Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

puchongite
post Dec 19 2017, 12:45 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(mazwanmanshor @ Dec 19 2017, 12:17 PM)
i'm planning to buy MX10 4gb ram/32gb storage. been looking for review. any comment? hmm.gif
The RK3328 is comparable with S912

http://www.top10tvboxes.com/wp-content/upl...pk-rk3328-1.png

The 4GB and 32 GB cool but hard to get real value out of it.

Here is a review of it :-

Did not score very high in the review by this person.

puchongite
post Dec 19 2017, 02:20 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(pingoz @ Dec 19 2017, 12:03 PM)
Plan to get my first TV Box. My internet speed is only 4mbps, will it takes likes hours to stream an episode of TVB drama? The first few pages of this thread suggested 10mbps. Anyone can provide some information about this? I dont have Unifi at my area... sad.gif
Have you performed a speed test before ? What kind of speed you could get from the 4mbps ?

If you have a 1080 TV and you are satisfied with 360p resolution for TVB movie, I guess it is still doable.

I normally just select 360p resolution for the TVB movies on the RSS player.

From the internet :-

0.2-0.5Mbps – 140p
0.5 – 1Mbps – 240p
1-2Mbps – 360p
2-3Mbps – 480p
3-4Mbps – 720p
4-6Mbps – 1080p
8-10Mbps – 1440p
25-35Mbps – 2160p

puchongite
post Dec 19 2017, 05:21 PM

33,602 posts

Anyone here used a MX3 air mouse before ?

Thinking of getting one. As the RII mini keyboards are not able to fully power off the TV and tv box, whereas the MX3 air mouse has IR learning capability and thus is able to power off/on both the TV and the tv box.
puchongite
post Dec 20 2017, 09:27 AM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(donhue @ Dec 20 2017, 09:05 AM)
I'm using one.. like you, I love the IR function to power off TV..

but here are some quirks that i faced using the MX3:
1. occasionally, the QWERTY keyboard goes haywire.. what you type on the keyboard isn't what is sent/received at the box..
2. cannot completely disable the air mouse function.. you can disable it temporarily using the button, but after a while, the mouse is re-enabled when you move the remote.. this is annoying especially if you're using kodi, where mouse moves will activate the on screen controls..
What a pity. I know what you are saying and it is hell of annoying. Are you using marshmallow or Nougat ?
puchongite
post Dec 21 2017, 02:00 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Dec 21 2017, 01:27 PM)
list updated.
Good buy if one really need some devices.

The delivery schedule mentioned in lazada is quite overly estimated. Overseas shipment actually can get within a week or so. That's amazing.
puchongite
post Dec 22 2017, 08:04 AM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 21 2017, 10:25 PM)
hey guys just wanna ask does IPTV needs a very powerful spec?
i'm planning to diy my xiaomi note into an iptv box.
i'm guessing i need to wire it for direct power, fan for cooling and connection cable.
but worry this phone spec can't handle the content/app nowadays.
Perhaps it is interesting for academic reasons.

But practically not worth it. How to you get a few usb connection plus hdmi connection ? The last I checked a phone can't even power up a 2.5 inch usb hdd via the usb otg.

I am not aware that a phone has a workable IR detector.

Rm200 you get a box which can do a much better job.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Dec 22 2017, 08:14 AM
puchongite
post Dec 23 2017, 11:17 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Dec 23 2017, 11:04 PM)
Those x92 is unbelievable cheap as GearBest is selling around usd90 now... Suspicious?
It has been verified to be true. The Dobest 3g/16g one.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Dec 23 2017, 11:20 PM
puchongite
post Dec 25 2017, 11:33 AM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(cactusguy @ Dec 25 2017, 11:20 AM)
May i know X92 or Tx7 can be used to watch Astro on the GO app? Thanks!
Don't know about TX7 but okay for x92 on stock 7.1.2 Rom, after installing Magisk and hide su using Magisk.

puchongite
post Dec 27 2017, 08:37 AM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 26 2017, 07:51 PM)

Only Netflix certified devices are able to get more than 480P res.. This isn't a limitation of the hardware, but one set by netflix themselves for compatibility purposes and to provide a seamless experience for their paying customers.. Better to use one's smart TV app instead.. You should be able to get FHD, UHD and HDR with DD 5.1 sounds for majority of their library.
I saw a few posts in tv box forums and also xda people modifying build.prop and others files to get netflix HD playback on the unsupported device. Posts are old, may not be applicable anymore.

puchongite
post Dec 28 2017, 07:28 PM

33,602 posts

Anyone knows how to scroll a list of items using an IR remote ?

Eg RSS PLAYER --> ICDRAMA

A list of items appears,

HK Drama
HK Variety Show

Chinese Drama

I want to scroll the list to the bottom using the IR remote.

Is it at all possible ?

puchongite
post Dec 29 2017, 02:55 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Dec 29 2017, 02:28 PM)
Read it... still a bit confused sad.gif
I'll rummage around - thanks anyway wink.gif
You need to understand your own requirements and budget. If you dont, perhaps buy an entry level box first. Rm200 can get a box which can play/stream 4k.

