Anyone using the Chromecast with Google TV. How is the performance?
Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2
Apr 28 2021, 01:56 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
29,764 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Johor, Malaysia. |
Anyone using the Chromecast with Google TV. How is the performance?
Apr 28 2021, 05:47 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
7,118 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Wakanda |
QUOTE(chanhin @ Apr 25 2021, 04:41 PM) Most boxes can.. Question is the source... Find the source, then seek boxes that can play it.QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Apr 26 2021, 02:32 AM) Any member using an Android tv box to view olevod? I realised they have apk for it Tried installing their app on 2 phones.. App refuses to launch so I discontinued the test.. Will the video quality be as clear as the version watched on browser? QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Apr 27 2021, 07:12 PM) I know KM6 KM9 Pro (screenshot below) and KM1 now can play Netflix with 5.1 in 1080p at least. Nice... Mice race ahead again.Read the latest... https://forum.freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-...ices#post823094 QUOTE(Vanquish_08 @ Apr 27 2021, 10:41 PM) Silly question but apart from the Nvidia and Amazon products discussed here, how do the other boxes recommended here handle Netflix 4K / Youtube 4K? This be the thing.. Good soup costs more.. There's the Google Chromecast lineup and the recently released Mecool KM2. No much info or real-world performance data on the KM2 yet.. But we'll know soon enough.I am looking at the Mi Box S but the lack of RAM and positively ancient GPU is giving me some cause for concerns. Cheers, V. QUOTE(deepan84 @ Apr 27 2021, 10:59 PM) Need some help. When I am viewing 1080P videos on T9 box, the colours become double or the red is separated. Abit weird. How to solve this. Can you confirm that this doesn't happen with other input sources? Maybe try another HDMI cable too... Hopefully, it's not a TV issue.![]() |
Apr 28 2021, 05:49 AM
Apr 28 2021, 08:03 AM
4,538 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 28 2021, 10:32 AM
1,138 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Apr 28 2021, 12:05 PM
2,199 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: OKR KL |
QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 28 2021, 05:47 AM) Most boxes can.. Question is the source... Find the source, then seek boxes that can play it. its not a tv issue. Because netflix and youtube from tv (LG UN73) works fine. Its only this app. Did some googling and found out that others have soe issues. -> https://www.facebook.com/groups/tukangapaha...380982696375676Tried installing their app on 2 phones.. App refuses to launch so I discontinued the test.. Nice... Mice race ahead again. This be the thing.. Good soup costs more.. There's the Google Chromecast lineup and the recently released Mecool KM2. No much info or real-world performance data on the KM2 yet.. But we'll know soon enough. Can you confirm that this doesn't happen with other input sources? Maybe try another HDMI cable too... Hopefully, it's not a TV issue. |
Apr 28 2021, 02:58 PM
128 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 28 2021, 05:47 AM) This be the thing.. Good soup costs more.. There's the Google Chromecast lineup and the recently released Mecool KM2. No much info or real-world performance data on the KM2 yet.. But we'll know soon enough. Thanks! The earlier KM boxes looked pretty darn up to date with specs but there was the issue of SD only Netflix playback while a coupleof them finally have a fix for FHD playback. The reason I wanted to run Netflix off the box is to have VPN installed but I could still look at installing it at the router level too. The KM2 looks decent on paper though they seem to have skimped a bit on general specs but at least it's Netflix certified. Will hold off the purchase until reviews and user feedback is available ... This post has been edited by Vanquish_08: Apr 28 2021, 02:59 PM |
Apr 28 2021, 04:59 PM
1,787 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(Vanquish_08 @ Apr 28 2021, 02:58 PM) Thanks! The earlier KM boxes looked pretty darn up to date with specs but there was the issue of SD only Netflix playback while a couple Why wait.. Be the first here Bro!of them finally have a fix for FHD playback. The reason I wanted to run Netflix off the box is to have VPN installed but I could still look at installing it at the router level too. The KM2 looks decent on paper though they seem to have skimped a bit on general specs but at least it's Netflix certified. Will hold off the purchase until reviews and user feedback is available ... https://forum.freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-...-source-cnxsoft https://androidtvbox.eu/mecool-km2-is-a-new...g-device/?amp=1 This post has been edited by GuyM: Apr 28 2021, 05:09 PM limkj and Vanquish_08 liked this post
