Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

Andrewtst
post Jun 24 2018, 03:37 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jun 24 2018, 03:00 PM)
recently i got hold of old model of apple tv 3...
but the problems is... this device cannot install apps
can only use airplay to cast content...

youtube netflix on my android tv aldy hv...
other than this what else can i do with it...
Just put back in your home museum. This is 6 years ago (5 years for rev. A) product. What you expect. Lol

You should thanks it still can use for Netflix (1080p), Amazon Prime Video (added in last update) and iTunes movies for a 5/6 years ago product.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 24 2018, 03:48 PM
Andrewtst
post Jun 24 2018, 03:49 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jun 24 2018, 03:42 PM)
it not belong to me...
i jus wan to help to install rss player.

then only know apple tv 4 onward can only install apps
and only apple tv 1/2 can be jail break.

apple tv 3 stuck in between... failed big time
Try side load using xcode with mac. I dunno I don't have mac to test. Haha.

Apple TV 1 (11 years) and 2 (8 years) did nothing now except playback your existing store movies and cannot reset, once reset it can't do anything.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 24 2018, 03:53 PM
Andrewtst
post Jun 26 2018, 01:40 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Jun 25 2018, 11:43 AM)
nope.. cheapest yet is still...

if u were already on android phone...

just download kodi or netflix apps thru your phone, and hook it up with hdmi-usb converter to your tv... or if u own smart tv...miracast to your tv...

as simple as that...
after all.. those android tv box is just your mobile phone without touchscreen...
but if u were willing to increase the budget amount at about rm250 onwards....then most of device here is available within range...
Casting is the worst ever, troublesome, not smooth image. Sorry I don't like any cast. smile.gif
Andrewtst
post Jun 27 2018, 09:15 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

Since I own 3 different OS Video Streaming devices. Just like share this 3 devices capability in common application support. smile.gif

Some apps required sideload.

Movies iTunes Play in others device only applicable for US iTunes account on selected participant movie company in Movies Anywhere.

In summary, they is no perfect video streaming devices. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 27 2018, 09:34 AM
Andrewtst
post Jun 28 2018, 02:12 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 28 2018, 01:19 PM)
noob question...what does is mean by "sideload" ?

Not officially available at Google Play Store or Apple AppsStore. Need manually download from 3rd party site.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 28 2018, 02:14 PM
Andrewtst
post Jun 29 2018, 03:54 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

Sideloading actual meanings - https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sideloading

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 29 2018, 04:39 AM
Andrewtst
post Jul 2 2018, 06:47 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Jul 2 2018, 12:46 PM)
Well, my friend told me that her colleague bought a tv box. and there is no movie subscription required so just plug and play can watch the movies already for free, as long as got broadband.
Illegal content won't permanent. Also depends your quality requirement. Some illegal content quality is not good and hardly will have 4K or 4K HDR content.
Andrewtst
post Jul 3 2018, 03:21 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(Marilynlai513 @ Jul 2 2018, 11:03 PM)
Does this means most legal content will. Have 4k or 4k hdr?
Yes.

For content in local, below is some few example.
  • Netflix - 4K HDR (this is very particular, basically only Mi Box, Nvidia Shield, Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 4K & new 4K HDR TV support it, the rest mostly will run in 480p due to the device not certified by Netflix)
  • Movies iTunes - 4K HDR (only Apple TV 4K fully support, Movies Anywhere only support some US iTunes account title and play in 1080p only)
  • YouTube - 4K HDR (no boxes support HDR but new TV do, boxes for the moment up to 4K only, Apple 4K TV only up to 1080p)
  • Amazon Prime Video - 4K HDR (so far in device I have, only my Apple TV 4K support 4K HDR, Mi Box and my TV only in 4K no HDR)
As for some others like Hulu, Fandago Now, Vudu is not support locally, you need VPN and etc to make it work.

Google Play Movies wise in Malaysia only have up to 1080p title for the moment, 4K or 4K HDR title only in USA and some Europe country account.

They is 3 types HDR
  • HDR10 all 4K HDR TV will support HDR10 format and all new TV box support it. They is HDR10+ which had similar way did like Dolby Vision with meta data support, currently only year 2018 TV have this format but no video source is running under HDR10+ yet.
  • Dolby Vision only certain model from LG and Sony TV support it and for boxes only Apple TV 4K support it. The Dolby Vision content will auto convert to HDR10 if you don't have Dolby Vision device. You can have a taste on how Dolby Vision looks like if you have LG G6, LG G7, Apple iPhone 8/8 Plus, Apple iPhone X and also Apple iPad Pro 10.5" and 12.9" (2nd generation).
  • HLG is plan for broadcast and currently not in growth support.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 3 2018, 03:55 AM
Andrewtst
post Jul 31 2018, 03:44 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

Finally I am able to screenshot Apple TV 4K Interface. wink.gif

Share here some Interface of Apple TV 4K v/s Mi Box Android TV
Just for fun, please don't shoot me. smile.gif

