369 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Bottom

Android / Other TV Box, see Page 1 first... V2

alister88
post Feb 6 2018, 02:43 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 6 2018, 07:43 AM)
It should work on all boxes, but since nobody has the luxury to test such things on all different boxes, so you will not get a definite answer.
Thanks mate, I think I'll just save up for Minix then... so far I found one selling for RM445 in Lazada.. the cheapest by far from my survey(selling locally).

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 6 2018, 01:54 PM)
I am using AOTG and HyppTV Everywhere on my Minix U1. Got it for RM 250, totally worth for the money spent, super super deal for me. Stable and nice. I also have M9s Pro which I have given to my elder sister, it is OK for me except it is rooted so these two main apps cannot work.

Edit: The price increased back from yesterday's RM 307 to RM 442. sad.gif
I wish RM250 still exist.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by alister88: Feb 6 2018, 02:45 PM
puchongite
post Feb 6 2018, 02:48 PM

33,592 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Feb 6 2018, 02:43 PM)
Thanks mate, I think I'll just save up for Minix then... so far I found one selling for RM445 in Lazada.. the cheapest by far from my survey(selling locally).
I wish RM250 still exist..  sweat.gif
Did the price comes with a Minix airmouse ? Can't use pure IR remote for AOTG. brows.gif
alister88
post Feb 6 2018, 03:07 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 6 2018, 02:48 PM)
Did the price comes with a Minix airmouse ? Can't use pure IR remote for AOTG.  brows.gif
dont think so.. but they will pre-install a bunch of apps apparently.. they have a physical at Digital Mall and Lowyat as well...
https://www.lazada.com.my/minix-neo-u1-quad....447a0915NRPmrA
fruitie
post Feb 6 2018, 04:30 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 6 2018, 02:18 PM)
Actually Amlogic tv box are very easy to work with. So many different ways it can boot, it can boot from internal flash, external sd, usb thumb drive. It can also be flashed using usb cable, sd card and so on.

Almost impossible to make a hard brick out of it. wink.gif
I'm really noob. laugh.gif
But thanks for the insight, looks like it is possible.

QUOTE(alister88 @ Feb 6 2018, 02:43 PM)
I wish RM250 still exist..  sweat.gif
Yesterday it was selling for RM 307. sad.gif

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 6 2018, 02:48 PM)
Did the price comes with a Minix airmouse ? Can't use pure IR remote for AOTG.  brows.gif
Mine came with the air mouse as well, hence it is a crazy deal. The air mouse was unexpected and a surprise. biggrin.gif
puchongite
post Feb 6 2018, 05:02 PM

33,592 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 6 2018, 04:30 PM)
I'm really noob. laugh.gif
But thanks for the insight, looks like it is possible.

I have not dealt with too many different tv boxes. But so far every box which I put my hands on it, AOTG works.

AOTG is definitely not as sticky as online banking application, but I got most of the banking apps running on my rooted phone. wink.gif

voncrane
post Feb 6 2018, 06:35 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(demogorgon @ Feb 6 2018, 02:31 PM)
Thats good news. If i got the idea correct, flashing the ROM can remove root but have to look for unrooted ROM thats specific to this box and model? I'm quite noob in this kind of things  unsure.gif
Hey, playing Astro from a web browser, even if it works will be a pain.. So I'll be blunt here.. Noob + already stretched budget at that price point but want better simply does not work. Manufacturer, firmware coders & sellers also have to eat roti what.. You either wait a bit more and get what you want or use as is. You go flashing this and that, end up bricking the device.. There..You now have a door stopper.. Money moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif .. Could have bought roti for yourself or family and yes, waifu will smack your head even harder.. You don't want that. laugh.gif

Think about it, must you really buy it now? Can save RM100 this and next month.. Add to current budget and get what confirm works. On the plus side, can also keep monitoring the price and if it suddenly gets cheaper, you pull the trigger. Remember, MUST buy with an airmouse/touchpad+keyboard of sorts.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Feb 6 2018, 06:36 PM
alister88
post Feb 6 2018, 09:05 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 6 2018, 04:30 PM)
Yesterday it was selling for RM 307. sad.gif
I feel skeptical getting it from overseas... dunno why... sweat.gif
maybe because Im a banana, or maybe the warranty.. I would choose local stocks over China stocks... also Im pretty impatient.. hehe

This post has been edited by alister88: Feb 6 2018, 09:06 PM
fruitie
post Feb 7 2018, 12:52 AM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Feb 6 2018, 09:05 PM)
I feel skeptical getting it from overseas... dunno why...  sweat.gif
maybe because Im a banana, or maybe the warranty.. I would choose local stocks over China stocks... also Im pretty impatient.. hehe
It's from Lazada, you are not going to deal with those sellers yourself. smile.gif
I have no issue though, I bought two boxes from LZD, no issue until now. thumbup.gif

Well, I'm patient enough for good deals. My box only took around a week to reach me anyway.
puchongite
post Feb 7 2018, 09:30 AM

33,592 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Feb 6 2018, 09:05 PM)
I feel skeptical getting it from overseas... dunno why...  sweat.gif
Lazada provides 7 days return if the goods is not functioning or not meeting the spec as in the sales material. So only buy those things which one thinks it will not degrade so fast after the 7 days.

Upon receiving the goods, quickly determine if the good is original or fake as per the spec/brand.

