Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

voncrane
post May 29 2020, 12:12 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 28 2020, 09:07 PM)
nvidia shield 2019 got dolby vision oledi lo.. not sure the extra features is good or not but maybe i can use VPN on the shield and can access other region netflix. now using TV macam tak dapat. hack oppo player very expensive right.. but i saw that it can read dolby vision track for blu ray rip.

anyone know what is the best way to get nvidia shield 2019? i saw bhphotovideo after convert and shipping around rm750, but i see need to add rm100 for sirim? then need to pay additional agent fee also?
Best way would be through Lazada. Lazada should handle any customs issues for you, much easier.. IMO...Then on the SIRIM fee? This may or may not apply. Depends on your luck and if the parcel is stopped by customs. Good thing is, it's easy to get it cleared thru and on it's way to you.

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 28 2020, 09:08 PM)
wow.. the gs-king x macam overkill dah lol.. GT-King Pro can play netflix 4k dolby vision? gonna look for its specs.
Awaiting response on this.. Will update once confirmed. Unofficially (scoured around), I believe that Dolby ATMOS, Dolby Vision & DTS:X can't be decoded. Theoritically though, it might be possible via HDMI pass-thru and a compatible AVR. As the signals would be decoded on the AVR's end. Higher chance running CoreELEC.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 28 2020, 10:08 PM)
ah you right... completely forgotten about shield 2019  doh.gif
Allo Allo bossku.. tongue.gif
TSdwRK
post May 29 2020, 01:24 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 29 2020, 12:12 AM)
Allo Allo bossku..  tongue.gif
covid stay at home...forget what day what year liao... lolz
voncrane
post May 29 2020, 04:18 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 28 2020, 09:08 PM)
wow.. the gs-king x macam overkill dah lol.. GT-King Pro can play netflix 4k dolby vision? gonna look for its specs.
Hey... i posted a reply to someone else over at my Beelink GT-King Pro review thread. Figured, it'd help you and others decide as well.

Hey.. I can now confirm now that the GT-King Pro does not support Dolby Vision, Dolby ATMOS, & DTS:X. Not natively and not via hdmi pass-thru tech. The issue is being worked on and once success, will be released along with a software update. Though it is expected to ship as default with the GS-King X. So I'll advise some patience either for the King Pro of the upcoming X version. In comparison, the MINIX Neo U22-XJ does have confirmed support for Dolby Vision and Audio right out of the box. One of the few AMLogic equipped boxes to support DV on regular Android (Android 9) OS. IIRC, the Amazon Cube is another DV capable device. Minix pays licensing fees to Dolby for this support. Although afaik, they aren't coming out to state officially that ATMOS is supported. hmm.gif .. As for DTS:X? That's unsupported.

One thing I do have to point out is that DV on the Minix Neo U22-XJ is being reported as a half-baked experience. Something I'm not familiar with where Minix devices are concerned. Minix are known to only release a new device with (at minimum) a stable firmware that does as they claim. They don't over-claim capabilities on their devices. So finding out about this and that they are being tight-lipped about it is unusual..IMO. Word online though is that they are aware of the issue and AMLogic has been alerted to the color issues/performance. Amlogic should by now have released another SDK version. From which Minix devs will get to work incorporating in to the next firmware update. If all goes well? there should be a firmware update soon and the DV issues should be resolved too.

Now if all these bores you and or is too much work waiting, hacking la, etc? TBH, your safest choice would be to get the Nvidia Shield instead. Confirmed all 3 capable..Personally? I'd wait.. but then I love to tinker and don't mind getting my hands dirty.. brows.gif

As for Netflix DV? I'll assume that you already own a recent DV capable disply and these typically are Netflix certified devices and would ship with a Netflix app...Similarly YouTube. I suggest you use that instead and get an external media player for the other stuff. Most of these boxes won't even officially support Netflix UHD. Earlier I did post a list of certified UHD/HDR10..bla bla capable players. You should check that out if netflix be your criteria. Lastly, unofficially.. Beelink devices such as the GT-King & GT-King Pro have DRM L1 permission and can dualboot CoreELEC. Using the Netflix plugin within, you definitely can watch Netflix at 1080p. I mentioned this earlier... One only needs to install CoreELEC on a microsd card, insert and reboot.