Main Interface

Pointing at Netflix

Up Next v/s Play Next

Go in Up Next / Play Next

Others Apps

Siri v/s Google Assistant

Search inside Movies iTunes / Play Movies

Purchased Movies at Movies iTunes / Play Movies

Movies Interface at Movies iTunes / Play Movies

Settings

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 31 2018, 03:47 AM
Andrewtst
post Jul 31 2018, 11:35 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 31 2018, 08:01 AM)
Android TV feels like more refined and modern to my eyes. Thanks for the pictorial comparison bro
Welcome. Both is nice to me. smile.gif
Andrewtst
post Aug 2 2018, 06:21 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Aug 2 2018, 05:23 PM)
yup...both is nice to me as well, but the gray background seems to be more appealing?! smile.gif
Actually Apple TV 4K also can set interface in dark mode. smile.gif They got two selection, Dark or Light.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 2 2018, 07:05 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 6 2018, 04:36 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Aug 6 2018, 04:16 PM)
hi all sifus, jus wanna ask about this AV quality that the first page seems to indicate differ from one box to another? is my understanding correct?

i dun understd on this... how can it be different? r we saying if i play the same movie file in icore7 vs icore3, there will be difference in graphic quality? that kind of difference?
The GPU do the magic here.
Andrewtst
post Aug 7 2018, 12:19 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(pokjak @ Aug 4 2018, 11:20 PM)
You could turn your mac into a PLEX server and setting your external drive as the media source. And install PLEX app into your android box. Your mac will act as a server streaming the media content through your network. The only caviat is your mac (PLEX server) will have to stay “turn on” while you stream from your android box.
I just try and it is very easier to setup.

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 5 2018, 01:29 AM)
why make it so difficult,
jus enable smb/win file sharing, kodi support smb.
and it is fast!

photo music video all supported kek
Plex also support everything from Video to Photo to Music with ability to get metadata from imdb, the movies database and etc.
Some more Plex is cross platform over tvOS, Android TV OS and Panasonic fireOS.

Plex Interface in Apple TV 4K (tvOS) v/s Mi Box (Android TV OS)

Plex Main Interface

Plex Movies Catalog

View Movies Interface

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 7 2018, 12:28 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 9 2018, 02:18 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 9 2018, 02:16 PM)
Doesn't meet his criteria.. He wants "no adverts".. smile.gif
Just search the apps name with no adv. Easier can get no adv edition.

Example: Terranium no adv
Andrewtst
post Aug 9 2018, 02:28 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 9 2018, 02:23 PM)
Yeah.. But those may have hidden stuff in it and if he's like me.. i prefer to only get stuff from the source.. Easier fix (if me), would be to switch to Kodi and or root the device and install an adblocking app with solid lists in it.. Get to enjoy official apps, content and no ads.. But hey, not everyone likes to get their hands dirty.. in this game, always a way.. Just have to work it. smile.gif
Kodi is the thing I don't like. Haha! Try but never like.

Actually those no adv most is clean just need to carefully get as a lot site is fake one. Anyway I not using any of it also because all those not meet my required picture quality and also stream performance.
Andrewtst
post Aug 9 2018, 03:42 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Aug 9 2018, 02:43 PM)
rarely got streaming app without ads and still with 1080p good sources

if anyone here knows any...i would install immediately
Sorry I can't help much.

For legal movie, I use Apple iTunes Movies or previously Google Play Movies.

For not legal movie source, I download the movie and build my own movie server using Plex for Android TV and Infuse connected to Plex client in Apple TV.

For TV series, I subscribe to Netflix.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 9 2018, 03:42 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 9 2018, 07:46 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 9 2018, 04:58 PM)
This^^.. Even though I don't have any personally identifiable info (well, besides watch history and IP).. I'd rather not have to deal with a rogue app that ends up infecting my network and possibly other connected devices. Heck, some bad apps, actually use one's device to mine crypto or act as a botnet.. Later get letter from ISP threatening to suspend the account. My pal kena such nonsense.. I'm fairly careful and can handle the dark sides of the net.. So no biggie there.. Just prefer Kodi's simplicity and grabbing apks from clean sources.  biggrin.gif
Mind defining "budget".. Give a price range or max amount. OR, get the good stuff and keep far from reach of younger ones.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha! True, safety first.
Andrewtst
post Aug 11 2018, 03:45 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 11 2018, 06:25 AM)

Netflix cracked down on unofficial Android TV boxes.. Why oh why Netflix.. Just let things be..
No suprise. Netflix is very particular. Those not official is using not official way.

Poor now want Netflix on at least HD only left Nvidia Shield, Mi Box., Apple TV 4K and all Amazon Fire TV/Cube.

Also off course all recent smart TV apps.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 11 2018, 03:47 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 12 2018, 02:04 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 11 2018, 11:54 PM)
Ya.. Good thing I don't rely on my box for that.. Netflix app on a four year old TV still gets updated till date.. Those who want in FHD+ have to stick to above listed...till a fix is found...Hopefully..
Ya, there goes my recommendation to my pal about Netflix on his box. Luckily, he's not the "must be FHD" type bloke. So he don't care.. Got it more for Blu-ray playback and iptv.. So he's okay..  sweat.gif

AFAIK, Hulu & Prime aren't affected as such. Those still rely on VPN/DNS services to bypass. Once accepted, just stream on.. thumbup.gif

Yup actually it is not so affected as long your TV have Netflix pre-installed.

Andrewtst
post Aug 13 2018, 12:19 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Aug 13 2018, 11:41 AM)
can this beelink streams netflix 4k ? i don't think so right ?
Stream Netflix in 4K only following support.
  • Nvidia Shield
  • Mi Box (China edition cannot)
  • Apple TV 4K
  • Amazon Fire/Cube TV
Also make sure the box didn't root or jailbreak before as once done that it is permanent cannot.

The rest TV Box all cannot.

Another solution is buy a latest TV where 99% now bundle with Netflix apps.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 13 2018, 12:26 PM

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.6348sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:10 AM