Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

GHOSTVIC
post Apr 16 2019, 01:06 AM

369 posts

Hello Brothers, good day..

i am new to this android box stuff, i did analysis i kinda pening seeing lots of adroid box from rm100 to rm1000... some with 64gb, 4g ram, and extra..
Some saying need to use VPN, when does it required ?

My main concern, streaming 4K HDR UHD DOLBY supported android box since i have 4K HDR Dolby audio supported TV.
Im bored with ASTRO monthly paying high for nothing, and planning to have android box.
My TV already preloaded with some movie apps, such as NETFLIX, IFLIX, GOOGLEPLAYMOVIES, and extra.
But too bad, TV not allowing me to download other movie apps even from the preloaded web browser.
Probably restricted to download any apps directly to TV.
I see most of the apps in tv needed registration ?

Do i need the android box still ?

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Apr 16 2019, 01:07 AM
GHOSTVIC
post Apr 16 2019, 08:33 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 16 2019, 08:56 AM)
Actually you can install other Android apps.

1) First you go to Google playstore to download and install a SideLoader.

2) Then you change the settings on your TV to allow unknown source.

3) Download your apk files from sites like apkpure.com into a thumbdrive.

4) Install a file explorer like ES Explorer or some other file managers from Android TV Appstore.

5) Run ES EXplorer. Stick your thumbdrive into the TV. It should appear, now you can install the apk and the apps will be available from your Sideloader app.

Above thks to bro AVFANnotworthy.gif

==Update===
I forgot what TV you have...is it Android TV? The above only applicable for Android TV.....my mistake here.
Hi bro i have looking that option to enable unknown source in tv.. like how we do in mobile.
But i do not see tht setting anywhere for NU8000 samsung smart tv.

GHOSTVIC
post Apr 16 2019, 08:57 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 16 2019, 02:09 PM)
Yes you do need an external player.. As per your requirements? When you say Dolby.. We talking ATMOS level or....? As for Astro replacement.. Again, we can't discuss such.. It's officially illegal. So Google and proceed at own risk. Nevertheless, there are plenty sources and means to get em. So won't be hard to find.

VPN is required for what a VPN does.. Accessing what isn't originally accessible. Whether it works or you need it or how long? Depends entirely on the content you watch or plan to.
I see those preinstalled apps in smart tv offering movies all need to subscribe monthly or yearly to watch movies.. some tv series seems free. If get android box would be having same restrictions right unless get apps that offering free movies.

Already have netflix in tv, premium UHD contain monthly rm51 ringgit.. but any restrictions or can stream smoothly for 100mbps unifi connection ? Or telco blocking any contains even pay for netflix ?
GHOSTVIC
post Apr 16 2019, 09:16 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 16 2019, 02:09 PM)
Yes you do need an external player.. As per your requirements? When you say Dolby.. We talking ATMOS level or....? As for Astro replacement.. Again, we can't discuss such.. It's officially illegal. So Google and proceed at own risk. Nevertheless, there are plenty sources and means to get em. So won't be hard to find.

VPN is required for what a VPN does.. Accessing what isn't originally accessible. Whether it works or you need it or how long? Depends entirely on the content you watch or plan to.
I see those preinstalled apps in smart tv offering movies all need to subscribe monthly or yearly to watch movies.. some tv series seems free. If get android box would be having same restrictions right unless get apps that offering free movies.

Already have netflix in tv, premium UHD contain monthly rm51 ringgit.. but any restrictions or can stream smoothly for 100mbps unifi connection ? Or telco blocking any contains even pay for netflix ?
GHOSTVIC
post Apr 17 2019, 02:56 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 17 2019, 02:10 AM)
You won't find it.. Samsung TVs ship with their proprietary tv OS.. Tizen.. Frankly, I prefer it to many of the half-baked or problematic Android TV OS powered TVs out there. End up, those owners still need to get an external player.
Firstly.. There's no such thing as an Android TV box.. There are box shaped devices that run Android mobile OS and can be used to watch media content. It's basically a phone/tablet connected via HDMI to the TV.. Understand this first. The rest is self explanatory..

Free or premium... Is really up to the amount of effort you are willing to put in. Can get for free? Yes.. Don't want to or can't out in the work (continously) to source and maintain the free stuff? Better to go the paid route and let someone else handle for you. Like you already have a Netflix account and they manage the library...vs you go hunting for free sources.