Apr 29 2021, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(deepan84 @ Apr 28 2021, 12:05 PM) its not a tv issue. Because netflix and youtube from tv (LG UN73) works fine. Its only this app. Did some googling and found out that others have soe issues. -> https://www.facebook.com/groups/tukangapaha...380982696375676 Hmmm... Truly weird.. I suggest you try a factory reset, if you haven't already done so.. If still no good? Reflash the stock ROM perhaps?QUOTE(Vanquish_08 @ Apr 28 2021, 02:58 PM) Thanks! The earlier KM boxes looked pretty darn up to date with specs but there was the issue of SD only Netflix playback while a couple Yeah I agree... MeCool did skimp on the KM2 specs a bit.. Fairly certain that they'll release a 3/4GB RAM +32GB/64GB storage option in the near future. Unsure why they didn't do that right away from the get go.. of them finally have a fix for FHD playback. The reason I wanted to run Netflix off the box is to have VPN installed but I could still look at installing it at the router level too. The KM2 looks decent on paper though they seem to have skimped a bit on general specs but at least it's Netflix certified. Will hold off the purchase until reviews and user feedback is available ... Regarding the VPN bit, havign it on the router level IMO is the better bet. Even better if you use a dedicated router or a router with a firmware that allows you to separate the connections. Route specific devices thru the VPN connection, and others through the non-VPN option. This set it and forget it method is very good for keeping your home network protected. Although, don't forget to regularly check the connection as sometimes, the VPN service goes down. QUOTE(GuyM @ Apr 28 2021, 04:59 PM) Why wait.. Be the first here Bro! Finally... https://forum.freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-...-source-cnxsoft https://androidtvbox.eu/mecool-km2-is-a-new...g-device/?amp=1 numbertwo and Vanquish_08 liked this post
Apr 30 2021, 09:36 AM
128 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 29 2021, 09:06 PM) Hmmm... Truly weird.. I suggest you try a factory reset, if you haven't already done so.. If still no good? Reflash the stock ROM perhaps? You sir are a life saver - that diagram is very helpful since I've also been trying to figure out how to go about this. I have seen a few onlineYeah I agree... MeCool did skimp on the KM2 specs a bit.. Fairly certain that they'll release a 3/4GB RAM +32GB/64GB storage option in the near future. Unsure why they didn't do that right away from the get go.. Regarding the VPN bit, havign it on the router level IMO is the better bet. Even better if you use a dedicated router or a router with a firmware that allows you to separate the connections. Route specific devices thru the VPN connection, and others through the non-VPN option. This set it and forget it method is very good for keeping your home network protected. Although, don't forget to regularly check the connection as sometimes, the VPN service goes down. Finally... sellers already posting the KM2 up for sale locally so I might just go with it. I just moved into a new place so a few more bits to go before we get the home entertainment sorted. But yeah, it would have been nice for Mecool to just release the KM2 with better specs instead of the current 2GB + 8GB config; and then release upgraded versions later which will annoy the early adopters Cheers, V This post has been edited by Vanquish_08: Apr 30 2021, 09:38 AM voncrane liked this post
May 4 2021, 01:21 AM
1,432 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: Ipoh mali~~~ |
Any recommendation to rejuvenate a 2 year old A95X MAX with S905X2 SOC and 4GB ram?
It has a few problems: 1. Laggy when navigating around the menu 2. Blank screen when I turn on the tvbox, need to restart a few times 3. Stuck in boot logo, especially if I didn't exit from Kodi or iptv apps before turning off the tvbox 4. Sometimes will get disconnected from WiFi This post has been edited by ntw: May 4 2021, 05:05 AM |
May 4 2021, 02:41 AM
QUOTE(ntw @ May 4 2021, 01:21 AM) Any recommendation to rejuvenate a 2 year old A95X MAX with S905X2 SOC and 4GB ram? Probably dealing with excess junk... Especially if you haven't spring cleaned in awhile. But first, what ROM version are you running and is it the latest? Searched around and this seems to be the last stock firmware available for the device. Stock Android Oreo 8.1. Sometimes, all that is needed is a factory reset to clear stuff. However, I would recommend just USB flashing this over what you have now. Should help. Alternatively, you can go down the custom ROM route. Perhaps try this atvXperience v3 custom ROM. It's based on Android TV OS..Download links here....It has a few problems: 1. Laggy when navigating around the menu 2. Blank screen when I turn on the tvbox, need to restart a few times 3. Stuck in boot logo, especially if I didn't exit from Kodi or iptv apps before turning off the tvbox |
May 6 2021, 11:08 AM
