Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

voncrane
post Sep 8 2019, 01:49 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 8 2019, 12:44 AM)
Yeah, it's the same as what I was using earlier. I feel this beta version is smoother and easier to dismiss the dialog from playing next video. Sometimes still has 30s and it already popped up and switched to new episode while the current episode hasn't ended.  bangwall.gif
Haha... Sorry, i can't help where VOD is concerned as I don't watch such via the app.. Use primarily for live TV only and that works splendidly. Oh well, it's a beta and as such improvements should continue to be made. Just try both and see which you are more comfortable with. smile.gif
puchongite
post Sep 8 2019, 11:19 AM

33,654 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 8 2019, 12:44 AM)
Yeah, it's the same as what I was using earlier. I feel this beta version is smoother and easier to dismiss the dialog from playing next video. Sometimes still has 30s and it already popped up and switched to new episode while the current episode hasn't ended.  bangwall.gif
This issue the way I see it, has nothing to do with the dialog during the last part of playback of an episode.

You need a way to cancel a playback. I suspect a pure mouse cannot do it. You need to have a device with 'back' button, eg the IR remote or air mouse.
fruitie
post Sep 8 2019, 12:37 PM

Rise and Shine
72,818 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Sep 8 2019, 11:19 AM)
This issue the way I see it, has nothing to do with the dialog during the last part of playback of an episode.

You need a way to cancel a playback. I suspect a pure mouse cannot do it. You need to have a device with 'back' button, eg the IR remote or air mouse.
I managed to dismiss it now with Beta version, earlier was difficult. Anyway, will try few more times before confirming this is possible with mouse. laugh.gif
puchongite
post Sep 8 2019, 01:39 PM

33,654 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 8 2019, 12:37 PM)
I managed to dismiss it now with Beta version, earlier was difficult. Anyway, will try few more times before confirming this is possible with mouse. laugh.gif
I tested on my phone, you don't actually have to wait for the 'next episode' dialog to appear to dismiss a playback.

Any moment if you use your mouse to click on the screen, the playback navigation will appear and overlayed over the video, and then the top right hand corner, there is a 'info' label which you can click. Click on 'info' will dismissed or suspend current playback.
chaostan
post Sep 8 2019, 02:12 PM

917 posts

Which TV Box can support aotg beside minix?
fruitie
post Sep 8 2019, 02:51 PM

Rise and Shine
72,818 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Sep 8 2019, 01:39 PM)
I tested on my phone, you don't actually have to wait for the 'next episode' dialog to appear to dismiss a playback.

Any moment if you use your mouse to click on the screen, the playback navigation will appear and overlayed over the video, and then the top right hand corner, there is a 'info' label which you can click. Click on 'info' will dismissed or suspend current playback.
Ah, good tips. rclxms.gif Finally, will do it next time.
SUSagewisdom
post Sep 8 2019, 08:44 PM

729 posts

Hi sifus,

I have read the first post but I'm still confused rclxub.gif

I have a friend that wants to watch free public TV channels all over the world, but mainly China. He has a UNIFI connection and also ASTRO. All he wants is that when he's watching to switch on the Android box and use that remote (instead of the Astro one) to watch and switch off the Android box after he's done. His other family members can then continue watching Astro.

Specific requirements:
1. Simple setup, preferably all the channels are pre-programmed into the Android Box.
2. Able to set up a few profiles e.g. 10 channels for User 1 (himself), 10 channels for User 2 (kids) etc.
3. Reliable with minimal fuss.
4. No complicated stuff like using VPN etc.

What I'm vaguely aware of is that sometimes the sources of these channels sometime change due to ahem ahem and needs to search and setup again? Is setting up and troubleshooting difficult? All he really wants is just a hassle free way to watch TV channels from other countries.

Sorry for all the questions but I myself am new at this. Maybe a top 3 recommendation would be good. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by agewisdom: Sep 8 2019, 08:51 PM
voncrane
post Sep 8 2019, 09:41 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(chaostan @ Sep 8 2019, 02:12 PM)
Which TV Box can support aotg beside minix?
There are a few now (Tanix, Mecool, HiMedia, etc).. due to the beta phase (very little restrictions). But once out and back to stable? we'll find out.. IMO, I'd still place my bets with Minix where Asterruk is concerned.