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 29 2020, 01:24 PM)
covid stay at home...forget what day what year liao... lolz
Haha.. I hear you.. See your belt tight yet or not.. kek
ben3003
post May 29 2020, 10:17 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 29 2020, 04:18 PM)
Hey... i posted a reply to someone else over at my Beelink GT-King Pro review thread. Figured, it'd help you and others decide as well.

Hey.. I can now confirm now that the GT-King Pro does not support Dolby Vision, Dolby ATMOS, & DTS:X. Not natively and not via hdmi pass-thru tech. The issue is being worked on and once success, will be released along with a software update. Though it is expected to ship as default with the GS-King X. So I'll advise some patience either for the King Pro of the upcoming X version. In comparison, the MINIX Neo U22-XJ does have confirmed support for Dolby Vision and Audio right out of the box. One of the few AMLogic equipped boxes to support DV on regular Android (Android 9) OS. IIRC, the Amazon Cube is another DV capable device. Minix pays licensing fees to Dolby for this support. Although afaik, they aren't coming out to state officially that ATMOS is supported. hmm.gif .. As for DTS:X? That's unsupported.

One thing I do have to point out is that DV on the Minix Neo U22-XJ is being reported as a half-baked experience. Something I'm not familiar with where Minix devices are concerned. Minix are known to only release a new device with (at minimum) a stable firmware that does as they claim. They don't over-claim capabilities on their devices. So finding out about this and that they are being tight-lipped about it is unusual..IMO. Word online though is that they are aware of the issue and AMLogic has been alerted to the color issues/performance. Amlogic should by now have released another SDK version. From which Minix devs will get to work incorporating in to the next firmware update. If all goes well? there should be a firmware update soon and the DV issues should be resolved too.

Now if all these bores you and or is too much work waiting, hacking la, etc? TBH, your safest choice would be to get the Nvidia Shield instead. Confirmed all 3 capable..Personally? I'd wait.. but then I love to tinker and don't mind getting my hands dirty..  brows.gif

As for Netflix DV? I'll assume that you already own a recent DV capable disply and these typically are Netflix certified devices and would ship with a Netflix app...Similarly YouTube. I suggest you use that instead and get an external media player for the other stuff. Most of these boxes won't even officially support Netflix UHD. Earlier I did post a list of certified UHD/HDR10..bla bla capable players. You should check that out if netflix be your criteria. Lastly, unofficially.. Beelink devices such as the GT-King & GT-King Pro have DRM L1 permission and can dualboot CoreELEC. Using the Netflix plugin within, you definitely can watch Netflix at 1080p. I mentioned this earlier... One only needs to install CoreELEC on a microsd card, insert and reboot.
Haha.. I hear you..  See your belt tight yet or not.. kek
ok thanks for your advice.. sounds super technical to me, i think better to get shield 2019 haha.. i am too occupied to do all these. cos i just want to back home and relax without mingle too much. I spend quite some time working offshore. Netflix 1080p is too low for me, if i have 4k dv capable tv i would want to get the most out of netflix. I dont wanna use TV netflix because it cannot be routed thru VPN even i tried to set in on my router.

Actually those tv boxes without official support for streaming apps are unlikely to be able to play dolby vision file, cos i see mkv doesnt seem to incorporate MKV for now as it is a separate stream. Would hope that could come in the future.

LionMY
post May 30 2020, 06:39 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 29 2020, 10:17 PM)
ok thanks for your advice.. sounds super technical to me, i think better to get shield 2019 haha.. i am too occupied to do all these. cos i just want to back home and relax without mingle too much. I spend quite some time working offshore. Netflix 1080p is too low for me, if i have 4k dv capable tv i would want to get the most out of netflix. I dont wanna use TV netflix because it cannot be routed thru VPN even i tried to set in on my router.

Actually those tv boxes without official support for streaming apps are unlikely to be able to play dolby vision file, cos i see mkv doesnt seem to incorporate MKV for now as it is a separate stream. Would hope that could come in the future.
May be you want to explore Ugoos AM6 or AM6 Pro for your need. Only setback is you can't play 4K on Netflix and Amazon.