For now, there are no such restrictions in place to throttle Netflix. 100Mbps is sufficient to stream Netflix's UHD HDR content. Provided there aren't any other unrestrained heavy users connected to the same network.
Nah fam.. It won't be cuz it's not an Android TV OS.
Correct and incorrect.. Officially? There's no straightforward way to install and natively run Android apps on Tizen.. However, through the use of ACL, etc.. Some success can be had. Personally, I haven't bothered with such as I've got a decent external player. Besides, the average TV's hardware will be weaker for certain file playback. Mine for sure is weaker.. Can't even read h.265 files.
Nope.. 25Mbps is the minimum dedicated speed requirement to stream Netflix's UHD content. One will require more speed in order to achieve smoother and nonstop UHD res playback, especially with other simultaneous internet users and or devices.
Great brother thanks for the information, really informative and appreciate it. Ya when i stream tv youtube 4k videos via celcom mobile hotspot, buffering like hell. Speed test, connection shows up to 50mbps, yet buffering probably wireless signal fluctuation. Wired is reliable i believe.

Between any suggestion on android box brother, nvidea shield kind a expensive with least space and ram.
Another brother recommended FIRE TV.

GHOSTVIC
post Apr 17 2019, 12:32 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 17 2019, 09:37 AM)
Yup.. Wired all the way is definitely the most reliable. Also, TM's network is more stable than a shared mobile network connection. Though that is dependent on location as some places, 4G signals are strong and offer better speeds than TM's offerings.. Streamyx areas.. But that doesn't apply to you. If Celcom buffers content from solid Google servers, then others will be even more poor.

Do not get Amazon's Firetv as you already have a smart tv for the essentials..Native 4K Netflix and YouTube. Yup, the Nvidia Shield is expensive. But if you have the proper AV equipment to match it? It's actually the best option. You can either spring for the larger 500GB version or you take the 16GB version... But pair it with a larger external drive (typical usb) and activate it's "adoptable storage" feature.

For decent cheaper options, yet capable of handling high bitrate 4K HDR10, etc files and up to DTS:X sound format? That'd be the Minix Neo U9-H and the HiMedia Q10 Pro. I've done some form of comparison in a recent post. So look that up. It's easier if you just isolate my posts and you read backwards.. Or search.. Only thing I'd add unto that is..
*To get say ATMOS passthrough on the Q10 Pro? You either have to play the file using KODI + a customer "Wrapper" provided by HiMedia or using the native Media Center/Player. This box, though "old" is still very versatile where HD Audio is concerned.
*For the Neo U9-H, Minix is a diamond backer and strong Kodi supporter and so they came up with a custom Minix only Kodi app.. This ships natively with all Minix boxes. Using it, you can get Kodi to easily passthrough audio up to DTS:X during playback. Also known to have rock solid firmwares and most app compatibility..

Of course, with both... Ideally you need to have compatible AVRs too.. Which is a must have for anyone who's serious about enjoying ATMOS and DTS:X formats. Soundbars or TV speakers simply don't cut it..  puke.gif
Fooohhh sudah pening for a moment... totally blank hahah..
Digesting the information you given here brother..

GHOSTVIC
post Apr 17 2019, 11:27 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 17 2019, 08:20 PM)
Haha.. My bad bro.. There's just so much variables and I tried to summarize it all without leaving core info out.. That's why kudos to TS who tried to summarize and explain at the same time.. Just relax, take a breather and dive in.. It'll all make sense.. if it doesn't? Just get either of the recommendations and you should be fine.
Bro.. just had my 100mbps unifi and subscribed for netflix which is free for 1st month..
But i see not so outstanding collection.. even i tried to search some old movies not able to find.. example LOTR,HOBBITS cannot be found
I thought it works better than free apps i used to watch movies where hell of collection old movies example popcorn..
But NETFLIX... is it different country has different collection and restrictions ?
I thought NETFLIX TV APP has issues, so downloaded app in my mobile and did searching yet same those movies cannot be found.

Another thing i tried to play UHD 4K movies but in my smart tv not full resolution, the screen not stretched even setting is 16:9
Most of the UHD 4K OR HDR movies not full stretched..
I even called NETFLIX support service, they claimed it depends on title and not all movies will.play full screen is that true ?
Checked the profile setting in mobile app anything related to the quality, since in TV NETFLIX no much settings. Just basic.
So in mobile app, checked the profile and changed from auto to high quality but no difference.

Below are the example on HDR & ULTRA HD 4K, title saying so but i have no idea whether the movie playing HDR/UHD4K. Puzzle

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Apr 18 2019, 01:52 AM
GHOSTVIC
post Apr 18 2019, 06:40 PM

369 posts

Brothers.. just checked some android box in digital mall here. Some of them giving inputs, was watching what they do aftet buy boxes and extra. Clarified on the boxes.