If your budget is 400 +/-, get a netflix certified box.
puchongite
post Dec 29 2017, 04:13 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 29 2017, 03:02 PM)
More memory isn't a critical requirement for TV box because typical one stays with the same app for a long time.
puchongite
post Dec 30 2017, 07:25 AM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Dec 29 2017, 09:43 PM)
before you pull the trigger on x92, check 4pda forum to see any alternative support if original firmware is buggy. if not mistaken 3gb variant got more user base.
Yes, the x92 android 7.1.2 stock firmware is seen to be not stable enough. There are alternative firmware which are seen as more stable.

Time and technical knowledge will be needed to use them though.
puchongite
post Jan 4 2018, 07:07 AM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(futra @ Jan 4 2018, 12:04 AM)
Bro, can pm me what methods u used to flash, which image u used and how to install magisk? I got my Astr0 Go and Njoi app working on my hp but not on my X92.. Thx in advance.
The way to install is via TWRP, quite a standard process.

1. Find a suitable TWRP for your device. You might want to use the TWRP q201 in this link :-

https://mega.nz/#F!YORFiSoJ!yyypyiZNq9NAgUE6fnsugA

2. Find the zip file for the magisk, can use either magisk 14.0 (stable) or 15.2 (newest beta).

3. Store all the files in SDCard, twp.xxx.img rename as recovery.img.

Follow the instruction available on the net. Finally remember to hide 'su' from AstroGo using the MagiskManager.
puchongite
post Jan 5 2018, 01:42 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ Jan 5 2018, 09:17 AM)
I have a Mi Box 4 K international, I noticed some apps like Redbox TV or Mobdro when it play - eg. news, it run fine, however every 3.5 - 4 minutes, it get lag and hang.

I have to get out of it and start again. This happen every 3.5 - 4 minutes every time.

Any idea? Someone have the same experience ?

I have already added extra 8GB USB internal storage to it. There is plenty of space.

I am using TIME. Is it the ISP provider or the server side issue or box issue ?

I already use the google DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4. Still encounter the issue quite often and most time.

Any idea what can be improve?

Thank you sifu.
I would suspect it is the content servers side limitation.

If you have another box ( eg the handphone ), then try to connect via the same TIME network, then you can tell it is box problem or network problem.

Problem would be to make sure the alternative box also stream the content using the same resolution.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 5 2018, 01:44 PM
puchongite
post Jan 10 2018, 05:20 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Jan 10 2018, 01:21 PM)
A regular lunch kaki, a lady bought this for her parents in Pg to use to replace xtro. Has asked that i help her update some apks etc. Was wondering bro Voncrane, since this is still on KitKat i think, can it be updated to say 7.1.2? Also if updated, can aotg & hypptv work well on this device?

Kind adv since i think you are much familiar with Minix range..

Cheers! rclxms.gif

P/S.. last updated for her was 2 yrs ago, just got the box fro her so have not plug it in to see what else is in there
I wonder if there are non-IT older folks are able to use TV box to replace Xtro. Any real success story ? Sorry for being skeptical.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 10 2018, 05:34 PM
puchongite
post Jan 11 2018, 01:05 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(muhiddin @ Jan 11 2018, 12:48 PM)
Any Ways for AstroOTG and HyppTV work on root devices ? i stuck at loading forever
For AOTG stucks at loading forever is a symptom of root is present. No idea about HyppTV as I have never dealt with it before.

Install suhide or Magisk is the only way to deal with this, if you still want to keep the root.

Or else you need to full unroot. Full unroot can be difficult if the rom comes pre-installed with root.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 11 2018, 01:56 PM
puchongite
post Jan 11 2018, 05:16 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Jan 11 2018, 05:09 PM)
https://www.lelong.com.my/mxq-pro-s905x-2g1...7-01-Sale-I.htm

any comment on this items? - MXQ PRO+ S905X 2G16G Quad Core 4K ultraHD TV BOX Android 6.0 64BIT
I used this box before. Bad wifi quality. If you use ethernet, no issue. Firmware is stable like rock. Never once it crashed. Same PCB as M9S pro.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4464540

puchongite
post Jan 11 2018, 05:30 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Jan 11 2018, 05:21 PM)
bad wifi?? what if i place my box next to my router and modem?
I guess it is alright. I was using the wifi of the box connecting to my phone, then hopping over to internet ( my phone is acting like a wifi-repeater). In that configuration, the internet speed was stable enough.

But if just next to router, why don't use cable ?

puchongite
post Jan 11 2018, 05:42 PM

33,602 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Jan 11 2018, 05:34 PM)
my thought exactly. since its just next to it, i just plug in a network cable, btw, this device comes installed with KODI already. what about MOBDRO?
Kodi and mobdro should already be there, original factory versions might be lagging behind the current versions. I don't use much of Kodi and mobdro though. I upgraded mine to Android 7 and installed AstroGo on it. That's my first box and I learnt a lot from it. biggrin.gif

15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.2317sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:52 PM