Help CLOSE PLS, cheap place.??

TShouse5533
post Mar 1 2007, 03:06 PM, updated 17y ago

hello there, im using powerbook g4 and my lcd screen 12 inch cracked already!!! i know its expensive, anyone can help mee?? any suggestion?? price? place? cheap ones....

This post has been edited by house5533: Oct 2 2009, 04:11 PM
wei
post Mar 1 2007, 03:48 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Even if you can get parts reseller here, it wont be cheap.
Maybe u can try Ebay.

All local reseller offer very high price on Mac parts.
xaw5126
post Mar 1 2007, 05:19 PM

3,488 posts

i dunno... i've seen the cost price for the LCD panel... its not cheap guys smile.gif
wei
post Mar 1 2007, 05:37 PM

6,496 posts

don't forget the workmanship to restore it. it gonna be a big transplant operation.
TShouse5533
post Mar 1 2007, 09:28 PM

around how much will it cost yea??
wei
post Mar 1 2007, 09:48 PM

6,496 posts

New from Apple service center, at lease RM1300.
Used or parts from local dealer, I've seen around RM800.
Ebay will depends on your luck and shipping cost.
SanosukeSagara
post Mar 1 2007, 11:13 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

don scare him la...
ebay $129+- cheaper than ipod lcd still
wei
post Mar 1 2007, 11:19 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Mar 1 2007, 11:13 PM)
don scare him la...
ebay $129+- cheaper than ipod lcd still
a link will be nice if you want to help.
SanosukeSagara
post Mar 1 2007, 11:25 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

http://cgi.ebay.com/PowerBook-G4-Titanium-...1QQcmdZViewItem

try this auction left 1 hour
$89 just deal with the seller to send to malaysia

http://stores.ebay.com/Laptop-Aid
make sure u buy the one with inverter.. just in case.. cheers!

sorry din notice yours is 12"
12" try this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ibook-powerbook-LTN121...1QQcmdZViewItem

or this
http://cgi.ebay.com/LCD-Panel-PowerBook-G4...1QQcmdZViewItem

this is a great deal too
http://cgi.ebay.com/12-Powerbook-LCD-Displ...1QQcmdZViewItem

This post has been edited by SanosukeSagara: Mar 1 2007, 11:40 PM
wei
post Mar 2 2007, 10:48 PM

6,496 posts

well link one have white spot on screen, that's why it's cheap.
link 2 is fine but over USD100 exclude shipping.
link 3 has some scratches.

If i were you, i will go for link 3... Oh wait...only link 2 ship to worldwide. whistling.gif

And where's the $129 link? By $129 you don't mean USD129 right?
TShouse5533
post Mar 8 2007, 09:42 PM

thanx everyone...but besides ebay, any shops selling or provide repair services???
suns8630
post Mar 8 2007, 09:53 PM

1,122 posts

QUOTE(house5533 @ Mar 8 2007, 09:42 PM)
thanx everyone...but besides ebay, any shops selling or provide repair services???
hey . kawan ... looks like you have no choice but to send back to "official " apple center ...

buying from ebay does not secure you with the "right" stuff ... cos the part in your powerbook might have a different part No : cos the part no is different based on shipping to which country during the shipment ( when and where you purchased the power book )

saying this meaning ...that you actually got to risk of open up the set yourself to look for the part no.....

Is this what you want to do ...??? ( i don't think so ..)

TShouse5533
post Mar 14 2007, 12:39 AM

QUOTE(suns8630 @ Mar 8 2007, 09:53 PM)
hey . kawan ... looks like you have no choice but to send back to "official " apple center ...

buying from ebay does not secure you with the "right" stuff ... cos the part in your powerbook might have a different part No : cos the part no is different based on shipping to which country during the shipment ( when  and where you purchased the power book )

saying this meaning ...that you actually got to risk of open up the set yourself to look for the part no.....

Is this what you want to do ...??? ( i don't think so ..)
alrite, u r right..thanx! haishh
Sandwich2U
post Mar 14 2007, 12:53 AM

Melamine Sandwich
1,112 posts

QUOTE(house5533 @ Mar 14 2007, 12:39 AM)
alrite, u r right..thanx! haishh
Don't you think buying from ebay is too risky ?
If i were you i wil bring along the laptop to official service center for quotation,
No harm to get a quotation from them right ? icon_rolleyes.gif

Remember, most of the quotations are not final, and it still negotiable.

If you decided fix the LCD screen, don't forget about the warranty issue of your newly replaced LCD screen. thumbup.gif
xaw5126
post Mar 14 2007, 11:01 AM

3,488 posts

mostly... quotations are final... especially for service parts, meaning the price doesn't really change.

the warranty for service parts is usually 3 months...
Sandwich2U
post Mar 14 2007, 04:39 PM

Melamine Sandwich
1,112 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Mar 14 2007, 11:01 AM)
mostly... quotations are final... especially for service parts, meaning the price doesn't really change.

the warranty for service parts is usually 3 months...
Yup, you are right, charges on parts are final.
But workmanship is always negotiable.
xaw5126
post Mar 14 2007, 06:09 PM

3,488 posts

sandwich2u, workmanship is usually quoted as cost of the repair smile.gif
Sandwich2U
post Mar 14 2007, 11:18 PM

Melamine Sandwich
1,112 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Mar 14 2007, 06:09 PM)
sandwich2u, workmanship is usually quoted as cost of the repair smile.gif
According my experience (Digicam, laptop and business printer), the workmanship and parts are quoted separately.

Sorry if i was misleading you guys blush.gif
I am not in apple world.

jensen_tidus
post Mar 15 2007, 12:04 AM

360 posts

also check if the lcd got deadpixel...
my macbook got 1 small lil black dot >_>

0.0190sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:35 PM