They saying not all box can support netflix 4k, can install but just plays 720p. Only netflix compatible can play like appletv or nvidea shield.
According to him appletv, want to pay for streaming.
Not open like rest.

Himedia Q10pro seems 4k Uhd dolby supported can install any app. Can insert additional storage.
Default 2gb ram 16gb capacity. Better performance with good wifi antena
Price rm529 with remote.

Skybox looks smaller, not supporting 4kUHD. Can install any apps. Skysports
Price about rm400..
apps will be installed

Neo u9h minix seems better performance, can install any app. Hav restriction for skysports. Supprt 4K HDR DOLBY.
Netflix 720p ? Comes blank have to install everything
Price rm599 with airmouse 2.

Mibox, price 399, apps need to install own.

GHOSTVIC
post Apr 22 2019, 01:12 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 18 2019, 11:03 PM)
Bruh.. Seems like you not following my advice. You already have a smart tv to handle Netflix at native res and surround sound. Focus on other things.. I gave recommendations and explanations.. All you have to do is read and decide.. It's a done deal. Later you go and get sold snake oil.. Don't complain yeah..
Hi bro, like u said my tv netflix already capable of playing in 4k uhd hdr with 5.1 dolby. Initially i wanted to have same feature from netflix installed in androidbox. I also had idea of using Vpn so can go for more content, since my tv not allowed to do so. But after reading what boxes netflix certified, which can play 4k, which can do atmos, restrictions.. i backoff from this netflix+atmos mindset.

Based on my current understanding from all of you guys input i can conclude..

1. Nvidea shield capable of 4k hdr and atmos, can play netflix in 4k but nonatmos. App freedom wise need to dig more if any restrictions.
2. Apple 4k tv compatible with netflix can play 4k and atmos. App or apk freedom.wise there is restrictions.
3. Himedia q10 4k hdr atmos capable, but not netflix certified able to install apk but up to 720. App freedom unlimited.
4. Minix neou9h 4k hdr nonatmos, works similar to himidea.
5. Xiomi mibox support 4k netflix nonatmos, app freedom unlimited.

Correct me if im wrong..

Based on @AVFAN template

.. your broadband speed.
➡100mbps
.. will use ethernet or wifi?
➡Ethernet direct connection from router
.. want only english or only canto or only mandarin or...?
➡English, korean, chinese
.. want eng subs, chinese subs, whatever subs...?
➡Eng subs, malay subs
.. want movies or tv shows or live tv, what languages... give examples.
➡Movies, tvshows,live tv
...must have live sports incl all epl?
➡Sports epl, laliga, foxsports, skysports
.. can accept sd or only want hd?
➡HD uhd hdr
.. want hd audio (dtshdma, dd truehd) pass thru for yr home theater?
➡Dolby audio, dts, dd
.. want legit iptv like netflix, iflix, astro on the go, hypptv everywhere?
➡Astro on the go, unifiplaytv but i believe it only works in nonrooted box.
.. want ahem iptv , i.e. aztro and the like?
.. your knowledge level with androids?
➡Knowledge upto instalation, apps, using android mobile. Not up to rooting or troubleshooting. Still new for this android box chapter.
.. budget - min and maximum
➡300 to 600

Now im thinking of getting HIMIDEA Q10PRO / MINIX NEOU9H,
Comparing on
- performance and firmware issues
- app tolerance..
- audio video quality
- root or nonrooted is it necessary for hav all the apps installed
- and extra

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Apr 22 2019, 01:20 PM
GHOSTVIC
post Apr 24 2019, 09:25 PM

369 posts

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Apr 24 2019, 09:26 PM
GHOSTVIC
post Apr 24 2019, 09:28 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 22 2019, 02:05 PM)
Compatible SoCs: Tegra X1, Allwinner H6, Realtek RTD1295, Hisilicon Hi3798CV200, Amlogic S912, S905X2, S905Y2, Rockchip RK3288, RK3368, RK3399.
Incompatible SoCs: All the rest where S905X, S905W, RK3328, RK3229 stand out … basically all those that mount Mali-450 GPU.

As per Scissorshand's suggestion.. Yep, latest AML and should be good. BUT remember that PUBG is a "built for Android OS" app and NOT an Android TV OS app. Hence, be wise to restrict your search to only boxes running the regular Android OS for optimum game compatibility. I'd recommend say the latest Mecool KM3..It's going cheaper now and within your budget. However, I believe it's running Android TV OS and high chance it's rooted. So there's that.. Buy at own risk... Again, if I and PUBG is absolute criteria? Stick to boxes powered by regular Android OS & confirmed un-rooted only!