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Sep 8 2019, 08:44 PM)
Hi sifus,

I have read the first post but I'm still confused  rclxub.gif

I have a friend that wants to watch free public TV channels all over the world, but mainly China. He has a UNIFI connection and also ASTRO. All he wants is that when he's watching to switch on the Android box and use that remote (instead of the Astro one) to watch and switch off the Android box after he's done. His other family members can then continue watching Astro.

Specific requirements:
1. Simple setup, preferably all the channels are pre-programmed into the Android Box.
2. Able to set up a few profiles e.g. 10 channels for User 1 (himself), 10 channels for User 2 (kids) etc.

What I'm vaguely aware of is that sometimes the sources of these channels sometime change due to ahem ahem and needs to search and setup again? Is setting up and troubleshooting difficult? All he really wants is just a hassle free way to watch TV channels from other countries.

Sorry for all the questions but I myself am new at this. Maybe a top 3 recommendation would be good.  notworthy.gif
Get an Astro dish and decoder... Tell your friend.. That's his only solution.. Perhaps later when he can be more realistic and live among us, then he can consider ehem alternatives. FYI, we won't discuss such in here.. So there's that too.
SUSagewisdom
post Sep 8 2019, 10:28 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 8 2019, 09:41 PM)
There are a few now (Tanix, Mecool, HiMedia, etc).. due to the beta phase (very little restrictions). But once out and back to stable? we'll find out.. IMO, I'd still place my bets with Minix where Asterruk is concerned.
Get an Astro dish and decoder... Tell your friend.. That's his only solution.. Perhaps later when he can be more realistic and live among us, then he can consider ehem alternatives. FYI, we won't discuss such in here.. So there's that too.
He already has Astro. I mean, is it illegal to watch free tv channels in overseas countries?
Scissorshand
post Sep 8 2019, 10:29 PM

1,691 posts

Minix S922x

MINIX NEO U22-XJ
The new MINIX NEO U22-XJ includes the Amlogic S922XJ SoC, a Hexa Core manufactured in 12nm with 4 ARM Cortex-A73 + 2 ARM Cortex-A53 processors, the GPU manufactured is the powerful ARM Mali-G52 MP6 that allows us to run games like PUBG without problems. This variant of the S922XJ processor includes official support for Dolby Vision and Dolby audio.

Hard core fan should rejoice soon however initial price indicates closed to the king of android box

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: Sep 8 2019, 10:31 PM
voncrane
post Sep 8 2019, 11:26 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Sep 8 2019, 10:28 PM)
He already has Astro. I mean, is it illegal to watch free tv channels in overseas countries?
Oh my bad... Read that a tad wrongly... Based on his requirements, I would strongly suggest that he remain with Asterruk. Get an extended sub if he can for separate viewing on another TV. As for legally free public TV channels? Let's take Malaysia's free-to-air digital channels. This depends largely on his area and if he can receive the signals clearly. Then there are people whom stay close to borders and are able to simultaneously get Thai, SG and MY channels on their TVs. If he still inssits on going the ehem route, he'll just have to track down services and sub to them. All is mostly a gamble and there be no guarantees or refunds.

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Sep 8 2019, 10:29 PM)
Minix S922x

MINIX NEO U22-XJ
The new MINIX NEO U22-XJ includes the Amlogic S922XJ SoC, a Hexa Core manufactured in 12nm with 4 ARM Cortex-A73 + 2 ARM Cortex-A53 processors, the GPU manufactured is the powerful ARM Mali-G52 MP6 that allows us to run games like PUBG without problems. This variant of the S922XJ processor includes official support for Dolby Vision and Dolby audio.

