube or YouTube Red?.. Isn't Netflix requiring that certified devices actually be certified by them to get full capabilities a business decision? doh.gif .. At least many are grateful (and this is another prime example of Netflix's fairness and customer-friendly policy) that Netflix didn't completely disable and disallow these non-certified devices from using their services. But allowed them to work unlike the Google and Amazon examples you brought up earlier to use in supporting your argument.. If you subscribe to TIME's 500Mbps package but only have devices at home with max real world speeds of up to 100Mbps, who's fault is it again? TIME's or you? Perhaps you want TIME to list on their website that "Hey, this package is only for those who have 100% verified 500Mpbs capable devices at home"... Bruh!!  rclxub.gif

You say the User already know that their device is capable.. Oh okay.. I'm unaware of any scenario where an end user who is incapable of simple googling, much less understanding hardware specs and software limitations, is able to know more than the producer of the service. I love giving people analogies to see the illogicality of the thought processes..In total finality, should my counterarguments be wasted on you, I hope others took note.. I always base my purchases on real world performance and not theoretical. Do your homework before pulling the trigger on any media device, lest you suffer a fate where what you thought it can do is different from real world performance..
Just continue bickering for your fukken self inflating ego, everyone here knows your petty ego especially ur rap against TS previously, no one cares anyway. But don't drag religion into this. Everyone knows your thinly veiled attempt of mockering Islam in above remark. Pathetic Minix fan boy
SUSmonoikhwan
post Mar 28 2018, 02:11 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 28 2018, 02:07 PM)
I got from this seller. I don't think he will cancel, the one cancelled was another seller.
I also got at discounted price but slightly higher, after voucher I paid for RM 255. This is a steal, must get. laugh.gif
I also asked my friend to buy too. The blessing for me obviously is the Astro Go and UniFi TV Everywhere since these two apps don't work with rooted boxes and some other boxes.
even your price last time is slightly higher,
iinm yours were bundled with A2 lite airmouse remote right?
SUSmonoikhwan
post May 28 2018, 04:36 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ May 28 2018, 04:09 PM)
guys, im using minix u9-h. installed hyyptv apps, can login. but not able to watch. it will show 'service not available' anybody know the reason ?
turn on wifi. i believe this has been discussed for quite a number of time before.
SUSmonoikhwan
post Aug 21 2018, 12:04 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(windsurfer @ Aug 21 2018, 11:50 AM)
Thank you so much for your response. Appreciate it very much.
But I am still confused...if i get speaker, most android tv boxes have only hdmi output.
There is no way to connect the speaker to the box. sad.gif

Lets say if i get T95Z Plus,
they have HDMI output and also AV output...so according to you,
i can configure the box to output video via HDMI and sound via AV?
Does it work that way?

I don't want to buy, and then cannot use with monitor because of sound issues...will be very sad.
And i can't find people who have similar issues, else i can just tt from them.

Thanks much.
easy, you have 2 ways to solve:

1. get an hdmi to vga and audio splitter.
2. some boxes have extra for AV OUT port, utilize that port to output the sound

This post has been edited by monoikhwan: Aug 21 2018, 12:05 PM
SUSmonoikhwan
post Aug 21 2018, 01:11 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(windsurfer @ Aug 21 2018, 12:18 PM)
Oh ok, i get it now...

Scenario 1: Meaning split my HDMI out to RGB and Audio (using a splitter) then RGB to monitor and Audio to speaker.

Scenario 2: Just use the HDMI for video out, and use AV port for speaker if AV port is available.

Thanks so much.
Appreciate it.
yes, although with option 1, your pq will be degraded.
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jan 30 2019, 10:17 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 30 2019, 09:19 AM)
These people failed to understand that the box is just a device, Android boxes banned, no issue there's PC to stream too. laugh.gif

I'm sure the consumers can outsmart the authority. tongue.gif
does HTPC and Raspberry Pi is categorized as TV Box?
If yes then people can easily used those to load their illegal streaming services
SUSmonoikhwan
post Jan 30 2019, 02:34 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 30 2019, 02:23 PM)
Which one will be better, Android TV OS or stock Android OS? I'm thinking of Shield or other devices which are using Android TV OS in the future.
if you have budget for Shield, then go for Shield.
Netflix 4k in STB is better than in TV
SUSmonoikhwan
post Feb 1 2019, 02:51 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Feb 1 2019, 02:36 PM)
On another note..u may try android tv custom rom by kondor. Can find it at minix forum.

I've used it since its release and never gone back to stock. Love the leanback experience of android tv os.
Able to do Netflix 4k with that ROM?

0.2345sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:12 PM