Lastly, the game requires a minimum of 2GB ROM to install.. So make sure there's more than that as that size will grow.. FYI, not a PUBG player..hence, can't give you direct response.
Yes.... And we are back right where we started... Read back comparisons between the 2.. The one that most matches your needs will pop right out. IMO... Minix, as it ticks all the boxes...but your call la... As for AVFAN's list of questions.. They are now "outdated".. Can't discuss illegal iptv stuffs anymore. biggrin.gif
Bro which page is the difference u stated for both box brother.. i am still at page number 50.. alot to read oh my god..

2017 it self both minix u9h and himedia q10pro already available. 2 years in market now ? I wonder how many firmware or os updates both gone through... in 2 years roughly 100 or 200 lesser now ...

GHOSTVIC
post May 12 2019, 08:36 PM

369 posts

Hi guys quite busy lately , missed some updates..

Few days back went to lowyat, they seems not selling himedia and minix ? Some Claiming HIMEDIA and MINIX running old android, obselete, lower spec and suggesting to go for higher spec latest android. No idea brainwashing or what
Some Saying only selling famous box. Not aware of those box weird and so on.
Anyway just walked around and checked few box for information purposes.. hahaha

H96mini 2gb ram 16gb rom, bundle with LEOPROTV - android 8
H96max 4gb ram 32gb, bundle with LEOPROTV - android 8
INIFINITE 2gb ram 16gb, bundle with IPTV lifetv - android 8
EVPAD 3 / 3s bundle with MARS livetv
Another box starts with Star...

Probably this new boxes offer higher ram or rom with latest android compare legacy box HIMEDIA or MINIX. This attracts buyers towards. Stability compatibility durability chipset wise there must be pro and cons.

Now i understood wht they mean by 1 time pay. It is livetv which they install in it. That live tv has international programes, KOREA, US CHINA MALAYSIA INDIA SINGAPORE SPORTS, all astro channels. That is what bundle with the box. All the box are rooted. Tried to install astro onthego in h96max it says not allowed in jailbreak device.
If you have own empty box giv it to them they register livetv for yearly subscription 200 or 300..

Example..... one shop selling H96 mini and max bundle with LEOPRO live tv giving 3 years warranty for software.. it can be used live time.. but after 3 years if program cannot used and resubscribe again..
Quoted price rm680.. 1 year warranty for hardware, 3 year warranty for software + Airmouse

Another shop selling INIFINITE. That box comes with IPTV live tv which is bundle. This IPTV he said live time. One time registration. Box and software rm699

HIMEDIA and MINIX as default nonrooted box.
Box itself 500+ if install Live tv then need to pay extra 300. And definitely they will root it i believe.
Installing MYIPTV4K seems do not need to root, but the subscription every year renewable.

I wonder UNIFI connection accepts this kind of liveTV or not. LEOPROTV, MARSTV, IPTV, MYIPTV4K, once subscribed any blocking or buffering then money waste. At shop they testing with non unifi broadband so no idea.

MYIPTV4K is convinient similar to aztroo with program guide
LEOPROTV more english channels
IPTV and MARS lesser

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: May 13 2019, 08:11 AM
GHOSTVIC
post May 14 2019, 12:16 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 13 2019, 01:26 PM)
Thanks for the excellent share... What can I say? Those who know?...Know! laugh.gif  Probably only reason why they won't be selling/bundling Minix or HiMedia devices with their crap is due to the initial cost of said devices.. Imagine the box alone is RM5xx, add cost of yearly or "lifetime" sub + profit? Close to RM800 already if not more. Very few noobs (waterfish) will agree to cough such amounts and they lose. However, they mass buy these dunno whom what boxes that probably costs around RM1xx or less per box.. Install their crap and can charge a reasonable amount to make profits.. Nah, I'll take the Q10 Pro or Neo U9-H any day over any of those mentioned boxes.. We know it's not just about the latest hw or OS version.

Makes me wonder.. Why the govt haven't raided such places yet... Guess they are still gathering evidence..  laugh.gif
Yes brother exactly ,
He offer H96 max 4gb 64gb + leoprotv for rm680..
In lazada the same box cost about 240..
So they adding 440 just Live tv subscribtion ?
Other alternate he told me if get other box still can get those livetv for rm300..
Wow good profit making... rm140..?
Or else they taking upfront for 3 years.. saying giving 3 years warranty ?
Probably per annum rm100..
Not sure how this works, i installed in mobile tried to use livetv but required activation code.
So cannot use free la..
They register device details with their dealer..
Sounds cool...