Watch up the review from TV Box below for further details.

https://youtu.be/C3IwY75d-Qg
linkinstreet
post May 30 2020, 08:46 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Just received my Mi Box S (Lazada managed to send it around 7pm!! Thank god I was still at the office to receive it). For a small device with only 2gb ram, it is quite smooth.

My only complaint would be the lack of Ethernet port but most of my plex collection should not overburden the 5ghz wifi (hopefully)
ben3003
post May 30 2020, 09:33 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 30 2020, 08:46 PM)
Just received my Mi Box S (Lazada managed to send it around 7pm!! Thank god I was still at the office to receive it). For a small device with only 2gb ram, it is quite smooth.

My only complaint would be the lack of Ethernet port but most of my plex collection should not overburden the 5ghz wifi (hopefully)
i saw this mi box s cannot do 4k remux streaming. if not i will consider also since it is cheap.
linkinstreet
post May 30 2020, 09:57 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 30 2020, 09:33 PM)
i saw this mi box s cannot do 4k remux streaming. if not i will consider also since it is cheap.
Yeah. But then again i don't have any 4k TV so this is good enough for me
ben3003
post Jun 1 2020, 03:04 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 30 2020, 09:57 PM)
i see, ya if that's the case mibox s is still good.
ben3003
post Jun 1 2020, 03:09 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 29 2020, 04:18 PM)

Now if all these bores you and or is too much work waiting, hacking la, etc? TBH, your safest choice would be to get the Nvidia Shield instead. Confirmed all 3 capable..Personally? I'd wait.. but then I love to tinker and don't mind getting my hands dirty..  brows.gif

Haha.. I hear you..  See your belt tight yet or not.. kek
Bro, can this beelink GT-King Pro use Plex to play video? Or i need to setup my PC to share the folder for it to read? I see nvidia shield 2019 alot no stock, got stock but cannot send to miri sad.gif so i thinking like what u said earlier, use my PC for DV content, then use Beelink for others. I dont really need all the sophisticated setup like flashing around with firmware etc, just need a solid device that can play 4k HDR remux hevc file smooth and can output at least DTS-HDMA or trueHD since i not yet have atmos setup now.

voncrane
post Jun 1 2020, 11:35 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 30 2020, 08:46 PM)

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 30 2020, 09:57 PM)
QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 30 2020, 09:33 PM)
One of the known MiBox flaws.. Good thing is, even if it has to be placed at a poor wifi location, there are USB-Ethernet dongles that still work. So as long as your network is stable enough, okay-ish bitrate 1080p local files or streaming, or legit Netflix @ 1080p without hassle? The MiBox works quite well for such usage.

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 1 2020, 03:09 PM)
Bro, can this beelink GT-King Pro use Plex to play video? Or i need to setup my PC to share the folder for it to read? I see nvidia shield 2019 alot no stock, got stock but cannot send to miri sad.gif so i thinking like what u said earlier, use my PC for DV content, then use Beelink for others. I dont really need all the sophisticated setup like flashing around with firmware etc, just need a solid device that can play 4k HDR remux hevc file smooth and can output at least DTS-HDMA or trueHD since i not yet have atmos setup now.
Hmm for starters, I'm not entirely sure that we can successfully get DV out of a PC and to display properly on the TV (I stand corrected). As with most things DV, I can't test em out myself and say for fact something works and others don't. So bear with me on that. Even the CoreELEC on the promising ODROID N2 still couldn't deliver DV. So AFAIK, it's just not possible at this time or if it is, you'd need to spend considerably more money to just achieve that over paying for the Nvidia Shield that we know can handle DV nicely. Unfortunately, given your location.. It appears difficult to get it down there?? PM me and I'd be glad ot assist. I could just pick it off for you here and ship it to you. That's if you still don't find a local seller already willing to do that. Tried the Garage Sales section on the forums?

