Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2
darkskies
Apr 22 2019, 04:06 PM
I've been quite curious. I plan to build a tvbox by assembling my own using AMD mobo and processor. Installing the android OS on it. I've no idea how compatible between AMD and android but as for Intel processors, it should work fine. Why i plan to use a cpu over a made out of factory tv box because these stuffs break down easily. Compared to Intel why i wanted AMD ? I'm sure given such scenarios, android are not resource hogging stuffs. AMD could easily stand up to the performance. I've tried to research on TVbox build on AMD but not getting any results. Anyone can point me one ? Thx.
darkskies
Apr 22 2019, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(puchongite @ Apr 22 2019, 04:09 PM) Haha biggest question is why do it your own ? If hobby then OK lor. Exactly hobby. QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 22 2019, 04:28 PM) But....WHHHYYYYY????? If me, i would just build a Windows HTPC. Been there, done that. It's way more flexible than Android. make sure the GPU can output all the various DD True HD, DTS-MA, etc etc whatever you need. You don't need a high-end GPU for it. Not into windows because windows will ate a chunk of resources off easily. I prefer Android because it's light on resources and there's a whole lotsa stuff you can do with android that's free on playstore. Actually i worried about GPU and if android able to work well with soundcards.....
darkskies
Apr 23 2019, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 22 2019, 04:47 PM) Erm..if you have 4GB RAM, Windows 10 works fine. Add an SSD and it will be speed demon just like mine. You also can run an Android emulator on it. If you're looking to build Android OS with AMD/Intel Hardware....i can say you are really looking at a very difficult project...Btw,i think you can forget about soundcards, you don't really need it nowadays. And i doubt you can find any Android drivers that works with Discrete soundcards. I've installed Android on my old laptop before and it runs. The only thing that doesn't work is the wifi and googleplay could not work properly due to fail to deterine my location. Ya.. for the soundcard i believe it won't work and nowadays most use DAC. QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 22 2019, 11:52 PM) How about something along the lines of the ODROID-N2? I'm currently eyeing it for similar and home NAS purposes. Will take alook at the Odroid-N2.