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: May 14 2019, 12:17 AM
GHOSTVIC
post Aug 5 2019, 06:21 PM

369 posts

How are you guys.. long time not follow up on the androidbox so no idea what is the latest box in the market. MINIX U9H and HIMEDIA Q10 PRO price still not low yet. Damn.. i thought after few months 100 or 200 lesser hahaha. Still 500+

Heard below mecool can support hypptv, aztrogo, myiptv and 4k contents well with dual wifi band.
Anyone using it any feedback ?

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Aug 5 2019, 06:26 PM
GHOSTVIC
post Aug 8 2019, 02:14 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ Aug 7 2019, 01:52 PM)
myiptv most of the device can play without any issue ..the problem is on hypptv (unifi tv) and astro on the go only
seller confirmed mecool KM3 can play both assthrow and hypetvv well. Mecool M8S MAX do not support hypptv.
GHOSTVIC
post Nov 22 2019, 02:30 PM

369 posts

Guys is this new MINIX ?
GHOSTVIC
post Dec 8 2019, 02:52 AM

369 posts

I have 100mbps unifi connection. Each time speedtest result is between 70 to 100.
Online streaming in 4k smart tv via 5g wifi connection.
I use interenet 100%
Streaming youtube never had lagging or time to time buffering.
Netflix usually plays well in original content 4k or hd or hdr.
However if internet speed bad the pic quality drops and gradually gets better once speed catchup..
Never had buffering in netflix.

Online streaming directly from tv browser via online free website takes time to buffer and movie plays.
Sometime play smoothly then all off sudden it starts lag / buffers time to time.
That really irritates and immediately do speedtest result seems good.
So clueless put blame on internet speed fluctuation or movie hosting server busy processing.

I have android box mecool km3 4gb ram.. kind a good spec..
Unrooted box can use astro on the go and unifi
I have all the free apps to watch movies or sports.
I watch sports from those freeapp really iritatting too , not crystal clear or smooth play..
It plays the all of sudden buffers.
Playing movie from free app also buffers..
Quality of pics not good though..

So clueless.. again
MECOOL box is not up to the par ?
Should get better spec android box ?
Internet connection fluctuation ?
Free apps hosting server bad processing ?
Too many users accessing free aps makes server become busy ?
This happens in all free app such as livenettv swifttv redbox

So i wonder what magic MYIPTV can do, does play smooth with no buffering and gives good pic quality ?

GHOSTVIC
post Dec 8 2019, 01:40 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 8 2019, 08:58 AM)
One paragraph summarises all, you are clueless ! LOL.
Hahaha...
So any answers for the clueless chapter ?
Which android box can play without buffering ?
When you have solid internet speed yet it buffers so its on hosting server overloads ?
Free apps hosting server are underperform compared paid app hosting servers ?

I came across EVPAD 3 androidbox which approved by MCMC and sirim.
This box 2gb ram 16gb rom cost about 400+ offers IPTV where you can watch astro contents and international contents with no buffer.
I beleive this box iptv alrdy been subscribed and price included in that 400+
Heard this iptv is life time no expiry, not sure.
This IPTV they offers seems have schedule of future programs for certain content.
The drawback is this box not allowed to install any pirated or free aps inside where the admin detects and block it.
I am.not sure how far this true but it does make sense since box approved by MCMC.
Still can use browser to access online streaming i believe.

GHOSTVIC
post Dec 11 2019, 03:13 PM

369 posts

Team , anyone here using MECOOL KM3 ?.
any idea how to customize homescreen and move some apps from sidelauncher to home screen.
I tried possible ways or setting but cannot move the app to main screen.
Do i need to install any app ?
Current home screen icon is horizontol scrolling.

GHOSTVIC
post Dec 16 2019, 08:52 AM

369 posts

Hi sifus would like to get some tshoot steps from you experts.
No idea box issue or provider related.
- Using mecool km3 4gb ram android 9 with 4k hdr supported.
- Smart tv 4k supported
- Unifi 100mbps

4k content in netflix app and youtube in Tv playing smoothly.
So definitely internet fine.

Tested 4k content from myiptv app installed in mecool km3, not playing smooth.
All.4k contents same, stuttet or judder how to call it no idea.
I checked all the settings in the android box and also tv but none works.

I wanted to test playing 4k movies separately in android box instead of playing from myiptv4k but no idea where to.stream or download from.
Most of the apks only hav up to 1080p
1080p in myiptv 4k no issues, plays smoothly.

Anyone experiance this kind of issue ?

This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Dec 16 2019, 08:53 AM

0.0323sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:49 AM