Hard core fan should rejoice soon however initial price indicates closed to the king of android box
thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
fruitie
post Sep 9 2019, 01:17 AM

Rise and Shine
72,818 posts

Minix S922x

MINIX NEO U22-XJ

Well, if only Netflix recognizes it as one of the certified boxes for Full HD/Ultra HD. sad.gif
puchongite
post Sep 9 2019, 08:25 AM

33,654 posts

Minix S922x

MINIX NEO U22-XJ

Only appeal to their fans.
voncrane
post Sep 9 2019, 10:06 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 9 2019, 01:17 AM)
Well, if only Netflix recognizes it as one of the certified boxes for Full HD/Ultra HD. sad.gif
Unfortunately, the NEO U22-XJ won't be as it's running regular Android V9.. Netflix requires Android TV OS.. Must. The other Neo T5 is running Android TV OS, but as per write-up... There's no indication that either comes with L1 or HDCP 2.2 either. On the plus side, the S922XJ processor includes official support for Dolby Vision and Dolby audio.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Sep 9 2019, 08:25 AM)
Only appeal to their fans.
Can't argue against that. Need wait for actual units to drop and we know more.
lucaswjk
post Sep 9 2019, 11:27 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Sep 8 2019, 08:44 PM)
Hi sifus,

I have read the first post but I'm still confused  rclxub.gif

Specific requirements:

Sorry for all the questions but I myself am new at this. Maybe a top 3 recommendation would be good.  notworthy.gif
free channel is not actually free, unless the broadcaster buy the right for all their program to broadcast all over the world... eg world cup

just incase u wan to know... msia blocked it free channel outside of the country too...

if ur frenz intended to watch Chinese program legally ...
he can try subscribe iqiyi, tencent or less the famous youku.
SUSagewisdom
post Sep 9 2019, 11:30 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 9 2019, 11:27 PM)
free channel is not actually free, unless the broadcaster buy the right for all their program to broadcast all over the world... eg world cup

just incase u wan to know... msia blocked it free channel outside of the country too...

if ur frenz intended to watch Chinese program legally ...
he can try subscribe iqiyi, tencent or less the famous youku.
Ok, bro. Many thanks for the detailed answer. I understand better now. sweat.gif
mhfbkr P
post Sep 10 2019, 12:08 AM

Probation

Hi guys. Super noob here. Been reading the forums for literally 2 days straight here to get up to speed. But still confused.

Can someone recommend a box that suits my needs?
Not sure if I should go for the TX-6 (wallet friendly) or the Minix (seems reliable) or the Beelink GT (best hardware)?

My needs are just to watch the ahem channels. For netflix and other streaming stuff I normally use my MI Box S (malaysian set-unrooted) anyways so won't be needing it to comply with those widevine or those other standards.

Just kinda miss watching live channels. Have to think too much on what to watch when using streaming services haha.
mhfbkr P
post Sep 10 2019, 12:21 AM

Probation

QUOTE(mhfbkr @ Sep 10 2019, 12:08 AM)
Hi guys. Super noob here. Been reading the forums for literally 2 days straight here to get up to speed. But still confused.

Not sure if I should go for the TX-6 (wallet friendly) or the Minix (seems reliable) or the Beelink GT (best hardware)?

My needs are just to watch the ahem channels. For netflix and other streaming stuff I normally use my MI Box S (malaysian set-unrooted) anyways so won't be needing it to comply with those widevine or those other standards.

Just kinda miss watching live channels. Have to think too much on what to watch when using streaming services haha.
Also for ahem channels which is more important? The box which I purchase (meaning all those pre-installed apps that the sellers promised) or a separate IPTV subscription?

Should I be looking at one for the Mi Box S instead? Although it is not a rooted set so I don't know if it will work.
GuyM
post Sep 10 2019, 09:05 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(mhfbkr @ Sep 10 2019, 12:08 AM)

Just get the TX6 then find the ahem iptv subs fro Facebook

This post has been edited by GuyM: Sep 10 2019, 06:13 PM
Rilthalas
post Sep 10 2019, 03:23 PM

37 posts

Hi All,

I've been reading up since I wanted to get a tvbox mainly for latest TVB Drama(wife watches) and also English Movies and Drama.

I'm between a TX6 or the MI Box S, currently leaning towards the TX6 due to the higher specs/android version and also the cheaper cost.

I'm planning on getting a set with pre-installed applications already for streaming those shows.

My main concern now as I've not used any TV Box before is the ease of use, reliability and streaming stability. Thoughts and suggestions?

369 Pages « < 296 297 298 299 300 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:19 PM