After the 7 days, no more warranty, makan sendiri.

So it is not advisable to buy those things which can potentially degrade very quickly, eg hard disk.

I don't think items like tv box will degrade so fast. If it is good to start with, it will be good for while. That's the risk for buying overseas item.
joe09
post Feb 7 2018, 09:37 PM

39 posts

Hi guys, i was thinking of buying the T95Z tv box as the seller on Lazada was selling it with pre-installed apps and KODI.
However, when I ask him if the tv box support wifi he said it is not advisable.

My modem is upstairs but my tv is located downstairs. So it is understandable that the wifi signal will be impacted. Am currently using 50mbps unifi network.
Appreciate if anyone can recommend tv box which can support my current setup of modem and my tv. Preferably 3GB ram.
GuyM
post Feb 7 2018, 09:46 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(joe09 @ Feb 7 2018, 09:37 PM)
Hi guys, i was thinking of buying the T95Z tv box as the seller on Lazada was selling it with pre-installed apps and KODI.
However, when I ask him if the tv box support wifi he said it is not advisable.

My modem is upstairs but my tv is located downstairs. So it is understandable that the wifi signal will be impacted. Am currently using 50mbps unifi network.
Appreciate if anyone can recommend tv box which can support my current setup of modem and my tv. Preferably 3GB ram.
Why do I need 3gb ram? Buy a box with physical antenna eg minix u9h, q10 pro, x92 etc to solve your problem
joe09
post Feb 7 2018, 10:10 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 7 2018, 09:46 PM)
Why do I need 3gb ram? Buy a box with physical antenna eg minix u9h, q10 pro, x92 etc to solve your problem
Was thinking 3GB ram for a better UI and tv box performance response.
I found another tv box with a X92 antenna 3GB.

Should be ok based on my current situation right?
Thanks for the recommendations bro.
Kratokrato
post Feb 7 2018, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(joe09 @ Feb 7 2018, 10:10 PM)

I am using the X92, has very good wifi reception with the antenna.

Did a test with wifi and wired on 1gbit internet with very good results. Should meet your needs.

GuyM
post Feb 8 2018, 08:08 AM

1,787 posts

Yup + there’s a dedicated thread for support fro other users as well

Good on you!
voncrane
post Feb 8 2018, 10:00 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

Whilst nice to have.. You do not need 3GB RAM for better UI & performance. Those come from the box's hardware + software combo. A poorly made box with 10GB RAM will NOT improve performance. In fact, performance will be worse off than on say a 2GB Box that's well specced and has an awesome software to boot. Think about it, we don't use these boxes like our phones. For example, TouchWiz software on a Samsung flagship like the Note 8 takes up a lot of resources just on its own.. Cuz fancy features, graphics etc.. So even if it ships with 4GB RAM, the OS itself has to allocate sometimes up to or more than 50% RAM to keep it's head in the game. The remaining RAM is then used for your apps. We do not have or really need such flowery-ness? on our media boxes (at least most don't). We simply want it to boot up and play what we want with minimal fuss. Which means at most you'll be running one app in the foreground and a few in the background. Android's OS RAM management on a good box can be tweaked to keep the most important apps running and surrender the rest. So I'd concentrate more on getting a device as suggested that excels in the WiFi and performance department than rely on it having 3GB RAM.. So if this box you found does both well (as evident from real world reviews) and within your budget, sure go for it.

Edited for better clarity..

This post has been edited by voncrane: Feb 8 2018, 10:05 AM
magoo124
post Feb 8 2018, 10:08 AM

still confuse that to buy.hahaha

can suggest good tv box in the price around rm200
puchongite
post Feb 8 2018, 10:13 AM

33,592 posts

QUOTE(Kratokrato @ Feb 7 2018, 10:30 PM)
I am using the X92, has very good wifi reception with the antenna.

Did a test  with wifi and wired on 1gbit internet with very good results. Should meet your needs.

FYI, the X92 is using a closed source wifi driver. You get what you get, not more and not less. No further improvement can be made in the software.
erimin
post Feb 8 2018, 12:24 PM

Hi All,

A very good day to everyone. I am a total nerd when it comes to this, I would really appreciate all the input I can get here. Basically below is my requirement and questions:
1) Watching movies, HK dramas and live football (no delay preferable, don't mind paying).
2) Can support Netflix and iFlix.
3) Please correct me if I'm wrong, for the above I know I need to have a streaming box but I am unsure of which box to purchase. Thank you in advance and have a great day.
GuyM
post Feb 8 2018, 01:50 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(magoo124 @ Feb 8 2018, 10:08 AM)
still confuse that to buy.hahaha

can suggest good tv box in the price around rm200
For that I’d recommend Sunvell T95M 2/16gb with Lollipop Android
GuyM
post Feb 8 2018, 01:51 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(erimin @ Feb 8 2018, 12:24 PM)
Hi All,

A very good day to everyone. I am a total nerd when it comes to this, I would really appreciate all the input I can get here. Basically below is my requirement and questions:
1) Watching movies, HK dramas and live football (no delay preferable, don't mind paying).
2) Can support Netflix and iFlix.
3) Please correct me if I'm wrong, for the above I know I need to have a streaming box but I am unsure of which box to purchase. Thank you in advance and have a great day.
MiBox international kaotim liao

369 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:17 AM