Yes, you can simply use your existing PC as a Plex server or "NAS". Personally, I recommend to either use a proper NAS and or simply hook up the ext HDD to the Beelink GT-King Pro for playback. These methods are less prone to interference. Possibly one of the primary reasons as to why the GS-King X was conceived & set for launch soon. Similarly like HiMedia's Q10 Pro, capable of taking a 3.5" drive.. This time though we are talking max 32TB drive(s), larger and with NAS features. However, I'm willing to further test out Plex, see how it performs on the GT-King Pro. I just need some patience from you, as I need to take time off other work to backup current ROM, flash latest stock and test. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jun 1 2020, 11:36 PM
ben3003
post Jun 2 2020, 12:52 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 1 2020, 11:35 PM)
One of the known MiBox flaws.. Good thing is, even if it has to be placed at a poor wifi location, there are USB-Ethernet dongles that still work. So as long as your network is stable enough, okay-ish bitrate 1080p local files or streaming, or legit Netflix @ 1080p without hassle? The MiBox works quite well for such usage.
Hmm for starters, I'm not entirely sure that we can successfully get DV out of a PC and to display properly on the TV (I stand corrected). As with most things DV, I can't test em out myself and say for fact something works and others don't. So bear with me on that. Even the CoreELEC on the promising ODROID N2 still couldn't deliver DV. So AFAIK, it's just not possible at this time or if it is, you'd need to spend considerably more money to just achieve that over paying for the Nvidia Shield that we know can handle DV nicely. Unfortunately, given your location.. It appears difficult to get it down there?? PM me and I'd be glad ot assist. I could just pick it off for you here and ship it to you. That's if you still don't find a local seller already willing to do that. Tried the Garage Sales section on the forums?

Yes, you can simply use your existing PC as a Plex server or "NAS". Personally, I recommend to either use a proper NAS and or simply hook up the ext HDD to the Beelink GT-King Pro for playback. These methods are less prone to interference. Possibly one of the primary reasons as to why the GS-King X was conceived & set for launch soon. Similarly like HiMedia's Q10 Pro, capable of taking a 3.5" drive.. This time though we are talking max 32TB drive(s), larger and with NAS features. However, I'm willing to further test out Plex, see how it performs on the GT-King Pro. I just need some patience from you, as I need to take time off other work to backup current ROM, flash latest stock and test. sweat.gif
Wow thanks for the effort bro.. salute.. i dont normally keep the video file i have watched, maybe the bee-link can download from torrent? If i invest more then the price would be more than buy shield lol. Gt king pro aint cheap also..
rageLE
post Jun 3 2020, 02:52 PM

152 posts

Hi android box/ other tv box/dongle sifus, would like some opinions on which to choose, Im new to this area of home entertainment since my bro-in-law used to do it but i have a non-smart tv (FHD only) that is currently connected to unifi box laying around and would love to use it.

My main usage/priority includes : netflix, youtube, good ui support and updates, possibly phone mirroring, ease of use

From what I've been reading: big brands are recommended cause they have dedicated ui and support, so im leaning towards those. Hence, I've narrowed it to few choices listed below.

1. Xiaomi Mi Box S - at the top because it has good reviews from shopee, also chromecast built-in. however, would like to put it here since im dont really trust the review
2. Roku Express - hd and wifi supported like the other, also cheaper than mibox
3. Roku Streaming Stick + - an uprade from the express since using dual band so im using better connection although im not sure if justifies the upgrade cost since 4K is not even supported for my tv
4. Chromecast - cheapest but it seems I can like only mirror certain apps from my phone which will also drain my battery at the same time?

I'm not into those boxes that is either pirated/jailbreak/root or requires in-store update, i would rather have a dedicated one that i can learn and update on my own just like how u normally update your devices. Hardware wise, i would assume they would be able to support my usage.

I know that the shield is more recommended but since im using this for basic purposes, the expenditure does not justify the cost ( max budget : under rm350) . Any feedback, comment or even suggestion of any other box that is easy to configure as well as learn is deeply appreciated since my choices are more towards bigger, mainstream brands since i was thinking of reliability.