This is the full review and live demo of the Cobra4TV IPTV service. It boasts about 11,000 Live IPTV channels and over 30,000 VOD (Movies & TV Shows) from from all over the world in various languages. Find out how it performs on iOS, Android, Windows, & Samsung SmartHub OS. It is also compatible with LG's WebOS, Mac OS X, and many more. Basically, further cementing my love for Sammy & LG Smart TVs. No external TV Box or Media Player required... Nice! Addtional Info & Support Official Website Apps Installation URLs Windows IPTV Player 3.0 XCIPTV Player (Google Play Store) IPTV Smarters Player GSE SMART IPTV (Apple App Store) I welcome any questions or concerns regarding the service. However, best to comment over at the dedicated thread la.. So not off-topic here... arvind13, Vanquish_08, and 1 other liked this post
May 6 2021, 12:33 PM
1,787 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(voncrane @ May 4 2021, 02:41 AM) Probably dealing with excess junk... Especially if you haven't spring cleaned in awhile. But first, what ROM version are you running and is it the latest? Searched around and this seems to be the last stock firmware available for the device. Stock Android Oreo 8.1. Sometimes, all that is needed is a factory reset to clear stuff. However, I would recommend just USB flashing this over what you have now. Should help. Alternatively, you can go down the custom ROM route. Perhaps try this atvXperience v3 custom ROM. It's based on Android TV OS..Download links here.... Once you go ATV version all others like meh....πππ |
May 6 2021, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(voncrane @ May 4 2021, 02:41 AM) Probably dealing with excess junk... Especially if you haven't spring cleaned in awhile. But first, what ROM version are you running and is it the latest? Searched around and this seems to be the last stock firmware available for the device. Stock Android Oreo 8.1. Sometimes, all that is needed is a factory reset to clear stuff. However, I would recommend just USB flashing this over what you have now. Should help. Alternatively, you can go down the custom ROM route. Perhaps try this atvXperience v3 custom ROM. It's based on Android TV OS..Download links here.... Loaded the atvxperience, but no time to explore yet. Home screen is now very clean, only uses Kodi and SyberTV app. Need to test if Unifi Play TV works |
May 6 2021, 02:24 PM
1,185 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Just saw a review saying mecool km2 is officially 4k Netflix certified. |
May 6 2021, 11:20 PM
1,691 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
May 6 2021, 11:28 PM
Any junk file cleaner apps recommended for ATV? I have downloaded CCleaner from Aptoide but the junk file scanning is very slow and stuck at 70%, force restart a few times also stuck at 40%/ 70%
This post has been edited by ntw: May 6 2021, 11:29 PM |
May 7 2021, 06:52 AM
QUOTE(GuyM @ May 6 2021, 12:33 PM) Hey...subjective la... But yes.... QUOTE(ntw @ May 6 2021, 12:38 PM) Loaded the atvxperience, but no time to explore yet. Home screen is now very clean, only uses Kodi and SyberTV app. Need to test if Unifi Play TV works There are 2 versions of the Unifi PlayTV app. The regular Android OS version & the ATV OS type.. Try the ATV OS version first. Hopefully, the latest version just works well. Take your time and explore it... Poke here there to see how stable it is and if it can do all you want doing.. If yes? bravo, no need to spend another dime getting a new box.. Enjoy!QUOTE(ntw @ May 6 2021, 11:28 PM) Any junk file cleaner apps recommended for ATV? I have downloaded CCleaner from Aptoide but the junk file scanning is very slow and stuck at 70%, force restart a few times also stuck at 40%/ 70% As long as it's Android, I swear by the app SD Maid by D4rken. There's the free version, which if it works well? I recommend you spring for the pro version. I've been using this app since forever and is one of the first few apps I install onto any Android device I own. You can get it from the Google Play Store here or from sites like apkmirror.SD Maid allows you to: β’ Browse your whole device and manipulate files through a full-fledged file explorer. β’ Remove superfluous files from your system. β’ Manage installed user and system apps. β’ Detect files formerly belonging to uninstalled apps. β’ Search for files by name, content, or date. β’ Obtain a detailed overview of your device's storage. β’ Optimize databases. β’ Do actual app cleaning and remove expendable files, which supersedes what others may call 'cache cleaning'. β’ Detect duplicate pictures, music, or documents, independent of name or location. β’ Run tools automatically on a schedule or via widgets. This post has been edited by voncrane: May 7 2021, 06:54 AM numbertwo liked this post
May 9 2021, 05:55 PM
7,349 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
Anyone facing issue when installing app from shafa market? I keep getting install failed every time when trying to install after download..
Tried to grant install app from unknown source for shafa market app but the app isnβt there... Any help will be appreciated This post has been edited by coolguy99: May 9 2021, 05:56 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0332sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:35 PM |