Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

akash
post Apr 2 2020, 06:34 PM

AK Da BEAR
1,368 posts

Good day Forumers and Sifu, Been long time posted in any of the threads.

I am kinda in a dilemma here. I am having a old Smart TV (Panasonic Viera 50 Series) which only have Youtube, Iflix and so on. Since the TV is fine and is connected to my HYPPTV / UNIFITV and thats pretty much i have.

Since having stuck in this MCO / RMO , there is pretty much nothing to do or watch other then work from home and watching the same repeated show again and again.

I downloaded Movies thru my laptop and Connect to my TV Via DLNA and watch movies bt that required me to have my laptop on and sometimes.

Was looking for Android TV Box to unlock to expand my possibility and use Netflix, YuppTV and have a box dedicated to function instead of using my laptop.

Came across TX6 (Link Below) and was having what i wanted.. A 4gb Ram and 64gb rom. However further googling found that they dont support Netflix due to License Issue.

TX6 URL

Was looking for cheap alternative anyway since after this MCO, not sure will have enough time in-front of the TV but that is a question for another day, so was curios and end up this thread which unlocked more Android Box model with different pricing criteria and also pros and con. Now i am confused as looking at Nvidia Sheild is way out the Budget and Beelink GT King and Amazon Fire Price almost similar (Its still on higher budget) and comparing with Tx6 feel worthless to buy the TX6 since complain of overheat issue / Lack of Netflix Support and so on.

Budget wise Xiaomi Box as is cheaper but Comes with 2G Ram.. Since i was thinking of it as an investment to use it log term, which of the current Android Box is budgetly future proof and can run the below :

Netflix
Youtube
Chrome Browsing
YuppTv (India channel, subscription Based available in playstore)

I dont Fancy playing games so my concern is more to Media and Streaming and use it long term and also can support external drive or link with my cloud so i can play movies from there.

After looking thru, Amazon Firebox Gen 2 seems nice but yea budget is a concern since this MCO time, buying things and keeping reserve cash is a must but keeping sane is also another must.

akash
post Apr 3 2020, 12:17 PM

AK Da BEAR
1,368 posts

QUOTE(myeddylim @ Apr 2 2020, 07:08 PM)
PUT A USB FAN UNDERNEATH TX6, I PUT IT UNDER MY TX3 MAX. NO PROBLEM ON OVERHEATING
That is one way to solve the issue but my question was way more then this..
akash
post Apr 3 2020, 12:29 PM

AK Da BEAR
1,368 posts

QUOTE(tharmaraj @ Apr 3 2020, 12:25 PM)
1st page have your answers. From my own perspective all the things you mentioned; my best bet is Amazon Firebox Gen 2 or Nvidia. I recently upgraded to Nvidia (did little bit of saving) and I have no regret getting this box.  thumbsup.gif
Just a quick doubt, Before you upgrade to Nvidia, What box you were using and what was the reason to choose Nvidia over Amazon Firebox?

This post has been edited by akash: Apr 3 2020, 12:29 PM
akash
post Apr 5 2020, 01:27 AM

AK Da BEAR
1,368 posts

QUOTE(tharmaraj @ Apr 3 2020, 01:40 PM)
Mi Box S and my kids love to play games and Nvidia was a best bet. With MCO in place they are not bored  biggrin.gif
Thank you for very much for the input.

After much checking, reading, viewing review and hands on video in youtube, Decided to go with Roku Streaming Stick+

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i6953041...ls.item_title.1

Already ordered and waiting for shipment.

Thank you very much to all whom provided input as i was clear on what i wanted and Roku Streaming Stick+ was able to provide with what i wanted.

0.2400sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:53 PM