Thank you

megahertz
post Jun 3 2020, 04:01 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(rageLE @ Jun 3 2020, 02:52 PM)
Hi android box/ other tv box/dongle sifus, would like some opinions on which to choose, Im new to this area of home entertainment since my bro-in-law used to do it but i have a non-smart tv (FHD only) that is currently connected to unifi box laying around and would love to use it.

My main usage/priority includes : netflix, youtube, good ui support and updates, possibly phone mirroring, ease of use

From what I've been reading: big brands are recommended cause they have dedicated ui and support, so im leaning towards those. Hence, I've narrowed it to few choices listed below.

1. Xiaomi Mi Box S - at the top because it has good reviews from shopee, also chromecast built-in. however, would like to put it here since im dont really trust the review
3. Roku Streaming Stick + - an uprade from the express since using dual band so im using better connection although im not sure if justifies the upgrade cost since 4K is not even supported for my tv
4. Chromecast - cheapest but it seems I can like only mirror certain apps from my phone which will also drain my battery at the same time?

I'm not into those boxes that is either pirated/jailbreak/root or requires in-store update, i would rather have a dedicated one that i can learn and update on my own just like how u normally update your devices. Hardware wise, i would assume they would be able to support my usage.

I know that the shield is more recommended but since im using this for basic purposes, the expenditure does not justify the cost ( max budget : under rm350) . Any feedback, comment or even suggestion of any other box that is easy to configure as well as learn is deeply appreciated since my choices are more towards bigger, mainstream brands since i was thinking of reliability.

Thank you
4.chromecast price almost same price with mibox, so u can cross that choice. and no, it wont because it not using mirroring , but casting . mean if u phone turned off also its still working fine.

i dont use roku before so cant comment on that. but my priority is the 1 running with android, since i can download apps that i want and use it mostly.

mi box s now around rm200++ if u buy from reputable seller like dasher on shoppee.
just good enough for u since it support all your requirement.

lyc1982
post Jun 3 2020, 04:10 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(rageLE @ Jun 3 2020, 02:52 PM)

Thank you
maybe you can refer here:

https://iptvinsider.com/netflix-4k-android-box/
rageLE
post Jun 3 2020, 08:45 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Jun 3 2020, 04:01 PM)
4.chromecast price almost same price with mibox, so u can cross that choice. and no, it wont because it not using mirroring , but casting . mean if u phone turned off also its still working fine.

i dont use roku before so cant comment on that. but my priority is the 1 running with android, since i can download apps that i want and use it mostly.

mi box s now around rm200++ if u buy from reputable seller like dasher on shoppee.
just good enough for u since it support all your requirement.
my requirement is same as yours, ill read up abit more before making a purchase decision, thank you

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 3 2020, 04:10 PM)
Thank you for the link, ill go through it now. Cheers
StevenL
post Jun 4 2020, 12:34 PM

732 posts

rageLE slightly above your budget but if u ammortised over 2 yrs only cost u maybe RM0.50 per day
ben3003
post Jun 7 2020, 08:26 AM

10,859 posts

Pulled trigger for nvidia shield 2019.. hopefully i wont regret. So far The most hassle free if wan loseless audio+dolby vision+dolby atmos and 4k netflix all.
thirumaran
post Jun 9 2020, 09:46 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 7 2020, 08:26 AM)
Pulled trigger for nvidia shield 2019.. hopefully i wont regret. So far The most hassle free if wan loseless audio+dolby vision+dolby atmos and 4k netflix all.
Mind sharing from where and how much?
voncrane
post Jun 9 2020, 11:44 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 2 2020, 12:52 AM)
Wow thanks for the effort bro.. salute.. i dont normally keep the video file i have watched, maybe the bee-link can download from torrent? If i invest more then the price would be more than buy shield lol. Gt king pro aint cheap also..
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 7 2020, 08:26 AM)
Nice.. Hope to hear how well it works for you in the DV & ATMOS dept.. The GT-King Pro isn't the cheapest, but I'm digging it's speed. Might upload a video later of it.. sweat.gif Sometimes, one simply must stretch the budget to get as close to all what wants. Today, there still isn't a perfect box. So we'll have to settle till next upgrade. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jun 9 2020, 11:46 AM

369 Pages « < 321 322 323 324 325 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:59 AM